To truly experience Lake Tahoe, take a trip aboard the M.S. Dixie II , a paddle-wheeled boat that plies the lake’s stunning, cobalt-blue waters. From its vantage point on the lake, you can take in breathtaking views of the Sierra Nevada ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 157 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour was wonderful. We met some lovely people at our table and enjoyed a yummy dinner with them. Loved hearing the facts about Lake Tahoe as we were boating around the lake. Nice to have time to go outside and enjoy some lovely views. The clouds didn't bother us a bit. What a wonderful way to spend an evening on our honeymoon.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The whole experience was awesome!!! Gorgeous scenery, fantastic food served just the way we wanted, great staff! We are recommending this to all of our family and friends!

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great time on Lake Tahoe - took a group of 12. Food needs some help but the tour is worth it.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The weather was awful... not their fault!! I enjoyed the food and drinks and the staff was very friendly. I think it would have been nice for staff to walk around and ask how we were doing.. we had plates that needed to be removed. I couldn't really hear the tour even though the boat was not full weather I am sure. I can't imagine hearing it when it's a packed tour. I wish they offered head phones for those that would have liked them.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The tour was lovely, I wish that the speakers on the lower deck were better because so many people war talking you couldn't hear much unless you moved to another level.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

MS Dixie broke down. Had to take the smaller Tahoe Queen. Instead of having dinner served, got stuck having to go down below our deck and go through buffet line. Waitress blew our drink bill three times and had to readjust it. Band was great. Scenery was great.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

So I'm mixed about this experience. The food was good, the people we met were fun, the cruise after dinner was good, however the service was horrendous. After the cruise we found out that they had just started running the cruise again after time off for repairs. We had a server approach us twice with a bill for our drinks and we hadn't even been served our entrees yet. After dropping off the first bill for 11, he came by again with the same bill for 11. We told him that we will pay it but what if we wanted another drink. He seemed perplexed. My wife paid the bill while I was off to the restroom and the guy came back again asking for payment. She told him that she had just paid him five minutes prior, which he made a face like she was lying to him and another of the guests at our table had to confirm that it was indeed paid. It was a shame that the service from the bar was so lacking our primary waiter was okay as it really dropped this review down. I would say wait until at least September 2015 before booking until they get the kinks worked out.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Parking worst. Don't go there as no one takes ownership of parking and you may have to shell about 20 to 50 for parking and walk for 30 to 45 mins.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Love it. View was so beautiful, boat took us back in time,

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

We really enjoyed the trip across Lake Tahoe. The information about the lake and it's history was very educational and being able to see the bottom of the lake at the entrance of the bay was beautiful. We would recommend this tour to anyone visiting the area. Thanks for a good time. Dave and Gayl.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I wife and I spent our 28th anniversary dinning and dancing, had a great time, but the night cruise in the winter is very cold and the view of the lake is seen with a spot light from the boat, but we had lots of fun

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was our first trip on the evening dinner trip, and I have to say it did not disappoint. I hope to take the day trip to see the sights next time. Love Tahoe!

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

In the Fall this cruise should start a little earlier. It was dark when we boarded. I was disappointed we didn't get to see the sunset on the lake.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a beautiful cruise around Lake Tahoe. The weather was perfect and the water was clear and incredible. The crew were very friendly. The cruise was peaceful, relaxing and again, beautiful. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

For the money, this was a pleasurable excitation.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

In most respects this was a good trip and good value for money with plenty of good food, a welcome drink; music and friendly staff. The reason I have given it just 4 stars is because the boat itself felt a little tired and in need of a refurb. But I would still recommend.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Cannot wait to go again...delicious food..cocktails...entertaimnent was fabulous...staff was wonderful..

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I wish this cruise had been a little earlier so we could have seen the scenery better, but everything else was good. The dinner was excellent, the service, the other people on the ship. The music was nice, but not as good as I'd hoped. The dance floor seemed a bit small.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our Tahoe trip was great. The cruise on the M.S Dixie was fabulous, the weather was beautiful. the lake was a deep blue and the narrator on the boat was very good. The only problem was we had paid for five people and only four showed up. The staff on the boat said they only charged for four passengers. So you owe us 49 dollars refund.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This cruise was awesome from beginning to end. After boarding we went up to the upper deck where they had a bar that was very reasonably priced. Dinner was served a couple decks below. The food was fantastic and the wait staff very nice. After dinner we returned back to upper deck to relax and enjoy the scenery. They had a band on board with a couple of guys that we thought were excellent and entertaining. When we go back to Tahoe we will book this trip again.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great staff, great food and wonderful drinks. The weather was amazing, the information while on tour during dinner was informative and clear to hear and easy to follow. The crew working dinner was fast in delivering the food and responsive too all our needs.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The Tahoe Queen was fabulous it exceeded our expectations.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The cruise is worth doing! Dinner was great!

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

What could have been one of the highlights of our vacation was tarnished by a couple of things. One was certainly beyond Viator's control -- the smoke from the King wildfire, which made for poor photo taking. The cruise started at 6:00 pm and it was dark by 7:00, thanks in part from the smoke. I'm not sure what Viator could have done about the second. There was a large group from Kaiser on the dinner cruise that was extremely loud -- so much so that there was no hope of hearing the tour that was being broadcast on the speakers at dinner. We completely missed out on the wonderful info we had so looked forward to. Dinner was great and I'm sure under different circumstances, it would have been the perfect evening.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message