Hoover Dam (also known as Boulder Dam) is one of the largest in America. It was built between 1931 and 1936 across Black Canyon and above the mighty Colorado River. It's a national historical landmark with remarkable views of the Colorado River, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1066 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

Gordon
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour. Knowledgeable driver, Thomas, who kept us all well informed of all that there was to see on the tour and en route. Spectacular views of both the Hoover Dam and the Grand Canyon

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Giving the Canyon a miss this year we went to visit the Hoover Dam and wasn't disappointed, amazing views and amazing experience being inside the bowels of the Dam. The cruise was also a nice end to the day

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was great, our tour driver Ryan was absolutely the best. Ryan's commentary was informative and entertaining. He was just the best. The coach was comfortable and the travel time and stops were perfect. The south face, sky walk and the Hoover Dam were great, thank you for a delightful day.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Quick bus ride to the Hoover Dam, with a photo op. The on to the Grand Canyon. Our bus driver was Jae and was really good, she was funny, she made the bus ride go by quickly. The Grand Canyon area that we went to was amazing, and the food was good too. A few tips, bring some snacks and water because you will be walking a lot and may be hungry on the bus ride back. Also, bring some cash, as the last point you go to sells really nice gifts, but for cash only.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We really enjoyed our trip to the Hoover Dam, took about 4 hours total, which is a perfect amount of time to spend away from the hustle of Las Vegas without taking a whole day way from the fun.
The driver was really friendly and informative, kept us amused all the way with facts and information about the areas we were driving through.
The hoover Dam is amazing, so many amazing photo opportunities and it was genuinely fascinating learning about the building of the Dam.
The driver very kindly let us eat our huge burgers in his pristine hummer on the way home, after waiting a lot longer than expected for them to be cooked!!
Overall a really good and reasonably priced trip. A couple of strip cab driver quotes us nearly as much just to drive us to and from, and it wouldn't have been nearly as fun.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Hummer Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic day out. Pick up on time. Safe driving. Courteous driver. Spectacular views of Hoover Dam and the West Rim,especially at Guano Point. Lovely hot meal included. Plenty of time at destination. Drop off right by hotel. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great drive out to Hoover Dam. Saw some great scenery and drove through Boulder City which was good. Would not recommend doing the tour when you get there though, as you only go down through the plant underneath the Dam. By the time you go through security, see the video, line up and then finish the tour you have to get straight back on the bus for the drive to Las Vegas. We literally had to run for the bus. Didn't have any free time to take photos etc. of the rest of the dam which had some great views which we only saw from the bus. Would be much better to walk around and look yourself, unless of course you are interested in the underground workings of the dam.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour from Las Vegas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The trip was great!!! I would strongly recommend this trip to anyone who has never visited the Grand Canyon or Hoover Dam.

Gerry C

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I chose this tour over other because they let you walk the interstate bridge to get amazing shots of Hoover dam straight on. It also included the power plant tour of the dam. I enjoyed not having to deal with traffic. Jason gave excelled information and advice in a comedic way. Excellent tour.

Doing what: Ultimate Hoover Dam Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Tour guide informative and helpful, giving great advice on how to make the most of our time at the dam. Hummer very comfortable. Hoover dam more awesome than expected!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Hummer Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was just amazing. This is the first time that my wife and I have visited Hoover Dam and the tour really made it special. The tour guide did and EXCELLENT job at explaining everything and keeping the tour moving. He was really a wealth of knowledge and even explained things about the area.

Doing what: Ultimate Hoover Dam Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was worth every penny!!! My wife and I have to say that our driver Bob was very personable, upbeat, and gave us an incredible tour from the time he picked us up at our hotel, to the time he dropped us off. His knowledge was both entertaining and very educational!! Not just about the Hoover Dam, but the entire ride there had so much history attached and Bob presented it ALL !!!! We want to give another big THANK YOU to Bob!!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Hummer Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Overall very good. But you could probably use an extra half hour at the Hoover Dam without taking time away from the Lake Meade Cruise.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent trip from start to finish. Picked up from hotel at 0615, taken to the tour's terminal where everything was explained and transferred onto another coach. Our driver whose name I missed was very entertaining and educational bypassed Hoover Dam on way there so we could beat the queues at the canyon. We had a short comfort stop at a quaint mini mart store and arrived at the Canyon within 2-2.5 hours. With minimum of fuss we were given our tickets, we opted to not do the skywalk or helicopter ride which gave us ample time for the indian camp, the ranch and plenty of views of the canyon from both eagle point and guamo point. The lunch was very good and queueing minimal. On way back we again stopped at a mini mart and had 15 minutes to take photos of Hoover Dam. We were back at our hotel by 5.30pm so it wasn't too long a day but plenty of time for what we did.
Overall highly recommended.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Trevor and Allen were great! Pickup was exactly on time, the bus ride was very comfortable and professionally handled by Allen. Trevor a comedian was entertaining and very personable. I was absolutely amazed by his worldliness and ability to carry on a conversation with anyone from around the world. He seemed to know facts about anything that was mentioned from anywhere. He also managed to make things funny without being vulgar or over-the-top. They also bring a cooler of water which is nice since you can be out in the dry heat a lot. I'd definitely tour with these folks again.

As far as the Hoover Dam goes, this tour was great. We started on the new bypass and pedestrian bridge which afforded an amazing view of the dam from the low side. The walk to the bridge wasn't that difficult and contained all kinds of information on the structure and how it was built.

The walk on top part of the tour was filled with information and time to take photos. Trevor really seemed to know his stuff. He presented the information in a concise yet humorous manner, but was serious when it was called for.

The inside tour was conducted by the Feds and was just a quick semi-informative walk through some of the Dam. It was interesting and informative, just not as long or as fun as Trevor would have made it.

After leaving the Dam we went to Boulder City to visit a Hoover Dam museum. We took a brief drivign tour of the city where the lifestyle and living conditions of the Great Depression were explained.

We had a pretty darn good lunch at the Omelet House sandwiches, burgers, etc.. All pre-ordered and just about waiting for us when we got there.

A quick trip to the Ethel M Chocolate Factory and Botanical Garden and we were back at our hotel.

Pick up was about 7:30 and we arrived back at the hotel about 2:30.

As with most tours everything is a bit rushed because time is limited, but all in all, a very good time and a great tour.

Doing what: Ultimate Hoover Dam Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Awesome trip to the Grand Canyon. Pick Up at Circus Circus to the Airbridge Terminal from the tour company. Restrooms and Cafe available. Good instruction from them. Our driver was Felix the cat - awesome good driver, told us a many stories about Hoover Dam, Grand Canyon and many more! He told us the best thinks to do at the Grand Canyon - Try the BBQ rips from the Western City Buffet - Awesome!

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We enjoyed our day trip to the Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam. We a great bus driver which made our day very enjoyable.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great trip with my son. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a half day trip to the Hoover Dam. Brett was a fantastic guide who informed us about the construction of the Dam and other interesting facts on the way to and from our official tour.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Hummer Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was truly an amazing experience! The tour company really has thought out all possible activities for this trip. You just need to show up. The bus driver/tour guide "Thomas" made the trip very entertaining and informative. We had the opportunity of stopping by to see the Hoover Dam, and then headed to the West Rim of the Grand Canyon where we did the Sky Walk.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a very good day. Our guide was very knowledgable and any question was answered. We went to neat places and lunch was really good. Hoover Dam was amazing. Ethyl Ms was worth the stop. A very good day. If we would have had more time we would have booked another trip.

Doing what: Ultimate Hoover Dam Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour to Hoover Dam and the West Rim of the Grand Canyon was amazing! It was a bit disappointing that the pedestrian bridge at Hoover Dam was closed when we arrived but overall an experience of a lifetime. Plus, our bus guide, Felix, made the trip enjoyable with his fun and outgoing personality!

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

What an exciting excursion!!! Organized, great lunch and plenty of time to enjoy the breath taking views of the Canyon and Hoover Dam. Highly Recommended!

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very nice tour , did not seem like a 6 1/2 hour tour as the time flew by in a good way ! Our tour guide Trevor did an excellent job !! Had fun jokes, and gave out great information about the area driving to the dam Trevor spent extra time with your personally for questions and sight seeing The Government tour inside the dam was very interesting.If you really want to see the Hoover dam take this particular tour for inside the dam and see the generators and hear the information on how it all works. The Ethel M chocolate factory was neat with out door gardens. They gave out samples of their candies. The hot chocolate at Ethel Ms was the best hot chocolate you will ever have, garnished with whipped cream ! Lunch at the Omelet house was a home cooked menu with different choices to order, it was called ahead and ready to eat when we arrived. . Be sure and buy a slice of their special banana or pumpkin bread, to take with you Its the best !!

Doing what: Ultimate Hoover Dam Tour

Sam T
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The Hoover Dam is a must see for anyone visiting the Las Vegas area. This tour includes Las Vegas hotel pick-up and drop-off which was very convenient. The tour bus driver was very informative and entertaining. We only had approximately 2 hours at the Hoover Dam, but this was plenty of time to take part in the Power Plant tour (included in the price), and to walk across the dam where the views are breathtaking (there are many great photo opportunities here). We opted for the deluxe tour, which included a buffet lunch and a walk through a chocolate factory and gardens. Expect this tour to take the best part of your day, you are picked up in the morning and not dropped off till the evening (after dark), but it is well worth it. We highly recommend touring the Hoover Dam, even if your stay in Las Vegas is not long.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour from Las Vegas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The Hoover Dam Tour was very good. I would recommend them to others. I would rate this tour a 5 star.

Doing what: Ultimate Hoover Dam Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message