Las Vegas ATTRACTIONS See all

Grand Canyon Skywalk

The Grand Canyon Skywalk is a glass-bottom "U"-shaped bridge that overlooks the Colorado River and the Grand Canyon's West Rim. And did we mention it's also the world’s highest man-made structure - by more than 2,300 feet (700 meters)! The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 512 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

What a great way to see Hoover Dam and the Grand Canyon West Rim and not have to worry about driving!! This was such a wonderful way to relax and get away from the Las Vegas strip for the day and explore the great outdoors. The Hoover Dam stop even though it was only about 15 to 20 minutes long was so much easier to enjoy on the new pedestrian walkway they built instead of having to travel down the winding steep road to the bottom and then head back up. You could see just how majestic this man made wonder truly is. From there we headed to the West Rim of the Grand Canyon which was too long of a bus ride, only about 90 minutes after leaving Hoover Dam. Once you arrive at the Grand Canyon the first thing you see is the helicopters and it makes you really kick yourself in the behind for not buying the helicopter ride...lol...we then headed on the bus to take us over to Eagle Point where if you look really hard, the rock formation looks just like an Eagle with its wings spread. There were different vendors there so if you got hungry or thirsty there was a place to purchase items. At Eagle Point you are also able to go on the Skywalk (if you are brave enough) and look down to the bottom of the canyon. For me I just prefer to stand a ways back from the edge and simply admire from a distance. We then got back on the bus and headed to Guano Point which was really cool because there wasn't one place you could turn where you didn't see the amazing colors of the canyon and if you looked down you saw the Colorado River and the helicopter flying in between looked so tiny that it made you realize just how vast the canyon is. We climbed up this pyramid shape rock formation that reminded me of the tower of Babel when we first got there. The climb looked easy but however was a little difficult when you first got started. We then ate lunch and enjoyed the views a little longer, before heading back to our motorcoach to enjoy the journey back to our hotel in Las Vegas. All in all it was a wonderful way to spend the day.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

What an amazing, spectacular trip!!! For those of you who are not a huge fan of flying to the Grand Canyon West Rim, this bus trip is wonderful. It was a long journey but so worth the time. We started out the morning by being picked up at our hotel by a bright eyed and bushy tailed bus driver, who by the way was a real enjoyment and very knowledgeable about Las Vegas. From the hotel we headed over to the terminal to join others traveling to the West Rim. Our first stop on our journey was to Hoover Dam and such a beautiful sight to see. The time and hard work that went into making this enormous structure is just amazing. Absolutely stunning!! We walked up the staircase to the pedestrian walkway on the new bridge they built connecting Nevada and Arizona. From there the view of the entire dam was awe inspiring. After a short 15-20 minute stop we then boarded the bus and continued our journey to the West Rim. We made a short pit stop to pick up water and snacks and to stretch our legs. This is the most perfect time of year I feel to visit the canyon. The fact that the weather there is very similar to the weather in Vegas made it in the mid 60's (not too hot and not too cold) PERFECT!! Plus the fact that the major travel season to the canyon was much less than in the summer, made this the best part because there wasn't many tourist. Once at the canyon there are 3 different areas you can visit and see all by way of a bus that takes you from each point and runs about every 15 minutes. From the main location the 1st stop on the buses route is Hualapai Ranch and even though you can't see the canyon from that location, it is a very enjoyable stop. The 2nd stop is Eagle Point where you will find the Skywalk which doesn't look as scary when you're standing on the ground next to it....however, if you are afraid of heights then that would be a different story. The 3rd stop is Guano Point which was my absolute favorite place and I felt was the most beautiful vantage point of the canyon. From there you get a 360 degree view of the whole enchilada. Breathtaking, mesmerizing and a must see for anyone who is visiting Las Vegas. My suggestion is however if you are taking this fabulous trip you might as well take advantage of the tour options and select the helicopter/boat/skywalk option because with 4 hours of free time at the canyon and for many people this being their one time only trip to the Grand Canyon West Rim, my suggestion is go big or go home. The trip back was just as relaxing and we did make 1 stop to stretch our legs and pick up some drinks and snacks as we made our way back to the hotel. The whole trip from pickup time at hotel to drop off time back at the hotel was exactly 12 hours. Another special thanks to the bus driver for getting us there and back safely and in good humor.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Amazing day at the Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam, brilliant coach driver called Bruce, who made the day fun and very well organised. The Skywalk is amazing if a little scary but well worth doing for the experience. Everyone should do this trip at least once whilst in Vegas, the Arizona desert is stunning.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

"Like Clockwork" ..... From being picked up at our hotel, The Venetian, to boarding our helicopter for the flight down into the base of the canyon everything was timed to precision. This trip will always be regarded by both myself and my wife as the best trip we have ever been on. The views are breathtaking and our decision to fly from Boulder City to the canyon as opposed to taking the "losing the will to live" three and a half hours coach route was money well spent and you should all do the same.
The Hualapai Indians administer 1,000,000 acres of the rim and the amenities provided by them are second to none, all for your pleasure and comfort. Tarmac roads, landscaped areas, all for your benefit.
They funded and contracted the building of the "Skywalk", the glass platform you can walk out on but your view from this tourist attraction is no different from the adjacent flat areas of rock next to the same area of the canyon. Also, the banning of photographic equipment and mobile phones on this glassed area also defeats the object of paying extra to walk out onto it. So, in essence, save your money. My wife and I were able to take lots of photos and videos of the decent into and out of the canyon by helicopter and also the flight to and from the canyon from Boulder City Airport. Our 16 year old daughter is studying the Grand Canyon rock structure, flora and fauna at college so we were able to assist her with lots of photo images of the same.
A truly breathtaking trip made perfect by the organisers at Viator.

David and Kerry Hodgson
YORK
United Kingdom

Doing what: Best of the West Rim: Grand Canyon Air Tour with Helicopter, Boat Ride and Optional Skywalk Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

TOTAL ENJOYMENT FROM START TO FINISH. EASY PROCESS . I SUPPOSE THE MAIN GRIPE I HAVE IS THE COLLECTION FROM HOTEL AT 5.50 AM TO GO AND COLLECT OTHER PASSENGERS FOR THE TRIP. IT JUST MAKES THE DAY SO LONG AS DROP OFF WAS 7ISH THAT EVENING.
THAT ASIDE I WAS DELIGHTED WITH THE SERVICE OF THE CREW AND OUR BUSDRIVER "THOMAS" WAS ENJOYABLE IF NOT A BIT CRACKED!!! VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE FELLA.
HOOVER DAM WAS INTERESTING BUT NOT A MAJOR TOURIST ATTRACTION BUT ENJOYED THE HISTORY AROUND IT.
THE GRAND CANYON WAS SIMPLY SUPERB. THE VIEWS WERE OUTSTANDING AND THE MEET AND GREET PEOPLE AND SHUTTLE BUS DRIVERS COULD NOT HAVE BEEN MORE HELPFUL.
THE SKY WALK WAS A BIT OF A MONEY SPINNER......... 35 DOLLARS EACH TO WALK ACCROSS THE SKYWALK. THE WALK DOESNT ENHANCE THE BEAUTY OF THE PLACE OR ADD TO THE TRIP SO IF YOU DONT DO IT, ITS NOT A DEAL BREAKER. ONCE I GOT THERE I WAS DISGUSTED THAT I DIDNT DO THE HELICOPTER RIDE. BUT I SUPPOSE IT IS MORE COSTLY THAN THE NORMAL METHOD OF VIEWING...... IE BYFOOT. FOOT WAS BASIC BUT EDIBLE AND THAT IS INCLUDED IN THE PRICE. REALLY ENJOYED THE DAY AND WOULD DO IT ALL AGAIN.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was such an exciting experience going on this tour. The Grand Canyon is such a beautiful place to visit. I brought my 6yr old son and he loved hiking and exploring around the canyon. I was happy that we took the opportunity to go on the Skywalk as well. It was amazing being able to look down thru the glass and all around at the breathtaking view of the canyon. The transportation was a great accommodation as well. Our driver was pleasant, funny and very informative.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent and easy way to see the Grand Canyon. Experienced pilot able to point out and identify all of the landmarks along the route. The highlight was the descent to the bottom of the canyon. Quite a different perspective of the size and height from down there. As for the Skywalk - a bit of a disappointment actually. Probably spoilt by the helicopter ride along and down.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Grand Canyon Helicopter Tour with Optional Below-the-Rim Landing and Skywalk Upgrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The best experience - we were on a tight timescale so booked this trip which meant we would be back at our hotel in Las Vegas by lunchtime. We were picked up as expected by a cheerful and knowledgeable shuttle bus driver who took us to Maverick's private terminal a little way out of Las Vegas. We then had a briefing with our pilot and headed off to the Grand Canyon. The pilot kept us entertained the whole way to the Grand Canyon with interesting facts and was also very attentive in telling passengers when the ride might get a little bumpy.

We didn't go on the Skywalk and felt that we had just about the perfect amount of time at the Canyon and enjoyed an amazing meal - the best BBQ beef I've ever had in my life!!!!!!

There was a bad storm when we were at the Canyon but the pilot got us back to Las Vegas in good time and we were delivered back to our hotel before lunch.

Seriously impressed with the tour company and would suggest them to anyone going to the Grand Canyon - thank you for an unforgettable experience!

Doing what: Grand Canyon West Rim Air and Ground Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a truly fantastic experience, it was quite a log day but we were kept entertained throughout the journey by our driver James. The Grand Canyon is really awesome and it is a trip we will never forget in fact we would like to visit again in the future. Perhaps the only downside was trying to do to much and ending up rushing and missing some things out to get back to the coach on time. This was caused by a delay in getting a helicoter back to the top of the canyon, I think Viator should probably warn tourists that this could happen and maybe they would tailor their activities bearing that in mind. We also noticed that on the Skywalk the photographers tended to hold things up obviously taking photographs, but in doing so they obstructed some clearly distressed people that just wanted to get on and off. I must stress these are hopefully constructive criticisms and would not stop us using Viator again.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

great trip, not our first time to the grand Canyon, not in a helicopter over but this was much much better than the drive over and a quick spin around the top.

Alex the pilot was very friendly but reassuaring to the first time flyer in the group. Despite the turbulence (nearby storms made it a bit bumpy) we felt safe all the time. The drop down into the bottom was fantastic, landing on a small pad right next to the river also great. I wasn't expecting much from a 15min river cruise but that was a real surprise. You get a whole different perspective from the river, the local guide was very informative and made the 15mins fly by. We only had a few minutes wait for the helicopter back to the top. Clear instructions for what to do next, recommendations on what to do and not do. We went to Eagle Point, but the Skywalk was closed (same nearby storms), no information on when/if it would open. Went onto Guano point, where lunch was served. This was the recommended lunch and was not great, but then we didn't come to the GC for the cuisine. Guano point was great to walk/climb around, lots of great photo opportunities. we then hear that the skywalk was open, but we were too late to go around the full circuit and catch the flight back. one of the bus drivers heard that and diverted so we could still get to the Skywalk. Skywalk was amazing, shame you cant take cameras and too few photographers to see everyone. Back by helicopter with Alex and great spin around downtown and the strip. The day went really quickly, very busy a bit rushed to get it all in but a day never to forget.

Doing what: Ultimate Grand Canyon 4-in-1 Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It is a very early start to the day, but seeing Hoover Dam in morning light is spectacular. And the Grand Canyon is just amazing and fascinating. I'm an Arizona native so I've been to the Grand Canyon a few times before, but the Skywalk makes it so awesome and allows you to really see the beauty of the Canyon. Truly fantastic trip!

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic trip .From start to finish it was an exceptional day.. The helicopter ride was amazing down into the Grand Canyon, as was the skywalk with exceptional views. .A real experience and a great thing to cross off your bucket list. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Everything about this tour was amazing! Even tho I thought the bus ride there and back was going to be too long, it actually went by really quick! Our bus driver made it so much fun, giving us fun facts along the way and he was hilarious. I can't even begin to describe how incredible the Grand Canyon is! Words and pictures don't give it justice, it is just breath taking! The skywalk was also an incredible experience. It felt like you were literally floating in the air. I must recommend for the lunch, to go to Hualapai Ranch, their ribs were sooo good. They also have fun activities like a wagon ride and you can even go horseback riding. My favorite point tho was definitely Guano point! The view there was just magnificent! There is a short hike, not even hard, so you can see the Grand Canyon from the highest point there, and trust me you will not regret it if you do it. Best view ever! I got there when we had 40 min left, I would definitely suggest to get there with a little more time because you will just want to sit there and gaze out at the incredible sight! Definitely recommend this trip to everyone!

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Everything we hoped for! Logistics worked perfectly, picked up on time, check-in/weigh in was fast and easy. Very impressed with focus on safety before take-off. Pilot gave excellent information during the flights. Plenty of time to do everything we wanted and Lunch was better than we expected. Grand Canyon, Hoover dam, Skywalk don't take our word for it go and visit and see just how spectacular they really are! Breathtaking!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Grand Canyon Helicopter Tour with Optional Below-the-Rim Landing and Skywalk Upgrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Photos do not do justice to the scale of the Grand Canyon. The Skywalk is well worth doing; but no cameras are allowed so if you want photgraphs then you have to use the approved ptotographers working on the skywalk

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message