• USD ($)
  • English

Las Vegas ATTRACTIONS See all

Lake Mead National Recreation Area

With its sharp craggy mountains, deep canyons and desert basins, you won't believe that Sin City is only a few hours away from the deserted, dramatic and often surreal scenery of Lake Mead National Recreation Area. There are many activities to do ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 236 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Paul S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great evening out. Picked up by transfer bus at the hotel. Very informative drive out to Lake Mead. Two hour dinner cruise, with great food and good views of the Lake and Hoover Dam. Coach waiting at marina when we docked, ride back to Las Vegas, complete with a night time photo stop at the "world famous sign".

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

only fault was it we where pushed for time between the tour finished and getting on the bus to get to lake mead for the lunch cruisewe had about 10 minutes between the tour finishing and getting on the bus, could have really done without the stop at the chocolate factory

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Absolutely amazing!! You have to go! We had the most awesome time visiting the Grand Canyon. This was definitely the highlight of our Vegas trip. Our Pilot Judd was fantastic, he was very friendly, informative and reassuring as I was very nervous having not flown in a helicopter before. We were the first to be picked up in a black limo and stopped at 2 other hotels en route to the centre to collect the other couples who shared our helicopter. On arrival at the helicopter HQ we were provided with a very swift and efficient service. We were weighed, provided with name stickers and watched a brief safety video while we waited for our pilot to collect us. Note: before you leave use the bathroom as there were no toilets at the landing spot! (Unless you hide behind a rock!!)
The views were absolutely breathtaking with clear views of Lake Mead, the Hoover Dam and the Grand Canyon. Once we landed we only had around 20 minutes to take photos and eat lunch which went far too quickly. Especially by the time my partner had surprised me by proposing!! It truly was spectacular with the most amazing views to get engaged! A very special moment we will never forget. On our return flight our pilot flew us over the strip, which was great we took some fantastic snaps. I highly recommend this trip it is definitely worth the money. We were provided with an extremely professional service you will definitely not be disappointed! Absolutely FANTASTIC!! I wish I could go back today!

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was my third time to tour the Hoover Dam. We were picked up at our hotel and returned upon completion of the tour which lasted for 8 hours. The coach driver was very courteous, extremely knowledgeable about the area, and an excellent driver. I am thankful that I was once again able to tour the Dam and the new bridge. It was an exciting tour. After touring the Dam, we went on the Lake Mead Cruise. The cruise was very relaxing and the lunch provided was very good. All in all, it was a wonderful experience and we would probably repeat the tour and the cruise when back in Las Vegas.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I loved this trip. It was awesome flying over the Hoover Dam, Lake Mead and the Grand Canyon. It was well organised and the pilot was very good, helpful and entertaining. The only criticism I would make is that the picnic in the Canyon came to quite an abrupt end and we were hurried back to the helicopter, although I do understand they are probably on a tight schedule with flight times,etc. It was very hot but I
would thoroughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

From start to finish the trip was a fabulous experience.

Being picked up at the hotel in the Limo was good making things very easy. It was well organisation once we arrived at the airport. The flight was an outstanding experience seeing the Hoover Dam, Lake Mead and the Grand Canyon from the sky was great. Breakfast or Brunch after landing in the Canyon was all good although it was a bit rushed another 15 minutes on the ground would have been good.

The flight back was another experience flying through the Canyon then the final bit flying along the strip was another jaw dropping moment

Throughout the flight our Pilot, Megan was extremely pleasant, informative and made the whole experience one we will not forget

Great value for money and would go again tomorrow

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Superb value for money! So what if you have to transfer onto another coach?! Las Vegas sign, Hoover Dam, Lake Mead cruise, lunch which was actually tasty we thought, choc factory and cactus gardens for less than £60?! Bargain! Plus our driver, James, was a legend. Thank you! We loved it!!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour started with a very informative bus driver who picked us up at the appointed time and appointed place. There were people that were going on three different tours on our bus. We were taken to a local office of the tour company and divided into our individual tour group. The process was very efficient and very quick. The staff there were informative and quick. We boarded our tour bus and headed for the day long Hoover Dam, Lake Meade and Ethel M tour package. The same efficiency that I saw at the tour office was present at each turn in the tour. The dam was awesome. The Lake Meade boat ride had a nice slow down from the dam tour. The boat was fun, the food good and the tour of the lake near the dam very informative. By the time we arrive at Ethel M's were a somewhat tired. That stop was short, but allowed plenty of time to see the shop, the gift area, purchase some goodies and tour an amazing cactus garden.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The All American Helicopter Tour was a highlight of my visit to Las Vegas! I have been to the Grand Canyon several times, but seeing it from the air was an entirely different experience. It was so emotional seeing the canyon as we pulled over the rim and started to descend that it brought tears to my eyes. Even the flight to the canyon, as we flew over Hoover Dam and the amazingly blue Lake Mead, was spectacular in and of itself, so getting to the canyon was almost like a bonus. I took the early morning flight, which was amazing as we flew into the glowing rising sun. Our pilot, Fred, was fun, gave good information and made us all feel very comfortable. The picnic at the bluff on the canyon was lovely. We were lucky enough to be the only helicopter there, so we had the place to ourselves and had some time to explore. It was also really fun to be picked up from my hotel in a stretch limo. All-in-all a great experience!

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

My wife and I enjoyed this tour very much! It was great to get away from the crowds in Las Vegas and enjoy the countryside. Our bus driver, Darrell, did a great job and had everyone laughing the entire trip. Hoover Dam was very impressive and the Lake Mead boat tour was just the right amount of time. Everyone was very friendly and went out of their way for us. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I highly recommend this tour. Everything about it was first rate. The box lunch came with a sandwich, apple, cookie for dessert, and champagne. Soft drinks were provided as well. No restrooms at landing site, but we were forewarned and did just fine. Loved the landing site in the canyon overlooking the river. Great place to take photos. Also enjoyed the flight over Hoover Dam and Lake Mead. The weather was very windy, but our pilot did an exceptional job of holding the helicopter steady. Very professional company!

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

Andrea F
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Would thoroughly recommend this trip to anyone. Very well organised and informative. The bus driver was accomadating and pleasant. Amazing scenery that I only have seen in pictures. The only thing I will say against it is that there wasn't enough time at the Hoover Dam. The cruise on Lake Mead was relaxing and memorable :)

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic trip. Picked up by super stretch Limo bang on time who took us to the heliport for our 9.45am flight out to the Grand Canyon. Excellent smooth flight to the Canyon with views of Lake Mead and the Hoover Dam along the way. Could have done with a little more time than the 30 minutes we got at the bottom of the Canyon for our Champagne lunch / photos. That said, if we had had 45 minutes I would have said we could have done with an hour (no pleasing some folk - like me!). We knew in advance that our time at the bottom of the Grand Canyon was limited to half an hour so we made the most of it. Taking lots of pictures and enjoying our lunch. The flight back to Vegas took along the length of the strip so we had great views of the hotels, etc.

Special thanks to our pilot (Kelly). Super pilot and and very nice lady.

Whenever you visit Las Vegas this is a 'must do' and I am so glad we did......!

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

So glad we paid £200+ each for this! A lot of money for a couple in their early twenties, but one of the most memorable experiences of our trip. We were picked up from our Vegas hotel at 6am in a limo, and whisked across the road to the air field. We spent around 45 minutes here waiting, which didn't matter as we watched the sun rise. Before we knew it, we were getting into our helicopter and being whisked into the air. The views over Lake Mead were stunning, and we got great photos of the Hoover Dam. After landing in the Canyon, we had 15 minutes to take photos and explore a little, before reconvening for breakfast - champagne, orange juice, croissant and jam, honey and oats bar, blueberry muffin and a bag of red grapes. We switched seats on the way back which meant others could sit up front, and again, the views were beautiful. After landing, I stupidly left my camera in the helicopter and one of the girls inside went and fetched it for me.

Overall - worth the money for this once in a life time experience!

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This is a MUST DO for everyone! Our pilot was professional and friendly, and the ride to and from the Grand Canyon was smooth! On the way out to the Canyon, and lunch, we listened to a narration about some features and history of the land and cities below. It was very interesting and I learned a lot! Lunch was fabulous, and the scenery was breath-taking! On the way back, our pilot pointed out several points of interest...Red Rock Canyon (and why it's red), why there was so much white showing on the shores of Lake Meade...again, super interesting. I'm so very glad we spend the money for this experience...once in a lifetime deal!

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message