Las Vegas ATTRACTIONS See all

Grand Canyon West Rim

The Grand Canyon's West Rim, just outside Grand Canyon National Park, is home to the Havasupai and Hualapai tribes. The Hualapai Indian Reservation, created in 1883, covers nearly 1 million acres and includes 108 miles (173 km) of Colorado ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 385 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

In summary, this was an excellent and really well organised trip.

We were staying in Vegas and were looking at doing the West Rim helicopter trip which gives you 45 minutes each way with a short landing in the middle. But having read other reviews which said that the South Rim was more spectacular, then we opted for this trip, which was only a little more money.

One thing that was hard to find when booking was a full itinerary, so hope this helps by the way the underlying tour company was Maverick:

- Picked up at 12:30 at our hotel and then about a 20 min commute to Henderson Airport
- As soon as we got there we were immediately checked in and then had a pleasant 25 min wait in the lobby where there was a cafe and small shop and plenty of seating
- Then everyone was grouped together by aircraft and we all left together in 3 small planes, where everyone had a window seat
- Flight time was just short of an hour, but once we were cruising, we were allowed to head up to the cockpit to chat the the pilots and they also took selifies with us direct in the cockpit which was excellent.
- You could see the Hoover dam and Lake Mead, although from a distance, but the remainder of the landscape was mainly desert.
- Once landed the buses were waiting for a short 5 min ride to the end of the airfield where we were boarded pretty much straight away onto the waiting helicopters
- The 45 helicopter ride was spectacular and we saw loads of the grand canyon, with views like you see on postcards
- Then back on the bus and a 25 min ride into the national park and we were dropped at a lodge for an hour which is right on the rim
- We then got an hour to wander right on the rim and take some photos of the amazing view
- Then commute back, straight on the awaiting planes, then shuttles back to hotels

There was hardly any waiting around in between stops and the views from the helicopter and then our walk at the end were stunning. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Deluxe Grand Canyon South Rim Airplane Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The trip was fabulous. The bus driver made it fun and gave us a lot of information. We had a lot of time to explore the beautiful west rim of the Grand Canyon.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was great, West Rim and Skywalk views were breathtaking. Thomas, the bus driver, did a very good job, he was really funny. The food at Guano Point was delicious...The Skywalk visit can be made better that is out of the control of the tour company, since we could not take with us cameras, etc. That would not have been a problem if there were more photographers available. In all, an awesome experience!

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was great and definitely worth the money! My friend and I had talked about renting a car to visit the Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam, but didn't want to make the long drive by ourselves. This tour was the perfect alternative! We visited the West Rim of the Grand Canyon. It had a more natural appearance due to the lack of fences/roped off areas that are found in other parts of the Grand Canyon. Our tour guide, Thomas, was awesome! He was very knowledgeable and entertaining during the long bus ride. The Skywalk provided a unique view. While pictures were taken of you on the skywalk for purchase, I did not like that you were not allowed to bring your own camera up there. The tour was said to depart at 7:30 and while it did depart from the company at 7:30, hotel pickup time was 6:05. This ended up being great because it allowed for plenty of time exploring the Grand Canyon, but I would have like to have known originally that pickup would be an hour and a half earlier. I do wish that the Hoover Dam part of the tour was a bit more extensive. Overall this was a great tour and I would highly recommend the tour and the tour guide, Thomas!

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Brilliant tour. Nice to take plane, heli to go to west rim, south rim, north rim. It is a great experience. No complaint at all. Perfect!

Doing what: Deluxe Grand Canyon South Rim Airplane Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful day with a small group. Really liked the fact that Jeanne stayed with us the entire day, but still allowed us time on our own. She was very knowledgeable and am glad we took the drive out instead of a quicker flight or helicopter to the canyon. Just a great day. West rim is awesome with the helicopter tours.

Doing what: Grand Canyon West Rim Combo: Luxury SUV, Helicopter and Boat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was great fun to visit the Grand Canyon! The views at Grand Canyon West Rim were magnificent and impressive. The tour arrangement was good.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Value for money! Knowledgeable, and funny tour operators on the bus...we visited 3 sites on the west rim, and has opportunities to learn about and chat to local Native Americans who live in the reservation in that area which was quite interesting...excellent photo opportunities.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was fantastic. Got picked up from our hotel and the driver was very entertaining and the grand canyon was amazing to see. You cant put it in words until you see it. We did the west rim and enjoyed every moment.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was such a fantastic experience! Pick up was on time in a clean van, check in was easy and the staff at the airport were very friendly. Our pilot was nice and professional as he flew us over the dam and INTO the Grand Canyon before a brief rest stop on the west rim. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Grand Canyon West Rim Luxury Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had booked the south rim tour at first. The local operator was really nice and offered a switch from the south rim to the west rim. The west tour is shorter than the south rim tour and is just enough to

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a fabulous one day tour to the West Rim and our driver Ryan shared so much information about Las Vegas, the dessert and the Canyon, it was interesting and made for a enjoyable ride to the Canyon.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed this tour, the driver Felix was excellent, the day passed without any major problems and we certainly enjoyed the West rim of the Grand Canyon, the scenery was spectacular.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We went on the West Rim. The Tour Team did a fantastic job...everything went as planned considering we went on one of the busiest times of the year. We got back to our Hotel around 5:30pm giving us enough time to enjoy the night life in Vegas...very highly recommended for sure!

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

keith
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a fantastic package that i choose,it gives you many perspective,and fantastic views of the west rim of the grand canyon.The helicopter flight was just breath taking in the canyon,and the boat ride was ok but needs to be a little longer,butt he views of the canyon when you are on the colorado river were just amazing especially with the sunlight shining on the canyon,the skywalk is a brilliant piece of engineering and the view downwards through the glass to the bottom of the canyon awe inspiring. The hoover dam view from the viewing bridge is ok but i would have liked to have been on the dam itself,this was not the view i was expecting,but what you do see of the hoover dam is still pretty impressive.
The whole day that i spent doing this tour was just awesome,our bus driver thomas was just magnificent,his knowledge and enthusiasm brilliant,the staff at airbridge just so accommodating and friendly and no issue or problem to big,they are there to make sure you have a great time,and the personal at viator just fantastic,with all the help they provided me.I highly recommend this tour package to everyone,and i definitely will use viator again for further tours and packages.

Kind Regards
Keith Vallabh
New Zealand

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

AMAZING tour. We did an afternoon tour of the Grand Canyon and stopped on the West Rim for a champagne toast and crudite platter. Our pilot, Devon, was GREAT!!! extremely knowledgeable and friendly. It was a windy day and he did a great job of keeping the six of us comfortable inside the helicopter and giving us a heads up before it got choppy from the strong winds. I highly recommend this adventure for anyone traveling to Las Vegas.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Helicopter Tour from Las Vegas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The plane ride was easy and awesome and the view was amazing. We saw elk grazing right beside the road on the way to the South Rim. The only glitch was the driver was 20 minutes late in picking us up due to unforseen circumstances, so it was cold while we were waiting for him. The lunch box was not as good as the one we got on the West Rim bus tour with a different company.

Doing what: Deluxe Grand Canyon South Rim Airplane Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We researched many different tours before selecting this one and I highly recommend it!! The whole experience with the Airlines, the tour operator, was flawless, and I am very pleased I found this tour through Viator. We were staying in Vegas and wanted to see the Grand Canyon South Rim we heard it was more colorful than the West Rim but were not able to drive or stay overnight. Although this tour is more expensive than a bus tour, it was 100 worth it as you did not have to spend 8 hours on a bus round trip. The tour offered two different times during May, so we went with the 2pm, allowing us to have the entire morning and get back to Vegas in time to have dinner and enjoy the night there! The tour was perfectly organized like other reviewers mentioned. Everyone from the customer service reps on the phone to the trolley/bus drivers to the pilots were friendly, knowledgeable and professional.

I would also recommend adding the helicopter option as it really was beautiful to see the Canyon from that vantage point. If you choose the helicopter option, you only get to see Bright Angel Lodge on the ground if you don't choose the helicopter option, you get to see both Mather Point and Bright Angel Lodge on the ground. That was the only downside but the helicopter was definitely an experience to remember and I don't regret it! The helicopter was also super smooth and not choppy at all. This was truly a wonderful experience and again, I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Deluxe Grand Canyon South Rim Airplane Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic day out. Pick up on time. Safe driving. Courteous driver. Spectacular views of Hoover Dam and the West Rim,especially at Guano Point. Lovely hot meal included. Plenty of time at destination. Drop off right by hotel. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was an amazing experience! The tour company was great and the west rim was beautiful! I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

long trip but well worth it. Great views, IMAX was very good and stop at the Hoover Dam and info was great. Ready to do the West Rim next. Thanks

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Start to finish, we had a fabulous time on our West Rim Grand Canyon Tour. From our Online Reservation, to our phone confirmation w/ Anna, to Mark our Shuttle Driver, to our Orientation w/ Jim, to Wannie and her discount coupons, to Roger

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was truly an amazing experience! The tour company really has thought out all possible activities for this trip. You just need to show up. The bus driver/tour guide "Thomas" made the trip very entertaining and informative. We had the opportunity of stopping by to see the Hoover Dam, and then headed to the West Rim of the Grand Canyon where we did the Sky Walk.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour to Hoover Dam and the West Rim of the Grand Canyon was amazing! It was a bit disappointing that the pedestrian bridge at Hoover Dam was closed when we arrived but overall an experience of a lifetime. Plus, our bus guide, Felix, made the trip enjoyable with his fun and outgoing personality!

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very organized and efficiently run. Bruce was our bus driver and he was excellent. We did the west rim tour and it was awesome. I've been to the south rim as well and would recommend it for first timers since the sheer size of the canyon is more visible from there.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message