To truly experience Lake Tahoe, take a trip aboard the M.S. Dixie II , a paddle-wheeled boat that plies the lake’s stunning, cobalt-blue waters. From its vantage point on the lake, you can take in breathtaking views of the Sierra Nevada ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 240 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour! We were in the first seating of dinner and were amazed by the food being turned out by the kitchen - and the wait staff was better than in many restaurants we have been in. Afterwards we strolled around the upper deck as we entered and toured Emerald Bay. What a marvelous spot -- no wonder it is so photographed. On the way back we sat in the lounge area and listened to a very good band, who really got the place jumping. If you want a fun evening to remember of your time in South Lake Tahoe,skip the casinos and join the group on M.S. Dixie II.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

Doris E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a wonderful tour. My sister was visiting from Decatur, GA. My husband and I took this tour with her. We enjoyed every moment of our time aboard the M.S. Dixie II.

This was a well organized educational experience.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Keith S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyed the trip very much . Had the salmon for dinner and it was delicious . Weather was perfect . Dinner cruise workers were friendly and helpful . Thanks !

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

John F S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had eight people in our party. The service was excellent, we got our food all at the same time well prepared. Would highly recommended.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

Jo Ann C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was absolutely amazing and the staff and crew were outstanding!!

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A very nice evening, the staff were very very attentive and the music was good

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

velina h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic!!! My only complaint was that we were told to be there at 10:30 and we didn't board on time.... other than that, it was GREAT

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

JoAnne F

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful way to see the lake. I would do this cruise again. My only wish is that we could have rented headphones that broadcasted the narration and the video. I like listening to the information, but we could barely hear what was being said because people around us drowned out the sound.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Jean B USA

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful cruise on the lake, too bad weather was not better that day. But cruise was lovely, staff and guests were friendly. Just the right amount of time. Views fantastic, and nice café, great for Irish Coffee and other treats.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Liz F

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The sunset dinner was cruise a lot of fun. 3 course Dinner was delicious, although salad was a little wilted. The band was entertaining and bar tender made a great Emerald Bay!! The tour of Emerald Bay was informative but difficult to hear on the inside. Could have been louder. i will return.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

Michele C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The sunset cruise was absolutely beautiful, we happened to pick a night where the weather was just perfect. The food was good but not great. Dinner service was eh at best. We watched a lot of people who sat down after us get asked for drinks and served water well before us.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

Michael J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Emerald Bay and the Lake make this amazing!
Outdoor deck sound system could be improved

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

David C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very scenic tour. Music on board was great and all in all the experience was worth it.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

terry s

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

it was very pleasant and beautiful..but I
was disappointed about the buffet that the website said on the 11:00pm cruise in the summer months would be provided..no one knew anything about it but I did copy it and bring it with me...you should not print something and then not do it..really...but the cruise was delightful...terry

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Teri C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Probably about 1/2 too long. On any deck other than inside you couldn and #39;t hear at all out of the speakers.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Catherine S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

I don and #39;t appreciate it when a tour tells people to be there a half an hour early and leaves a half an hour later than scheduled to leave.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Suzanne Z

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

It was worth doing if you are interested in seeing the very beautiful lake and mountains from the water. The narration is limited and mostly SiriusXM radio. Must go inside and sit to watch the film, which is not an option for me. They should have played the film audio for everyone to hear outside.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Latricia B

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The tour is absolutely worth the view but we did not have the best service. Our waitress was missing in action, failed to take drink orders until we asked, and was overall ineffective. However, the steak was great.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

Sue O

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The tour itself was fabulous but when we arrived we were told we had to have tickets to get on the boat! We went to the ticket booth and they said they had no record of us already paying and charged us again for the tickets! We are not happy about this and do not plan on using Viator again!

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Thomas S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Kind of boring
The Boarding process was silly
Cold and windy standing in line for a long time

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Johan P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Even I know that it will not add or change anything, but still I want to make a remark on the dinner at the boat.
a. The welcome champagne barely filled the bottom of the glass.
b. If you read the advertisement once, twice or even more times: Sample Menu subject to change at any time: Zephyr Salad- candied walnuts, dried cherries, gorgonzola cheese, shaved red onion, herb vinaigrette Grilled New York Steak loaded potato gratin, grilled asparagus, roasted garlic balsamic steak sauce Seared Salmon lemon rice pilaf, spinach, bacon leek broth Vegetable Crepes lemon almond rice pilaf, sun-dried tomato pesto Chocolate Mousse cake with vanilla bean crème anglaise and raspberries

there is no doubt about the courses and that INCLUDE salmon and steak, because there is no written Steak OR Salmon.
c. The desert was very disappointed special when you expect a chocolate mouse and the serve a dry kind of cheesecake or so.
d. And in top of that the waiter get mad really in front of us and the other table guest because we and they didn't want the wine served in a plastic soda cup.
It was not only us but also the other people on the table and the people around us.
If you read: the promised menu, that there will be live music and a dress code, you aspect a more official dinner with the live music between the course and a possibility to dance and after that something on deck......
We understand that the company covered theme self with: subject to change at any time and for that our reaction and remark doesn't add or change anything, but what stays in the mind that somehow we fell cheated and will not and never advice this trip to other people

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

Jennifer A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Our family has enjoyed cruises on beautiful Lake Tahoe for fifty years; including Tahoe Queen, Tahoe Nelle, private tours and we were extremely disappointed in the M S Dixie II on 6/14/2016.
There were far too many guests; we felt like sardines! We had the first seating and then we were forced

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message