Peru’s capital city was founded by Pizarro in 1535, and the modern-day city of Lima is a sprawling metropolis encompassing ruins from pre-Inca times, ultramodern shopping malls and coastal beaches. Here are a few ideas on where and how to spend your ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 96 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

It was great to see the Nazca Lines, pictures do not do justice to this. Our group of nine enjoyed the trip. The flight experience was also nice and the co-pilot explained was nice to point out the various lines.
We wish the guide had talked about the history, or showed a video to give us background of Nazca Lines, as we had 4 hours of van ride.
Overall good experience. Thanks, Govind Arora

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour with Transport from Lima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Felt like we had the museum to ourselves. Really enjoyed our guide and the information that she provided not only on the artifacts but how they relate in historical context.

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

This tour has been badly organised and executed by the tour agent. I would describe this tour as the vomit comet over Nazca. The trip starts with a 4 hour journey to an airport with stop off at a poor service station, then a pointless 2 hour wait in a very small airport. The tour guide provided very limited information on our trip and no reason for the flight delay. The tour information states that the guide provides information on the tour and Nazca lines, but this was not the case. The tour guide barley interacted with the guests and provided very little information. The same can be said for the flight crew. Again the tour information states you will receive information on the Nazca lines during the flight, but all we got was one of the pilots pointing erratically out of the plane, which provided little help in identifying the lines. The major issue is the way they fly the plane after it reaches the Nazca lines. They perform very tight G circles making it difficult to spot the markings and take photos, plus it does not help when other passengers are vomiting due to the crazy flying, and others looking very ill. I can only describe this as the vomit comet. The flight itself is a 1.5 hour round trip with only 5 to 10 minutes at the Nazca lines. The trip in total took 14 hours, most of it just wasted time. Lastly we were not offered an chance to stop for food as described in the tour information.
We have raised a compliant due to the cost of the tour and the lack of value, so hopefully this will help improve the tour for others, but under its current structure I would recommend looking at other options to see the Nazca lines.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour with Transport from Lima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Theresa was the best tour guide! She spoke amazing English and was incredibly knowledgable. She was on time at the pick up location. Given there was only two people on the tour it ended up being very private. The catecombs were really great. It was a really fun way to understand the history of Lima and its people. Would recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Small Group Lima Discovery Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Theresa was the best tour guide! She spoke amazing English and was incredibly knowledgable. She was on time at the pick up location. Given there was only two people on the tour it ended up being very private. The catecombs were really great. It was a really fun way to understand the history of Lima and its people. Would recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Small Group Lima Discovery Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was extremely interesting walking tour. I will defenitely recommend this tour and services to my friends and family

Doing what: Small Group Lima Discovery Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The guide was very knowledgable. Very small tour which was fine with us. Comfortable transportation.

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I would recommend this to every one who is new to Lima. Our tour guide Theresa was fantastic/excellent. She taught us how to be street wise. Make sure you have Theresa as your tour guide. At the end of the tour she called a taxi for us - which was extremely reasonable in price.

Doing what: Small Group Lima Discovery Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I always think that doing a city tour is a great way of getting to know the area, history, and culture of the local people. This tour did not disappoint and my husband and I were the only people on it. The guide Geovana was very knowledgeable and spoke good English. Without her we would have missed so much. She told us about the local history and pointed out different things. We visited the San Pedro market which was bustling with people where local produce and goods could be bought. Our guide bought us fruit that we hadn't eaten before to be eaten later on a hilltop of the Statue of the White Christ overlooking Cusco and they tasted excellent. Then a trip to the local archaeological sites of Saqsayhuaman and Qenko which was very educational. They only thing I would say was that a more precise meeting point should have been arranged as we nearly missed the guide. A tour not to be missed

Doing what: Cusco Markets and Ruins Small Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Our guide was prompt,enthusiastic and very informative. He took us to many interesting places and as we were a small group we saw and learned so much.
Excellent value.
Will pass on this information to our many travelling friends.

Doing what: Small Group Lima Discovery Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour and lots of fun! The tour of the market was a little too long but the rest was great. the demonstration for making food and pisco sours was good and great to include people from the group! The restaurant food was delicious and lots of it - so we did not leave hungry!! Beautiful setting for lunch as well.

Doing what: Lima Market Tour, Cooking Class and Pisco Sour Lesson

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The guide and the driver were super nice. Enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour with Transport from Lima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tou, was superb and fun. The guide was attentive and intelligent. The group was mutli-llingual and the guide met everyone's needs. I was with a young group of 13 Colombians and they were convivial and lots of fun to be with. Once again, the tour operator misled me when I called the office. I was told that the tour would be over after 1 1/2 hours, so I went ahead and made plans for lunch. When the guide arrived, he told me that there would be a lunch and that I would be back at my hotel at 3. I was very annoyed with the tour operator once again, but he saved the day. He called my friend and invited her to join me for lunch and then arranged with our restaurant to reserve a lovely table for the two of us. Had it not been for him, I would have had to completely cancel the luncheon I had set up with my friend.

The tour consisted of a visit to the San Isidro Market where we met vendors that the guide frequents. At the fish stand, we tasted fresh raw scallops, "just cooked" with a few squirts of lime juice. After that we went to a spectacular fruit merchant and tasted 6 or 7 exotic fruits perfectly ripe and delicious. From there we went to a beautiful restaurant on the pier, and met the bar tender and the chef. We learned to make Pisco Sour and Ceviche. This was totally fun and easy! We then had a typical three-course Peruvian lunch with Pisco Sours to start and then wine. I was back in my hotel at 3 and would do this tour again.

Doing what: Lima Market Tour, Cooking Class and Pisco Sour Lesson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This is the tour everybody should take in Cuzco. The guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and spoke English very well. The main focus was the San Pedro market, where the natives shop for food, household items etc. The best way to learn about the culture and way of life of the local people. Then we explored the most important and impressive Inca structures in Sachsayhuaman and Quenco. A very nice touch was that the guide with our input bought the ingredients for a delicious lunch which we enjoyed on a hilltop overlooking Cusco. The whole experience was very enjoyable, educational and pleasant.

Doing what: Cusco Markets and Ruins Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

First, let me say that Lima's traffic is the worst I have seen in world. There is no Metro, the country is very poor and Lima's traffic is solid stop and go 24x7. Many times, it is 'stop' and crawl. Allow PLENTY of time to get from the cruise terminal to a pickup point. That said...

This tour was amazing! We had a party of 4 and our guide, Gabby. This was her first tour. She was terrific. Her English was fine and her knowledge, without notes or a tablet was unbelievable. She walked us through this closed museum from early Peruvian cultures through the Inca's and Spanish conquest. The tour was educational, quite, very impressive. It was at least an hour, seemed like a long time but a 'good' long time if you know what I mean. Then, dinner.

The restaurant was great. We asked and were seated outside. Food was fine and we ordered items we never had before (did not have to as there were other items available). Excellent.

About 11 PM we had to return to the ship through very heavy traffic (yes, even that late).

In all, this is well worth it.

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message