Las Vegas ATTRACTIONS See all

Grand Canyon West Rim

The Grand Canyon's West Rim, just outside Grand Canyon National Park, is home to the Havasupai and Hualapai tribes. The Hualapai Indian Reservation, created in 1883, covers nearly 1 million acres and includes 108 miles (173 km) of Colorado ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 304 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Bus drive to west rim takes a while so take a drink and snack although you can get breakfast at the depot before you start and they stop on the way. The bus driver was informative and funny. The views at the canyon are awesome. I took the helicopter and boat option which was amazing. But you get a great view and pictures from the last stop on the free canyon bus that goes round the area and the food coupon can be used there.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I had a fantastic day, our driver, Thomas, was very friendly and such a cheerful person, it was a pleasure. It's a great day trip for first timers, next time I'll get to the south rim. The west rim is lovely, and the native americans make it extra special, but the points of view are pretty limited (but then again, for a first time it's perfect, and it fits in a day, great for people like me who don't have much time in Vegas).

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Despite it being a long day this trip is definitely worth doing. After being collected at our hotel we were taken to the offices at the tour operator to get our tickets. It was a 3 hour drive to get to the west rim but there were a couple of stops along the way. One such stop was at Hoover Dam where the views are amazing.

Once we got to the grand canyon we were left to our own devices for about 3 hours or so which was good. The canyon is absolutely incredible and offers fantastic views. We did the Sky walk which was a bit scary but not to be missed.

Five star trip and would thoroughly recommend it.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour. Would highly recommend. We got a free upgrade to the jeep tour of the south rim (which was amazing, tour guide was so passionate about the canyon) instead of the west rim just because they had spaces open. Really good service, Bus driver was knowledgable about the area, etc

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Be prepared for an early start as the pick up is at 6am in the morning (if you're staying at Caesars Palace). You don't actually go inside the Dam facility but the bus stops on the rim so you can collect pictures of the Dam itself. However, the main treat is the Grand Canyon West Rim. For all females, don't let the wind mislead you into thinking it's not hot and scorching. Bring a shawl as my girlfriend was completely burnt on her shoulders and face. I wouldn't waste my time on the Skywalk, which is an extra $35 with long queues. If you do have the funds, I'd recommend the helicopter ride. There are three areas in the Canyon West Rim, of which we explored two. Whilst the driver recommends not to visit one of them, I'd try make sure you visit all three (especially in one of them is the choice of horse riding). The bus driver was knowledgeable and friendly, although very strict on timings. I would recommend this as it is a nice break from the hustle and bustle of the Vegas strip.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Although it was an early pick up (5.55 from hotel) it was so worth it. The whole experience from booking on line, confirming the day and the day itself was a pleasure. Sam was our driver for the day and he made the 3 hour drive to the West rim a pleasure. I was unable to undertake skywalk and helicopter rides but the views from Eagle Rock and Guano Point are breath taking. I have been to South Rim before which is busier than this side. A full 4 hours to explore and take in the views so worth the drive. Add to your list of must do things.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

mark n
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

wow,double wow.from the moment we were picked up at our hotel to the time we returned we enjoyed every minute.Walter(our driver)was funny,friendly and extremely knowledgeable-a dry samuel.l.jackson character who wanted you to have the trip of a life time.We sat right behind him so had a good view all the way then took in the wonder that is the Grand Canyon-I had done the south rim many years ago but the West rim beats it hands down,courtesy shuttle buses pick you up and drop you off at 3 points and you can get food at all of them-we ate at Eagle point which was nice,Guana point seemed a lot busier for food.The skywalk was great but you can't take photos on it,you must leave all cameras in lockers -to protect the glass they say but its more likely to make more money from tourists as they will take photos for you with their cameras! On the down side the gift shops are very pricey but if you take enough of your own photos or video its not an issue.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We went on the Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam West Rim Tour. Our tour guide, Thomas, was excellent!!! He was very informative and also funny; he was constantly telling jokes which made the trip more enjoyable.
Although it can be a bit pricey, I highly recommend taking the helicopter and Colorado River Boat Tour. The views you get going down into the Canyon are incredible. If you are there, why not? It's a once in a lifetime experience.

Highly Recommended!!

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was amazing!!! Visiting the Grand Canyon was on my bucket list and this tour definitely me accomplish this goal. AMAZING!!!! Thinking about going again. This time West Rim here I come!!!

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was amazing!!! Visiting the Grand Canyon was on my bucket list and this tour definitely me accomplish this goal. AMAZING!!!! Thinking about going again. This time West Rim here I come!!!

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It Was the best trip my tax return money spent.
The Bus Driver was very good; the sights were magnificent. Next trip will be the West Rim with the helicopter. The south trip is long but great and the pink jeeps are great as well as the guide knowledge was so good you can ask questions and not feel stupid.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

An exciting full 12-hour day, with a full 4 hours to spend at the Grand Canyon, in addition to a stop at Hoover Dam. Enjoyed the Nevada and Arizona scenery on way to the West Rim. Our driver, James, was an excellent narrator -- we very much enjoyed his description of the sights from the bus, and also he offered us lots of tips for our stay in Las Vegas. He should be commended for excellent work! The lunch was wonderful, with out of this world views from our table at Gano Point!
A bit dissatisfied, however, with our pick up at the Monte Carlo Hotel. Upon inquiring before the trip, I was told to look for a bus marked with the tour provider's name. We did not see any bus with that description at the appointed time. Finally, 15 min. after the pick-up time, one of the drivers walked out of an idling white bus with no markings and called our name. We would not have assumed that was our bus since there was no indication of that. I would suggest a clearly marked vehicle and that the driver immediately get off the bus to notify waiting customers. Other than that, it was a wonderful day and allowed us plenty of time to enjoy the magnificent sights. Thank you!

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My 14 year old nephew and I took this tour on our recent trip to Las Vegas. It was the highlight of the trip for both of us. Starting with the shuttle, which picked us up at exactly the time we were told, to the ease of check-in, to the helicopter ride itself, everything went like clockwork. We arrived at the hangar at 7:10, checked-in and waited for our pilot, Tony, to call us to the helicopter at 8:00. Very easy and efficient process.

The ride itself was spectacular. We flew over Lake Mead and to the bottom of the canyon. Everyone has to follow the same flight path so there was no leeway as to what you would see. Luckily, everything was beautiful. The visit to the bottom of the canyon was quick (about 20 minutes), but it was quite thrilling to be so close to the River. I have been to the South Rim twice, but this was my first visit to the West Rim.

From there we flew to the "airport" where we took the shuttle to the Skywalk. (We skipped the first shuttle stop since time was a little limited. The third stop was definitely our favorite and where we spent most of our time.) The Skywalk was a "once is enough" event. It's not as long as it looks in photos and, even with the very limited about of people this time of year, felt crowded. I'm glad I did it once, but wouldn't do it again.

The third stop (Eagle Point and Guano Point) was the prettiest with the best view of the Colorado. We also had a good meal there which was included in the tour price. We spent most of our time here before taking the shuttle back to the helicopter and flying back to Vegas. I'd say that this is a once-in-a-lifetime experience, but I would love to do it again some day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Grand Canyon Helicopter Tour with Optional Below-the-Rim Landing and Skywalk Upgrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

From the moment our limo ride arrived(right on time!) at the Downtown Grand Hotel, we were whisked away to the terminal. The ladies in the office were most helpful with information about our upcoming adventure.
Smooth take-off, and leisurely flight over Hoover Dam, and then Lake Mead. Soon we landed in the bottom of the Gorge at Grand Canyon, (west rim) and took a short trip in a pontoon, to experience the Colorado River. The second half of our trip was on land, talking to the Haulapai Indians, while eating an excellent out-in-the-open feast of bar-b-que lunch.
Traveling back to Las Vegas proved exciting..flying right down the middle of the Las Vegas Strip. What an addition to the Bucket List. What a trip

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I had a great experience,recommend west rim ,fantastic view and very satisfied with the service

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message