• USD ($)
  • English

Las Vegas ATTRACTIONS See all

Lake Mead National Recreation Area

With its sharp craggy mountains, deep canyons and desert basins, you won't believe that Sin City is only a few hours away from the deserted, dramatic and often surreal scenery of Lake Mead National Recreation Area. There are many activities to do ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 206 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

So glad we paid £200+ each for this! A lot of money for a couple in their early twenties, but one of the most memorable experiences of our trip. We were picked up from our Vegas hotel at 6am in a limo, and whisked across the road to the air field. We spent around 45 minutes here waiting, which didn't matter as we watched the sun rise. Before we knew it, we were getting into our helicopter and being whisked into the air. The views over Lake Mead were stunning, and we got great photos of the Hoover Dam. After landing in the Canyon, we had 15 minutes to take photos and explore a little, before reconvening for breakfast - champagne, orange juice, croissant and jam, honey and oats bar, blueberry muffin and a bag of red grapes. We switched seats on the way back which meant others could sit up front, and again, the views were beautiful. After landing, I stupidly left my camera in the helicopter and one of the girls inside went and fetched it for me.

Overall - worth the money for this once in a life time experience!

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This is a MUST DO for everyone! Our pilot was professional and friendly, and the ride to and from the Grand Canyon was smooth! On the way out to the Canyon, and lunch, we listened to a narration about some features and history of the land and cities below. It was very interesting and I learned a lot! Lunch was fabulous, and the scenery was breath-taking! On the way back, our pilot pointed out several points of interest...Red Rock Canyon (and why it's red), why there was so much white showing on the shores of Lake Meade...again, super interesting. I'm so very glad we spend the money for this experience...once in a lifetime deal!

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

From the moment our limo ride arrived(right on time!) at the Downtown Grand Hotel, we were whisked away to the terminal. The ladies in the office were most helpful with information about our upcoming adventure.
Smooth take-off, and leisurely flight over Hoover Dam, and then Lake Mead. Soon we landed in the bottom of the Gorge at Grand Canyon, (west rim) and took a short trip in a pontoon, to experience the Colorado River. The second half of our trip was on land, talking to the Haulapai Indians, while eating an excellent out-in-the-open feast of bar-b-que lunch.
Traveling back to Las Vegas proved exciting..flying right down the middle of the Las Vegas Strip. What an addition to the Bucket List. What a trip

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The description of the trip from Viator was totally accurate.The whole experience was fantastic.We were picked up at the hotel by a Stretch Limo and driven to the airport.Check-in was fast and efficient before boarding the Helicopter,a 45 min flight to the Canyon.Flew over Lake Mead,Hoover Dam and the Grand Canyon,landed. then had a picnic lunch, approx. 30 minutes on the ground before heading back.We ended with a flight over the length of the Las Vegas Strip.On arriving at the airport ,we were taken back to our hotel by the Stretch Limo.If your planning on a Helicopter trip,this is the one to choose.Laurence

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Absolutely the only way to go. We were only in Las Vegas for a few short days and this experience was worth every cent. Just an amazing tour of Las Vegas, Lake Mead, the Hoover Dam and the most spectacular views of the Grand Canyon.

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A great trip and great way to see the Grand Canyon, Hoover Dam and Lake Mead.
Really well organised with friendly staff.

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

just excellent, a choice between this and taking a bus instead isn't a choice at all. Lake mead , hoover dam, the awesome rock formation mountain colours etc all unique to a copter ride, flying in to the canyon rather than just peering in from the side, awesome!.
getting back to the hotel at nine in the morning and being able to spend the rest of the day doing things was brilliant.

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Book the greatest helicopter tour ever with Viator. The limo picked us up right on time is was a short trip to the Las Vegas airport ( Sundance Helicopter Tours). First thought it was a little too much money but after the trip it was worth every penny. It was a great way to see lake Mead, Hoover Dam and the Grand Canyon in one trip. We only had a couple of days in Vegas and this trip only took about 4 hours of our day. It was a 45 Min ride to the canyon with a 30 min stop at the Plato and a 45 min ride back. Check out the short video we short during the flight. http://www.youtube.com/edit?video_id=Fj4tgOlp4MY

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was the highlight of our trip to Las Vegas. We were impressed by the company's efficiency and friendly approach. Our helicopter pilot, Art, was helpful and informative. The flight was a wonderful experience and gave spectacular views of Las Vegas, Lake Mead, the Hoover Dam and the Grand Canyon. Landing in the canyon allowed us to take photographs and enjoy the amazing scenery. Even the lunch was special, with little picnic baskets and glasses of champagne. We all loved the trip and the choice of music. I would highly recommend this experience to anyone visiting Vegas for a short trip.

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

If you can afford it, this is a sensational way to see the Hoover dam, Lake Mead, the Grand canyon and the surrounding mountain ranges. Bonus of getting a bird's eye view of the Strip as well. An hour an a half in the helicopter and you can see more than you ever would by car/bus in weeks.

Outfit were professional and everything went seamlessly for the afternoon from pickup to drop off. Highly recommended

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We spent a couple of hours by the pool waiting for the limo to pick us up for the Helicopter flight. He was dead on time at 12.40 and after the short ride to the airport and the safety briefing we were in the air at 13.30. Neither of us had been in a helicopter before and were pleased to find that we had no problems with the motion. We headed out of Las Vegas over Lake Mead toward the Hoover Dam, which we reached in about 15 minutes. Vic, our pilot, made two passes over the Dam and bridge for photo opportunities before turning for The Grand Canyon. The narration was very good, padded out by little snippets from Vic and some cool 80s music. As we entered the canyon proper, the choice of music was brilliant! We flew in to the canyon to the strains of Mr Wagner’s ‘Ride of the Valkyries’. Super!! A few minutes later we landed on a small plateau about 500 feet or so above the canyon floor and the Colorado River. Vic sent us off on a little trail while he got the picnic ready. We each had a little picnic basket and a ‘glass’ of champagne before re-boarding the helicopter for the return journey. We retraced our ‘steps’ and arrived over ‘The Strip’ about 40 minutes later for more photo opportunities. We landed at MacCarran at about 15.30 and the limo picked us up straight away and deposited us back at the hotel. We both thought this was worth every penny of the quite substantial fare and count it as one of the best experiences of our life.

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Had a great time. This combination was perfect. Thoroughly enjoyed learning about the Hoover Dam and the Lake Mead Cruise was icing on the cake. Highly recommend this combination.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This trip was a brilliant trip, a bit more time at the dam would be better, the queues stopped us seeing
the outside. The chocolate factory was a bit of a waste of time, the time would be better spent at the dam
We did nt go on lake mead because of the shutdown but the buffett lunch that replaced it was excellent.
Overall an excellent trip, will do just the outside one next time we come to Vegas.

Thank you.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were in America during the Government shut down and we were delighted to hear from Sundance helicopters that the tour was not effected, as they landed on reservation land. We were picked up on time by the limousine, the driver being chatty and friendly. The flight to the Canyon took in the Hoover Dam and Lake Mead. The Canyon itself, no words can really do it justice but using an American saying comes close. It was awesome. The experience will live with both of us for rest of lives, it was a true natural wonder of the world. Thanks to Sundance/Viator we were able to tick off one of our bucket list. Had we booked with other operators who landed on Government land we would not have been so fortunate.

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

For me, this was the best part of going to Las Vegas as we are outdoors types and do not care much for the strip. The pilot was great and we had great views of Hoover Dam, Lake Mead, and the Colorado River. It would have been even better if there was more time to walk around when we landed in the canyon, but the champagne breakfast made up for that! We originally chose this trip as the canyon entrances were closed because of the government shutdown but we were really glad we chose this helicopter tour! Easily, a five-star rating!

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message