Located on the Colorado River and formed by the Hoover Dam, Lake Mead is the largest reservoir in America and a favorite destination among visitors to Las Vegas looking to get off the strip and into the sunshine.  Travelers who book the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 260 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour was very well done. It was very informative - a good history lesson! Also quite interesting to be inside the tunnel and interior of the dam. The cruise was so relaxing and pleasant, it could have lasted all day! The views were beautiful! The bus trip was quite long seemingly at the end of the day, but of course, we were tired and ready for dinner and the night life of Vegas. It was good to be on the lake instead of just viewing the lake from the rim of the canyon.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Everything worked perfectly in this tour. I enjoyed a lot with my wife. It was great experience. The lake mead cruise was amazing.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour of Hoover Dam was informative and fun. The guides there do corny jokes and make it fun! The bus drivers were great too. Gave some info on the ride in. We had a beautiful weather day for the cruise on Lake Mead. Lunch was simple but filing. Would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great cruise with a wonderful dinner. I would, however recommend going in summer instead of fall if you want to see more of Lake Mead since it got dark rather early into our trip. Our bus driver was so pleasant that it made our bus trip actually a part of the experience. I had the steak for dinner which was done to perfection and quite tasty.

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Pick up was from our hotel transport lobby, timely and quick transfer via one other hotel stop, then we went to the main transport depo, where we were separated into groups depending on which tour you were doing. All very well organised and efficient, then we set off for the hoover dam.
Our driver Mike, was great fun, talking to all the coach passengers, and pointing out landmarks and giving info about Las Vegas. Arrived at the hoover dam in just over an hour.
We got off the coach, to go into the hoover dam entrance to commence the tour. We decided to stop to have a cigarette before commencing the tour, big mistake! Other coaches were arriving at the same time, and we then joined the back of the queue. We were queuing for over an hour to clear security, with only one X-ray machine up and running, and hundreds of people waiting. I completely understand the need to have a high security presence at the dam, but they had another x2 X-ray machines not in use, and appeared to have a lot of guards stood around the place, so why not open up the other machine to help with the queue? Despite this, the tour of the hoover dam was amazing. The tour guides were informative and the view was spectacular! You can only take water on the hoover dam tour, if you have any other type of drinks, you have to dispose of them before you clear security, for info for others.
We then got back on the coach to drive to lake mead, which took about 15 minutes. On arrival we started to queue again! Now I'm British and a queuing expert, but after another 30 mins waiting to board the boat in 100 degree heat, I was beginning to lose my patience! When we boarded the boat, the lunch on board consisted of a sandwich/roll, a can of drink, packet of crisps and a piece of fruit. The lunch was sufficient and tasty, and the boat had a bar on board, should you choose to eat more and get more drinks. The trip back was lengthy, due to lots of hotel stops and the busy strip, but you get to see more of vegas!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Cathy M.
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Everything about this tour was great. Our bus driver was funny and entertained us on the way there and back. We had a funny tour guide as well for the first half of the Hoover Dam tour(which was very informable) and the second half it was self guided. After the Hoover Dam tour we headed down to the Desert Princess where we had an enjoyable lunch and then started our way around Lake Meade to get another look at the Hoover Dam from the waters view. On our way back we stopped into Ethal M's Chocolate Factory for something sweet and then headed back to our hotel where we seemed to take a more scenic route which was awesome because we got to see alot of Vegas other than just the strip. I highly recommend this tour to anybody that is staying more than 3 days to Vegas as it takes up most of your day:) We enjoyed it very much!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Even tho the day was rainy,cool and windy we enjoyed every minute of this tour. Our tour bus driver Dewayne was very informative and entertaining. The tour of the Hoover Dam and the Power Plant was interesting and informative and we all enjoyed it very much. The captain on the paddle boat took our pictures steering the paddle boat and just getting a chance to be on Lake Mead was an awesome experience .We enjoyed the lunch as well. Transportation to and from our hotel was flawless. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Well organised trip our bos driver was informative and fun too. Dinner cruise excellent and really enjoyed the food. Would thoroughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very enjoyable evening, and a must do when visiting Vegas. (Would also be great done as a murder mystery cruise).

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Enjoyed the tour, just long enough.
Plenty of opportunities for a good photo, all views fantastic.
Cruise on the paddle boat, perfect.
Lunch .choice of rolls, crisps,apple or orange, water or fiz.
Well organised.
Thanks
Chocolate shop and garden. Wouldhpreferred to have gone back to Vegas.
Coac

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My wife and I took the evening tour on the Lake Mead Cruise and it was worth every penny! From arrival to departure the crew couldn't do enough for you. The food and drinks were fabulous as were the views. I would highly recommend this tour and I will certainly do it again on my next visit to Sin City!!

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Just to say the actual trip was fantastic,i do hate though how you have to be picked up at 4-20pm then taken to a central office in Las Vegas to book in,receive a wristband pay a $20 fuel excess (Not to do with Viator),and taking nearly 2 hours to reach somewhere which is only about 25 miles away.Surely in this day and age someone could be on the coach doing all this without a two hour ordeal as it is.The other mistake we made was as it was late September we booked the evening dinner cruise starting at 6-45 pm,within 30 minutes is was totally dark and we didn't see any of The Hoover Dam.Just book an earlier time that's all.Everything went smoothe except for what i mentioned,it's a must do on your visit to L.V.

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great day out! Despite having to wait 1 hour past the instructed pick up time, which was frustrating as no one called or contacted us to advise of the delay. However once we did get going it was a really good trip.
The coach driver we had (Dwayne) was great, he was very funny and knowledgable and delivered excellent customer service. The tour of the Hoover Dam was very interesting and mind blowing really to see what an engineering project with sheer man power. The cruise on Lake Mead was very relaxing and certainly gave you a totally different perspective of the Dam. All in All a great day out

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great trip. The dam was the highlight and the cruise on lake mead rounded it off very nicely. My only minor complaint was the lack of time at the dam. After the tour inside we had around ten mins to take pics and get any souveniers from the shop before getting back on the coach.
Overall a very good trip and would recommend it.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

As I mentioned above, on this day it was my wife's 50th birthday, the captain mention her aboard the ship. The cruise was good the food excellent,

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message