Las Vegas ATTRACTIONS See all

Lake Mead National Recreation Area

With its sharp craggy mountains, deep canyons and desert basins, you won't believe that Sin City is only a few hours away from the deserted, dramatic and often surreal scenery of Lake Mead National Recreation Area. There are many activities to do ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 241 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was definitely the way to see the Grand Canyon! It starts off with a Limo taking you to the heliport at the main airport 5 mins away, safety briefing then into the helicopter for the 45 min flight. We were lucky enough to be in one of the new Eurocopters which gave amazing views from every seat (6 passengers, 2 in the front 4 in the back). The out bound flight took us over the Hoover dam and lake mead, we saw the skywalk over the canyon before landing. A cheeky glass of bubbly and a sandwich (perfectly edible) were provided whilst we had some time for photos. Finally we flew back finishing off by flying over 'The Strip', luckily 2 of my family sat in the front for the return journey. I can't recommend this trip enough!!

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Lake Mead dinner cruise was great. It was a clear, calm, and beautiful night. We even got a glimpse of the lights of the Hoover Dam. It was a really enjoyable time for me and my family. Thanks!

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wow! If you only have a short time in Vegas this is a MUST DO! The scenery is stunning, especially flying over Hoover Dam, lake Mead and of course the highlight, the Grand Canyon! It is a very well put together tour, we enjoyed being picked up and returned by limo, a nice picnic lunch and excellent commentary on the helicopter. I know it seems expensive but it was worth every cent! Go on, do it!

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My husband and I enjoyed it a lot! It was an all day trip. We were picked up at the hotel at 8:45AM and were brought back around 5:30PM. The service was very efficient and well-operated. The company delivered everything they had promised. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The Hoover Dam tour was very informative, the Lake Meade tour was very picturesque and relaxing. We look lots of great photos and had a great time!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Everything was wonderful from loot to door: plenty of cool drinks provided, surprisingly filling and tasty lunch, very friendly and informative pilot, amazing views of lake mead, canyon and the strip on the return journey. Couldn't fault it.

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

Paul S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great evening out. Picked up by transfer bus at the hotel. Very informative drive out to Lake Mead. Two hour dinner cruise, with great food and good views of the Lake and Hoover Dam. Coach waiting at marina when we docked, ride back to Las Vegas, complete with a night time photo stop at the "world famous sign".

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

only fault was it we where pushed for time between the tour finished and getting on the bus to get to lake mead for the lunch cruisewe had about 10 minutes between the tour finishing and getting on the bus, could have really done without the stop at the chocolate factory

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Absolutely amazing!! You have to go! We had the most awesome time visiting the Grand Canyon. This was definitely the highlight of our Vegas trip. Our Pilot Judd was fantastic, he was very friendly, informative and reassuring as I was very nervous having not flown in a helicopter before. We were the first to be picked up in a black limo and stopped at 2 other hotels en route to the centre to collect the other couples who shared our helicopter. On arrival at the helicopter HQ we were provided with a very swift and efficient service. We were weighed, provided with name stickers and watched a brief safety video while we waited for our pilot to collect us. Note: before you leave use the bathroom as there were no toilets at the landing spot! (Unless you hide behind a rock!!)
The views were absolutely breathtaking with clear views of Lake Mead, the Hoover Dam and the Grand Canyon. Once we landed we only had around 20 minutes to take photos and eat lunch which went far too quickly. Especially by the time my partner had surprised me by proposing!! It truly was spectacular with the most amazing views to get engaged! A very special moment we will never forget. On our return flight our pilot flew us over the strip, which was great we took some fantastic snaps. I highly recommend this trip it is definitely worth the money. We were provided with an extremely professional service you will definitely not be disappointed! Absolutely FANTASTIC!! I wish I could go back today!

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was my third time to tour the Hoover Dam. We were picked up at our hotel and returned upon completion of the tour which lasted for 8 hours. The coach driver was very courteous, extremely knowledgeable about the area, and an excellent driver. I am thankful that I was once again able to tour the Dam and the new bridge. It was an exciting tour. After touring the Dam, we went on the Lake Mead Cruise. The cruise was very relaxing and the lunch provided was very good. All in all, it was a wonderful experience and we would probably repeat the tour and the cruise when back in Las Vegas.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I loved this trip. It was awesome flying over the Hoover Dam, Lake Mead and the Grand Canyon. It was well organised and the pilot was very good, helpful and entertaining. The only criticism I would make is that the picnic in the Canyon came to quite an abrupt end and we were hurried back to the helicopter, although I do understand they are probably on a tight schedule with flight times,etc. It was very hot but I
would thoroughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

From start to finish the trip was a fabulous experience.

Being picked up at the hotel in the Limo was good making things very easy. It was well organisation once we arrived at the airport. The flight was an outstanding experience seeing the Hoover Dam, Lake Mead and the Grand Canyon from the sky was great. Breakfast or Brunch after landing in the Canyon was all good although it was a bit rushed another 15 minutes on the ground would have been good.

The flight back was another experience flying through the Canyon then the final bit flying along the strip was another jaw dropping moment

Throughout the flight our Pilot, Megan was extremely pleasant, informative and made the whole experience one we will not forget

Great value for money and would go again tomorrow

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Superb value for money! So what if you have to transfer onto another coach?! Las Vegas sign, Hoover Dam, Lake Mead cruise, lunch which was actually tasty we thought, choc factory and cactus gardens for less than £60?! Bargain! Plus our driver, James, was a legend. Thank you! We loved it!!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour started with a very informative bus driver who picked us up at the appointed time and appointed place. There were people that were going on three different tours on our bus. We were taken to a local office of the tour company and divided into our individual tour group. The process was very efficient and very quick. The staff there were informative and quick. We boarded our tour bus and headed for the day long Hoover Dam, Lake Meade and Ethel M tour package. The same efficiency that I saw at the tour office was present at each turn in the tour. The dam was awesome. The Lake Meade boat ride had a nice slow down from the dam tour. The boat was fun, the food good and the tour of the lake near the dam very informative. By the time we arrive at Ethel M's were a somewhat tired. That stop was short, but allowed plenty of time to see the shop, the gift area, purchase some goodies and tour an amazing cactus garden.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The All American Helicopter Tour was a highlight of my visit to Las Vegas! I have been to the Grand Canyon several times, but seeing it from the air was an entirely different experience. It was so emotional seeing the canyon as we pulled over the rim and started to descend that it brought tears to my eyes. Even the flight to the canyon, as we flew over Hoover Dam and the amazingly blue Lake Mead, was spectacular in and of itself, so getting to the canyon was almost like a bonus. I took the early morning flight, which was amazing as we flew into the glowing rising sun. Our pilot, Fred, was fun, gave good information and made us all feel very comfortable. The picnic at the bluff on the canyon was lovely. We were lucky enough to be the only helicopter there, so we had the place to ourselves and had some time to explore. It was also really fun to be picked up from my hotel in a stretch limo. All-in-all a great experience!

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

My wife and I enjoyed this tour very much! It was great to get away from the crowds in Las Vegas and enjoy the countryside. Our bus driver, Darrell, did a great job and had everyone laughing the entire trip. Hoover Dam was very impressive and the Lake Mead boat tour was just the right amount of time. Everyone was very friendly and went out of their way for us. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message