Las Vegas ATTRACTIONS See all

Lake Mead National Recreation Area

With its sharp craggy mountains, deep canyons and desert basins, you won't believe that Sin City is only a few hours away from the deserted, dramatic and often surreal scenery of Lake Mead National Recreation Area. There are many activities to do ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 169 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was great and educational at Hoover Dam. All the guides at Hoover Dam, bus driver he was great!!!! very informative and funny and Lake Mead were very knowledge. The boat cruise was very relaxing and the scenery was fantastic!! I highly recommend!!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely wonderful!!Our driver was Randy and our tour guide was Mark...they were awesome,Mark did an awesome job!!Both were very friendly and made the tour go smoothlyHoover dam tour was nice but my favourite part was the lake mead cruise...loved every second of it!!Lunch was great and beer even betterwould highly recommend to anyone..it's worth every penny!!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Lovely evening on Lake Mead . Good food though not a lot of veg beautiful sunset.

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was amazing, good lovely, brilliant staff, and seeing the sunset over lake mead was definitely a highlight of the holiday

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful experience! Enjoyed the lake mead cruise I would really recommend it to anyone! Beautiful day and perfect weather! Our bus driver was amazing and took us on a few side places to look at the houses of movie stars:

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was good. I enjoyed the ferry ride on Lake Mead. I could have skipped the chocolate factory.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was excellent- although so hot at the Dam and on the cruise! Easy short drive to the Dam, interesting presentation and tour of the power plant. Enough time to take photos and visit the gift shop before heading down to Lake Mead. Very chilled boat trip- nice to see the Dam from the water.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Gillian M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really enjoyed this trip. The Hoover Dam tour was very interesting and well organised. Nice relaxing afternoon with lunch on Lake Mead. Well balanced day.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was fantastic. The Hoover Dam is a must see and the cruise on Lake Mead is the perfect way to unwind after a few days in Vegas with great sights. For us though the highlight was our tour guide Thomas who I cannot praise highly enough, he was very informative and extremely entertaining!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really enjoyed our trip to the dam and cruise on Lake Mead. Found the dam amazing and the tour interesting.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very informative trip and a great view of the dam and Lake Mead.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

From start to finish, this was an excellent night out. Hotel pickup was on time, and the ride to lake mead was informative. The boat and staff were brilliant and the meal was very very good. Would certainly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Overall very good. But you could probably use an extra half hour at the Hoover Dam without taking time away from the Lake Meade Cruise.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour was GREAT. We had beautiful weather, around 70 - Mike our bus tour guide was really funny and entertaining. The tour at the dam was really good, very little waiting. The Lake Mead tour on the Paddle Wheel boat was lovely - just over an hour, nice and relaxing and great view of the dam and lunch hit the spot. While Ethel M's factory tour was quick - we were there for the 500,000+ holiday cactus lighting. It was OUTSTANDING. What a lovely walk through the garden at 4:30 when the lights came on, it truly was SPECTACULAR, made the stop there well worth it. Be prepared this is an all day trip - we were picked up at 9 and returned to our hotel at 5:30 - all well worth it.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My sister and I loved this tour..... other reviews complained about time at the dam but there was plenty of time to see it all and shop if you just put a little pep in your step .... we took tons of pictures and still have time to roam around the entire creation and head across into Arizona and be in two states at one time. We loved the way this tour was run it was simple to follow and our Tour Bus Driver (Mike) was very entertaining. The lake mead cruise was beautiful and lunch was satisfying. The Ethel M chocolate factory stop was just an added bonus and the stop at the Las Vegas sign was PERFECT since otherwise we probably would have had to pay a cab to get there and take a picture. Overall we would recommend this tour to anyone that wants to see the dam and lake mead in the same outing. it was GREAT esp for the value.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Prompt pick up at pre arranged point. Fabulous UNMISSABLE jeep, very comfortable and with only 9 seats and 6 of us, felt like our own private tour. Very informative driver who gave us the low down on the area as he drove us to our first stop to look out over Lake Mead, and then on to our transfer to a larger vehicle for the drive down to the Colorada River float. Informative and humerous skipper took us for a short cruise.Beautiful views of the river. A little unsteady getting down to the raft, as nearer the river we had to negoiate across rocks and they are obviously uneven, so need to be careful. The Hover Dam was very impressive and we were given free time to explore the Dam after finishing our guided tour. We had a light lunch on the jeep and were also given bottled water. Lovely experience

Doing what: Hoover Dam Top to Bottom by Luxury SUV with Colorado River Float

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Everything worked perfectly in this tour. I enjoyed a lot with my wife. It was great experience. The lake mead cruise was amazing.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour of Hoover Dam was informative and fun. The guides there do corny jokes and make it fun! The bus drivers were great too. Gave some info on the ride in. We had a beautiful weather day for the cruise on Lake Mead. Lunch was simple but filing. Would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great cruise with a wonderful dinner. I would, however recommend going in summer instead of fall if you want to see more of Lake Mead since it got dark rather early into our trip. Our bus driver was so pleasant that it made our bus trip actually a part of the experience. I had the steak for dinner which was done to perfection and quite tasty.

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Pick up was from our hotel transport lobby, timely and quick transfer via one other hotel stop, then we went to the main transport depo, where we were separated into groups depending on which tour you were doing. All very well organised and efficient, then we set off for the hoover dam.
Our driver Mike, was great fun, talking to all the coach passengers, and pointing out landmarks and giving info about Las Vegas. Arrived at the hoover dam in just over an hour.
We got off the coach, to go into the hoover dam entrance to commence the tour. We decided to stop to have a cigarette before commencing the tour, big mistake! Other coaches were arriving at the same time, and we then joined the back of the queue. We were queuing for over an hour to clear security, with only one X-ray machine up and running, and hundreds of people waiting. I completely understand the need to have a high security presence at the dam, but they had another x2 X-ray machines not in use, and appeared to have a lot of guards stood around the place, so why not open up the other machine to help with the queue? Despite this, the tour of the hoover dam was amazing. The tour guides were informative and the view was spectacular! You can only take water on the hoover dam tour, if you have any other type of drinks, you have to dispose of them before you clear security, for info for others.
We then got back on the coach to drive to lake mead, which took about 15 minutes. On arrival we started to queue again! Now I'm British and a queuing expert, but after another 30 mins waiting to board the boat in 100 degree heat, I was beginning to lose my patience! When we boarded the boat, the lunch on board consisted of a sandwich/roll, a can of drink, packet of crisps and a piece of fruit. The lunch was sufficient and tasty, and the boat had a bar on board, should you choose to eat more and get more drinks. The trip back was lengthy, due to lots of hotel stops and the busy strip, but you get to see more of vegas!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Cathy M.
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Everything about this tour was great. Our bus driver was funny and entertained us on the way there and back. We had a funny tour guide as well for the first half of the Hoover Dam tour(which was very informable) and the second half it was self guided. After the Hoover Dam tour we headed down to the Desert Princess where we had an enjoyable lunch and then started our way around Lake Meade to get another look at the Hoover Dam from the waters view. On our way back we stopped into Ethal M's Chocolate Factory for something sweet and then headed back to our hotel where we seemed to take a more scenic route which was awesome because we got to see alot of Vegas other than just the strip. I highly recommend this tour to anybody that is staying more than 3 days to Vegas as it takes up most of your day:) We enjoyed it very much!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Even tho the day was rainy,cool and windy we enjoyed every minute of this tour. Our tour bus driver Dewayne was very informative and entertaining. The tour of the Hoover Dam and the Power Plant was interesting and informative and we all enjoyed it very much. The captain on the paddle boat took our pictures steering the paddle boat and just getting a chance to be on Lake Mead was an awesome experience .We enjoyed the lunch as well. Transportation to and from our hotel was flawless. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My wife and I took the evening tour on the Lake Mead Cruise and it was worth every penny! From arrival to departure the crew couldn't do enough for you. The food and drinks were fabulous as were the views. I would highly recommend this tour and I will certainly do it again on my next visit to Sin City!!

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great day out! Despite having to wait 1 hour past the instructed pick up time, which was frustrating as no one called or contacted us to advise of the delay. However once we did get going it was a really good trip.
The coach driver we had (Dwayne) was great, he was very funny and knowledgable and delivered excellent customer service. The tour of the Hoover Dam was very interesting and mind blowing really to see what an engineering project with sheer man power. The cruise on Lake Mead was very relaxing and certainly gave you a totally different perspective of the Dam. All in All a great day out

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great trip. The dam was the highlight and the cruise on lake mead rounded it off very nicely. My only minor complaint was the lack of time at the dam. After the tour inside we had around ten mins to take pics and get any souveniers from the shop before getting back on the coach.
Overall a very good trip and would recommend it.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message