New Year's Eve Around the World

By Viator, November 2013

Ring in the New Year in style! New Year's is the perfect opportunity to experience some of the best that Viator has to offer. Head to New York City to get the VIP treatment! The most in-the-know New Yorkers make their way into the New Year with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our tour guide Carlton was very friendly. He taught us alot about the places we visited and things we saw. This tour allows you to travel on the back streets and across farm land and see Langkawi that you wouldn't get to see in a car/van. The tour ended with a delicious platter of local food.

Doing what: Langkawi Half-Day Cycling Tour

Ian H
Singapore

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

I feel I am misleading readers by giving this trip one-star. It is an absolutely scam and a total rip off.

Where it went wrong:

1)The “tour guides” turned up 30minutes late and then stated that as it was a holiday the queues would be very long when we reached the cable car.
2)The van we had booked for our party had broken down so we had two beat-up small saloon cars with bad air-con.
3)The “tour guides” spoke very little English and did not provide any useful information in the 20 minute drive across Langkawi. Even when I requested some commentary or asked questions they were met with monosyllabic replies. When I complained that they were effectively local drivers rather than the “advertised tour guides” it was too hard to surmount the language barrier.
4)You then get dumped at the (long) queue for the cable car by the drivers who then advise that for another USD20 each you can get a VIP pass and avoid the queue, They then disappear with the money and miraculously soon you have some badges which allow you past the locals.
5)You then are told what time your driver will take you (again silently) back to the hotel.

Everyone should avoid this tour like the plague and I’m very disappointed with Viator as my previous experiences have all been very positive.

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

Brian P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

An excellent experience with a friendly and knowledgable guide. The tour uses quiet roads and paths and is not at all strenuous. the scenery and countryside is wonderful and the pace of the tour enable you to see Langkawi at its best.
The bikes are well maintained and in good condition.

Doing what: Langkawi Half-Day Cycling Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

We really loved the tour! And our driver was very nice and quite informative!!

In the oriental village the fish pedicure is a must and that was the only thing that i found worthwhile there!

The views are amazing but bring a hat and wear light clothing and drink plenty of water because it was quite hot and humid when we went there!

Otherwise the views are fantastic and it's a must for everyone visiting Langkawi!

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

The crew at Crystal Yacht Holidays are amazing. This was by far the best activity I did in Langkawi. The yacht is lovely, the bbq food was delicious, plentiful and expertly prepared. My travel companion had a peanut allergy and they presented her with a list of all ingredients and even thought of peanut oil. We could not have been more impressed with every aspect of this activity. There is an open bar with very generous crew and you can drink as much as you want, you never have an empty drink. Swimming off the side of the boat is amazing, although I would recommend only trying this if you are a fairly strong swimmer. Had the best time ever and EVERYONE NEEDS TO DO THIS!!! Cannot stress enough - amazing, fantastic, so much fun, impeccable service and generosity.

Doing what: Langkawi Sunset Luxury Yacht Cruise with Cocktails or BBQ Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Fantastic driver for hotel pick up / drop off, excellent knowledge and stories (Joe we loved you - they should pay you more). The cable car ride was great, fantastic to see a different aspect of the island. The oriental village was fantastic and a good place for easy shopping and fish pedicure at Anjung Spa (RM18). This is a must do activity while staying in Langkawi.

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

Anwar Kamal S
Saudi Arabia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2011

We were expecting something better. The tour guide was actuall a local driver with a very little abiltiy to talk English. In fact there was no tour guide because the drive left us alone from the parking. He was not even wearing safety belt during driving and when asked, he said not needed?? (strange traffic rules in Langkawi).Due to bad weather nothing was visible at the top. Infact we spent more time in the transitiional stop because nobody told us that there was one more upward drive ffor cable car. The driver asked us to come within 1 hour and we finished whole tour in just two hours. In our way back to hotel, he stopped us at wrong KFC which was too far from our hotel (Wstin).We asked him to stop the one at jetty point. It was a total disappointing tour by all means in Langkawi which have lots of fun and attractions otherwise

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Well worth it! you cannot go to Langkawi without doing this.

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Spectacular views, wonderful ride, but long wait in queue to board cable car. It's a must do activity in Langkawi. Oriental village very touristy. Shopping not as good as at other places in Langkawi.

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

Jeff
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We had a great time. The cable car was a bit scary as there is only one support between the top and bottom - so it rises and falls as the cars go over the supports. At the top there are a bunch of lookouts and a real freaky bridge across a gully - cool. I'd recommend this to anyone visiting Langkawi.

Doing what: Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message