Lille was once part of Flanders, a region in Belgium. Flanders, and in particular, Ypres (also known as the Salient), some 120km (75mi) from Lille, saw the most intense battles of the First World War on its soil.   World War I, also known as the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The guide/driver was great. Really knew his history. Hotel and restaurants were good. I was the only American on the tour, the guide was British and the others were Australian and Canadian, and this enhanced the tour for me. It far surpassed my expectations. The tour operator should be commended

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was even better than we had expected. It was the first organised tour that we had ever been on as we have always travelled independently in the past. Our guide/driver, Mark Banning, was an absolute font of knowledge that he geared completely to our group that happened to be all Australians and Kiwis. It was a relaxed, enjoyable and very informative way to spend 3 days. The transport, accommodation and meals were all great. Good value for money.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

A wonderful moving experience. The entire tour was organised well, even though the weather was not good, our Guide patiently reorganised the tour according to the needs of his passengers, most accommodating for those who wished to see things of most interest to them. Our Guide was a wonderful historian and most entertaining and made the day. We would highly recommend to anyone wishing to make this trip. Another trip,stay at the Novotel Lille across the road from the Eurostar and TVG Train station, so if time is a problem London is 1.5 hours by Eurostar.
Paul and Chris, Sydney

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent tour. Guide was very knowledgeable and went out of his way to accommodate our requests. Transport was comfortable and spacious. Highly recommended.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The guide was very knowledgeable and he clearly took account of the nationalities in his group. Seeing the locations and the level of human sacrifice was very moving. We thought the price was very "full" since it cost nearly as much as the entire weekend including travel and accomodation costs. AB Northampton

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

We loved this tour. Our pick up point was easy to locate in Lille, our driver, English and full of war time knowledge, and the mini bus was new and very comfortable. Our small group soaked up everything and we found it a very emotional and valuable experience. Our lost soldiers from WW1 so well respected and cared for in the many gravesites we visited. Highly recommend this tour to all age groups.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

My wife and I had an absolutely enjoyable tour of the Somme battlefield. We boarded the van knowing very little about WWI, unlike the other four passengers. Our guide, Mark, made presentations that fully satisfied our curiosity and obviously met the needs of the other passengers who posed more particularized questions than we did. The day was worth every penny of the very reasonable cost.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Found the trip met my expectations and gave me a good idea of what our troops went through. The guide was knowledgable and able to paint a very good picture of what happened. All in all I enjoyed the experience greatly and would recommend it to others.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent tour with a very knowledgable guide. It met my expectations especially the time spent at Vimy Ridge.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Mark H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

The guide was fantastic. As well as being knowledgeable and enthusiastic about his subject he was a good host over the 2 days. Although this tour is relatively expensive the small size of the group makes the experience a lot better and avoids the time wasted when a large group is herded around. The tour covers a lot of battlefields and memorials and if you do some preparation or even grab a map beforehand it will be easier to follow. The guide was very good at explaining things but there was a lot to take in. You wouldn’t be able to identify all the sites and understand their significance if you tried to cover the same ground independently.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Very much enjoyed this holiday, if enjoyed is the right word when dealing with something as heavy as WWI. Really helped fill me in on the background and physically being there and seeing it made it real for me. Our guide Tony Wade was a fount of knowledge and didn't trust any source without carefully evaluating it first, with characteristic humour. Seeing I was the only Irish person on the tour, he took time to show me some of the Irish monuments, such as that tower at Messines that Kevin Myers keeps going on about! I would say that if you need to buy provisions, stock up in Lille or the airport, because there isn't much opportunity later on. I would definitely recommend this trip. Susan

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

I found the tour very interesting and worthwhile. Our guide, Mark was extremely knowledgeable. I liked the flexibility of the tour - Mark was happy to take us to a particular spot if it was of interest to a guest, even if it wasn't on the itinerary. My one disappointment was not seeing trenches, but I understand that the Somme tour shows that aspect. I didn't go on it because I thought the connection with Eurostar from London would be too fine. It turns out that the guide would have waited and that any luggage could be taken along. I think this should be made clear. We were a small group and the flexibilty allowed for us to all have dinner together, with Mark happily taking two of us back to Lille later in the evening. That was a nice touch.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

Had a remarkable day, a fantastic guide who was very passionate about his tour. Anyone interested in the Great War this tour is a must. Thanks to all.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

The tour was good. Jeff was an interesting and knowledgeable guide. Our only wish was that we had stopped at more sites rather than just driving by them.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2010

Tour was very poorly organized and we were left sitting on the bus for one and a half hours at the start of the trip waiting for other passengers to arrive. Day one and two guide was not very informative or knowledgeable about the topics. Day three we were again left waiting for an hour for the tour to start and in the end did not have enough time to see the mines at Vimy with an English speaking guide which was one of our main reasons for taking the tour. Very disappointing.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message