Las Vegas ATTRACTIONS See all

Grand Canyon West Rim

The Grand Canyon's West Rim, just outside Grand Canyon National Park, is home to the Havasupai and Hualapai tribes. The Hualapai Indian Reservation, created in 1883, covers nearly 1 million acres and includes 108 miles (173 km) of Colorado ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 313 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was my first trip to the Grand Canyon West Rim and we did the Sky walk which was so fun and not scary. In addition to the magnificent scenery, Native Americans were very informative, the highlight of the tour was soaking up nature at the most breath taking views at Guano Point. The bus driver--funny, informative, and gracious. Kept us on schedule, emphasized tour highlights, kept up a fascinating/funny commentary during the drive (this in addition to the per-recorded commentary).

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Amazing!!!! Our driver Sam was entertaining and knowledgeable! He kept us all amused on the way there and showed a film on the way back. We could have done with more time at the canyon, but Sam gave us invaluable advice re the order in which to complete our activities so that we could fit everything in – it was a bit rushed though. The canyon itself is remarkable. The helicopter ride was incredible and the boat trip was marvellous. For us, the West Rim was the best place to visit as it is owned by native Americans rather than the American government meaning that while ‘health and safety’ standards were not what you would expect at a tourist attraction, you could literally walk to the edge of the canyon – mind-blowing!! The Skywalk was wonderful but you are not allowed to take cameras or phones so you can’t take pictures but you can buy photos that are taken of you: a rip off or a savvy business decision? I guess that is up to the individual traveller. The lunch was of a very low standard but this was outweighed by everything else in the day being so fantastic.

Doing what: Grand Canyon West Rim Day Trip by Coach, Helicopter and Boat with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

it was a wonderful tour! everything was impeccable from the hotel pick-up until the very end of the tour, it was exactly what is written in the description and what we expected. we were 6 in total in the helicopter, including our super pilot Jim who has a great sense of humor and professionalism. the view is incredibly spectacular and unique. we saw the every best part of West rim, from the basin to the Colorado river, Having champagne at the very heart of the canyon is something to write home about! We cant recommend more about this tour and will definitely do it again next time.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Helicopter Tour with West Rim Picnic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Enjoyed this trip. I have been wanting to see the canyon for a long time and it was so beautiful. Had plenty of time to make the stops on the west rim. Just watch your time it's easy to spend a lot of time at one stop. I did not do the skywalk. The canyon was so big I did not feel I needed it and it looked as if there were many people on it so standing in line etc. would have taken extra time. Definitely recommend this tour. The plane ride to the canyon was fun and great views of the Hoover Dam and Canyon.

Doing what: Grand Canyon West Rim Air and Ground Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip was superb! We didn't go to the west rim but opted instead for an upgrade to the south rim with the IMAX video and Jeep tour. The whole experience was highly moving. We had a very informative guide who was happy to take photos and give more in depth detail about the Grand Canyon National Park. Be warned though the journey time is long for the south rim with early pick up at 5.50am and return to hotel at 11pm. I would recommend flying and perhaps an overnight stay to really experience the Grand Canyon in all its glory - nevertheless our trip was excellent, we were kept entertained by our coach driver and there were plenty of comfort breaks to make the journey more enjoyable. Thanks Viator - I would have no hesitation of booking through the company in the future and would recommend travellers book trips before they travel as prices offered by Viator are comparable, if not better than deals offered in Las Vegas.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Bus drive to west rim takes a while so take a drink and snack although you can get breakfast at the depot before you start and they stop on the way. The bus driver was informative and funny. The views at the canyon are awesome. I took the helicopter and boat option which was amazing. But you get a great view and pictures from the last stop on the free canyon bus that goes round the area and the food coupon can be used there.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I had a fantastic day, our driver, Thomas, was very friendly and such a cheerful person, it was a pleasure. It's a great day trip for first timers, next time I'll get to the south rim. The west rim is lovely, and the native americans make it extra special, but the points of view are pretty limited (but then again, for a first time it's perfect, and it fits in a day, great for people like me who don't have much time in Vegas).

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Despite it being a long day this trip is definitely worth doing. After being collected at our hotel we were taken to the offices at the tour operator to get our tickets. It was a 3 hour drive to get to the west rim but there were a couple of stops along the way. One such stop was at Hoover Dam where the views are amazing.

Once we got to the grand canyon we were left to our own devices for about 3 hours or so which was good. The canyon is absolutely incredible and offers fantastic views. We did the Sky walk which was a bit scary but not to be missed.

Five star trip and would thoroughly recommend it.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour. Would highly recommend. We got a free upgrade to the jeep tour of the south rim (which was amazing, tour guide was so passionate about the canyon) instead of the west rim just because they had spaces open. Really good service, Bus driver was knowledgable about the area, etc

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Be prepared for an early start as the pick up is at 6am in the morning (if you're staying at Caesars Palace). You don't actually go inside the Dam facility but the bus stops on the rim so you can collect pictures of the Dam itself. However, the main treat is the Grand Canyon West Rim. For all females, don't let the wind mislead you into thinking it's not hot and scorching. Bring a shawl as my girlfriend was completely burnt on her shoulders and face. I wouldn't waste my time on the Skywalk, which is an extra $35 with long queues. If you do have the funds, I'd recommend the helicopter ride. There are three areas in the Canyon West Rim, of which we explored two. Whilst the driver recommends not to visit one of them, I'd try make sure you visit all three (especially in one of them is the choice of horse riding). The bus driver was knowledgeable and friendly, although very strict on timings. I would recommend this as it is a nice break from the hustle and bustle of the Vegas strip.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Although it was an early pick up (5.55 from hotel) it was so worth it. The whole experience from booking on line, confirming the day and the day itself was a pleasure. Sam was our driver for the day and he made the 3 hour drive to the West rim a pleasure. I was unable to undertake skywalk and helicopter rides but the views from Eagle Rock and Guano Point are breath taking. I have been to South Rim before which is busier than this side. A full 4 hours to explore and take in the views so worth the drive. Add to your list of must do things.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

mark n
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

wow,double wow.from the moment we were picked up at our hotel to the time we returned we enjoyed every minute.Walter(our driver)was funny,friendly and extremely knowledgeable-a dry samuel.l.jackson character who wanted you to have the trip of a life time.We sat right behind him so had a good view all the way then took in the wonder that is the Grand Canyon-I had done the south rim many years ago but the West rim beats it hands down,courtesy shuttle buses pick you up and drop you off at 3 points and you can get food at all of them-we ate at Eagle point which was nice,Guana point seemed a lot busier for food.The skywalk was great but you can't take photos on it,you must leave all cameras in lockers -to protect the glass they say but its more likely to make more money from tourists as they will take photos for you with their cameras! On the down side the gift shops are very pricey but if you take enough of your own photos or video its not an issue.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We went on the Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam West Rim Tour. Our tour guide, Thomas, was excellent!!! He was very informative and also funny; he was constantly telling jokes which made the trip more enjoyable.
Although it can be a bit pricey, I highly recommend taking the helicopter and Colorado River Boat Tour. The views you get going down into the Canyon are incredible. If you are there, why not? It's a once in a lifetime experience.

Highly Recommended!!

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was amazing!!! Visiting the Grand Canyon was on my bucket list and this tour definitely me accomplish this goal. AMAZING!!!! Thinking about going again. This time West Rim here I come!!!

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was amazing!!! Visiting the Grand Canyon was on my bucket list and this tour definitely me accomplish this goal. AMAZING!!!! Thinking about going again. This time West Rim here I come!!!

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message