• USD ($)
  • English
Peru’s capital city was founded by Pizarro in 1535, and the modern-day city of Lima is a sprawling metropolis encompassing ruins from pre-Inca times, ultramodern shopping malls and coastal beaches. Here are a few ideas on where and how to spend your ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 81 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tou, was superb and fun. The guide was attentive and intelligent. The group was mutli-llingual and the guide met everyone's needs. I was with a young group of 13 Colombians and they were convivial and lots of fun to be with. Once again, the tour operator misled me when I called the office. I was told that the tour would be over after 1 1/2 hours, so I went ahead and made plans for lunch. When the guide arrived, he told me that there would be a lunch and that I would be back at my hotel at 3. I was very annoyed with the tour operator once again, but he saved the day. He called my friend and invited her to join me for lunch and then arranged with our restaurant to reserve a lovely table for the two of us. Had it not been for him, I would have had to completely cancel the luncheon I had set up with my friend.

The tour consisted of a visit to the San Isidro Market where we met vendors that the guide frequents. At the fish stand, we tasted fresh raw scallops, "just cooked" with a few squirts of lime juice. After that we went to a spectacular fruit merchant and tasted 6 or 7 exotic fruits perfectly ripe and delicious. From there we went to a beautiful restaurant on the pier, and met the bar tender and the chef. We learned to make Pisco Sour and Ceviche. This was totally fun and easy! We then had a typical three-course Peruvian lunch with Pisco Sours to start and then wine. I was back in my hotel at 3 and would do this tour again.

Doing what: Lima Market Tour, Cooking Class and Pisco Sour Lesson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This is the tour everybody should take in Cuzco. The guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and spoke English very well. The main focus was the San Pedro market, where the natives shop for food, household items etc. The best way to learn about the culture and way of life of the local people. Then we explored the most important and impressive Inca structures in Sachsayhuaman and Quenco. A very nice touch was that the guide with our input bought the ingredients for a delicious lunch which we enjoyed on a hilltop overlooking Cusco. The whole experience was very enjoyable, educational and pleasant.

Doing what: Cusco Markets and Ruins Small Group Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

The trip was designed to never happen. The cruise ship docks miles away from Lima at 7 am and departs at 4:30. From the ship we telephoned the guide to confirm and was told that it takes 2 hours to get to Lima in the morning because of the traffic and she could only meet us at 9am or 2pm. Do the math. You can never get off a ship as soon as it docks and what will you see if you meet her at 2 and have to be back by 4. Unless you are staying in Lima...........save your money.

Doing what: Small Group Lima Discovery Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

My driver was far too late, didn't know where he was going and I arrived 40 minutes late. Everyone else had eaten and I ate alone, the food was excellent. The tour of the museum was fabulous. My guide was very comfortable with his knowledge of the history and I thoroughly enjoyed my personalized tour.

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Wow! Larco is very impressive. Timely pick up and drop off. Good meal. Ended up as last couple at museum after dinner. This felt a little bit awkward at times but the artifacts are so impressive!

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

A very nice mostly walking tour that gives you a chance to see another nice part of Lima that you might have missed

Doing what: Private Tour: Barranco Sightseeing Tour including Osma Museum, Dedalo Store and the Bridge of Sighs

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

This is the way to see the old part of Lima. Our knowledgeable guide navigated us through all the interesting part in this area of the city. Also it is nice to walk the town rather than sit on a bus, if you know what I mean! The catacombs are the highlight of the tour as well as the bar that claims to be the home of the Pisco Sour in Peru

Doing what: Small Group Lima Discovery Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

I enjoyed this tour. It was organized by a different tour operator than the one for Machu Picchu. I was alone once again. We went to a food market which was very colorful and where the guide purchased some food for us. After that, we went to Saqsaywohman which required quite a bit of hiking and climbing. As I had difficulty with the altitude, we had to take it slow, and I would only view part of the site. We also hiked up to the White Christ where we had a nice view, enjoyed our food and chatted. This tour lasted about 2-3 hours and I was glad I did it. It gave me a different picture of Cusco.

Doing what: Cusco Markets and Ruins Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Teresa was a fantastic guide. Enjoyed seeing all of the local markets and hearing about the history of the city.

Doing what: Small Group Lima Discovery Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My guide was exceptional - highly knowledgeable, really enthusiastic about his field and his enthusiasm and excitement was infectious. The collection is absolutely superb and brilliantly lit. Dinner was great. I enjoyed my visit to the Larco so much that I went back a second time the next day! I told so many people I met in Peru about how excellent this tour was/is...... I'd regard it as a real highlight of my trip. Thank you!!

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent experience. Paula was well informed and enthusiastic throughout the tour. Highly recommended to anyone considering a walk tour of the traditional parts of Lima.

Doing what: Small Group Lima Discovery Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our guide Paula was absolutely fantastic, knowledgeable and very helpful. Highly recommended. Pisco Sours are excellent.

Doing what: Small Group Lima Discovery Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great Guide and just the 4 of us. Dinner was excellent

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

really enjoyed this trip, Teresa was a mountain of knowledge and did not rush us, just loved it :)

Doing what: Small Group Lima Discovery Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a wonderful tour! The hours walking went so quickly as we learned so much. We are two seniors who walk somewhat frequently. Our guide was just delightful and so knowledgeable. So glad we did this tour with Teresa. Don't hesitate to book this tour! Enjoyed the churches the markets and warm feeling from our guide. Loved the Pisco sours! Hi to Teresa from the two seniors from Chicago

Doing what: Small Group Lima Discovery Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message