• USD ($)
  • English
Lille is a popular stop for all points in northwestern Europe and a transportation hub within France, so it's fairly easy to find plenty of opportunities for extended trips to other parts of the country. One of these are the WWII sites along the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 31 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was even better than we had expected. It was the first organised tour that we had ever been on as we have always travelled independently in the past. Our guide/driver, Mark Banning, was an absolute font of knowledge that he geared completely to our group that happened to be all Australians and Kiwis. It was a relaxed, enjoyable and very informative way to spend 3 days. The transport, accommodation and meals were all great. Good value for money.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent tour. Guide was very knowledgeable and went out of his way to accommodate our requests. Transport was comfortable and spacious. Highly recommended.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

A wonderful moving experience. The entire tour was organised well, even though the weather was not good, our Guide patiently reorganised the tour according to the needs of his passengers, most accommodating for those who wished to see things of most interest to them. Our Guide was a wonderful historian and most entertaining and made the day. We would highly recommend to anyone wishing to make this trip. Another trip,stay at the Novotel Lille across the road from the Eurostar and TVG Train station, so if time is a problem London is 1.5 hours by Eurostar.
Paul and Chris, Sydney

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

We loved this tour. Our pick up point was easy to locate in Lille, our driver, English and full of war time knowledge, and the mini bus was new and very comfortable. Our small group soaked up everything and we found it a very emotional and valuable experience. Our lost soldiers from WW1 so well respected and cared for in the many gravesites we visited. Highly recommend this tour to all age groups.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

My wife and I had an absolutely enjoyable tour of the Somme battlefield. We boarded the van knowing very little about WWI, unlike the other four passengers. Our guide, Mark, made presentations that fully satisfied our curiosity and obviously met the needs of the other passengers who posed more particularized questions than we did. The day was worth every penny of the very reasonable cost.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent tour with a very knowledgable guide. It met my expectations especially the time spent at Vimy Ridge.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

Had a remarkable day, a fantastic guide who was very passionate about his tour. Anyone interested in the Great War this tour is a must. Thanks to all.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Sylvie B
Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

It was a wonderfully detailed trip with a devoted guide who had some excellent knowledge on the subject matter. The beauty lies in the details the little stops on deserted roads accompanied by a historical tale were very nice. The tour left me in awe of the events of the past. One thing to note we only had 30 minutes at the Thiepval Memorial, which is really too little to see the monument, graveyard and centre itself.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Maryanne R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Excellent tour! The guide was fantastic. He was waiting at the train station. The bus was very comfortable. It was only a small group, so the trip had a one-on-one feel. The guide knew so much information about the sites and was extremely interesting. Lunch was great and very cheap. The lunch stop even had a museum attached, which was wonderful as we had a tour through there after we finished eating. I would definitely recommend this trip to all my friends, and I would even go on it again.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Beverley H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

Our driver/guide was very knowledgable, considerate and helpful in every way. The content of tour made it excellent and worth the expense. It was a brilliant experience.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Craig G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Excellent tour, very knowledgeable guide. He was very accommodating with specific site visits depending on what participants wanted to see, especially with regard to relative's battle experiences. The time flies on this tour.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We had an excellent tour guide for our small group of four people. We saw many places that we would have missed on our own.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The tour was excellent, as was our guide. He was knowledgeable, caring and very willing to answer our questions. The scenes, in some cases, spoke for themselves. The rebuilt town of Ypres, the now-tranquil land filled with well-tended cemeteries, the crater in the middle of quiet woods, created by explosions, and the Allied and German 'pillboxes' still dotting the landscape. I suppose it would have been interesting to see a trench but apparently there aren't many around, a good thing in many ways.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Excellent idea to have air conditioned coach. Excellent idea to have tour guide with loudspeakers on coach. Your tour guide knew his history, spoke with authority, and was obviously enthusiastic about the subject matter! Your tour guide asked if any person had a particular site they may want to see, he showed us the Irish Memorial which we had forgotten existed it moved us to tears when we saw it, also moved Australian tourists as well! Liked the way we had time to reflect when we visited the WW1 memorials and graves the enormity of the death toll requires a little time to absorb. Good lunch served without much time lost. Really good educational day, hard work to remember all, but that's what we came for!

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Peter L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was the best tour I have ever been on and would recommend it without reservation to anyone interested in WWI history or who, like me, wanted to see the land where relatives lay who did not make it home from this terrible war.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message