Launceston’s ruggedly beautiful Cataract Gorge is a popular highlight for visitors, combining dramatic natural landscapes and Victorian-era landscaping right on the edge of the city. The reserve is surrounded by wild natural parklands, and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

minimimicyc

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

I am really disappointed after joining this tour. I want to complain about the maximum number of the tour are supposed to be under 20 and stayed in a dorm of 6 as stated in the tour guideline and yet there are 23 people including 21 girls and 2 boys in a shared the accomodation. With most of the females and it took a long time to queue up for toliet and stuff. We need to change different guide when it came to Hobart. The guides are friendly and tried to be considerate but he need to take care a over-sized or big group, it was not an easy task. We had a lot of picking up and transfer or dropping off along the way as there are a tour from different packages. It took time and our time for visit had to cut short. As an international traveller, we came a long way from our city and really want to enjoy a bit of the nice environment of Tasmania. We are really disappointed. Besides, the first nights, we need to stay in a hostel next to a cemetary and as we are nearly full-house. One of the rooms were no lighting and it was out of order. When we stayed in Hobart, we were arranged to settle in a hostel of mixed dorm, actually when we joined the tour and we sent our request of female dorm and the the mail confirmed our request twice before we finally joined the tour. They promised they will arrange it but When we arrived the hostel, the reception said no such arrangement was sent by the operator before hand. At the end, we need to pay extra to change to another room though at the end they paid back the difference for us. To be honest, we had to handle and deal with the hostel ourseleves for hours which ruin our mood and waste our time. I have to say the main problem is the tour take up more than a normal tour can handle. The guides are really nice and funny but catering more than they can take up is another matter. I think it is the fault of the tour operator and did not meet our expectation.

Doing what: 4-Day Tasmania East Coast Tour from Launceston

Aspi I

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Excellent value saves money compared to paying for individual attractions. Most attractions are included so there is a good choice. Easy to use - just present them at each entry and they give you the tickets. Only you have to get to the attractions and some are quite far. The Blue mountains are a 2 hour train ride from Central. The rainforest Station were a 45 minute car ride. No other transport to get there except taxis which would be very expensive. But both these are worth visiting. Overall the Aus Pass is a must for tourists visiting Australia.

Doing what: Australia Multi-City Attractions Pass

Karen G United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

the multi city event pass was really a good purchase. It allowed us to be flexible for choosing which events we wanted to do on a daily basis. My only recommendation is to FIND OUT WHERE TO GO TO PICK UP YOUR CARDS BEFORE YOU START YOUR TOURS. Once you have your cards, they work just great. Also if there is a discount to enter an event, verify that you may need to purchase the entrance tickets at an off site.

Doing what: Australia Multi-City Attractions Pass

cocoa0622

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

I didn't like the tour, and won't recommend it to people who are above 30 or care a bit of life quality.

The bus was not comfortable with limited leg space and seats with no head-rest. As most of the trip was spent on the bus it was really unpleasant journey. The music played on the bus was too loud and I had to reminder the tour guide several times to lower the volume. Party bus is not for everyday!

Accommodation was bad. Initially I booked a room in a dormitory. But the place looked really horrible in my opinion, and 20 people shared only 2 toilets and showers! I had to upgrade to a private room at a lodge nearby. At first the tour guide asked me for 180 AUD for 2 nights stay. Then I found out that the rate at the lodge was actually 82 AUD per night and I suppose the tour agency can get some discounts on the normal rate. Although I could understand that the tour office wants to have a surcharge for the room, they could have done it more cleverly and not let the customer find out and feel cheated.

Tour guide was nice and funny, but he could have done more commentary on the bus.

Doing what: 3-Day West Coast Tasmania Tour from Hobart Including Cradle Mountain, Montezuma Falls and Strahan

William R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a fabulous time in Sydney really enjoyed all the Attractions , and I would recommend i venture to anyone taking the trip themselves,

Doing what: Australia Multi-City Attractions Pass

yet1another

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Your person wrote ans said she hadnotbenouhntravelersvajndvshek was putting me with another group. Your trip had many meAls the neW trip had only breakfast which was ?at one location two pieces of bread. Disappointing. The travel van was old and truly on regrouped and dirty As well as uncomfortable

Doing what: 4-Day Tasmania East Coast Tour from Launceston

Raymond P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We loved our visit to Melbourne and Sydney! We want to go back, with more time! It was a great experience. The multi-city pass was a great buy. Recommend it to all! Thank you for your services. Sincerely, the Perez family!

Doing what: Australia Multi-City Attractions Pass

John B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed using this to see a lot of the sights, especially in Sydney and in Brisbane- the smaller cities not as much.

Doing what: Australia Multi-City Attractions Pass

Karen M

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Great tour of the east coast. First time to Tassie and was not disappointed with what i got to see. Great people on the tour (was a small tour which was nice aged from 20 to +60...i was the second oldest at 35) and good tour guide. I had the hotel rooms instead of the dorms and they were really good rooms - recommend to do that if you are not into the backpacking/share dorms kind of thing. The only disappointing thing was that you had to cook/make your meals and then clean up with everyone - wasn't expecting that. Also be aware that you do some hiking so good walking shoes are a must. But I definately rate this tour.

Doing what: 4-Day Tasmania East Coast Tour from Launceston

Lynne J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I really enjoyed my tour with Wayoutback Australia despite Tassie's unpredictable weather. Touring with a small group is friendly and the casual nature of this tour allows everyone to mix in and get involved. Hightly recommend Annabelle as a tour guide, warm friendly down to earth and genuine with great stories to share

Doing what: 4-Day Tasmania East Coast Tour from Launceston

MUSTAFA M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Awesome trip!
Luckily, the weather was all sunny and good during the 4 days. it was raining heavily in the previous days!
The package had lots of amazing sightseeing, hikes and some wildlife encounters!
The tour guide was very friendly and experienced. he's been travelling around Australia and the world for some time! he has a lot of knowledge and experience!
The trip was been better than I expected and it's always fun to travel around Australia, experience their cool nature and meet new friends from all over the world!!

Thumbs up for this great package!

Doing what: 4-Day Tasmania East Coast Tour from Launceston

Mrs J K

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Best thing to buy for a trip to any of the big cities included.

Good value for money and saved spending dollars out there as paid for it before we went and earned points on credit card.... winner both ways.

Would advise that the philip island 3 day pass is not at good as it seems. Koala conservation place took 10 mins to do and as we were 3 adults we did not go to the heritage farm but the money was worth it for the penguin parade. THis only takes an hour in the evening though so dont go expecting a day out.

Make sure you wrap up warm. It was very chilly in august.

Doing what: Australia Multi-City Attractions Pass

Carrie H

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Trying to get the pass once you get to your destination was such a headache! BUT once we finally received the appropriate vouchers, this pass was fantastic! We saved money by purchasing and ALL the attractions we visited were top-notch! Make the redeeming process easier and this pass would be perfect for everyone traveling to multiple cities in Australia!

Doing what: Australia Multi-City Attractions Pass

Dee C

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

The trip was pretty spectacular, I would have preferred to do more of the walking tracks rather than spend so much time at the devil farm or at the hostel, probably geared for younger people than me!

Doing what: 4-Day Tasmania East Coast Tour from Launceston

Fiona H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

This was worth buying ahead of our tour. We bought the five attractions pass. It helped us to plan our days ahead and saved us several hundred dollars in entry fees. Some staff were new to the card, while others knew how they worked.

Doing what: Tasmania Sightseeing Pass: See Tasmania Card

Ian M Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

You have to plan and book ahead to get good value out of this card.

Doing what: Tasmania Sightseeing Pass: See Tasmania Card

Cags United Kingdom

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2013

The attractions available were very limited, and in total were considerably cheaper than the cost paid for the multi pass. The multi pass was not value for money, few people knew anything about it,there were no extra offers available. We were very upset at the mis advertising of this facility. There are money off vouchers available with tram tickets etc in the cities which would have saved us alot more money. I will certainly not be recommending this.

Doing what: Australia Multi-City Attractions Pass

karen t

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

Unfortunately I broke my ankle on vacation. We continued with our passes, but found that only a few options were wheelchair friendly. We ended up giving them away as we could not get into the things we had wanted to do.
If not for the broken ankle I liked the passes, but did find it difficult to get accurate info as to what was actually included as the first 2 places we went did not have the list of attractions that were included.

Doing what: Australia Multi-City Attractions Pass

Pamela F

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

Excellent idea, but not being able to book tours from the UK meant that we missed out on one. Still - excellent value for money

Doing what: Tasmania Sightseeing Pass: See Tasmania Card

SUSAN C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2010

A TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY-ON LINE LIST SHOWED OVER 100 AVAILABLE VENUES. IN REALITY 20! MANY SITES LISTED WOULDN'T ACCEPT THE CARD. EVEN THE TOURIST INFORMATION WOULDN.T EXCHANGE THE VOUCHER FOR THE CARD-DID THEY KNOW IT WAS A WASTE OF MONEY! VERY DISAPPOINTED

Doing what: Tasmania Sightseeing Pass: See Tasmania Card

Note from Viator: In December 2010, 53 attractions, tours and experiences across Tasmania were advertised and accepting the pass. The See Tasmania card still remains great value and currently offers free access to over 40 of Tasmania’s top attractions.

Heather V

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

It was great, made us see lots more of the state than otherwise we would have. Paying the money up front saved us lots of time and money and allowed us to plan our days while in Tassie. Some maps in Launceston need checking as they are incorrect--cable hang gliding and the auto display place.

Doing what: Tasmania Sightseeing Pass: See Tasmania Card

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message