Las Vegas ATTRACTIONS See all

Grand Canyon West Rim

The Grand Canyon's West Rim, just outside Grand Canyon National Park, is home to the Havasupai and Hualapai tribes. The Hualapai Indian Reservation, created in 1883, covers nearly 1 million acres and includes 108 miles (173 km) of Colorado ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 337 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My husband and I took the West rim tour with skywalk. Absolutely beautiful! Pick up was early and prompt! The whole trip was faster than I expected, I thought we would be back on the strip around 7-8pm but we returned at 6pm... plenty of time to go have more fun! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I'm pretty sure the South Rim has spectacular views but the amount of travel time was too much. The West Rim is beautiful, and the travel time was perfect for me leaving from Las Vegas. Wonderful experience. I did not do the Skywalk but you can purchase with the tour if you change your mind before you board the bus and maybe in hindsight I should have done it, but not necessary to enjoy the views. Just a touristy thing to do.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

ASTOUNDING VIEWS! VERY PROFESSIONAL! WORTH EVERY PENNY! From booking this tour, experiencing the tour and to being dropped of at my hotel, it was an all perfect ride! I was picked up by a limousine as expected, got to sit next to the driver and had an entertaining chat with him.

The helicopter ride was such a thrill! My first time ever and we had one of the best weather conditions ever. No bumpy ride at all. Great music for take off, interesting explanation from the narrator and the pilot added some extra information as well. Having seen the South rim of the Grand Canyon I knew what to expect a little bit but it's really impossible to describe when you fly over the West rim and dive in between the two ridges.

After flying over Vegas, Hoover Dam and Lake Mead, the Grand Canyon appears ahead of you, looking so impossibly large and overwhelming! The picknick is a surreal experience almost, expecially since the sun sets leaving beautiful shades on the rim and making the most beautiful pictures possible. Who can say they zipped from their champagne, while being surrounded by this true wonder in nature.

Yet, the BANG to my tour was the trip back to Vegas when you could see the sun set on the horizon. The closer you get to Vegas the more lights appear in front of you. It's when you understand that Vegas is huge! So many lights and such an awesome feeling to be able to fly directly along the Strip. I would advise anyone, to book this tour as a SUNSET TOUR!

I actually will be back in a few years and book the same tour in one of their bigger helicopters to be able to also reserve a place in the front. It's the only thing I regret. I sat on the second row and could make great pictures but next time I want to be in the front and take it all in....

Thanks Helicopter tour company! And a special thanks to Benny who was my limo driver on the way back.

Doing what: Grand Canyon West Rim Deluxe Sunset Helicopter Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

What a great way to see Hoover Dam and the Grand Canyon West Rim and not have to worry about driving!! This was such a wonderful way to relax and get away from the Las Vegas strip for the day and explore the great outdoors. The Hoover Dam stop even though it was only about 15 to 20 minutes long was so much easier to enjoy on the new pedestrian walkway they built instead of having to travel down the winding steep road to the bottom and then head back up. You could see just how majestic this man made wonder truly is. From there we headed to the West Rim of the Grand Canyon which was too long of a bus ride, only about 90 minutes after leaving Hoover Dam. Once you arrive at the Grand Canyon the first thing you see is the helicopters and it makes you really kick yourself in the behind for not buying the helicopter ride...lol...we then headed on the bus to take us over to Eagle Point where if you look really hard, the rock formation looks just like an Eagle with its wings spread. There were different vendors there so if you got hungry or thirsty there was a place to purchase items. At Eagle Point you are also able to go on the Skywalk (if you are brave enough) and look down to the bottom of the canyon. For me I just prefer to stand a ways back from the edge and simply admire from a distance. We then got back on the bus and headed to Guano Point which was really cool because there wasn't one place you could turn where you didn't see the amazing colors of the canyon and if you looked down you saw the Colorado River and the helicopter flying in between looked so tiny that it made you realize just how vast the canyon is. We climbed up this pyramid shape rock formation that reminded me of the tower of Babel when we first got there. The climb looked easy but however was a little difficult when you first got started. We then ate lunch and enjoyed the views a little longer, before heading back to our motorcoach to enjoy the journey back to our hotel in Las Vegas. All in all it was a wonderful way to spend the day.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

What an amazing, spectacular trip!!! For those of you who are not a huge fan of flying to the Grand Canyon West Rim, this bus trip is wonderful. It was a long journey but so worth the time. We started out the morning by being picked up at our hotel by a bright eyed and bushy tailed bus driver, who by the way was a real enjoyment and very knowledgeable about Las Vegas. From the hotel we headed over to the terminal to join others traveling to the West Rim. Our first stop on our journey was to Hoover Dam and such a beautiful sight to see. The time and hard work that went into making this enormous structure is just amazing. Absolutely stunning!! We walked up the staircase to the pedestrian walkway on the new bridge they built connecting Nevada and Arizona. From there the view of the entire dam was awe inspiring. After a short 15-20 minute stop we then boarded the bus and continued our journey to the West Rim. We made a short pit stop to pick up water and snacks and to stretch our legs. This is the most perfect time of year I feel to visit the canyon. The fact that the weather there is very similar to the weather in Vegas made it in the mid 60's (not too hot and not too cold) PERFECT!! Plus the fact that the major travel season to the canyon was much less than in the summer, made this the best part because there wasn't many tourist. Once at the canyon there are 3 different areas you can visit and see all by way of a bus that takes you from each point and runs about every 15 minutes. From the main location the 1st stop on the buses route is Hualapai Ranch and even though you can't see the canyon from that location, it is a very enjoyable stop. The 2nd stop is Eagle Point where you will find the Skywalk which doesn't look as scary when you're standing on the ground next to it....however, if you are afraid of heights then that would be a different story. The 3rd stop is Guano Point which was my absolute favorite place and I felt was the most beautiful vantage point of the canyon. From there you get a 360 degree view of the whole enchilada. Breathtaking, mesmerizing and a must see for anyone who is visiting Las Vegas. My suggestion is however if you are taking this fabulous trip you might as well take advantage of the tour options and select the helicopter/boat/skywalk option because with 4 hours of free time at the canyon and for many people this being their one time only trip to the Grand Canyon West Rim, my suggestion is go big or go home. The trip back was just as relaxing and we did make 1 stop to stretch our legs and pick up some drinks and snacks as we made our way back to the hotel. The whole trip from pickup time at hotel to drop off time back at the hotel was exactly 12 hours. Another special thanks to the bus driver for getting us there and back safely and in good humor.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We had a great experience on our tour of the West Rim. Our bus driver/guide, Darrell, was friendly, informative, and helpful. This is a wonderful tour for the time and money.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Highlights of this tour - aside from the spectacular Grand Canyon itself (which is well worth the journey time) include Walter our driver. He was wonderful; informative, a skilled driver, entertaining, thoughtful, managing with humour, to organise a coach full of tourists. Fight to get on his coach!
Don't be put off by the travel time - because of the thought that's been put into the journey and Walter's personality it didn't feel arduous, we had opportunity to sleep, a video, information about the places we were visiting and Walter's wonderful rapport. It made for a very special day. Personally I wouldn't take the optional extras - you can visit an Imax anytime to see the Grand Canyon film (or buy the DVD) and if you want to splurge on a helicopter extra do it the next day as a solo trip to the Canyon's West Rim - that way you'll have a good 3 hours (3 x 1 hour - in different places) to walk and enjoy the Canyon enfoot whilst you're on this coach tour and get as close to nature in the Grand Canyon visit that a 1 day taster can possibly give you.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour is very well organized. Different buses pick up in different hotels, so you don't get stuck in the Strip's traffic for hours before the tour starts. All the buses meet at the terminal, where the groups are divided by tour and a detailed explanation is given to us on how to proceed and what to expect. Don't forget to have your breakfast before boarding the bus, as no stops are made but the Hoover Dam one - where there are no concessions to buy food. If you forgot your breakfast, or if you didn't have time for one, the bus terminal has a coffee shop where you can get some to go. The bus was nice, with restroom in perfect using order, our driver Jay was good and very funny too. The Grand Canyon is spectacular, the once dirt road is now paved (which makes for a more comfortable ride) and it is very easy to get around in the West Rim of the Canyon.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

First the booking is easy through the web page, good price, we got advised by email on when and where would they pick us up, right in front of our hotel, and were there just in time. Got to the airport and got registered, nice office with a souvenir shop and a view of the heliport, so you see them landing/departing in front of you. After a briefing you get on, the trip is awesome and smooth, you get to see Hoover dam, lake Mead and the west rim of the grand canyon. Everything looks awesome from the air. You get to stay in the canyon for 45 min, I wished it was longer so I could get more pics, and you get a nice lunch with champagne. On our way back you fly also over the strip. Our pilot was Alex, very nice guy. I recommend to take some medicine before the trip if you tend to get airsick, so you can enjoy the ride fully.

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic trip. Best way to see the Grand Canyon without a doubt. Champagne and a picnic inside the West Rim was the icing on the cake . 4 hours from start to finish was by far the best option rather than 12 hours on a coach. Jim, our pilot was very amusing and informative. Would defo recommend...

Doing what: Grand Canyon Helicopter Tour with West Rim Picnic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We booked the south rim tour but somehow it got switched to the west rim tour. The tour center staff were very courteous and changed it without any hassles. We additionally purchased the jeep tour at the south rim and it was worth every penny. Sara (our tour guide) was well informed and provided great service. I will recommend this tour to other people. One thing though - the nature and logistics of the south rim tour is such that it is impossible to get back to the hotel before 11 pm (this is not your fault but the schedule is grueling for the driver). You should put that in your brochures and web site so visitors can plan their next day activities at Las Vegas accordingly.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A fab day out in the Grand Canyon leaving memories that will last a lifetime... highlight for me was undoubtedly the helicopter ride from the west rim airport right into the Canyon. Simply amazing. We chose the tour only option and felt that gave us a nice amount of time at Guano Point, the stop on the tour that provided the best views. This tour covers a lot of ground and includes several components but the company did a great job of gluing these together and we were looked after very well by their staff on the ground. I had been to the Canyon previously on a 4-hour tour and felt the extra money for 2-3 hours longer was well worth it.

Doing what: Best of the West Rim: Grand Canyon Air Tour with Helicopter, Boat Ride and Optional Skywalk Admission

Timetable Tim
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An amazing, action packed day! We were picked up from our hotel in Vegas at 7:30am and driven to Boulder City where we had time for coffee in the small but comfortable airport before our flight to the West Rim. We boarded a 19-seater plane and flew over Lake Mead and the Hoover Dam to reach the West Rim. There, we were escorted straight onto a helicopter that flew us down into the Canyon to board a boat operated by the Hualapai Tribe. We very much enjoyed the 30-minute cruise on the Colorado River and had chance to take photos and hear about the area's geology. Then it was back on the helicopter which swooped up the Canyon and dropped us off for a bus ride to Guano Point. There we were served a surprisingly good lunch of BBQ beef, mashed potato, vegetables and a cookie - a hearty American lunch! We enjoyed lunch with amazing panoramic views of the Grand Canyon and then had time to relax and hike a little before the bus back to the airport for the flight to Vegas, where we arrived about 4pm. If you want to explore the Canyon by plane, helicopter, bus and boat - this is the tour for you!

Doing what: Best of the West Rim: Grand Canyon Air Tour with Helicopter, Boat Ride and Optional Skywalk Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Could'nt have been better. Well organised with a particularly well informed driver.
The canyon views from the west rim were spectacular and so peaceful just to sit and watch the changing colours of the stone.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A truly outstanding day - first with a great scenic flight over the Hoover Dam to the West Rim of the Grand Canyon and then the glass lookout over the canyon, Excellent. What amazed me was the number of people standing right on the edge of the Grand Canyon. The slightest breeze would have sent them over but they didn't seem concerned. Can recommend Maverick Airlines.

Doing what: Grand Canyon West Rim Air and Ground Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message