Insider's Guide to Las Vegas

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Las Vegas ATTRACTIONS See all

Lake Mead National Recreation Area

With its sharp craggy mountains, deep canyons and desert basins, you won't believe that Sin City is only a few hours away from the deserted, dramatic and often surreal scenery of Lake Mead National Recreation Area. There are many activities to do ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 188 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jackie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The Hoover Dam tour was very informative and enjoyable to see how the dam works. The Lake Mead Cruise was great to get up close to the dam and see the shore line of the lake and the food was good on the cruise along with the drinks.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

fresendiz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was just wonderful. The bus picked us up ten or fifteen minutes after the time proposed but we arrived in time to the tour Stop Base where we had a small explanation of the tour. Our driver Guy Fieri because I do not remember his name and I apologize, was great . He was all the way explaining the different areas we passed. Great tour guide. We had a smooth ride to the Hoover Dam. After arriving we only did a small line to see a short film about the construction of the dam and its history. After seeing the dam our second stop was at Lake Mead, where we boarded a small cruise that took us to the dam to see it from the other side . I have to say everything was excellent. My wife and I had no complaints . Thanks for the great experience and good service .

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Dina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruse, was to take a visitor staying with us to see the dam. She was from out of the country and this was one of the special tours for her visit. I can remember when Lake Mead was near the top of the white edge of the lake.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Melanie J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Loved this tour especially the lake mead cruise which I really enjoyed, it took you up to the dam. Great value for money too.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Jeanne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

loved the trip, but didn't have enough time to see Hoover Dam. You could cut out the Chocolate factory, and
give more time to the dam. Lake Mead was awesome. Love the trip, Thank you so much

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Eric United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

"Watching the sunset over Lake Mead was breathtaking. The food was good and the ship's staff were very friendly. Made for a memorable and very enjoyable night away from the Vegas lights."

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

Maria United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was better than expected. Starting from our pick up location to the drop off at the end. Our drivers were great, funny and informative. The tour at the Dam was very educational. The cruise on Lake Mead was wonderful and had awesome views. The cruise ship was pretty and the lunch tasty and fresh. Would recommend this to all that are interested in a behind the scene view of the Dam.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Joni R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour! The ride to Hoover Dam is a great way to experience the area. The ride starts on River Mountain Loop trail which is totally paved and easy to ride with only a few manageable climbs and beautiful views as you get close to Lake Mead. Down at the lake you switch to a gravel trail that takes you through the old railroad tunnels and stunning landscape along the trail. At the end of the trail we hiked over the O'Callaghan-Tilman bridge and then back down and over the Dam. Our guide was knowledgeable about the area, trails and the dam. He carried plenty of cool water for us and even as hot as the day was it was easy to stay hydrated. We ended the day with lunch in a nearby park watching mountain goats graze and enjoying conversation with the tour group. It was a great way to explore Hoover Dam and one of the highlights of my Vegas week!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Mountain Bike Tour

Manuela v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour, especially the cruise on the Lake Mead, I loved that boat trip!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Lori C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour was awesome. There is so much history at the Hoover Dam and it is massive. We truly enjoyed the tour. We went to the Chocolate factory and the cactus garden and the famous Las Vegas sign for a photo.. Our tour guide was the best. Then the cruise on Lake Mead was beautiful with lunch in the air conditioning. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Larry D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was great and educational at Hoover Dam. All the guides at Hoover Dam, bus driver he was great!!!! very informative and funny and Lake Mead were very knowledge. The boat cruise was very relaxing and the scenery was fantastic!! I highly recommend!!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

sonnie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely wonderful!!Our driver was Randy and our tour guide was Mark...they were awesome,Mark did an awesome job!!Both were very friendly and made the tour go smoothlyHoover dam tour was nice but my favourite part was the lake mead cruise...loved every second of it!!Lunch was great and beer even betterwould highly recommend to anyone..it's worth every penny!!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Judy.sycamore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Lovely evening on Lake Mead . Good food though not a lot of veg beautiful sunset.

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

alex m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was amazing, good lovely, brilliant staff, and seeing the sunset over lake mead was definitely a highlight of the holiday

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

Bethany D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful experience! Enjoyed the lake mead cruise I would really recommend it to anyone! Beautiful day and perfect weather! Our bus driver was amazing and took us on a few side places to look at the houses of movie stars:

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Christopher P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was good. I enjoyed the ferry ride on Lake Mead. I could have skipped the chocolate factory.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Marianne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was excellent- although so hot at the Dam and on the cruise! Easy short drive to the Dam, interesting presentation and tour of the power plant. Enough time to take photos and visit the gift shop before heading down to Lake Mead. Very chilled boat trip- nice to see the Dam from the water.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Gillian M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really enjoyed this trip. The Hoover Dam tour was very interesting and well organised. Nice relaxing afternoon with lunch on Lake Mead. Well balanced day.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Mark D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was fantastic. The Hoover Dam is a must see and the cruise on Lake Mead is the perfect way to unwind after a few days in Vegas with great sights. For us though the highlight was our tour guide Thomas who I cannot praise highly enough, he was very informative and extremely entertaining!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Linda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really enjoyed our trip to the dam and cruise on Lake Mead. Found the dam amazing and the tour interesting.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Lorraine F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very informative trip and a great view of the dam and Lake Mead.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Elaine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

From start to finish, this was an excellent night out. Hotel pickup was on time, and the ride to lake mead was informative. The boat and staff were brilliant and the meal was very very good. Would certainly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

wrichardson7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Overall very good. But you could probably use an extra half hour at the Hoover Dam without taking time away from the Lake Meade Cruise.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Stacey T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour was GREAT. We had beautiful weather, around 70 - Mike our bus tour guide was really funny and entertaining. The tour at the dam was really good, very little waiting. The Lake Mead tour on the Paddle Wheel boat was lovely - just over an hour, nice and relaxing and great view of the dam and lunch hit the spot. While Ethel M's factory tour was quick - we were there for the 500,000+ holiday cactus lighting. It was OUTSTANDING. What a lovely walk through the garden at 4:30 when the lights came on, it truly was SPECTACULAR, made the stop there well worth it. Be prepared this is an all day trip - we were picked up at 9 and returned to our hotel at 5:30 - all well worth it.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

JULIE O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My sister and I loved this tour..... other reviews complained about time at the dam but there was plenty of time to see it all and shop if you just put a little pep in your step .... we took tons of pictures and still have time to roam around the entire creation and head across into Arizona and be in two states at one time. We loved the way this tour was run it was simple to follow and our Tour Bus Driver (Mike) was very entertaining. The lake mead cruise was beautiful and lunch was satisfying. The Ethel M chocolate factory stop was just an added bonus and the stop at the Las Vegas sign was PERFECT since otherwise we probably would have had to pay a cab to get there and take a picture. Overall we would recommend this tour to anyone that wants to see the dam and lake mead in the same outing. it was GREAT esp for the value.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message