Lake Tahoe ATTRACTIONS See all

Emerald Bay State Park

One of the must-see sights on a visit to Lake Tahoe is Emerald Bay State Park. Carved out by glaciers millions of years ago, the lake displays a stunning array of colors, especially just before the sun slips below the mountains, when the bay’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 246 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great cruise...The dinner,the band, and the views were amazing. This was a great way to start our 50th birthday celebration.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful experience and worth every penny. Food and service was excellent.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a very good tour of around the Golden Gate Bridge and around Alcatraz. The wait to go on was very organized and not a long wait at all. Very accommodating. I would recommend this for anyone who could not get tickets to go onto Alcatraz Island. It is a good alternative.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Worth every penny.

Doing what: South Shore Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was the highlight of our trip. The food was amazing - so much that we couldn't finish. The staff was amazing. The music was amazing. It was the perfect combination of family and romantic. We were celebrating our 17 year anniversary. There were birthdays, anniversaries and even an engagement while we were there. We have some gorgeous pictures. I can not recommend this trip enough. Worth every penny.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful!! All age groups loved it!!

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour - loved the locations and tips! We plan to do this tour again if/when we go to Tahoe again! Thank you!

Doing what: Best Lake Tahoe Semi-Private Photography Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was my first trip to Lake Tahoe and the Cruise is a great way to see the lake and get some history on the lake. Very Pleasant and relaxing.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tour was as advertised timely, smooth ride, freindly crew. Canned information spots were helpful and informative. Will do it again.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The sights on the tour were fantastic. Our guide, Victor was fun, friendly and knowledgeable about the area.

Doing what: Best Lake Tahoe Semi-Private Photography Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

It was nice time to my wife and me

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Flight was beautiful and smooth. The Helicopter company ran efficiently and were very concerned about the safety of their customers.

The only note I would make is that the pilot, Clint, while a competent pilot, was very sarcastic throughout the entire flight. His attitude was a little disruptive to the experience. Overall, he was a nice guy, but I would probably request someone different if I went again.

Doing what: Emerald Bay Helicopter Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Dinner was good the Ribeye was tough - disappointed we wish the ship took us around the lake it just stayed in one area and went up and down Crew was friendly and help full.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

totally enjoyed the trip, the staff and the band.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The dinner was great, but second seating is late. No sunset really. Sun just sinks behind the mountains. However, the lake ride was wonderful and the ship lovely.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

The tour was fine. Viator was a disaster. I booked the tour months in advance, received confirmation emails from Viator. When I called the tour boat company the day before the boat ride to confirm my reservation, they told me the departure time was 30 minutes before the start time Viator gave me!! And they also told me that there was no record that I had a pre-paid reservation. I had to be on hold with Viator for 1 hour to get it all figured out. Will not use Viator again.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Had a wonderful time. Everyone was great!!

Doing what: Emerald Bay Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour was wonderful. We met some lovely people at our table and enjoyed a yummy dinner with them. Loved hearing the facts about Lake Tahoe as we were boating around the lake. Nice to have time to go outside and enjoy some lovely views. The clouds didn't bother us a bit. What a wonderful way to spend an evening on our honeymoon.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The whole experience was awesome!!! Gorgeous scenery, fantastic food served just the way we wanted, great staff! We are recommending this to all of our family and friends!

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The views were amazing and the pilot was extremely friendly. They took good care of my parents who were flying like that in a helicopter for the first time. They had a wonderful time and they loved the experience. The views were amazing too and like any other person, I'd definitely like a bit more time. But, can't complain about the experience at all. Totally recommended.

Doing what: South Shore Helicopter Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great time on Lake Tahoe - took a group of 12. Food needs some help but the tour is worth it.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The weather was awful... not their fault!! I enjoyed the food and drinks and the staff was very friendly. I think it would have been nice for staff to walk around and ask how we were doing.. we had plates that needed to be removed. I couldn't really hear the tour even though the boat was not full weather I am sure. I can't imagine hearing it when it's a packed tour. I wish they offered head phones for those that would have liked them.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The tour was lovely, I wish that the speakers on the lower deck were better because so many people war talking you couldn't hear much unless you moved to another level.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

MS Dixie broke down. Had to take the smaller Tahoe Queen. Instead of having dinner served, got stuck having to go down below our deck and go through buffet line. Waitress blew our drink bill three times and had to readjust it. Band was great. Scenery was great.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

So I'm mixed about this experience. The food was good, the people we met were fun, the cruise after dinner was good, however the service was horrendous. After the cruise we found out that they had just started running the cruise again after time off for repairs. We had a server approach us twice with a bill for our drinks and we hadn't even been served our entrees yet. After dropping off the first bill for 11, he came by again with the same bill for 11. We told him that we will pay it but what if we wanted another drink. He seemed perplexed. My wife paid the bill while I was off to the restroom and the guy came back again asking for payment. She told him that she had just paid him five minutes prior, which he made a face like she was lying to him and another of the guests at our table had to confirm that it was indeed paid. It was a shame that the service from the bar was so lacking our primary waiter was okay as it really dropped this review down. I would say wait until at least September 2015 before booking until they get the kinks worked out.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message