The arid plains surrounding the small town of Nazca are detailed with South America’s most enigmatic sight, the extraordinary Nazca Lines. Etched into more than 80 km (50 miles) of rocky desert, and only properly appreciated from the air, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 16 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Although the guide did speak English, he spent most of the bus ride speaking Spanish without translating what he was saying for the English speakers. The flight over the Nazca lines was disappointing in that each passenger got very little time to see each image. I didn't feel the entire trip was worth the cost.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour with Transport from Lima

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

My son and I traveled to view the Nazca lines from Lima on Oct 4. We were picked up from the hotel at exactly the time we were told. The car was clean and comfortable and the drive was long (we were told that and expected it). Our guide Angelo was nice and attentive to us although he did not talk much except to identify some of the towns that we drove through. The flight over the lines was uneventful with the pilots not saying anything which prompted one of the passengers on the plane to ask whether we will be told when we reached the lines. Then without warning the pilot said to look to the left side of the plane and see the "ballena", then the pilot made a sharp turn and said "now on the right side "the same ballena". This continued for a few minutes with the plane swinging sharply from one fantastic image on the ground to the other. In my mind the turns were very sharp that many of the 12 passengers in the plane were airsick. I don't know that there is another way to see the lines but there has to be a better way. After the plane landed, we once again boarded our ride back to Lima. Angelo was very attentive and helpful to one of the other passenger who was still motion sick. I rate this trip four stars because they may not be a better way to see the lines from the air.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour with Transport from Lima

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

It was great to see the Nazca Lines, pictures do not do justice to this. Our group of nine enjoyed the trip. The flight experience was also nice and the co-pilot explained was nice to point out the various lines.
We wish the guide had talked about the history, or showed a video to give us background of Nazca Lines, as we had 4 hours of van ride.
Overall good experience. Thanks, Govind Arora

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour with Transport from Lima

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We had a great day on this tour. The group managing the tour was very efficient and well planned. At first we didn't understand that we would have a different tour guide throughout but once we got a handle on the system we were comfortable. The bus from Lima was wonderful and provided us with blankets that I wanted to keep! (We had to be ready at our hotel at 3:00am and were sleepy!) The boat tour to the Ballestas Islands was unbelievable and our guide was so well informed. He explained everything in both English and Spanish. One of my favorite experiences was going in a cave full of sea lions and the alpha male barking at us to get out! The Nazca Lines air tour was also amazing, however I would recommend taking some dramamine before hand, even if you aren't prone to motion sickness. Our lunch was delicious and the hotel we ate at was beautiful. We were served snacks of ham sandwiches on the bus both to and from Lima so if you are traveling with a vegetarian, make sure to request a special snack ahead of time.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

This tour has been badly organised and executed by the tour agent. I would describe this tour as the vomit comet over Nazca. The trip starts with a 4 hour journey to an airport with stop off at a poor service station, then a pointless 2 hour wait in a very small airport. The tour guide provided very limited information on our trip and no reason for the flight delay. The tour information states that the guide provides information on the tour and Nazca lines, but this was not the case. The tour guide barley interacted with the guests and provided very little information. The same can be said for the flight crew. Again the tour information states you will receive information on the Nazca lines during the flight, but all we got was one of the pilots pointing erratically out of the plane, which provided little help in identifying the lines. The major issue is the way they fly the plane after it reaches the Nazca lines. They perform very tight G circles making it difficult to spot the markings and take photos, plus it does not help when other passengers are vomiting due to the crazy flying, and others looking very ill. I can only describe this as the vomit comet. The flight itself is a 1.5 hour round trip with only 5 to 10 minutes at the Nazca lines. The trip in total took 14 hours, most of it just wasted time. Lastly we were not offered an chance to stop for food as described in the tour information.
We have raised a compliant due to the cost of the tour and the lack of value, so hopefully this will help improve the tour for others, but under its current structure I would recommend looking at other options to see the Nazca lines.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour with Transport from Lima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This trip was awesome. A very early pickup (3:10am) but the company made sure we knew exactly the time, etc.
They took great care of us, there were guides at every stop. The islands were beautiful, and the Nazca lines were wonderful. We had to wait a bit, but we were comfortable. We were late getting back from the lines, and had to eat our lunch, via box lunch on the bus back, but no problem. The bus was nice and had refreshments, etc.
We got back on timE, and had time to catch a 1am flight.
I highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2013

It was a very long day, but we really enjoyed the islands part. It was hard to pick out many of the figures of the Nazca lines.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Although it is a long coach journey, the coach is very comfortable and you can sleep. Simple meals are provided on the coach. The Ballestas islands have amazing wildlife and we also saw whales while on that trip. There are good views of the Nazca lines (worth seeing) and the lunch was good as well.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

Ballestas island was great. Nazca line was short and wasn't able to see since I was in the middle seat of the plane.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Had to get up really early for this trip but was worth it! Ballestos Islands were great and Nazca more exciting than I had expected. Great trip!

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This is a fantastic one-day trip from Lima to see the Nazca Lines. I was traveling by myself and every detail was taken care for me. The bus ride to Pacaracas was great for sleeping until you got there. I was met by a guide as soon as I disembarked at the station. The Ballestas Islands are amazing with how close you get to the wildlife. Then I was taken to the airport for my flight to see the Nazca Lines which were incredible! After the flight, off to a beautiful resort for lunch poolside, looking at the ocean. Then I headed for the bus back to Lima. Incredibly well organized and a perfect way to add the Nazca Lines when you don't have much time.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

I was told by tour companies that it was impossible to do both the islands and Nazca in the same day from Lima, well Viator has them beat!! We were able to fit it all in, although it is a long day, I think 16 hours, it was a great day as well, with time for naps!! The description states that only lunch is included on this tour, but you get two meals on the bus rides to and from Paracas, and the lunch is an amazing 3 course experience at an amazing Ocean front resort in Paracas, the food and view were soo amazing! Have the crab appetizer, still dreaming about it!! The bus ride out there is a few hours, but so comfy, the seats lean back, there are leg rests and yes a bathroom on board. From there you get on a speed boat to the islands and then you go to Nazca before the lunch, but both of these things are not to miss items, and who knew there were penguins in Peru!! Would do again in a heart beat!

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Although this was a long day, I would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in seeing the Nazca lines. The islands were a nice added bonus to the trip. The bus from Lima down to Paracas was really comfortable and they fed us breakfast. Then, on the bus home from Paracas, the bus fed us again. Also, after we flew over the lines, we stopped off at a beautiful resort (I believe it was called the Hacienda) for a nice lunch. If you are scared about flying over the lines, don't be. I am usually the one freaking out on commercial flights.. and was really nervous about this flight...but I really didn't flinch much on the little plane. It was nice and stable - very little turbulance, just be ready to hold onto something when the plane banks from the left to the right side so passengers can get a view of the lines. All in all, no one got sick on the plane.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Wow, this was quite a day. The bus ride from Lima was long, but very comfortable. They say the tour begins at 4am, but we had to be picked up at 3am. We were able to sleep on the bus. Ballestas Islands were amazing. The Nazca lines breathtaking. All the guides were informative and professional. Please take motion sickness medicine for the plane trip to see the lines. Half the group carried full sick bags from the plane. All and all a good day, but a very long day.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Brilliant tour if you don't have time to spend travelling down the coast to see the Ballestos Islands or the Nazca Lines. It was an unforgettable day with two great trips! Do be flexible though - the schedule changes a lot with a fair bit of waiting around followed by rushing around at times!

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2011

dear sir, it was very nice trip, however for ballestas comments, 90% were in Spanish and the rest in english. when given in english the boat has already started moving and it ws difficult to hear or ask questions. as for the Nazca lines, it was very limited information, and i have to say not so easy at times to take pictures without being so sure where to look. but thank you very much for organizing great tours like this.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message