Lille is a popular stop for all points in northwestern Europe and a transportation hub within France, so it's fairly easy to find plenty of opportunities for extended trips to other parts of the country. One of these are the WWII sites along the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was quite amazing. Our guide, Mark, was very educated about all aspects of the war and the places we visited. His commentary while we were driving filled in many holes in my understanding. We went to places I have only seen in pictures (Thiepval, for example). Mark took us to the Menin Gate, and made sue we knew where to stand for a good view of the ceremony. I want to do another tour in a different art of the Western Front someday with Viatour, and maybe even with Mark.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The 3 day battlefields tour was great tour guide / driver did a great job and was able you personalise the trip for travellers. He showed great respect for all nations involved in the war. Thank you Mark. M and M Russell

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The guide/driver was great. Really knew his history. Hotel and restaurants were good. I was the only American on the tour, the guide was British and the others were Australian and Canadian, and this enhanced the tour for me. It far surpassed my expectations. The tour operator should be commended

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was even better than we had expected. It was the first organised tour that we had ever been on as we have always travelled independently in the past. Our guide/driver, Mark Banning, was an absolute font of knowledge that he geared completely to our group that happened to be all Australians and Kiwis. It was a relaxed, enjoyable and very informative way to spend 3 days. The transport, accommodation and meals were all great. Good value for money.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent tour. Guide was very knowledgeable and went out of his way to accommodate our requests. Transport was comfortable and spacious. Highly recommended.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

A wonderful moving experience. The entire tour was organised well, even though the weather was not good, our Guide patiently reorganised the tour according to the needs of his passengers, most accommodating for those who wished to see things of most interest to them. Our Guide was a wonderful historian and most entertaining and made the day. We would highly recommend to anyone wishing to make this trip. Another trip,stay at the Novotel Lille across the road from the Eurostar and TVG Train station, so if time is a problem London is 1.5 hours by Eurostar.
Paul and Chris, Sydney

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

We loved this tour. Our pick up point was easy to locate in Lille, our driver, English and full of war time knowledge, and the mini bus was new and very comfortable. Our small group soaked up everything and we found it a very emotional and valuable experience. Our lost soldiers from WW1 so well respected and cared for in the many gravesites we visited. Highly recommend this tour to all age groups.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

My wife and I had an absolutely enjoyable tour of the Somme battlefield. We boarded the van knowing very little about WWI, unlike the other four passengers. Our guide, Mark, made presentations that fully satisfied our curiosity and obviously met the needs of the other passengers who posed more particularized questions than we did. The day was worth every penny of the very reasonable cost.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent tour with a very knowledgable guide. It met my expectations especially the time spent at Vimy Ridge.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

Had a remarkable day, a fantastic guide who was very passionate about his tour. Anyone interested in the Great War this tour is a must. Thanks to all.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Sylvie B
Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

It was a wonderfully detailed trip with a devoted guide who had some excellent knowledge on the subject matter. The beauty lies in the details the little stops on deserted roads accompanied by a historical tale were very nice. The tour left me in awe of the events of the past. One thing to note we only had 30 minutes at the Thiepval Memorial, which is really too little to see the monument, graveyard and centre itself.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Maryanne R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Excellent tour! The guide was fantastic. He was waiting at the train station. The bus was very comfortable. It was only a small group, so the trip had a one-on-one feel. The guide knew so much information about the sites and was extremely interesting. Lunch was great and very cheap. The lunch stop even had a museum attached, which was wonderful as we had a tour through there after we finished eating. I would definitely recommend this trip to all my friends, and I would even go on it again.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Beverley H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

Our driver/guide was very knowledgable, considerate and helpful in every way. The content of tour made it excellent and worth the expense. It was a brilliant experience.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Craig G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Excellent tour, very knowledgeable guide. He was very accommodating with specific site visits depending on what participants wanted to see, especially with regard to relative's battle experiences. The time flies on this tour.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We had an excellent tour guide for our small group of four people. We saw many places that we would have missed on our own.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message