Lake Tahoe ATTRACTIONS See all

Emerald Bay State Park

One of the must-see sights on a visit to Lake Tahoe is Emerald Bay State Park. Carved out by glaciers millions of years ago, the lake displays a stunning array of colors, especially just before the sun slips below the mountains, when the bay’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 305 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tori S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The views were Breathtaking. A nice boat ride to see the lake. Not too complicated, just show up and the boarding is easy. They serve food and beverages on the boat so no need to bring anything.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Joyce Elaine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Relaxing and informative with beautiful views of the lake. Love riding on steamboats and stepping back in time. Only improvement needed was warmer weather so we could have been on the outside deck, but we were there the end of April and it was a bit nippy for deck chairs.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Christopher A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was magnificent. You must do it if you are in the Tahoe area. Fun, informative, a great time.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

William T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A wonderful Lake Tahoe cruise made easy with Viator.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Eduard K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

it's amazing

Doing what: Lake Tahoe Semi-Private Photography Tour

Eduard K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

i wish we could do it again

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

tomfox

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The service was excellent, the tour information was very informative, and although the weather was not co-operative it was raining, we had a great time on the MS Dixie II. Would do it again on a sun shiny day as the scenery was gorgeous!

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

ELIZABETH S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We did the waterfall tour. It was a beautiful day and the pilot was awesome. Very funny and informative. Would do it again.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe Helicopter Tour

MICHAEL M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This was a lovely gentle trip from one side of this beautiful lake to the other, there were good refreshments available on board and plenty of space to sit inside or out. Our only criticism was that we couldn't hear the announcements or narration, which I'm sure was interesting and informative but no one could hear it. Improvement to tannoy system definitely recommended.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

SUJYOTHI F

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

wonderful...

Doing what: Emerald Bay Helicopter Tour

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The helicopter tour was excellent! The pilot did an great job of explaining the sites we were flying over, as well as making my wife's first time in a helicopter first class. Well done!

Doing what: Lake Tahoe Helicopter Tour

Richard J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

After several great dinner cruise experiences on the Lake, this was a serious disappointment. Six person tables crammed in four across created a college cafeteria atmosphere in which conversation was virtually impossible and any hope of service, if you were stuck on an interior seat as we were, was a pipe dream. That the majority of cruisers apparently had no idea that smart casual did not mean T shirts and grubby not shabby-chic jeans further added to the juvenile rather than special feel. It was a far cry from the Romantic experience, perfect for couples that was advertised and that we have experienced before. Views would have been spectacular had we been able to see through the heads of the five couples between us and that view during diner. Dinner itself was mediocre at best. Although the chicken was quite tender and flavorful, the apple pie dessert was still completely frozen when it was served. The local band was OK, but there was far too little room in the lounge for the number of people on the boat on a night when dancing on the deck was not an option unless you still had ski clothes on, and some did new smart casual?. We ended up back in the dining room to watch the wait staff clear while we waited out the last hour of the evening. Needless to say, we will search out another option next time we are in the area.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

Vera Gibb G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

What a fantastic tour!!! We took this tour mid January 2016. The tour was actually my husband's birthday present, he knew nothing about it until our guide Doug arrived in an SUV to pick us up from our hotel in Stateline. The tour has exceeded all our expectations. It was just fantastic! If you appreciate the beauty of nature and the art of photography, this is a must while you are in Lake Tahoe.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe Semi-Private Photography Tour

Heather E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was excellent. Victor was our guide. He picked us up on time in a very comfortable SUV. He was friendly and talkative and made the tour really fun. We went to several great locations for photos. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe Semi-Private Photography Tour

sgustad

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a great time!! The M.S. Dixie had some mechanical issues, so we had our cruise aboard the Tahoe Queen. The evening was windy and a bit rainy/cool, but it didn't bother us. The meal was fabulous and so was the music. We used this dinner cruise as the reception after our wedding and the band played a song just for us as our first dance. We loved it and would definitely recommend it to others. Our guests had a great time too!

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

Paul K

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

We were enjoyed very much on the sight seen .

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Renie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Absolutely gorgeous and worth every penny. Slightly older crowd aboard the cruise, so arrive early if you want a seat outside. Bring a sweatshirt, even if it's September. The wind blows!! Totally recommend!

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

HV

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was awesome! I've been to Lake Tahoe several times but with this tour was able to see different areas and viewpoints. Plus our guide, Victor, was fantastic. He was knowledgeable about the area and history as well as gave us helpful tips on how to take better pictures. Definitely one of the best tours I've been on!

Doing what: Lake Tahoe Semi-Private Photography Tour

Kacy I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was so beautiful. Will do again. Thank You too our pilot he was amazing.

Doing what: Emerald Bay Helicopter Tour

DEANNA R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

One of the best trip and delicious meal my husband and I have ever had.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

Cheryl F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful trip perfect blue sky we flew over Crystal Cove and Emerald Bay just beautiful recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: South Shore Helicopter Tour

Rahul B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

very scenic and joyful sail...

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Mark W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

it was very nice and I look forward to doing it again

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

James C

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

more like a 3 1/2 star event, closer to a 4. While I thoroughly enjoyed the scenery around Lake Tahoe, I thought this would be a trip that provided suggestions and assistance with photography. That didn't happen. Except for the driver, I was the only person with a DSLR camera. The others all had iPhones. While that's OK, I expected assistance from the tour guide. Instead, we were pretty much on our own. There were photographs taken of us tourists all 4 of us, and i was able to take some amazing photos. I was slightly disappointed with the length of the trip -- not the tour itself around 5 1/2 hours including a stop for lunch, but I thought we were going to get further around the lake. We did go pretty high up the mountain into areas I'm sure only people who live in the area would get to see. And we had access to some amazing scenes which I will remember for a very long time. The guide Mike G. of the local tour company was very well informed on a wide range of topics from ownership of the island in Emerald Bay and movie scenes filmed in the area, to how the lake was formed and is currently fed. I took about 500 photos of some beautiful scenery. I would definitely recommend the tour, but be prepared to take you own photos with little to no help from the guide. My wife, who is not a photographer, took some amazing pictures with her iPhone and loved the trip.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe Semi-Private Photography Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message