Las Vegas ATTRACTIONS See all

Grand Canyon West Rim

The Grand Canyon's West Rim, just outside Grand Canyon National Park, is home to the Havasupai and Hualapai tribes. The Hualapai Indian Reservation, created in 1883, covers nearly 1 million acres and includes 108 miles (173 km) of Colorado ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 427 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

david.dornheggen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

You have to go to the canyon floor to really experience it. Traveling by helicopter from Henderson reduced the trip from 4 hours to 45 minutes. The trip is to the West rim so it includes the skywalk which is unbelievable. 4000 feet straight down. You cannot take your cameras on to the skywalk you have to buy their photos of you. But you can take pictures right next to it The helicopter ride to the floor made the trip. on the floor looking up is surreal.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Grand Canyon Helicopter Tour with Optional Below-the-Rim Landing and Skywalk Upgrade

Zameer A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was just what completes any West Coast/ Vegas Vacation! Our tour guide Thomas was entertaining and funny! He kept us from not only us, but even the kids from being bored! The package deal of the Grand Canyon West Rim Tour is perfect and is filled with all the highlights!

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Julie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour to the Grand Canyon West Rim. Our guide, Scott, was very knowledgable and worked hard to make our trip productive and efficient we got a late start due to another guest's no-show, so Scott rearranged the order of our stops to help avoid the crowds. It was great having a personal tour guide, as we learned a lot about the area and always had answers to our questions. Highly recommend the helicopter to the bottom of the canyon--it was amazing. Such a wonderful experience for our whole family!

Doing what: Grand Canyon in a Day: Hummer Tour from Las Vegas

Zaklina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Thank You Viator!!!! We had great time at the west rim of the Grand Canyon. We highly recommend this tour . Everything went smoothly from beginning to the end , and Thomas , our driver was very entertaining.
Z. D. Toronto

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Kate S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Really great day - tour bus was excellent and driver. West rim was beautiful and had lots to do but also quieter than the south rim which is great. We had four hours there and did everything except the helicopter. Excellent day out.
Note: west rim has no safety fences on the edges so i wouldn't recommend for young children

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

JessM

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

No picture or word can describe what a breathtaking experience it was to do this tour. Everything is so well put together. From the minute you arrive to the terminal you are already having an amazing experience. Our guide Esther was very knowledgeable and amazing. The best way to see the West Rim of the Grand Canyon, Simply breathtaking!

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

carol g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

An excellent trip all around. Our driver was excellent. We felt very comfortable and he gave really good advice to ensure we saw everything at the Grand Canyon. We were so impressed with the logistical arrangements -efficient, courteous and helpful. One suggestion -the final rest stop at the gas station on the return leg was a bit seedy and off-putting for those of us unaccustomed to the in - your - face gun culture. Bathrooms were dirty and the walk past the commando scene a bit much! Although this is one aspect of American life it detracted from the almost spiritual experience of seeing the grand canyon west rim.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Mark M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I had a great time on this tour to the West Rim and the Skywalk. I did a lot of surfing on the internet about the Skywalk, so I knew the limitations and wasn't too concerned about the cost or not being able to take my own photos on the Skywalk.

I arranged to get picked up at the Excalibur Hotel at 6:45am, and the bus was there on time. I had scheduled the 8:00am flight because I wanted to get on the Skywalk before the mass of humanity beat me to it. The flight to the West Rim was smooth and I got to sit next to the pilot, which was really cool. The plane ride was real smooth, and the pilot was very good on keeping us all entertained during the flight to the canyon.

After landing, the pilot gave us the us all the scoop on how to ride the bus that makes the loop between Hualapai Ranch, Eagle Point and Guano Point. I decided to skip the ranch, since I know what a goat and mule look like and went directly to the Skywalk.

Since you cannot take any hard objects on to the Skywalk surface, I checked my keys, cellphone and camera into a locker that they provided. I put on a pair of paper booties to protect the surface from scratches and then went out through a door to the Skywalk. Once out the door, you are over the canyon and the view was just too much. The first tendency is to walk on the edges, where you can see the metal supports. After a minute or so, I started to walk on the glass portion and that was a real rush. It is hard to describe looking down over 2,000 feet to the canyon below.

I asked one of the local photographers to take some pictures of me and I came away with 13 pictures which they e-mailed to me the same day. The cost for the pictures was 65.00, which I thought was reasonable.

I caught the bus to Guano Point, hiked to the point and back and took a ton of pictures. This is a real cool vantage point, as you can see a lot of the canyon from this one spot.

Doing what: Grand Canyon West Rim Air and Ground Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Lorna R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a fairly long day but we really really enjoyed it. Shuttle at the Rim very convenient although no time to visit the Cowboy Ranch. The bbq lunch was great and I found the West Rim less touristy and commercial. The check in and bus queue at the depot before we left was a nightmare.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Lisa T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This excursion was well organized, precisely timed and Jodi and Phil were wonderful. The west rim of the canyon is spectacular! Two thumbs up! DO NOT HESITATE TO BOOK THIS TRIP!

Doing what: Grand Canyon West Rim Bus Tour from Las Vegas

Laurence S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A truly fantastic trip to the West Rim, especially Guano Point. Very well run, loads of time to explore all the views. Do wear several layers though - very cold at this time of year. A very special mention to Thomas, our driver, whose informative and truly hilarious commentary made a great day a truly memorable one.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Hubert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

One of the best trips we ever made! Our driver/guide Susan started pointing out the schedule for the day, as we had quite an international group of 11, and some guests had booked also the skywalk, so we would partially split up after the heli flights. During the drive she gave us information about possible stops and a lot of background information about life in Nevada and Arizona, very interesting. The Helicopter flight down the Canyon was of course the highlight, the boat trip on the Colorado river was a bit short however. After the helicopter took us back to the top of the West Rim, Susan was around again and gave us tips about where to look and where to walk so we would be safe. On the drive back to Las Vegas, she respected our wish to doze a bit, so we would stiull have enough energy for the night! We loved it. Don't forget to confirm your hotel by calling the evening before you want to be picked up though, i nearly forgot!

Doing what: Grand Canyon West Rim Combo: Luxury SUV, Helicopter and Boat

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

West rim is best not as long a journey.
Loved our day out we had plenty of rest stops.
Once we got to the Grand Canyon you really do find out why it is one of the world's most popular destinations

Amazing

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Nancy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic tour to the West Rim of the Grand Canyon with a stop at the Hoover Dam. Our guide, Randy, made the trip truly special with his vast knowledge of the area's history, development, geology, vegetation, etc. Being on the Hualapai reservation added a meaningful and moving layer to the day's experience. Was the highlight of our trip to Las Vegas.

Doing what: Grand Canyon in a Day: Hummer Tour from Las Vegas

Ronald M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Really worthwhile trip with excellent organisation-The views were wonderful and the commentary was informative and interesting. Great experience to land on the west rim of the canyon.

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

Shirley G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour to the West Rim was wonderful. Our pickup at the hotel was on time. Jim was our tour guide and very friendly and informative. A quick stop at the Hoover Dam for pictures was sufficient. The helicopter ride to the bottom of the Grand Canyon and the boat ride was awesome. You get a whole different perspective of the Canyon than seeing from the top. The ride from Las Vegas to the Grand Canyon was not as long as I feared. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Grand Canyon West Rim Combo: Luxury SUV, Helicopter and Boat

Glen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is an incredible way to see the wonder that is the Grand Canyon. If it is not enough to see from above, the view from within the canyon is just as awe inspiring. You get a completely different perspective from the bottom. Plenty of time to see all the spots on the west rim. The company is very professional with excellent facilities. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Grand Canyon Helicopter Tour with Optional Below-the-Rim Landing and Skywalk Upgrade

Manohar S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a short stop at Hoover Dam to take photos then onto the West Rim of the Grand Canyon. It truly is spectacular. There are 3 sites one can visit once at the location, accessed via a bus service (transport is free). Try to climb Guapo Point for the best views! The coach driver was very good too.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Debra S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was amazing - the West Rim is very interesting - no guard rails! The skywalk is very special but beware if you do not like heights. Could have used a bit more time at the Hoover Dam. Daryl our bus driver was a trip - very dry sense of humor had us rolling.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Ruth A B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Whilst I don't like or do hights, this was something I had to do, just to say i had done it and it was so worth freaking out on the skywalk. I loved it and then the view from the other point at the West Rim was just something we don't really get at home. HAd the most amazing time with the tour company and Thomas as our driver. Thank you for the fab time.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Fiona B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This trip was awesome - it took your breath away with the spectacular views - we did the west rim trip with stop at Hoover dam - well worth the money. Our coach driver Ken was very good and he had a virtual tour guide called Walter who gave some good informative information

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Tatyana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Though I ended up with the Grand Canyon West Rim tour due to a low enrollment to the Bryce Canyon tour for the date of my tour, it was still a great trip. The communication with the tour provider about the exchange and the pickup from my hotel was hustle free. The tour guide was great and the scenery was amazing.

Doing what: Bryce Canyon Day Trip from Las Vegas

vra2003 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Going to the Grand Canyon West Rim was a once a lifetime experience. So happy I faced my fears and walk the Skywalk. The view was spectacular, I was in awe. Our bus driver/Manager Felix was the best, he gave some knowledgeable information on which place is the best to eat. I recommend this tour 100%.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

nanna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This trip was amazing. Love helicopters so this was a must. Flew from vegas to west rim which was absolutely beautiful. The touristy stuff was cliche but fun. Great food people were all nice and been bused around was handy. We loved it would not hesitate to do it again.

Doing what: Ultimate Grand Canyon 4-in-1 Helicopter Tour

Virginia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Having been to the canyon before and done the west rim in a helicopter, we decided this time to do the south rim. Boy, what a difference! We took our ten year old this time and we all loved it. I did extensive research and decided that the jet and the trolley ride was the best combination and value for money. We couldn't have been more happy. From the pick up at the hotel to the drop off back at the hotel, the whole trip was well worth it. We had Bruce driving our trolley at the canyon, he was well versed in the area, keeping us engaged and informed. The time spent by ourselves was ample, with plenty of photo opportunities, and a lunch that hit the spot at just the right time. The pilot and co-pilot were friendly, letting us go to the cockpit to have a look around and take photos. I would highly recommend this tour. Thank you to all the staff for a great tour.

Doing what: Deluxe Grand Canyon South Rim Airplane Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message