To truly experience Lake Tahoe, take a trip aboard the M.S. Dixie II , a paddle-wheeled boat that plies the lake’s stunning, cobalt-blue waters. From its vantage point on the lake, you can take in breathtaking views of the Sierra Nevada ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 169 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great cruise...The dinner,the band, and the views were amazing. This was a great way to start our 50th birthday celebration.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful experience and worth every penny. Food and service was excellent.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a very good tour of around the Golden Gate Bridge and around Alcatraz. The wait to go on was very organized and not a long wait at all. Very accommodating. I would recommend this for anyone who could not get tickets to go onto Alcatraz Island. It is a good alternative.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was the highlight of our trip. The food was amazing - so much that we couldn't finish. The staff was amazing. The music was amazing. It was the perfect combination of family and romantic. We were celebrating our 17 year anniversary. There were birthdays, anniversaries and even an engagement while we were there. We have some gorgeous pictures. I can not recommend this trip enough. Worth every penny.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful!! All age groups loved it!!

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was my first trip to Lake Tahoe and the Cruise is a great way to see the lake and get some history on the lake. Very Pleasant and relaxing.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tour was as advertised timely, smooth ride, freindly crew. Canned information spots were helpful and informative. Will do it again.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

It was nice time to my wife and me

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Dinner was good the Ribeye was tough - disappointed we wish the ship took us around the lake it just stayed in one area and went up and down Crew was friendly and help full.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

totally enjoyed the trip, the staff and the band.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The dinner was great, but second seating is late. No sunset really. Sun just sinks behind the mountains. However, the lake ride was wonderful and the ship lovely.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

The tour was fine. Viator was a disaster. I booked the tour months in advance, received confirmation emails from Viator. When I called the tour boat company the day before the boat ride to confirm my reservation, they told me the departure time was 30 minutes before the start time Viator gave me!! And they also told me that there was no record that I had a pre-paid reservation. I had to be on hold with Viator for 1 hour to get it all figured out. Will not use Viator again.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour was wonderful. We met some lovely people at our table and enjoyed a yummy dinner with them. Loved hearing the facts about Lake Tahoe as we were boating around the lake. Nice to have time to go outside and enjoy some lovely views. The clouds didn't bother us a bit. What a wonderful way to spend an evening on our honeymoon.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The whole experience was awesome!!! Gorgeous scenery, fantastic food served just the way we wanted, great staff! We are recommending this to all of our family and friends!

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great time on Lake Tahoe - took a group of 12. Food needs some help but the tour is worth it.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The weather was awful... not their fault!! I enjoyed the food and drinks and the staff was very friendly. I think it would have been nice for staff to walk around and ask how we were doing.. we had plates that needed to be removed. I couldn't really hear the tour even though the boat was not full weather I am sure. I can't imagine hearing it when it's a packed tour. I wish they offered head phones for those that would have liked them.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The tour was lovely, I wish that the speakers on the lower deck were better because so many people war talking you couldn't hear much unless you moved to another level.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

MS Dixie broke down. Had to take the smaller Tahoe Queen. Instead of having dinner served, got stuck having to go down below our deck and go through buffet line. Waitress blew our drink bill three times and had to readjust it. Band was great. Scenery was great.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

So I'm mixed about this experience. The food was good, the people we met were fun, the cruise after dinner was good, however the service was horrendous. After the cruise we found out that they had just started running the cruise again after time off for repairs. We had a server approach us twice with a bill for our drinks and we hadn't even been served our entrees yet. After dropping off the first bill for 11, he came by again with the same bill for 11. We told him that we will pay it but what if we wanted another drink. He seemed perplexed. My wife paid the bill while I was off to the restroom and the guy came back again asking for payment. She told him that she had just paid him five minutes prior, which he made a face like she was lying to him and another of the guests at our table had to confirm that it was indeed paid. It was a shame that the service from the bar was so lacking our primary waiter was okay as it really dropped this review down. I would say wait until at least September 2015 before booking until they get the kinks worked out.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Parking worst. Don't go there as no one takes ownership of parking and you may have to shell about 20 to 50 for parking and walk for 30 to 45 mins.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Love it. View was so beautiful, boat took us back in time,

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

We really enjoyed the trip across Lake Tahoe. The information about the lake and it's history was very educational and being able to see the bottom of the lake at the entrance of the bay was beautiful. We would recommend this tour to anyone visiting the area. Thanks for a good time. Dave and Gayl.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I wife and I spent our 28th anniversary dinning and dancing, had a great time, but the night cruise in the winter is very cold and the view of the lake is seen with a spot light from the boat, but we had lots of fun

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was our first trip on the evening dinner trip, and I have to say it did not disappoint. I hope to take the day trip to see the sights next time. Love Tahoe!

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

In the Fall this cruise should start a little earlier. It was dark when we boarded. I was disappointed we didn't get to see the sunset on the lake.

Doing what: M.S Dixie II Sunset Dinner Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message