Las Vegas ATTRACTIONS See all

Grand Canyon South Rim

Of the two major rims of the Grand Canyon, many visitors choose the South Rim, which boasts easy access, the bulk of services, and the panoramic vistas for which the park is famous. Every summer, visitors throng the park's most popular rim, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 16 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our wondeful tour started at 6AM hotel pick up. Once at the tour facility the check-in process is a little chaotic for so early in the morning but once on the tour bus everything is great. The first stop was the Hoover Dam although this is just a photo op it is still a great stop. Then we were on to our long ride to the Grande Canyon South Rim. Our tour guide Juana Spelling?? was great, his driving was excellent and he kept the tour moving on schedule. The audio narrative information of the famous and not so famous landmarks, Las Vegas, the Mob, Gaming/Gambling Tips,and other general information was a great way to fill the long journey. The movies also were a nice touch! My only comment here is that the volume should be able to be controlled but the paasengers maybe even allow headphone use. During the movie there were times when hearing the words was impossible. We choose to view the IMAX movie well worth it. Gives you a real feel for the whole adventure. After lunch and the movie we headed to the Canyon. It is just a Magnificent Wonder... Grander than my wife and I could ever have imagined. Something that truely needs to be seen in person to be able to understand why is it a wonder of the world. This is a very long day tour leaving our hotel at 6am and returning at 11pm. My only negative comment here is that the 2 meal stops that were made were to McDonalds and Subway... I would suggest that maybe the company review this and try to at least give travellers a more healthy choice for their dinner/ evening stop. Other than the meal stops the Grand Canyon South Rim Tour was a 5 star experience.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We researched many different tours before selecting this one and I highly recommend it!! The whole experience with the Airlines, the tour operator, was flawless, and I am very pleased I found this tour through Viator. We were staying in Vegas and wanted to see the Grand Canyon South Rim we heard it was more colorful than the West Rim but were not able to drive or stay overnight. Although this tour is more expensive than a bus tour, it was 100 worth it as you did not have to spend 8 hours on a bus round trip. The tour offered two different times during May, so we went with the 2pm, allowing us to have the entire morning and get back to Vegas in time to have dinner and enjoy the night there! The tour was perfectly organized like other reviewers mentioned. Everyone from the customer service reps on the phone to the trolley/bus drivers to the pilots were friendly, knowledgeable and professional.

I would also recommend adding the helicopter option as it really was beautiful to see the Canyon from that vantage point. If you choose the helicopter option, you only get to see Bright Angel Lodge on the ground if you don't choose the helicopter option, you get to see both Mather Point and Bright Angel Lodge on the ground. That was the only downside but the helicopter was definitely an experience to remember and I don't regret it! The helicopter was also super smooth and not choppy at all. This was truly a wonderful experience and again, I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Deluxe Grand Canyon South Rim Airplane Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We had a great experience on this Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour. When we arrived in Vegas we called 24 hours in advance to confirm a pick up from our hotel per the instructions. The following day we were picked up and transported to the station where we would be greeted and eventually get on our tour bus for the day. At the station the hosts made sure you were provided accurate information regarding the trip and the opportunity to upgrade to any of their other options if you wanted. We opted not to do any upgrades and it was still very enjoyable. The trek to the South Rim is very long, but the ride was broken up into sections making it very comfortable. If you plan on doing the South Rim tour, you must carve out an entire day and not plan to do anything else.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Me and my friend went to the Grand Canyon South Rim bus tour with IMAX, a fantastic trip. The bus drivers were amazing. They got us there and back safely. I would love to see the IMAX movie again. It was just like being there flying and river rafting. Truely amazing. The beauty of Grand Canyon is beyond words. I would definitely recommend this tour. Still too scared to take the helicopter upgrade but someday.....!

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Carolyn H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We took the Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Helicopter Option.
It was the most exhilarating experience ever. I would strongly recommend the helicopter option, as you really do see far more of the Canyon than just going to the south rim. A very long day in the bus but very much worth every cent.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

We went on the South Rim tour with the helicopter upgrade. It was a comfortable and scenic ride to the South Rim. The helicopter upgrade was absolutely breathtaking. We also enjoyed our free time to explore the views at Bright Angel. I recommend this tour to anyone who enjoys traveling in style to the beautiful Grand Canyon South Rim

Doing what: Deluxe Grand Canyon South Rim Airplane Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed the trip to the Grand Canyon South Rim. The only problem the we had was the length of time that was allowed to view the canyon and the IMAX show. Although we do understand the time constraints for the this trip to get back to Las Vegas in the same day. Another problem that we had on this trip, that was not any fault of this company, was the power outage that arose from the thunderstorm. We feel that the park should have a generator set up for these problems. We were more than satisfied with the safety of the bus driver that we had along with the roominess of the bus seats. We were more than satisfied with the set up of this tour. Thank you.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I booked this Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour through Viator. I also opted to add the IMAX Grand Canyon movie. The day began with the 5:30 AM pick up at hour hotel. The bus was about 20 minutes later than they said, but that really isn't bad considering we were among the last to be picked up. We were taken to the processing center (yes, they take a few minutes to try to up sell you on the optional tour items but it is a soft sell approach and it does give you the opportunity to add to your tour if you hadn't already done your homework). After you purchase your ticket or present your prepaid voucher, you have the opportunity to purchase breakfast, drinks and snacks from the commissary before lining up for your tour bus. The bus was nice and plenty cool for a hot summer day ( take a light jacket or sweatshirt with you as you may actually get cold on the bus). The travel time to the South Rim is about 4 1/2 hours. First stop is the new bridge overlooking the Hoover Dam. The bus parks and you hike about a 1/2 mile ( up 70 steps to begin with) to get to the center of the pedestrian walkway on the bridge. Great views and 20-30 minutes is more than enough time to make the trek, take plenty of photos and trek back to the bus. Second stop is a McDonald's in Williams, AZ. The McDonald's there is prepared to handle several buses at a time and they were efficient, organized and fast. They served 3 buses while we were there and from ordering to eating was about 10 minutes. I wish the McDonald's in my town was this efficient. Back on the bus and on to the Canyon. Bring plenty of butt with you. While the bus seats are comfortable, I ran out of cheeks about halfway there
The only downside to our tour was our bus driver ( Melissa). I believe that Melissa McCarthy based her character in "The Heat" off of our bus driver Melissa. Brash, occasionally rude, and constantly annoying. Sadly she was attempting to be funny and informative, but her personality just doesn't achieve it

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We booked with viator for a trip to grand canyon South Rim and overall it was a great experience. We were in a very comfortable bus and our driver was nice. What you need to know : that tour is very long. Even with the most comfortable bus ever, this is LONG. We had to wait for those that booked the IMAX movie before heading to the grand canyon... Come on, you don't need to watch a movie, you're going to see it LIVE! So for us, this was a waste of time and you only got a few hours at the grand canyon.

Something we didn't appreciate was that we were staying at the Hard Rock Hotel, the pick up was accross the street maybe 5 minutes walking distance and at the beginning, i had no problem with that until when they dropped us at 11h30pm after the day, a man followed us in the street. Thanks god we weren't that far of the Hard Rock but still... not very fun.

We appreciate the tour, we loved the grand canyon but next time we go to the grand canyon we will take the car and go by ourselves :)

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Grand Canyon South Rim was awesome! Travel time was long but to see the canyon was well worth it, however the 3 hours spent inside the park went by to fast. If and when I'm back in Vegas, would love to visit again.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Not sure how this Grand Canyon South Rim Tour was, but we were very satisfied with the company who hosted this tour. The tour was overbooked even though there were 3 people who didn't show up. We were one of the last to board and there were no seats left for an odd number party of 3. The company manager refunded the cost of tickets in cash, compensated our missed Grand Canyon tour with a Hoover Dam Lake Mead Cruise tour and a Las Vegas strip champagne limo tour on the house. We felt it was very good customer service and would book with this company again, except that we would try to board the bus earlier.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

Long, long day on the bus for less than two hours at Grand Canyon South Rim. IMAX interesting but not breathtaking. Lunch less than average.It is a bus tour.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

The bus were supposed to pick us at 5:45 but it was 10 min late. Then we drove more than one hour to the terminal. At terminal we had to listen half an hour advertising about another tour which agency offer. After that we check in and we had to go immediately to the bus. Man who checked our vouchers in a front of the bus was rude, urged us and created pressure. He did not allow us to go to the restrooms. ( I really did not like this kind of behavior early in the morning). We start our trip at 7:30 and our driver was ok.
In National Geographic visitor center we arrived around 2 PM and if you do not want watch the move you had to wait an hour and a half trapped in boring visitor center. Movie was ok, but after 9h of driving I would preferred watch Grand Canyon in live rather than on the movie. Finally we arrived to Grand Canyon South Rim at 4 PM (more than 10 h after departure from Las Vegas) when the sun already started to go down. At second stop we arrived when was dark.
Grand Canyon is fascinating but we spend there less than two hours and half of time during night. Next time for sure I will chose the tour which does not go to National Geographic Visitor Center. Movie I could look on TV at my home... I do not need to go so far away.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2011

The journey was far too long: 5 hours each way between LV and Grand Canyon South Rim. It is too demanding for the body.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

I had taken Grand Canyon south rim tour that gave the pick up time of 5:55 am from Treasure Island hotel. The pick up bus did not arrive until 6:15 am. After reaching Airbridge location, it took nearly 20 minutes or so for the bus to get parked (not sure what was going on). After finally getting down from the bus, we were told to gather in a room with other passengers for the same tour. We finally got the voucher that would allow us to get on to the tour bus that will take us to Canyon. We were party of 4 with my uncle and aunty in their early 50s. Except for my uncle, we 3 reached to the bus and handed the vouchers to guy who was allowing passengers to board the bus after checking the vouchers. I handed the vouchers and as there were 4 vouchers and just 3 of us standing in front of him, he asked where is 4th person. I kindly replied that he is using the restroom. To that, his voice raised as if we had done something wrong and replied rudely, "Get away from here, come back when you have all passengers". I was surprised with his reaction and asked him to talk politely and to which I again got the above statement. I can imagine the rudeness if there was big line of passengers behind me, but there was none, not a single passenger waiting. So for no reason, we were treated with utter rudeness and unprofessionalism. In just a minute, my uncle came and we boarded the bus. With all the delays that happened (pick up and to park), unluckily we got the last 2 rows just before the on-board toilet. We were perfectly fine seating there as we all assumed that on-board is only for emergency purposes and passengers will not use it in normal cases. But we were wrong, even after driver's instructions to not use the toilet in general, there were few passengers and that too adults kept using the toilet. And that too when the bus was already at a stop, just to avoid the long lines to use the toilet at the location where the bus has stopped.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message