Langkawi ATTRACTIONS See all

Langkawi Cable Car

The Langkawi Cable Car will take you high above the Langkawi rainforest on Mount Mat Chinchang for the most spectacular views of the surrounding islands and sea. It’s an absolute must-do when you visit Langkawi and a great way to orientate ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 35 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Excellent view of the area! However, the bridge was closed. That should have been mention to us before and we should not have paid full price for something that wasn't included.

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

Tour guide left us at entrance with the tickets, did not explain anything, and the waiting time to enter the cable car was 1 hour.

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

We were collected from the hotel by taxi and continued to the cable car,the cable car should not be missed

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

Ian H
Singapore

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

I feel I am misleading readers by giving this trip one-star. It is an absolutely scam and a total rip off.

Where it went wrong:

1)The “tour guides” turned up 30minutes late and then stated that as it was a holiday the queues would be very long when we reached the cable car.
2)The van we had booked for our party had broken down so we had two beat-up small saloon cars with bad air-con.
3)The “tour guides” spoke very little English and did not provide any useful information in the 20 minute drive across Langkawi. Even when I requested some commentary or asked questions they were met with monosyllabic replies. When I complained that they were effectively local drivers rather than the “advertised tour guides” it was too hard to surmount the language barrier.
4)You then get dumped at the (long) queue for the cable car by the drivers who then advise that for another USD20 each you can get a VIP pass and avoid the queue, They then disappear with the money and miraculously soon you have some badges which allow you past the locals.
5)You then are told what time your driver will take you (again silently) back to the hotel.

Everyone should avoid this tour like the plague and I’m very disappointed with Viator as my previous experiences have all been very positive.

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

A bit cloudy on our cable car ride, but still worth it. Nice to get a good overall view of the island.

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

This is a must do on the island . Spectacular views (on a clear day) and not for the faint-hearted or if you are afraid of heights.

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

We really loved the tour! And our driver was very nice and quite informative!!

In the oriental village the fish pedicure is a must and that was the only thing that i found worthwhile there!

The views are amazing but bring a hat and wear light clothing and drink plenty of water because it was quite hot and humid when we went there!

Otherwise the views are fantastic and it's a must for everyone visiting Langkawi!

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Fantastic driver for hotel pick up / drop off, excellent knowledge and stories (Joe we loved you - they should pay you more). The cable car ride was great, fantastic to see a different aspect of the island. The oriental village was fantastic and a good place for easy shopping and fish pedicure at Anjung Spa (RM18). This is a must do activity while staying in Langkawi.

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Good Tour but it was extremely busy and the wait was very long to even get onto the cable car. There is an express Lane and with the limited time we had, it would have been nice to have the option of upgrading to "Express".

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

Coral
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Don't miss this - it's easy to catch a taxi and buy your own ticket.
We were surprised that it simply wasn't open for several days for maintenance, when we wanted to go back again.

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2011

Bad weather, low cloud cover, no visibility-but a very spooky atmosphere which made it enjoyable

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

Anwar Kamal S
Saudi Arabia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2011

We were expecting something better. The tour guide was actuall a local driver with a very little abiltiy to talk English. In fact there was no tour guide because the drive left us alone from the parking. He was not even wearing safety belt during driving and when asked, he said not needed?? (strange traffic rules in Langkawi).Due to bad weather nothing was visible at the top. Infact we spent more time in the transitiional stop because nobody told us that there was one more upward drive ffor cable car. The driver asked us to come within 1 hour and we finished whole tour in just two hours. In our way back to hotel, he stopped us at wrong KFC which was too far from our hotel (Wstin).We asked him to stop the one at jetty point. It was a total disappointing tour by all means in Langkawi which have lots of fun and attractions otherwise

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message