Permanent ice and snow at the top of the world and a revolving gondola lift to take you to the top of the mountain, chairlifts over deep crevasses and exploring a glacier cave... If any of these sound amazing - and they do - Mount Titlis is the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 39 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour guide!!! Saw so much more on this tour then we would have ever by ourselves! Well worth the money.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

From the moment we arrived in Lille the night before our trip began I was delighted with the town and the vibrancy. we enjoyed a meal surrounded by a young crowd just enjoying themselves.

We found the 'meeting point' with ease and got talking to fellow group members immediately. Australians are without doubt friendly people to spend a few days with.
Our guide and driver, Tony, stamped his personality on us and we felt safe and privileged to be part of this tour. His knowledge and the way he put it over was awe inspiring.
WE thoroughly enjoyed our trip even though it was a trip into such sadness which bought our family history right up to date.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was one of the best tours we have ever taken. Tony Ward was an excellent guide and we would love to take another tour under his leadership - perhaps WWII battle sites next time. His depth of knowledge and experience leading this tour was exemplary - we had a diverse group and made an effort to be inclusive and relevant to all aboard. The accommodation in Ypers was superb - excellent food and very comfortable rooms. Situated on a battlefield site was amazing and added to the overall experience. We highly recommend this tour for anyone wanting an in-depth and informative accounting of WWI.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was quite amazing. Our guide, Mark, was very educated about all aspects of the war and the places we visited. His commentary while we were driving filled in many holes in my understanding. We went to places I have only seen in pictures (Thiepval, for example). Mark took us to the Menin Gate, and made sue we knew where to stand for a good view of the ceremony. I want to do another tour in a different art of the Western Front someday with Viatour, and maybe even with Mark.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The 3 day battlefields tour was great tour guide / driver did a great job and was able you personalise the trip for travellers. He showed great respect for all nations involved in the war. Thank you Mark. M and M Russell

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The guide/driver was great. Really knew his history. Hotel and restaurants were good. I was the only American on the tour, the guide was British and the others were Australian and Canadian, and this enhanced the tour for me. It far surpassed my expectations. The tour operator should be commended

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was even better than we had expected. It was the first organised tour that we had ever been on as we have always travelled independently in the past. Our guide/driver, Mark Banning, was an absolute font of knowledge that he geared completely to our group that happened to be all Australians and Kiwis. It was a relaxed, enjoyable and very informative way to spend 3 days. The transport, accommodation and meals were all great. Good value for money.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

A wonderful moving experience. The entire tour was organised well, even though the weather was not good, our Guide patiently reorganised the tour according to the needs of his passengers, most accommodating for those who wished to see things of most interest to them. Our Guide was a wonderful historian and most entertaining and made the day. We would highly recommend to anyone wishing to make this trip. Another trip,stay at the Novotel Lille across the road from the Eurostar and TVG Train station, so if time is a problem London is 1.5 hours by Eurostar.
Paul and Chris, Sydney

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent tour. Guide was very knowledgeable and went out of his way to accommodate our requests. Transport was comfortable and spacious. Highly recommended.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The guide was very knowledgeable and he clearly took account of the nationalities in his group. Seeing the locations and the level of human sacrifice was very moving. We thought the price was very "full" since it cost nearly as much as the entire weekend including travel and accomodation costs. AB Northampton

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

We loved this tour. Our pick up point was easy to locate in Lille, our driver, English and full of war time knowledge, and the mini bus was new and very comfortable. Our small group soaked up everything and we found it a very emotional and valuable experience. Our lost soldiers from WW1 so well respected and cared for in the many gravesites we visited. Highly recommend this tour to all age groups.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

My wife and I had an absolutely enjoyable tour of the Somme battlefield. We boarded the van knowing very little about WWI, unlike the other four passengers. Our guide, Mark, made presentations that fully satisfied our curiosity and obviously met the needs of the other passengers who posed more particularized questions than we did. The day was worth every penny of the very reasonable cost.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Found the trip met my expectations and gave me a good idea of what our troops went through. The guide was knowledgable and able to paint a very good picture of what happened. All in all I enjoyed the experience greatly and would recommend it to others.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent tour with a very knowledgable guide. It met my expectations especially the time spent at Vimy Ridge.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Mark H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

The guide was fantastic. As well as being knowledgeable and enthusiastic about his subject he was a good host over the 2 days. Although this tour is relatively expensive the small size of the group makes the experience a lot better and avoids the time wasted when a large group is herded around. The tour covers a lot of battlefields and memorials and if you do some preparation or even grab a map beforehand it will be easier to follow. The guide was very good at explaining things but there was a lot to take in. You wouldn’t be able to identify all the sites and understand their significance if you tried to cover the same ground independently.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message