Langkawi ATTRACTIONS See all

Langkawi Cable Car

The Langkawi Cable Car will take you high above the Langkawi rainforest on Mount Mat Chinchang for the most spectacular views of the surrounding islands and sea. It’s an absolute must-do when you visit Langkawi and a great way to orientate ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 41 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Nothing much to say Awesome! Just a note it is worth paying the $15.00 per person extra, no wait in the long lines, this is called the express line.

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Just like a taxi ! Hotel- cable car stn.
Member is only me.

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

There was miscommunication as we arrived on a Saturday night and the company wasn't open on the Sunday to discuss that we didn't need a shuttle as we were just staying down the road from the cable car. On the day of the tour we walked to the cable car and rang the company when they were open and explained that we were waiting there for the rest of the tour. She said the tour company has left a message with our hotel but we never got it. Regardless, when the tour man arrived he shook our hands, brought two tickets for the cable car and left. This was given to us as a honeymoon gift and was definitely not worth the money paid for it- over $100- Even if we did end up catching the shuttle.

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

Our guide was no more than a taxi ride to the cable car. We weren't given express tickets so had to queue for ages with all the locals. Would have been better off doing this ourselves

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

This was not a tour! He simply drove us there,bought our tickets and left.. We also had to pay extra for coming to the Andaman resort. We could of easily got a driver if we needed one.

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Excellent view of the area! However, the bridge was closed. That should have been mention to us before and we should not have paid full price for something that wasn't included.

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

Tour guide left us at entrance with the tickets, did not explain anything, and the waiting time to enter the cable car was 1 hour.

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

We were collected from the hotel by taxi and continued to the cable car,the cable car should not be missed

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

Ian H
Singapore

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

I feel I am misleading readers by giving this trip one-star. It is an absolutely scam and a total rip off.

Where it went wrong:

1)The “tour guides” turned up 30minutes late and then stated that as it was a holiday the queues would be very long when we reached the cable car.
2)The van we had booked for our party had broken down so we had two beat-up small saloon cars with bad air-con.
3)The “tour guides” spoke very little English and did not provide any useful information in the 20 minute drive across Langkawi. Even when I requested some commentary or asked questions they were met with monosyllabic replies. When I complained that they were effectively local drivers rather than the “advertised tour guides” it was too hard to surmount the language barrier.
4)You then get dumped at the (long) queue for the cable car by the drivers who then advise that for another USD20 each you can get a VIP pass and avoid the queue, They then disappear with the money and miraculously soon you have some badges which allow you past the locals.
5)You then are told what time your driver will take you (again silently) back to the hotel.

Everyone should avoid this tour like the plague and I’m very disappointed with Viator as my previous experiences have all been very positive.

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

A bit cloudy on our cable car ride, but still worth it. Nice to get a good overall view of the island.

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

This is a must do on the island . Spectacular views (on a clear day) and not for the faint-hearted or if you are afraid of heights.

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message