Lima ATTRACTIONS See all

Pachacamac Itshma Temple

The closest archaeological site to Lima is Pachacamac, a pre-Inca collection of sand-blasted pyramid temples and palaces spanning 1,500 years. Over the centuries the now-ruined city developed into one of the Inca’s most important religious and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 73 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was terrific and our guide was wonderful! We loved it!!!

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

There is a lot to see at this site beginning with the museum exhibit, the Temple of the Sun, and the Temple of the Moon. A bit of a hike to get to the Sun Temple but well worth it with spectacular views of the coast on one side and the fields on the other.

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

This tour was just OK for me. We were part of a group that had a Spanish and English speaking guide. Since the majority of people were Spanish-speaking, I felt like the guide spent more time talking to and explaining more in Spanish. I wish I was informed that this would be the case since I thought the entire tour would just be in English, so if you get a chance, contact the tourist agency and confirm the details since this situation negatively impacted my tour experience (and I was not the only English-speaking person who felt this way).

This tour also stopped at Barranco before leaving for Pachacamac, but since all the stores/restaurants were closed, there was not much to see. This area is more known for its nightlife with the clubs and restaurants in the area, so there was nothing unique or special about it besides seeing some historic pictures and a wooden bridge that was being renovated at the time.

As for Pachacamac, you will need to climb up to the temple at some point, so if you have a hard time due to physical restrictions, you may find this tour more challenging. The ruins were interesting but not as intriguing if you've been to other ruins, especially since you can only make photo stops or see some from afar.

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The trip was great! It was a perfect half day tour. The pick up from the hotel was well organized, and the tour guide was very funny. His english was a bit broken, but he was incredibly knowledgable of the area. I would recommmend this tour to others.

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was great. My mom and I had an awesome experience. I highly recommend this trip and services.

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

For the money this tour is very good. The pickup and drop off from the hotel is good. The tour itself is very interesting and the tour guide was very informative and happy to chat and answer questions. Enjoyed the half day tour.

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

Manuel V
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Wish there was more information about it.....

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Drove to site through slum areas , no scenery, very few buildings have been reconstructed, guide was very difficult to understand, very poor English pronunciation, could not answer questions about the site due to lack of command of English language, he was better suited for the Spanish speakers

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Overall, this was a good trip. There is no shade and quite a bit of climbing involved. It would be nice if people were warned of this beforehand.

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

We also had a tour of Huaca Pucllama, which was smaller and in the city, but which gave us better and more focused information. Considering the amount of time it took to get to Pachacamac, the tour didn't seem worth the time we spent on it.

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I really enjoyed this tour from start to finish.Our guide was very knowledgeable and personable.Worth every dollar!

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

A little chaotic at the loading point after being picked up on time from our Hotel. We were directed to the wrong bus but things were finally sorted out. Guide was very knowledgeable and we learn't a lot about pre-inka history. Overall good valve.

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

We took this tour from our cruise ship which made for a very, very long day sitting in traffic... hours and hours of traffic. First, this tour does not pick up at the cruise terminal so, we needed to take a taxi from the ship to a hotel they use. This took a good 90 minutes, maybe 2 hours.

Our hotel pickup was pretty much on time and then, it took 20 minutes to go about 1/2 mile due to traffic. Then we made 3 more hotel stops so after another hour or so, we arrived at the tour meeting place where, we were transferred from our pickup bus to the bigger bus. Since we were so late in arriving, everyone was waiting and, there were no seats except the very last row of a very crowded bus. Then, it was a good 2 hours to Pachacamac through very heavy traffic. The views are of extremely poor areas.

Once on the big bus, there was no comfort as we were all on top of each other. The tour guide mostly spoke in Spanish so, it was easy to tune her out until, you realize she was back to English which means you miss most of what she said. So, almost all Spanish and the English is not very good.

Once we finally and mercifully arrived, the tour continued... in Spanish. The museum was poor and, in Spanish. No value here.

We were on and off that bus 3 or 4 times in a very dry, dusty place. I assume it was interesting if you could understand the tour guide. We finally arrived at the Temple of the Moon and began the walk which we found to be nice. Bring water and plenty of it. We are in good physical shape but many were not and struggled to go up the dry, sandy, pebble road to the top.

There were no towels in either the men's or women's restroom.

Once we finished the temple, we returned to the bus for the return to our hotels through very, very heavy traffic. We asked our tour guide to drop us off at any hotel so we may get a taxi to the ship, which they did.

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was GREAT! Elizabeth was a fantastic guide. She is very knowledgeable and gave us very good information throughout the entire tour. In addition, she gave everyone more than enough time to take pictures which is normally a problem on group tours. We stopped at all of the highlights on the trip and we even had a few minutes to shop for souvenirs at the site. I was really happy we were able to go through the museum before we saw the temples so we knew exactly what we were looking at once we got there. The quick stop in the Barranco district was a great way to end the tour. *ALSO* I want to highlight how wonderful Elizabeth is. We actually ran into her in Plaza San Martin later that day and she came over to us and remembered us by name and chatted for a few minutes. She is very personable and I would recommend not only this tour, but her as a tour guide specifically to EVERYONE!

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message