Las Vegas ATTRACTIONS See all

Grand Canyon West Rim

The Grand Canyon's West Rim, just outside Grand Canyon National Park, is home to the Havasupai and Hualapai tribes. The Hualapai Indian Reservation, created in 1883, covers nearly 1 million acres and includes 108 miles (173 km) of Colorado ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 328 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Highlights of this tour - aside from the spectacular Grand Canyon itself (which is well worth the journey time) include Walter our driver. He was wonderful; informative, a skilled driver, entertaining, thoughtful, managing with humour, to organise a coach full of tourists. Fight to get on his coach!
Don't be put off by the travel time - because of the thought that's been put into the journey and Walter's personality it didn't feel arduous, we had opportunity to sleep, a video, information about the places we were visiting and Walter's wonderful rapport. It made for a very special day. Personally I wouldn't take the optional extras - you can visit an Imax anytime to see the Grand Canyon film (or buy the DVD) and if you want to splurge on a helicopter extra do it the next day as a solo trip to the Canyon's West Rim - that way you'll have a good 3 hours (3 x 1 hour - in different places) to walk and enjoy the Canyon enfoot whilst you're on this coach tour and get as close to nature in the Grand Canyon visit that a 1 day taster can possibly give you.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour is very well organized. Different buses pick up in different hotels, so you don't get stuck in the Strip's traffic for hours before the tour starts. All the buses meet at the terminal, where the groups are divided by tour and a detailed explanation is given to us on how to proceed and what to expect. Don't forget to have your breakfast before boarding the bus, as no stops are made but the Hoover Dam one - where there are no concessions to buy food. If you forgot your breakfast, or if you didn't have time for one, the bus terminal has a coffee shop where you can get some to go. The bus was nice, with restroom in perfect using order, our driver Jay was good and very funny too. The Grand Canyon is spectacular, the once dirt road is now paved (which makes for a more comfortable ride) and it is very easy to get around in the West Rim of the Canyon.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour is very well organized. Different buses pick up in different hotels, so you don't get stuck in the Strip's traffic for hours before the tour starts. All the buses meet at the terminal, where the groups are divided by tour and a detailed explanation is given to us on how to proceed and what to expect. We then check in and please, pay attention to what the clerk says when getting your voucher - even though they received my reservation for the West Rim, they had placed my party on a South Rim tour - which they promptly fixed. Don't forget to have your breakfast before boarding the bus, as no stops are made but the Hoover Dam one - where there are no concessions to buy food. If you forgot your breakfast, or if you didn't have time for one, the bus terminal has a coffee shop where you can get some to go. The bus was nice, with restroom in perfect using order, our driver Jay was good and very funny too. The Grand Canyon is spectacular, the once dirt road is now paved (which makes for a more comfortable ride) and it is very easy to get around in the West Rim of the Canyon.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

First the booking is easy through the web page, good price, we got advised by email on when and where would they pick us up, right in front of our hotel, and were there just in time. Got to the airport and got registered, nice office with a souvenir shop and a view of the heliport, so you see them landing/departing in front of you. After a briefing you get on, the trip is awesome and smooth, you get to see Hoover dam, lake Mead and the west rim of the grand canyon. Everything looks awesome from the air. You get to stay in the canyon for 45 min, I wished it was longer so I could get more pics, and you get a nice lunch with champagne. On our way back you fly also over the strip. Our pilot was Alex, very nice guy. I recommend to take some medicine before the trip if you tend to get airsick, so you can enjoy the ride fully.

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic trip. Best way to see the Grand Canyon without a doubt. Champagne and a picnic inside the West Rim was the icing on the cake . 4 hours from start to finish was by far the best option rather than 12 hours on a coach. Jim, our pilot was very amusing and informative. Would defo recommend...

Doing what: Grand Canyon Helicopter Tour with West Rim Picnic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We booked the south rim tour but somehow it got switched to the west rim tour. The tour center staff were very courteous and changed it without any hassles. We additionally purchased the jeep tour at the south rim and it was worth every penny. Sara (our tour guide) was well informed and provided great service. I will recommend this tour to other people. One thing though - the nature and logistics of the south rim tour is such that it is impossible to get back to the hotel before 11 pm (this is not your fault but the schedule is grueling for the driver). You should put that in your brochures and web site so visitors can plan their next day activities at Las Vegas accordingly.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A fab day out in the Grand Canyon leaving memories that will last a lifetime... highlight for me was undoubtedly the helicopter ride from the west rim airport right into the Canyon. Simply amazing. We chose the tour only option and felt that gave us a nice amount of time at Guano Point, the stop on the tour that provided the best views. This tour covers a lot of ground and includes several components but the company did a great job of gluing these together and we were looked after very well by their staff on the ground. I had been to the Canyon previously on a 4-hour tour and felt the extra money for 2-3 hours longer was well worth it.

Doing what: Best of the West Rim: Grand Canyon Air Tour with Helicopter, Boat Ride and Optional Skywalk Admission

Timetable Tim
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An amazing, action packed day! We were picked up from our hotel in Vegas at 7:30am and driven to Boulder City where we had time for coffee in the small but comfortable airport before our flight to the West Rim. We boarded a 19-seater plane and flew over Lake Mead and the Hoover Dam to reach the West Rim. There, we were escorted straight onto a helicopter that flew us down into the Canyon to board a boat operated by the Hualapai Tribe. We very much enjoyed the 30-minute cruise on the Colorado River and had chance to take photos and hear about the area's geology. Then it was back on the helicopter which swooped up the Canyon and dropped us off for a bus ride to Guano Point. There we were served a surprisingly good lunch of BBQ beef, mashed potato, vegetables and a cookie - a hearty American lunch! We enjoyed lunch with amazing panoramic views of the Grand Canyon and then had time to relax and hike a little before the bus back to the airport for the flight to Vegas, where we arrived about 4pm. If you want to explore the Canyon by plane, helicopter, bus and boat - this is the tour for you!

Doing what: Best of the West Rim: Grand Canyon Air Tour with Helicopter, Boat Ride and Optional Skywalk Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Could'nt have been better. Well organised with a particularly well informed driver.
The canyon views from the west rim were spectacular and so peaceful just to sit and watch the changing colours of the stone.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A truly outstanding day - first with a great scenic flight over the Hoover Dam to the West Rim of the Grand Canyon and then the glass lookout over the canyon, Excellent. What amazed me was the number of people standing right on the edge of the Grand Canyon. The slightest breeze would have sent them over but they didn't seem concerned. Can recommend Maverick Airlines.

Doing what: Grand Canyon West Rim Air and Ground Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was my first trip to the Grand Canyon West Rim and we did the Sky walk which was so fun and not scary. In addition to the magnificent scenery, Native Americans were very informative, the highlight of the tour was soaking up nature at the most breath taking views at Guano Point. The bus driver--funny, informative, and gracious. Kept us on schedule, emphasized tour highlights, kept up a fascinating/funny commentary during the drive (this in addition to the per-recorded commentary).

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Amazing!!!! Our driver Sam was entertaining and knowledgeable! He kept us all amused on the way there and showed a film on the way back. We could have done with more time at the canyon, but Sam gave us invaluable advice re the order in which to complete our activities so that we could fit everything in – it was a bit rushed though. The canyon itself is remarkable. The helicopter ride was incredible and the boat trip was marvellous. For us, the West Rim was the best place to visit as it is owned by native Americans rather than the American government meaning that while ‘health and safety’ standards were not what you would expect at a tourist attraction, you could literally walk to the edge of the canyon – mind-blowing!! The Skywalk was wonderful but you are not allowed to take cameras or phones so you can’t take pictures but you can buy photos that are taken of you: a rip off or a savvy business decision? I guess that is up to the individual traveller. The lunch was of a very low standard but this was outweighed by everything else in the day being so fantastic.

Doing what: Grand Canyon West Rim Day Trip by Coach, Helicopter and Boat with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

it was a wonderful tour! everything was impeccable from the hotel pick-up until the very end of the tour, it was exactly what is written in the description and what we expected. we were 6 in total in the helicopter, including our super pilot Jim who has a great sense of humor and professionalism. the view is incredibly spectacular and unique. we saw the every best part of West rim, from the basin to the Colorado river, Having champagne at the very heart of the canyon is something to write home about! We cant recommend more about this tour and will definitely do it again next time.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Helicopter Tour with West Rim Picnic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Enjoyed this trip. I have been wanting to see the canyon for a long time and it was so beautiful. Had plenty of time to make the stops on the west rim. Just watch your time it's easy to spend a lot of time at one stop. I did not do the skywalk. The canyon was so big I did not feel I needed it and it looked as if there were many people on it so standing in line etc. would have taken extra time. Definitely recommend this tour. The plane ride to the canyon was fun and great views of the Hoover Dam and Canyon.

Doing what: Grand Canyon West Rim Air and Ground Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip was superb! We didn't go to the west rim but opted instead for an upgrade to the south rim with the IMAX video and Jeep tour. The whole experience was highly moving. We had a very informative guide who was happy to take photos and give more in depth detail about the Grand Canyon National Park. Be warned though the journey time is long for the south rim with early pick up at 5.50am and return to hotel at 11pm. I would recommend flying and perhaps an overnight stay to really experience the Grand Canyon in all its glory - nevertheless our trip was excellent, we were kept entertained by our coach driver and there were plenty of comfort breaks to make the journey more enjoyable. Thanks Viator - I would have no hesitation of booking through the company in the future and would recommend travellers book trips before they travel as prices offered by Viator are comparable, if not better than deals offered in Las Vegas.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message