Insider's Guide to Las Vegas

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

The Grand Canyon is one of the seven natural wonders of the world, so it's clearly an experience not to be missed. You have a few options, and it's not always easy sorting between them. If you're wondering where to go in the Grand Canyon and how to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3308 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

keitholiver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The staff were particularly helpful in accommodating our requests. Very kind driver who dropped us off at our hotel in Tusayan we stayed on at the Grand Canyon. Comfortable bus, very informative commentary. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Remi D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Exceeded our expectations. The driver who was also the guide, was very knowledgeable, very nice, professional. The trip was all day from early morning to late evening but it was a very pleasant experience, one of those few to remember for the rest of the life. I would definitely recommend it. If you go to Las Vegas and never been to the Grand Canyon this trip should be a must.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Donald C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a great trip and would recommend it to anyone that wants to see the Grand Canyon at its best.

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

carol g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

An excellent trip all around. Our driver was excellent. We felt very comfortable and he gave really good advice to ensure we saw everything at the Grand Canyon. We were so impressed with the logistical arrangements -efficient, courteous and helpful. One suggestion -the final rest stop at the gas station on the return leg was a bit seedy and off-putting for those of us unaccustomed to the in - your - face gun culture. Bathrooms were dirty and the walk past the commando scene a bit much! Although this is one aspect of American life it detracted from the almost spiritual experience of seeing the grand canyon west rim.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Talia G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

What a fantastic way to view the amazing Grand Canyon! Every detail can be seen from this birds eye view with the added experience of being in a helicopter first time for me. The limo driver, lady at the front desk and our pilot, Brad, were all so kind and added positively to the tour.
The only reason this isn't 5 stars? The extra 49USD fee they surprise you with after booking through Viator. Once you have booked and paid, you get an email stating you need to pay an extra processing fee. I questioned this on arrival why it wasn't listed in the tour details, part of the contract between Sundance and Viator to keep it a secret until you book! Beware!!!

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

Note from Viator: Dear sir/madam, thank you for your feedback. Please note on the web page of this tour it does mention the additional fees under the bold writing under EXCLUSIONS.

Joseph N

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The trip to the Grand Canyon was a bit long, but enjoyable. Our driver, Milton, really looked after us and kept us entertained. The Grand Canyon itself was fantastic.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Vazir F

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The Grand Canyon South Rim tour was great, however, the IMAX experience was very disappointing. The screen was old felt washed-out and hence deteriorated the colors of the film and also, was in bad shape with permanent marks over it that marred the viewing. In addition, the sound quality was terrible - there were echos, constant rasps, unclear audio and even cut-outs. Having seen other IMAX movies, this was not something new for us, but even given that, the movie shown is also old. I'd seen the same movie in the year 2000 in Singapore and would've enjoyed it again were it not for the screen and sound. But, I'm sure everyone would also appreciate something modern, a different look at the Grand Canyon with the use of newer technology. For 13 each, it was a complete waste of money. Considering that we missed our lunch due to that, we were even more disgruntled.

I would strongly recommend either getting National Geographic Visitor's Center to upgrade their facility and film, or else remove this as an option altogether unless it were 1 each. This was probably the only reason I wouldn't give it a 5-star rating.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Terry J

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

I booked this tour for my daughter and I for her birthday. We're from NY and have never seen the Grand Canyon, so we were really looking forward to this excursion. The trip started off rocky from the start. We were told our pick up was 5:45am from our hotel but waited 20 min in the cold for the bus to finally arrive after 6am. The driver had no apology or explanation. I'll skip to the Grand Canyon portion of the trip, as the Hoover Dam part was fine short and sweet and why I rated the trip 2 stars versus 0. As we're getting closer to the Canyon, we notice it's snowing. By the time we arrive to be dropped off, it's really coming down and snowing heavily. We can't see a thing. My daughter asked the driver would we still be able to see the Canyon with all of the snow, and he said You'll find out. Well, we found out. With the snow and heavy fog that had developed, we saw nothing. So we had 4 hours to be out in the freezing cold and take no pictures as there was nothing to see. Another traveler we spoke to said Viator knew about the inclement weather they were bringing us to, as they canceled his trip to the South Rim and offered him a seat on our bus, for 30 more. The West Rim wasn't going to be as bad, they said. His other option was to reschedule, but as this was his last day in Vegas, he took the West Rim. So he, along with us, was very disappointed and felt taken advantage of. Viator obviously had information about the snowstorm and never said a word to the customers on the tour. We spent a lot of money and traveled for hours, and it was a waste besides the Hoover Dam. Also, the driver Thomas was a bit much to take. He made the passengers make strange noises to confirm their hotels instead of just saying yes or that's correct, and it was very embarrassing. Not everyone is into that type of stuff, especially on a bus full of strangers. He also complained about not being tipped at the completion of the tour, which is unprofessional and rude, in my opinion.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Linda Sue H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Bucket List X
Celebrated my birthday in style, LOVED LOVED our day trip soaring over Lake Mead, Hoover Dam and The Grand Canyon. Nice picnic lunch when we landed in the canyon. Pilot Chris helped it be the best day! Would recommend!

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

dklevis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We absolutely loved our trip to Grand Canyon South Rim. It was the coldest day of our trip and the only time that we saw snow, so our children young and old! were delighted. Bruce our tour driver at South Rim was a wonderful host and navigated a large group with no delays. Flights both ways were comfortable and informative. All round a great day.

My only suggestion certainly not a compliant for improvement is to email a weather advice on the day before the tour, to ensure that the right clothing for the conditions is worn, particularly when unseasonably cold conditions are expected.

Doing what: Deluxe Grand Canyon South Rim Airplane Tour

Kathy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

What a wonderful day. The Grand Canyon was amazing. Our guide was informative, polite and enabled us to take away some beautiful photos and great memories. We would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Las Vegas.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Patricia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was amazing! ! We had a terrific time in the Grand Canyon. Add on the helicopter and boat ride for sure!! The Skywalk wasn and #39;t that great to me. You get great pictures beside the Skywalk. You can and #39;t take cameras on the skywalk. Our tour guide was Thomas, he was so funny! !

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

boothie3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

An amazing trip from start to finish, we enjoyed the trip out to the Grand Canyon.Seeing the countryside and the history was great.Stopping at Hoover dam was enjoyable and great for photos. The helicopter ride was simply breath taking, absolutly enjoyed the helicopter ride, would recommend. Lunch , was great a small choice but enjoyable . We enjoyed the view whilst eating lunch.Shuttle buses out to the different location at the canyon.The trip back to Las Vegas was great seeing the lights coming into Vegas, the narrative on the trip back was very informative.

Doing what: Grand Canyon West Rim Day Trip by Coach, Helicopter and Boat with Optional Skywalk

Robert L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

MISSION ACCOMPLISHED !!!!
Views were AWSOME. SUPERED and just UNBELIEVABLE. My purpose was to get to an exact spot at
The South Rim behind the Gift Shop, where my son David had his picture taken in 2011. He just passed
Away last Oct. 2015 from a cancerous brain tumor. He was 53 yrs. young.
With the help of the VIATOR TOUR GUIDE . I was able to have my picture taken at the exact spot,
Where my son Dave had stood 4 yrs. before. And through the magic of Photoshop I now have a photo
Of David and I at the Grand Canyon South Rim.
hopefully the original photo of Dave and the photoshop result is attached

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Bear

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We loved the glass walkway tour although my wife couldn't stay out there above the Grand Canyon four hundred feet down for long. We also loved our Michael Jackson One Cirque Sol Lei show. It was spectacular.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Suzy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a lot of fun. Our driver Enrique was so professional. He was so knowledgeable and he provided us with many interesting stories along our journey to the Grand Canyon.
I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Paul L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a fantastic day out visiting the Grand Canyon, our guide Randy was first class, very knowledgeable and very friendly he certainly entertained us throughout the day and is a credit to the company. I will certainly recommend to my friends.

Doing what: Grand Canyon in a Day: Hummer Tour from Las Vegas

Fredrick A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The grand canyon tour was first class. Starting with limo pick up at our hotel, well coordinated flight plan and informative narrative during the flight to a nice lunch at the floor of the grand canyon. We recommend this tour to all. The grand canyon is awesome and this is a great way to experience this wonder.

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

Deborah R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Everything was excellent, from pick-up at my hotel, to check-in, to trip to Canyon. Pilot Nobu was very professional, friendly and courteous. There is a great recorded informational tape that plays and Nobu added in extra tidbits of information along the way. Seeing the landscapes and Grand Canyon from a Helicopter is the only way to do it. The vistas are breathtaking, the way the terrain changes from rocky, to plateaus with shrubbery, to Canyon is beyond beautiful. If you can afford it, there's no question, you should take this tour if you have the opportunity. My tour also included landing in the Canyon where they served a simple breakfast of of things like croissant, yogurt, juice, water, and Champagne! Given the chance, I would definitely go again.

Doing what: Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour

Lee V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Was initially very easy to book, transfer to airport was very relaxed an informative. Checking in was straightforward everything was explained. The flight was amazing views of Hoover dam and Grand Canyon from the air is something everyone should see. Pilot was friendly and kept us informed of where to look. The canyon itself and the skywalk was amazing, it's a must do for anyone who visits Las Vegas

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Grand Canyon Helicopter Tour with Optional Below-the-Rim Landing and Skywalk Upgrade

Christine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent excellent excellent!

Went for my birthday and it was one of my favourite parts of my US trip! Great, informative CD playing the whole way to the Grand Canyon, excellent views from all sides and such agreat experience out on the skywalk. It can feel a little rushed but thats what you get when you book express

Doing what: Skip the Line: Grand Canyon Skywalk Express Helicopter Tour

Penny United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

I would suggest if anyone wants to see the Grand Canyon and/or Hoover Dam, just drive yourself. We booked the tour thinking it would be easier, but you are at the mercy of 60 other people on your bus to know how to tell time. The sky walk was a big disappointment. You are not allowed to freely walk out on it as you see in pictures. It is roped off and you wait in line, while on it, to have your picture taken in 3 different spots. You may opt out of photos but then you are only allowed to walk in the inside of the loop as the outside of the loop is reserved for photos. You are not allowed to bring your camera or phone so you have no access take pictures yourself. Very disappointing to say the least. We felt like cattle being herded across it. And you are so close together you don't even get the feeling or experience of being out there. It could be a super cool attraction,but it is ruined by the greediness to make a profit on pictures. I say skip it, unless they change how they do things. Hoover Dam was magnificent, but we didn't get to go down to it and only got like 5 minutes to see it and take pictures from the bridge that passes over it. See it on your own. You will enjoy it so much better and actually get to 'see' it.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Diana R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

The ground transportation was provided by Grayline Tours. My pick-up was prompt at 5:40am with a few additional hotel pick-ups. All the passengers were transferred to Grayline Tours' customer center where the check-in process, upgrades and groups were split based on individual tours South Rim/West Rim. I opted to upgrade my tour to include the Pink Jeep Private Tour. The charter did not depart the customer center until approximately 6:45am. So much wasted time! The first stop was at the Hoover Dam. Another waste of time to stop there for pictures. The bus was boarded again and we were en route only to make yet another stop. This time it was for a bathroom/snack break at a McDonalds. In my opinion, another unnecessary stop! From this point we traveled non-stop the Grand Canyon. Sadly, upon arrival at the National Geographic Center, we wasted another 2-hours 1 hour lunch 30 minutes in IMAX movie 30 minutes to meet with the assigned tour guide and board the jeep. Once we were off it was great! We stopped at five view points, but NOT enough time to enjoy what we paid for. I'm absolutely certain everyone in the group felt equally disappointed. The silver lining was that our tour guide was a really nice person. He shared lots of background on the Grand Canyon and some very unique stories. In retrospect, I regret upgrading from the basic tour. Two hours passed and the group was transferred back to the National Geographic Center. Within 15 minutes of our arrival, we boarded the bus for our transfer back to Las Vegas. We stopped to fuel. Apparently, it's illegal to refuel the bus with passengers on board. Like a herd, we unboard the bus. All the passengers took this as an opportunity to purchase snacks, beverages to tie us over. It was only about a 20 minute wait in the COLD. After that it was straight to Las Vegas. I was elated to be the first drop-off. Next time, I'll drive myself and so should you! Only then will be able to experience the majestic Grand Canyon!

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Arquimedes M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Amazing.... Everybody like it.... The crew was very kind and attentions and the grand canyon is beatiful.
Incrível... Todos gostaram.. A equipe foi gentil e atenciosa e o grand canion é lindo...

Doing what: Skip the Line: Grand Canyon Skywalk Express Helicopter Tour

Mrs S A E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was very good and good value for money. We stopped at the Hoover Dam first and then a couple of stops to get something to eat. The Grand Canyon was amazing and although it was a long day it was worth it.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message