Hoover Dam (also known as Boulder Dam) is one of the largest in America. It was built between 1931 and 1936 across Black Canyon and above the mighty Colorado River. It's a national historical landmark with remarkable views of the Colorado River, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 974 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

What a great way to see Hoover Dam and the Grand Canyon West Rim and not have to worry about driving!! This was such a wonderful way to relax and get away from the Las Vegas strip for the day and explore the great outdoors. The Hoover Dam stop even though it was only about 15 to 20 minutes long was so much easier to enjoy on the new pedestrian walkway they built instead of having to travel down the winding steep road to the bottom and then head back up. You could see just how majestic this man made wonder truly is. From there we headed to the West Rim of the Grand Canyon which was too long of a bus ride, only about 90 minutes after leaving Hoover Dam. Once you arrive at the Grand Canyon the first thing you see is the helicopters and it makes you really kick yourself in the behind for not buying the helicopter ride...lol...we then headed on the bus to take us over to Eagle Point where if you look really hard, the rock formation looks just like an Eagle with its wings spread. There were different vendors there so if you got hungry or thirsty there was a place to purchase items. At Eagle Point you are also able to go on the Skywalk (if you are brave enough) and look down to the bottom of the canyon. For me I just prefer to stand a ways back from the edge and simply admire from a distance. We then got back on the bus and headed to Guano Point which was really cool because there wasn't one place you could turn where you didn't see the amazing colors of the canyon and if you looked down you saw the Colorado River and the helicopter flying in between looked so tiny that it made you realize just how vast the canyon is. We climbed up this pyramid shape rock formation that reminded me of the tower of Babel when we first got there. The climb looked easy but however was a little difficult when you first got started. We then ate lunch and enjoyed the views a little longer, before heading back to our motorcoach to enjoy the journey back to our hotel in Las Vegas. All in all it was a wonderful way to spend the day.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

What an amazing, spectacular trip!!! For those of you who are not a huge fan of flying to the Grand Canyon West Rim, this bus trip is wonderful. It was a long journey but so worth the time. We started out the morning by being picked up at our hotel by a bright eyed and bushy tailed bus driver, who by the way was a real enjoyment and very knowledgeable about Las Vegas. From the hotel we headed over to the terminal to join others traveling to the West Rim. Our first stop on our journey was to Hoover Dam and such a beautiful sight to see. The time and hard work that went into making this enormous structure is just amazing. Absolutely stunning!! We walked up the staircase to the pedestrian walkway on the new bridge they built connecting Nevada and Arizona. From there the view of the entire dam was awe inspiring. After a short 15-20 minute stop we then boarded the bus and continued our journey to the West Rim. We made a short pit stop to pick up water and snacks and to stretch our legs. This is the most perfect time of year I feel to visit the canyon. The fact that the weather there is very similar to the weather in Vegas made it in the mid 60's (not too hot and not too cold) PERFECT!! Plus the fact that the major travel season to the canyon was much less than in the summer, made this the best part because there wasn't many tourist. Once at the canyon there are 3 different areas you can visit and see all by way of a bus that takes you from each point and runs about every 15 minutes. From the main location the 1st stop on the buses route is Hualapai Ranch and even though you can't see the canyon from that location, it is a very enjoyable stop. The 2nd stop is Eagle Point where you will find the Skywalk which doesn't look as scary when you're standing on the ground next to it....however, if you are afraid of heights then that would be a different story. The 3rd stop is Guano Point which was my absolute favorite place and I felt was the most beautiful vantage point of the canyon. From there you get a 360 degree view of the whole enchilada. Breathtaking, mesmerizing and a must see for anyone who is visiting Las Vegas. My suggestion is however if you are taking this fabulous trip you might as well take advantage of the tour options and select the helicopter/boat/skywalk option because with 4 hours of free time at the canyon and for many people this being their one time only trip to the Grand Canyon West Rim, my suggestion is go big or go home. The trip back was just as relaxing and we did make 1 stop to stretch our legs and pick up some drinks and snacks as we made our way back to the hotel. The whole trip from pickup time at hotel to drop off time back at the hotel was exactly 12 hours. Another special thanks to the bus driver for getting us there and back safely and in good humor.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Amazing day at the Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam, brilliant coach driver called Bruce, who made the day fun and very well organised. The Skywalk is amazing if a little scary but well worth doing for the experience. Everyone should do this trip at least once whilst in Vegas, the Arizona desert is stunning.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour was very fun and our guide Mike was excellent and very knowledgeable. Hoover Dam and the Skywalk was worth the all day tour.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

My wife and I truly enjoyed the Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam. The guides and bus drivers were very professional and informative on the history and creation on the Dam and Grand Canyon. I do recommend Viator for planning tours in Las Vegas. My wife and I was totally happy with Viator services

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

My sister and I loved this tour! The Hoover dam stop was great and we got to spend ages at the Grand Canyon which was phenomenal. Sky walk was amazing: worth the extra money! Thomas our bus driver and tour guide was awesome: so knowledgeable and a hilarious personality. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

TOTAL ENJOYMENT FROM START TO FINISH. EASY PROCESS . I SUPPOSE THE MAIN GRIPE I HAVE IS THE COLLECTION FROM HOTEL AT 5.50 AM TO GO AND COLLECT OTHER PASSENGERS FOR THE TRIP. IT JUST MAKES THE DAY SO LONG AS DROP OFF WAS 7ISH THAT EVENING.
THAT ASIDE I WAS DELIGHTED WITH THE SERVICE OF THE CREW AND OUR BUSDRIVER "THOMAS" WAS ENJOYABLE IF NOT A BIT CRACKED!!! VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE FELLA.
HOOVER DAM WAS INTERESTING BUT NOT A MAJOR TOURIST ATTRACTION BUT ENJOYED THE HISTORY AROUND IT.
THE GRAND CANYON WAS SIMPLY SUPERB. THE VIEWS WERE OUTSTANDING AND THE MEET AND GREET PEOPLE AND SHUTTLE BUS DRIVERS COULD NOT HAVE BEEN MORE HELPFUL.
THE SKY WALK WAS A BIT OF A MONEY SPINNER......... 35 DOLLARS EACH TO WALK ACCROSS THE SKYWALK. THE WALK DOESNT ENHANCE THE BEAUTY OF THE PLACE OR ADD TO THE TRIP SO IF YOU DONT DO IT, ITS NOT A DEAL BREAKER. ONCE I GOT THERE I WAS DISGUSTED THAT I DIDNT DO THE HELICOPTER RIDE. BUT I SUPPOSE IT IS MORE COSTLY THAN THE NORMAL METHOD OF VIEWING...... IE BYFOOT. FOOT WAS BASIC BUT EDIBLE AND THAT IS INCLUDED IN THE PRICE. REALLY ENJOYED THE DAY AND WOULD DO IT ALL AGAIN.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour of Hoover Dam was informative and fun. The guides there do corny jokes and make it fun! The bus drivers were great too. Gave some info on the ride in. We had a beautiful weather day for the cruise on Lake Mead. Lunch was simple but filing. Would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My family all had a great time hearings and seeing all about the Hoover Dam, if you like history this is wonderful tour for you. Jason was very informative making the drive worth while and Alan got us safely to each destination!

Doing what: Hoot and Hoover Dam Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip was superb, I have always wanted to visit the grand canyon and this was my first chance and it did not disappoint. I would like to thank the bus driver Bruce for his commentary on the bus drive and his advice on how to get around when visiting the both the Hoover dam and the grand canyon. Thanks to the native American people who allowed us to use there land to view this quite spectacular natural phenomenon. Also thanks to Viator and the bus company for organising the trip. The whole day was superb and I would recommend it to anyone, it was worth the money.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our driver Dwayne was great! Thought we would sleep on the bus but he kept us too energized and intrigued! Hoover Dam stop could have been longer than 15 minutes, very rushed considering the time at the Canyon is plentiful.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip to Hoover Dam and the Grand Canyon was an awesome experience. Walter kept us occupied and informed so we did not have time to be bored with the ride. The coach was comfortable and everyone we encountered was pleasant. It was definitely time well spent.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Hoover Dam not really that far from the strip and was only roughly a 40 minute drive. Hoover Dam itself was incredible and when you see it on TV/film just doesnt do it justice. You also get a tour of the generators inside the dam. Our tour guide (Trevor) and driver (Tom) were both excellent and Trevor was particularly funny and informative, especially on the actual tour round the dam. You also get to spend about 25 minutes on Memorial Bridge which also gave a spectacular view over the dam. A trip to Boulder City and Ethel M's Chocolate Factory just added more value to the tour. Dinner was also excellent and all types of meals are covered. Bit of advice, just make sure you have a full breakfast before leaving or maybe take a sandwich with you just to cover you until dinner as the tour may run over slightly meaning you wont get dinner until about 1330/1400. Plenty of water supplied. Recommended tour without a doubt and due to the short travel time to Hoover Dam, you return to Vegas still with plenty of time to spare for rest of the day.

Doing what: Ultimate Hoover Dam Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour is very well organized. Different buses pick up in different hotels, so you don't get stuck in the Strip's traffic for hours before the tour starts. All the buses meet at the terminal, where the groups are divided by tour and a detailed explanation is given to us on how to proceed and what to expect. Don't forget to have your breakfast before boarding the bus, as no stops are made but the Hoover Dam one - where there are no concessions to buy food. If you forgot your breakfast, or if you didn't have time for one, the bus terminal has a coffee shop where you can get some to go. The bus was nice, with restroom in perfect using order, our driver Jay was good and very funny too. The Grand Canyon is spectacular, the once dirt road is now paved (which makes for a more comfortable ride) and it is very easy to get around in the West Rim of the Canyon.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We cannot imagine touring the Hoover Dam any other way! It was so much fun and we learned so much. Trevor was brilliant! We never knew there are so many facinating aspects that went into the planning, construction and dynamics of the workers, many who dedicated their lives to the project. It was an added bonus to visit the museum at the Boulder Hotel and the Ethel M. Chocolate factory! Lunch was delicious and we were able to relax a bit. Trevor also knew so much about Vegas history and had knowledge about all of the hotels, restaurants and performers. I've already recommended it to many friends. If you're going on a Dam tour make sure it is this one! You won't be bored!!

Doing what: Hoot and Hoover Dam Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message