Las Vegas ATTRACTIONS See all

Lake Mead National Recreation Area

With its sharp craggy mountains, deep canyons and desert basins, you won't believe that Sin City is only a few hours away from the deserted, dramatic and often surreal scenery of Lake Mead National Recreation Area. There are many activities to do ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 136 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Everything worked perfectly in this tour. I enjoyed a lot with my wife. It was great experience. The lake mead cruise was amazing.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour of Hoover Dam was informative and fun. The guides there do corny jokes and make it fun! The bus drivers were great too. Gave some info on the ride in. We had a beautiful weather day for the cruise on Lake Mead. Lunch was simple but filing. Would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great cruise with a wonderful dinner. I would, however recommend going in summer instead of fall if you want to see more of Lake Mead since it got dark rather early into our trip. Our bus driver was so pleasant that it made our bus trip actually a part of the experience. I had the steak for dinner which was done to perfection and quite tasty.

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Pick up was from our hotel transport lobby, timely and quick transfer via one other hotel stop, then we went to the main transport depo, where we were separated into groups depending on which tour you were doing. All very well organised and efficient, then we set off for the hoover dam.
Our driver Mike, was great fun, talking to all the coach passengers, and pointing out landmarks and giving info about Las Vegas. Arrived at the hoover dam in just over an hour.
We got off the coach, to go into the hoover dam entrance to commence the tour. We decided to stop to have a cigarette before commencing the tour, big mistake! Other coaches were arriving at the same time, and we then joined the back of the queue. We were queuing for over an hour to clear security, with only one X-ray machine up and running, and hundreds of people waiting. I completely understand the need to have a high security presence at the dam, but they had another x2 X-ray machines not in use, and appeared to have a lot of guards stood around the place, so why not open up the other machine to help with the queue? Despite this, the tour of the hoover dam was amazing. The tour guides were informative and the view was spectacular! You can only take water on the hoover dam tour, if you have any other type of drinks, you have to dispose of them before you clear security, for info for others.
We then got back on the coach to drive to lake mead, which took about 15 minutes. On arrival we started to queue again! Now I'm British and a queuing expert, but after another 30 mins waiting to board the boat in 100 degree heat, I was beginning to lose my patience! When we boarded the boat, the lunch on board consisted of a sandwich/roll, a can of drink, packet of crisps and a piece of fruit. The lunch was sufficient and tasty, and the boat had a bar on board, should you choose to eat more and get more drinks. The trip back was lengthy, due to lots of hotel stops and the busy strip, but you get to see more of vegas!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Cathy M.
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Everything about this tour was great. Our bus driver was funny and entertained us on the way there and back. We had a funny tour guide as well for the first half of the Hoover Dam tour(which was very informable) and the second half it was self guided. After the Hoover Dam tour we headed down to the Desert Princess where we had an enjoyable lunch and then started our way around Lake Meade to get another look at the Hoover Dam from the waters view. On our way back we stopped into Ethal M's Chocolate Factory for something sweet and then headed back to our hotel where we seemed to take a more scenic route which was awesome because we got to see alot of Vegas other than just the strip. I highly recommend this tour to anybody that is staying more than 3 days to Vegas as it takes up most of your day:) We enjoyed it very much!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Even tho the day was rainy,cool and windy we enjoyed every minute of this tour. Our tour bus driver Dewayne was very informative and entertaining. The tour of the Hoover Dam and the Power Plant was interesting and informative and we all enjoyed it very much. The captain on the paddle boat took our pictures steering the paddle boat and just getting a chance to be on Lake Mead was an awesome experience .We enjoyed the lunch as well. Transportation to and from our hotel was flawless. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My wife and I took the evening tour on the Lake Mead Cruise and it was worth every penny! From arrival to departure the crew couldn't do enough for you. The food and drinks were fabulous as were the views. I would highly recommend this tour and I will certainly do it again on my next visit to Sin City!!

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great day out! Despite having to wait 1 hour past the instructed pick up time, which was frustrating as no one called or contacted us to advise of the delay. However once we did get going it was a really good trip.
The coach driver we had (Dwayne) was great, he was very funny and knowledgable and delivered excellent customer service. The tour of the Hoover Dam was very interesting and mind blowing really to see what an engineering project with sheer man power. The cruise on Lake Mead was very relaxing and certainly gave you a totally different perspective of the Dam. All in All a great day out

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great trip. The dam was the highlight and the cruise on lake mead rounded it off very nicely. My only minor complaint was the lack of time at the dam. After the tour inside we had around ten mins to take pics and get any souveniers from the shop before getting back on the coach.
Overall a very good trip and would recommend it.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

When I complained to the bus driver that he was driving (in the dark) while talking on his cell phone he brazenly told me that he was talking with his supervisor and that he could not stop talking with her. I believe that he should have pulled over to the side of the road to hear her and NOT drive while talking on the phone even if it was the Queen of England on the line. Bad driving and I was scared. If he worked for me his head would roll. On the way to the dock he drove with only one hand. It was also scary for me.
The Lake Mead Dinner Cruise was 5 star in every way, the food, the trip, the ambience and the service

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Lake Mead dinner cruise was great. It was a clear, calm, and beautiful night. We even got a glimpse of the lights of the Hoover Dam. It was a really enjoyable time for me and my family. Thanks!

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My husband and I enjoyed it a lot! It was an all day trip. We were picked up at the hotel at 8:45AM and were brought back around 5:30PM. The service was very efficient and well-operated. The company delivered everything they had promised. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The Hoover Dam tour was very informative, the Lake Meade tour was very picturesque and relaxing. We look lots of great photos and had a great time!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Paul S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great evening out. Picked up by transfer bus at the hotel. Very informative drive out to Lake Mead. Two hour dinner cruise, with great food and good views of the Lake and Hoover Dam. Coach waiting at marina when we docked, ride back to Las Vegas, complete with a night time photo stop at the "world famous sign".

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

only fault was it we where pushed for time between the tour finished and getting on the bus to get to lake mead for the lunch cruisewe had about 10 minutes between the tour finishing and getting on the bus, could have really done without the stop at the chocolate factory

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was my third time to tour the Hoover Dam. We were picked up at our hotel and returned upon completion of the tour which lasted for 8 hours. The coach driver was very courteous, extremely knowledgeable about the area, and an excellent driver. I am thankful that I was once again able to tour the Dam and the new bridge. It was an exciting tour. After touring the Dam, we went on the Lake Mead Cruise. The cruise was very relaxing and the lunch provided was very good. All in all, it was a wonderful experience and we would probably repeat the tour and the cruise when back in Las Vegas.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message