Lima ATTRACTIONS See all

Larco Museum (Museo Larco)

To help you get your head around Peru’s centuries of history and culture, visit the well-regarded Museo Larco Herrera in Lima, housed in an 18th-century vice-royal mansion, built over a 7th-century pyramid and surrounded by leafy gardens. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Suzanne was a great tour guide! She not only did a great job making sure we were having a good time, but she also took advantage of the commute to explain interesting facts about districts, cultural facts, and ancient history.

The Larco Museum, although small when compared with others, it has a very interesting and nicely arranged exhibition. I really liked the way our guide organized our visit, and all her knowledge. Incredible how those civilizations didn't left writen testimonies, but their pottery is so rich tht we are able to know how they lived, what they ate and their sexual practices.

The visit to the Querono bar, is a nice way to relax a bit and take energy, while having a nice Pisco Sour :.

Last but not least, the water circuit. The great thing about the tour is to be able to cut the lin-ups and go directly to the front to the special access. Suzanne suggested going to the second row, to be able to have a better view of the show, it was amazing. I wasn't expecting such a beatiful display of technology and art sound and images. The rest of the fountains are also very nice, and it's the best way to finish your day.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

We only had one day in Lima before a trip to Machu Picchu. I chose this tour because it seemed to fit so much in. Unfortunately, the trip did not seem as advertised. It was billed as an 11-hour tour. This was deceiving. It was actually two tours-morning and evening- and we were left with nearly four hours between tours. Our first guide left us in Miraflores at a mall, at 1150- 40 minutes before we could even have lunch.
We did NOT stop at Las Huacas as advertised- when I asked if we would be stopping, I was told no, but they pulled over for 20 seconds to allow me to take a photo. The afternoon tour didn't start until 1550- leaving us stranded at a mall with no sense of where we were in relation to the rest of the city. The morning tour itself was fine, the afternoon tour superb, but I wandered along a foggy seashore for hours while my husband fell asleep on a bench- you really don't want to have to kill 3 hours in an unfamiliar foreign city near a MALL - I can do Gap and Banana Republic at home.
That being said, I can't say enough positive about the fabulous Larco Museum of pre Incan and Incan pottery, the stop for Pisco was fine and the evening light show just fabulous. The morning tour of the Cathedral of Lima and the Santo Domingo convent was fine. I really would have wished to be able to use my hours of free time to see more of the city. The buffet lunch at Mangos was very good. Again, wanted to but did not see Las Huacas as advertised. Booking was easy, pick ups on time, guides Ursula and Marie Isabel were very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Lima in a Day: City Sightseeing Tour, Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The tour guide was helpful and clear. I think we needed more time at Larco- it felt extremely rushed : And for what? Just 15 min of water show... I think we should have stayed at Larco much more...And the bar stop wasn't good at all since none of us ate meat : and there is really no point of eating cheese and bread in peru!!!! when they have all that amazing ceviche culture.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was a great way to see many of the highlights of the city. I had 2 guides and both were amazing. The first guide escorted me to the restaurant for my lunch. It was an amazing Peruvian buffet in Larcomar with an oceanview. I had a couple of hours to walk around and then catch the 2nd part of my tour. It was a great way to see and learn about Lima. Loved it. Thanks.

Doing what: Lima in a Day: City Sightseeing Tour, Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Tour guide very good although at times hard for us to understand (a little noisy in the museum). We really enjoyed the Pisco/snack stop because there were so many locals there. Larco and water show both well worth seeing. We liked that it was a small group and included pickup and dropoff at our hotel.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

it was well organized but it was not worth it...
first our group visited Larco museum which happened to be very far away from Miraflores. Then we were brought to the cheap bar in cheap hotel to try badly prepared PISCO Sour cocktail.
Then the fountaine show was pretty strange and not worth a visit at all.
The guide spoke very fluent English!

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We really enjoyed this tour - our first upon arrival in Lima. Ou guide Miguel Angel was personable, informative and very helpful - we had a private guided tour as we were the only guests signed up that day. Started off with pick up from our hotel in Miraflores (the Marriott) we headed along the coastal road until we arrived at Larco Museum. Beautiful setting, with a garden that looks like it is a postcard. The Museum and especially the permanent collection are simply priceless and take you back in time almost 5,000 years. From there we headed to the El Bolivar hotel - a historic hotel by St. Martin square where we enjoyed our first taste of Pisco Sour and some local snacks before the final adventure at the Water Park. That is really spectacular - the sound and light show chreographed with classical music and traditional peruvian folk dances from the various regions - and all displayed on marvelous water fountains that make it truly magical. Can't recommend this enough! And really appreciated the attention from our guide Miguel Angel with Viajes Pacifico. Professional, courteous and followed up a week later with some additional information on the artifacts we saw at the museum and photos. Muchas Gracias Miguel!

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

My experience was unique in that I was not able to experience the Magic Water Circuit portion of this tour - apparently the night my tour was scheduled, there was a private event that was booked for the Magic Water Circuit, which did not allow us entry. Instead, we went to the Barranco area which is known for its restaurants and night life. This was just OK but did not meet my expectations since all we did was walk around the area vs. watching a water fountain show. I wished the tour company would have informed me beforehand so I could have switched to another tour or ask for other options like the Larco Museum with dinner.

In terms of the Larco Museum, that part of the tour was interesting and worthwhile. It is not often that you can view thousands of artifacts in good condition all in one place. The tour guide was informative and took her time in showing/explaining to us the highlights of the museum.

For the Pisco Sour tasting - it was in a local bar that gave you an idea of local town life. The Pisco Sour was not to my liking (similar to a margarita) but if you go to other restaurants in Peru, there are other variations that were better in my opinion (try the passion fruit or strawberry versions).

Overall, it was a decent tour, but I would recommend confirming your itinerary a few days beforehand to avoid the situation I experienced.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Larco Museum is a beautiful and most interesting museum that has an amazing amount of artifacts that display the regional and historical aspects of early Peruvian culture. My guide, Gabriella, was extremely knowledgeable about everything and really helped explain everything. I always have a difficult time at museums trying to read the information next to each item but having a guide made it so much better! We later went to one of the oldest taverns in Puebla Libre area of Lima for a pisco sour and sandwich before heading to the magic water circuit. The fountains were beautiful and it was nice to walk around the grounds and see them all.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour. Loved all of it. Lima downtown, Larco and the water circuit are MUST SEES. I recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: Lima in a Day: City Sightseeing Tour, Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Wow! Larco is very impressive. Timely pick up and drop off. Good meal. Ended up as last couple at museum after dinner. This felt a little bit awkward at times but the artifacts are so impressive!

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My guide was exceptional - highly knowledgeable, really enthusiastic about his field and his enthusiasm and excitement was infectious. The collection is absolutely superb and brilliantly lit. Dinner was great. I enjoyed my visit to the Larco so much that I went back a second time the next day! I told so many people I met in Peru about how excellent this tour was/is...... I'd regard it as a real highlight of my trip. Thank you!!

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This is really a worthwhile and enjoyable tour. My husband and I and our daughter and one of her friends who are students at Universidad Catolica had a great time. The english speaking guide was excellent and gave you real sense of history and civilization in Peru. The collection at that Larco is not to be missed. Then, topping the experience off with a fine dining experience was the icing on the cake.

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message