From the colonial grandeur of the Plaza de Armas to its pre-Columbian huacas, a walking tour of Lima serves up a melting pot of Peruvian culture and history, but the city’s proud heritage is also on display at its many museums. Today, the one-time ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 57 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Erin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Nataly and Julio were great!

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Christine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Larco is not to be missed! Beautiful grounds with an amazing collection of pre-Incan and Incan artifacts. These were an amazing people with a very advanced civilization. It was a great introduction to the Incan culture. If you are headed to Machu Picchu through Lima, do yourself a favor and see this museum. It will totally enhance your experience in Peru. The February night we went to the the Magic Water Circuit the place was packed. I would not attempt this without a guide. He knew right where to take us for the best views, plus he knew how to navigate the crowds. My apologies, but I can't seem to find his name right now, but he was super!

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Douglas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an excellent tour for me and my family! Our tour guide, Gabby, was outstanding. She is an expert on Peruvian history and ancient cultures. Her tour at the Larco Museum was exceptional. Her enthusiasm and excitement made for a wonderful tour, and the exhibits were very interesting to see. Our children ages 13 and 10 had a great time at the museum too. The exhibits told a great story of the history and culture of Peru. The stonework, pottery, jewelry, artwork, artifacts, and mummies were all wonderful to see. Gabby's commentary and answers to our questions were enlightening and allowed us to thoroughly enjoy the museum. For me, the museum became an unexpected highlight of our trip to Peru. After the museum, the Pisco sour and appetizers were a nice treat before enjoying the magic water circuit at the Parque de la Reserva. This water show was beautiful. Our entire family was amazed by the show. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

MARIANNE B D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

DON'T MISS this tour!!! If you think you've seen fountains at Bellagio - you ain't seen nothin' yet! The water show has laser lighting and pictures and music. Definitely don't go on your own - when you take this tour you get to jump the line which can be three hours long. And the Larco was absolutely the best museum we visited in Lima. Displays were fascinating as is the historic house that houses the museum. Tour company guide and bus were what we've come to expect from Viator - perfect!!

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Mark W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A wonderful way to learn about the history and anthropology of Peru. Natalie was a fantastic guide - informative, knowledgeable, and fun. Everything went smoothly from the pick-up at our hotel, guide through the museum and very nice dinner.

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

Alfredo T USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Must do, so beautiful and our guide was excellent.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Larco Museum is breathtaking, not just the 45,000 genuine artefacts dating back hundreds and even thousands of years, but also the courtyard which is an outstanding flower garden. We are told the restaurant was also great, but we went for sandwiches and pisco drinks in a 150 year old bar: that was really fun. Then it all finished with the many dazzling fountains of the city park, topped off with an elaborate display of colored lights on the water. Our guide was exceptionall nice, and also well-informed.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Teresa E P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

One of my favorite activities in Lima!!! Really enjoyed the evening. Small, private tour, and the museum is just wonderful. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

Artur Ribeiro Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excelente passeio! O museu Larco é muito bom, a paradinha para os snacks e Pisco Sour no Hotel Bahia é ótimo para recarregar as baterias e o Parque das Águas é um verdadeiro encanto. Nossa guia foi muito agradável e competente.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

chrisj155

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an excellent tour. Our guide had great English and was really enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The Water Circuit tour was a fantastic venue.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Maytempfix

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was absolutely magical! Highly recommend it. The grounds of bougainvillea flowers, courtyard and private collection of artifacts by an archeologist are amazing. We could have spent hours looking at everything. Some of the jewelry would be considered contemporary in style even though it's 3000 years old. Our guide Daniel was enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The pottery collection was extensive. The gifts shop had high quality items too. To top it all off -- the dinner in the restaurant was over the top. It's an elegant restaurant with comfortable surrounding next to the gardens and large villa courtyard. Jaqui was our waitress and she was wonderful, funny, delightful and super efficient. The food was outstanding and was our best meal in Lima. Worth the trip since it's in town but very secluded and private inside the villa compound. AAA

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

monicaduenas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Everything was amazing, the pick up at our hotel was timely, the knowledgeable and lovely guide was great, and dinner was perfect. The Larco Museum at night is such a wonderful sight, I consider it a must when in Lima.

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

raptorjd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Suzanne was a great tour guide! She not only did a great job making sure we were having a good time, but she also took advantage of the commute to explain interesting facts about districts, cultural facts, and ancient history.

The Larco Museum, although small when compared with others, it has a very interesting and nicely arranged exhibition. I really liked the way our guide organized our visit, and all her knowledge. Incredible how those civilizations didn't left writen testimonies, but their pottery is so rich tht we are able to know how they lived, what they ate and their sexual practices.

The visit to the Querono bar, is a nice way to relax a bit and take energy, while having a nice Pisco Sour :.

Last but not least, the water circuit. The great thing about the tour is to be able to cut the lin-ups and go directly to the front to the special access. Suzanne suggested going to the second row, to be able to have a better view of the show, it was amazing. I wasn't expecting such a beatiful display of technology and art sound and images. The rest of the fountains are also very nice, and it's the best way to finish your day.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

PTY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent!! From the great driver who picked me up from the hotel to the guides it was a very nice tour. The dinner was fantastic. This tour is after hours so you really have the great collection of 45,000 pieces to view by yourself and your guide.

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

Andrew G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very well organized and interesting tour. Time well spent, guide was knowledgeable and pleasant.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

stephen g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was excellant. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.
I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Charlotte K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The museum was lovely at night and our guide made the exhibits come alive. It made our overnight cruise ship stop memorable.

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

Sundaram R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We really enjoyed this tour - our first upon arrival in Lima. Ou guide Miguel Angel was personable, informative and very helpful - we had a private guided tour as we were the only guests signed up that day. Started off with pick up from our hotel in Miraflores (the Marriott) we headed along the coastal road until we arrived at Larco Museum. Beautiful setting, with a garden that looks like it is a postcard. The Museum and especially the permanent collection are simply priceless and take you back in time almost 5,000 years. From there we headed to the El Bolivar hotel - a historic hotel by St. Martin square where we enjoyed our first taste of Pisco Sour and some local snacks before the final adventure at the Water Park. That is really spectacular - the sound and light show chreographed with classical music and traditional peruvian folk dances from the various regions - and all displayed on marvelous water fountains that make it truly magical. Can't recommend this enough! And really appreciated the attention from our guide Miguel Angel with Viajes Pacifico. Professional, courteous and followed up a week later with some additional information on the artifacts we saw at the museum and photos. Muchas Gracias Miguel!

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Jose Eduardo M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic Tour! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Patricia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Larco Museum is a beautiful and most interesting museum that has an amazing amount of artifacts that display the regional and historical aspects of early Peruvian culture. My guide, Gabriella, was extremely knowledgeable about everything and really helped explain everything. I always have a difficult time at museums trying to read the information next to each item but having a guide made it so much better! We later went to one of the oldest taverns in Puebla Libre area of Lima for a pisco sour and sandwich before heading to the magic water circuit. The fountains were beautiful and it was nice to walk around the grounds and see them all.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Laurie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Felt like we had the museum to ourselves. Really enjoyed our guide and the information that she provided not only on the artifacts but how they relate in historical context.

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

Lynn Marie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The guide was very knowledgable. Very small tour which was fine with us. Comfortable transportation.

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message