Lima ATTRACTIONS See all

Pachacamac Itshma Temple

The closest archaeological site to Lima is Pachacamac, a pre-Inca collection of sand-blasted pyramid temples and palaces spanning 1,500 years. Over the centuries the now-ruined city developed into one of the Inca’s most important religious and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 98 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Larry B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

guide was exellent and the tour fantastic, Will recommend to clients and Globus Tours, my employer
Thank You! This should be on everyonEs itinerarry when in Lima

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

Michael S

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Barranco is fabulous. The Pachacamac part is theoretically a very impressive tour: ancient sand-coloured buildings and pyramids. However, the landscape is also sand-coloured and there is no way to go into or onto the structures, and no display of genuine artefacts. We especially thank the tour operator, who was extremely helpful and straightened out a glitch in the booking.

Doing what: Private Tour: Pachacamac Archaeological Site Including Barranco District

Glenda H Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour and our guide was informative and very helpful

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

Katherine P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

It was interesting to see outside the tourist areas of Lima on the drive to the archaeological site.
The tour stopped at the arts district of Barranco on the way to the site which was good to see the Bridge of sighs, a tourist site in the city. The actual site was interesting but a lot of the ruins are in quite bad condition. If you have a free morning in Lima you might as well go and have a look at it. Also the tour runs longer that it states so keep that in mind if you have organised something for the afternoon.

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

Lonnie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really enjoyed this tour and the Tour Guide was great

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

great tour with good history and wonderful views in a modest amount of time.

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

Triplicane P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The tour was organized well. Pickup was punctual, but lasted more than the advertised time so it is not a good idea to plan anything important right after this tour within an hour of the planned return. The guide spoke with clarity, gave an informative tour of the temple. The Pachacamac itself was interesting for its history,

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

chrisj155

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

Unfortunately our local guide's English wasn't the best. He often failed to answer questions as he misinterpreted our questions.

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

Fran on-the-go United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The guide was friendly and filled every moment with good information. Tour was well paced.

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

Nancy T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Our last day was terrible due to the fact that Viatours did not pick us up at the designated time and place.
we wasted that whole day. We missed one of the main destinations of our trip. To top it off, When, after several phone calls, we did get to talk to someone, the person was very rude and certainly not helpful.

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

shazclarke2

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The guide, Patricia forgets to translate in English for English speakers, very disappointing, Also, she kept making mocking remarks that they like eating guinea pigs to English speakers, saying 'I like eating your pets'. Not a good impression to bring these sort of things on a tour

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

Max C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was very informative I received an education not only in pre-Inca Peruvian history, but also in the sociology of life on the outskirts of a large 3rd world city. I could wish that the goernment of Peru had done more to prepare the ruins at Pachacamac for tourists the museum is not complete and the tour is constrained by a lack of facilities. I'm sure it will be better in 5-10 years....

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

Janice O United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent trip with the added stops of special interest on way to Pachacamac made the trip more enjoyable. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic passing on information regards Lima and this ancient site Pachacamac. strongly recommended.

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

sharon m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

i enjoyed this tour. the guide was informative, kind and attentive, speaking in spanish and then english. there was a lot of traffic leaving Lima, but i found it fascinating to see the neighborhoods of Barrnaca. the bus had a flat tire so we did a tad more walking to the temples at the site. i found this to be a benefit! however, free tickets for a night tour were given as compensation. the view of the ocean from the higher terraces, amazing and not to be missed! highly recommend!

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

DONALD C USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

A long way to travel from the city to see a sight not currently being excavated. Nice tour through the country side and able to drop off at various areas for added exploration on your own.

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

Thomas K

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

This tour was great, well worth the time.

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

njturbett

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A great site to visit. The building structure is cool.

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

Marc F

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour came with a bonus consisting of a short visit to the historical neighborhood of Barranca on our way to the archeological site. Our guide was very helpful and answered all of our questions. The information she provided were general without going into details. I would have liked to hear more about the site's astronomy and cosmological significance given that the Inca were fascinated with the Sun/stars. Except a short hike around the Temple of the Sun the tour is by bus with multiple stops. This is were I would have liked to be allowed to enter at least one of the buildings to better see the achievements of the ancient inhabitants. I understand this is a problem that the Peruvian authorities should deal with and I hope that in the future they will allow at least partial access. The site is magnificent and simply viewing it from the outside leaves you unsatisfied.

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

mmw104

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing! Our guide was so knowledgeable about everything. We were a bi-lingual group and she did an awesome job of translating for us all!

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

Denisjunepraed

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Was really great picked up on time guide was very nice had a lot of information also took time to show us every thing 6 star rating highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

Molly C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I'm really glad that we took this trip while we were in Lima. Pachacamac is an incredible archaeological site, and we had a great time exploring it. Our guide, Elizabeth, spoke wonderful English and Spanish and was able to engage with the whole group and answer questions. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

Prafulchandra P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

it was excellent ,timely pick up and drop off ,it was impressive sight and service

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

Tom B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Good value for money - guide spoke good English and it was on time and easy. Worth seeing.

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

Vicki P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

AMAZING TOUR! I highly recommend and very interesting! Who knew the Lima area was filled with Pre-Inca ruins and lots of desert and sand so cool! you have to see it!

Doing what: Temple of Pachacamac Half-Day Tour from Lima

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message