• USD ($)
  • English
Existing in marked contrast to the colorful vistas of the neighboring Grand Canyon, the dark volcanic walls of the aptly named Black Canyon offer access to the Colorado River, Hoover Dam, and the El Dorado and Black Mountains that serve as its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

An unforgettable ride with amazing and unforgettable landscapes. The helicopter passes by the Hoover Dam, Lake Mead, Black Canyon and Colorado River before arriving at the Grand Canyon. Upon landing, you can buy souvenirs of the Hualapai Indian tribe including jewelry, t-shirts and other gifts. With this tour you will have a sense of the grandeur of the Grand Canyon and will never forget this wonderful place. A tour that is worth doing!

Doing what: Grand Canyon West Rim Luxury Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

My wife and myself liked the trip very much. From the time the Viator driver picked us up at our hotel to the return, the staff were very professional and attentive. The operator of our raft was very knowledgable and also seemed to care about the enviroment based and the individuals that were on his raft. Black Canyon was my wife's and my fourth excursion (three were in Rome) with Viator and we highly recommend them. It should be noted, we will be taking another tour with them in November.

Doing what: Black Canyon River Rafting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

The Black Canyon River float was a highlight of our Las Vegas trip. Transportation to and from our hotel to the Colorado River was easy and efficient. The time on the river was glorious, with many natural wonders to wow us. We saw bald eagles, golden eagles, peregrine falcon, blue heron, as well as several sightings of big horn sheep. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and informative. There were 11 in our group, 8 of these in their 20's. This contingent would have preferred less talk and more quiet time on the raft to savor views. I understood where they were coming from but appreciated the education nonetheless. Thanks to all at Viator for a memorable river trip.

Doing what: Black Canyon River Rafting Tour

JULIAN W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

A trip with a difference! Well organised and the guide was very jovial and informative. The raft is an inflatable with an outboard engine. The scenery passing through the Black Canyon is lovely and I would recommend this trip if you have a day free during a Las Vegas stay.

Doing what: Black Canyon River Rafting Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

This was the highlight of my weekend. We enjoyed the relaxing trip along the Black Canyon and views of the Hoover Dam. We saw many different fish species and ducks. We also spotted a Bald Eagle perching at the top of Black Canyon. Our guide was excellent

Doing what: Black Canyon River Rafting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

The scenery of Black Canyon with the Hoover Dam and crystal clear blue water made for an amazing day. This tour is great for all ages. Our guide had a great personality and shared a good deal of history during our rafting trip

Doing what: Black Canyon River Rafting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

This was an experience that my wife and I will never forget. From the on time pick-up to the return to our hotel the service we received could not have been bettered. The trip was exactly as defined and with a superb guide, we were really well looked after. The knowledge our guide had of the Black Canyon is fantastic and we were well informed througout our journey. This is a great trip which makes you feel a million miles away from the hustle and bustle of Las Vegas. A memorable trip well worth the money.

Doing what: Black Canyon River Rafting Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I was hoping the tour might have more Hoover Dam information, but the 12 mile drift through the Black Canyon and the tour guide was amazing. My kids loved it! Saw big horn sheep too!!

Doing what: Black Canyon River Rafting Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

I've done the trip from the Dam to Willow beach several times on a canoe. This is the first time I have gone with a tour guide and learned a lot about the Dam and the Black canyon. We took this tour because I wanted to show my wife the Black Canyon and it's a way for her to see its beauty since she's not able to kayak because of her physical limitations.
The pick up and drop off from our hotel was very convenient and lunch was good. this is a way for people of all ages to enjoy the Black Canyon and all it has to offer.
I was prepared for the trip because I had been there before, but I just wanted to stress to people to go prepared and well protected from the sun, also wear something you don't mind jumping in the water with because it's very inviting.

Doing what: Black Canyon River Rafting Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

Be ready for - 17+ hour day; being herded into tour groups at the central processing depot for a time wasting 20 minute introduction trying to convince benefits of the more expensive West Rim tour to which you could transfer at a cost (all while standing) and then paying the processing fee; pathetic breakfast (get your own snacks etc. the day before); long bus ride (of course, but avoid front & r/h side on top deck due to sun); very short and rushed lunch break if doing IMAX with no time to look around National Geographic Centre and long queues for loo’s); lousy lunch; very disappointing photo opportunity at Hoover Dam (could not see the Wall properly except from moving bus and no sign of Colorado River/Black Canyon from stop). Our driver gave very little commentary about Las Vegas and the Canyon but she was a very pleasant and helpful lady. Having said that, the views of the Grand Canyon were spectacular and amazing - the main reason for the trip. Also, would thoroughly recommend the IMAX production.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

The tour started 2 hours after we were picked up from out hotel, we were first taken back to the bus terminal to pay for any additional fees and gift shop. We were then split into groups depending on which package you purchased, we added a black canyon helicopter tour to our package. Our driver plugged for tips through the entire ride!!! Mentioning how long he's been a guide, trashing all competition and letting us all know that "he hopes we show our appreciation for all the knowledge he's giving us". Our 90 min at the Hoover Dam was spent waiting in line, very very long lines, one after the other...it seemed as though each guide provided the same 5 min of information over and over to stall, once the actual tour started we were underground for about 15 min. A bit of a disappointment considering we'd been waiting an hour already. After all the waiting we spent about 12 min on the Hoover Dam before making a mad dart back to the bus, without any time to grab a glimpse into the gift shop or even a bottle of water. (would have been nice if the driver kept a cooler on the bus, even airport shuttles keep water for passengers) After having the passenger beside me vomit from heat and dehydration we went to the Lake Meade tour, again, waited in line 35 min to order our 1 slice of turkey and 1 slice of cheese on a sub. Thank goodness the view was amazing from the boat and the helicopter which was an extra $100 and we lost the Chocolate Factory tour and gardens for it. I wouldn't recommend this tour to someone I hated! Do it on your own!!!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour from Las Vegas

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message