Lille ATTRACTIONS See all

Fine Arts Museum (Musee des Beaux Arts)

Lille's Fine Arts Museum, or Palais des Beaux-Arts, is a giant - only the Louvre tops it for size among France's museums, and its collection is suitably illustrious. It was instituted in 1801 as part of Napoleon's push to bring art to the masses. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Melanie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Unfortunately we didnt get to go on the 1st April as the bus driver was ill, but our trip was rearranged for 2nd April at 11am. Trip was excellent, very informative and the head sets, with English commentary were cery good and I liked the bits of film that went with it, to show you the inside of some of the buildings.

Doing what: Lille City Sightseeing Tour

Lucy G

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Plenty of good information but disappointing not to have either a transcript or subtitles for my deaf father which I had alerted on my original booking.Overall the three of us that could hear the audio guide were pleased but couldn't increase this by sharing comments and ideas with the forth member of our party. The driver was extremely courteous and helpful as well as apologetic!

Doing what: Lille City Sightseeing Tour

Paul d

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

City pass was very convenient.
Bus trip was nice.

Most negative point i wish to say.

The way the paintings were exposed in the Musee des Beaux arts was abominable

Most of the paintings were so badly lighted that they hardly could be seen
.
I think it is a shame for the museum

Doing what: Lille City Pass

Julie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

very easy and straightforward to book and tour gives a good way to see Lille on a quick visit.

Doing what: Lille City Sightseeing Tour

Peter H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Absolutely fascinating tour through a lovely city, really good for learning about Lille and getting one's bearings. Well worth going on.

Doing what: Lille City Sightseeing Tour

Erna B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

A nice introduction to Lille

Doing what: Lille City Sightseeing Tour

amy m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Lille was beautiful! Lovely people. Incredible food. Gorgeous architecture. The city pass saved me a fortune on tourist sites and public transport!

Doing what: Lille City Pass

Cheryl H

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The lady at the city pass desk was so helpful that it didn't matter to me that I would have paid less to purchase the individual parts of the pass that I used. That said, I'm not sure if I would have ventured out as much as I did if I hadn't had the pass. In summary, I did not get my money's worth out of the pass, but it caused me to be more adventurous than I might otherwise have been.

Doing what: Lille City Pass

Susan M K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

The tourist office was closed until 2pm on Monday 16th March, therefore, the earlier sightseeing tours, had not taken place. The first tour of the day, left at 14.10 and we arrived back at 14.50 Not the hour, we paid for, therefore very disappointing. On going into the Tourist Office on our return, two staff members did not understand what I was complaining about, so we left in disgust. i have been longing to write this review, to air my dissatisfaction.

Doing what: Lille City Sightseeing Tour

blu16br

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Lille WAS THE ONE RAINY, GRIM DAY ON OUR 18 DAY TRIP TO UK.
THE PEOPLE AT TOURIST PLACE NOT FRIENDLY AND THERE WERE NO SEATS FOR WAITING FOR THE BUS. SEVERAL OF US USED CANES, AND MOST OF US SENIORS.

BUS WINDOWS WERE CLOUDED DUE TO WEATHER, DRIVER MADE NO ATTEMPT TO CLEAR.
THEM-- WE HAD TO TRY TO CLEAR THEM OURSELVES.
RAIN EVENTUALLY STOPPED--AFTER OUR TOUR RIDE-- SO WE WERE ABLE TO ENJOY WALKING THE NEARBY STREETS AND HAVING A BITE OF LUNCH. PHOTOS WERE MINIMAL.

Doing what: Lille City Sightseeing Tour

anthony m

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

avery professional insight to lille

Doing what: Lille City Sightseeing Tour

GeertDB Belgium

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Nice to look around and see different kind of buildings, monuments and others... Also my knowledge of the history of Lille is bigger now! :-)

Doing what: Lille City Sightseeing Tour

Roy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very good tour plus guide

Doing what: Lille City Sightseeing Tour

Imelda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A great start to a fabulous weekend , we took the city tour to get our bearings and went back to visit all the places of interest to us.

Doing what: Lille City Sightseeing Tour

Michael USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

The tour bus was fine but tit was raining and the windows were dirty on the outside and fogged up on the inside. Also some streets in the old city were closed so we had to by pass that part of the tour.

Doing what: Lille City Sightseeing Tour

P b J

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Enjoyable and informative despite the weather being rubbish

Doing what: Lille City Sightseeing Tour

Jozef M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The City Pass was very useful but we couldn't use all the vouchers (not enough time). The City of Lille is very nice and worth to visit.The metro stations are easy to locate with the map provided.

Doing what: Lille City Pass

Maysie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A great tour. We're used to doing walking tours so going on the bus was a pleasant change. The tour guide information was good and the driver was excellent. We're really glad we saw Lille this way

Doing what: Lille City Sightseeing Tour

JACQUEINE B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

I had been to Lille many times mainly as a stop over for one night. Thoroughly enjoyed the tour, saw Lille in a different light. The driver was very helpful and appeared to speak many languages. Would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Lille City Sightseeing Tour

Miss D G R

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

The tour was interesting but I would have preferred it if it was wider and covered the Citadel.

Doing what: Lille City Sightseeing Tour

John O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Very good and informative. We learned a great deal about the City in a short time. With plenty of time left to eat and drink then.

Doing what: Lille City Sightseeing Tour

W.s. D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

a nice overview were it not that i would have liked to have stopped a few times to take pictures. city hall + citadelle would have been nice.

Doing what: Lille City Sightseeing Tour

Yu M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Very useful package and I would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Lille City Pass

Rebecca P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Tour was good, only a small van seating about 12 or so passengers and the guide was knowledgeable, a great orientation of Lille and we saw things we would not have seen from our hire car. We LOVE Lillie.

Doing what: Lille City Sightseeing Tour

Harry C USA

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

A short little ride but I would surely do it again if I get to go again.

Doing what: Lille City Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message