• USD ($)
  • English
Peruvian cuisine is typically South American, but with some surprises! Alongside indigenous and Spanish fare, you’ll find influences from China, Italy, Africa and Japan. Based on the staples of corn, potatoes and beans, Peruvian food is generally ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour and lots of fun! The tour of the market was a little too long but the rest was great. the demonstration for making food and pisco sours was good and great to include people from the group! The restaurant food was delicious and lots of it - so we did not leave hungry!! Beautiful setting for lunch as well.

Doing what: Lima Market Tour, Cooking Class and Pisco Sour Lesson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tou, was superb and fun. The guide was attentive and intelligent. The group was mutli-llingual and the guide met everyone's needs. I was with a young group of 13 Colombians and they were convivial and lots of fun to be with. Once again, the tour operator misled me when I called the office. I was told that the tour would be over after 1 1/2 hours, so I went ahead and made plans for lunch. When the guide arrived, he told me that there would be a lunch and that I would be back at my hotel at 3. I was very annoyed with the tour operator once again, but he saved the day. He called my friend and invited her to join me for lunch and then arranged with our restaurant to reserve a lovely table for the two of us. Had it not been for him, I would have had to completely cancel the luncheon I had set up with my friend.

The tour consisted of a visit to the San Isidro Market where we met vendors that the guide frequents. At the fish stand, we tasted fresh raw scallops, "just cooked" with a few squirts of lime juice. After that we went to a spectacular fruit merchant and tasted 6 or 7 exotic fruits perfectly ripe and delicious. From there we went to a beautiful restaurant on the pier, and met the bar tender and the chef. We learned to make Pisco Sour and Ceviche. This was totally fun and easy! We then had a typical three-course Peruvian lunch with Pisco Sours to start and then wine. I was back in my hotel at 3 and would do this tour again.

Doing what: Lima Market Tour, Cooking Class and Pisco Sour Lesson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour and tour guide, I would have liked the opportunity to make both the cerviche and the pisco sour. Lunch was wonderful.

Doing what: Lima Market Tour, Cooking Class and Pisco Sour Lesson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Had a fabulous time...our guide was informative and the people who were on the tour made it extra fun. All the people we met at the market and resturant were very friendly and made the trip even better.

Doing what: Lima Market Tour, Cooking Class and Pisco Sour Lesson

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I f you are interested in all the interesting fruit, vegetables and other cooking ingredients, the market tour was great. The guide was a fluent English speaker, with great knowledge of the market and Peru generally. The ingredients for the Pisco Sours were purchased here and the lesson (which included making and drinking) has ensured that we can make one at home.
Good experience

Doing what: Lima Market Tour, Cooking Class and Pisco Sour Lesson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We had a wonderful time on our tour. Our guide was a lovely young lady named Paula. She was knowledgeable not only about the tour, but with all the questions we had about life in Peru. She took us to the market and spent a lot of time going around showing us things in addition to what we had needed for our tour. She showed us many of the city's hightlights when we were en route to the market and later to the hotel. Making the pisco sours/taking pictures/and hearing abt her life in Peru was truly fun.
I had asked her for a recommendation for dinner and she not only gave us a great restaurant, she walked over with us and told us things about the menu, which helped us to choose the greatest meal for our first night in Peru.
I love Viator. We have used them in several different countries, and have never been disappointed. The guides are excellent and well informed and execute the tours with excellence. I can't wait for my next adventure.

Doing what: Lima Market Tour, Cooking Class and Pisco Sour Lesson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This tour was GREAT and what made it so nice was out tour guide Enrique. He was really knowledgable and friendly. Definitively will do a trip again with him! A do not miss trip for sure!

Doing what: Lima Market Tour, Cooking Class and Pisco Sour Lesson

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

We were the only two for this tour. We did not buy anything at the market for the pisco sour - limes. But the market was interesting. Did have fun making the drink.

Doing what: Lima Market Tour, Cooking Class and Pisco Sour Lesson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The Lima Market Tour and Pisco Sour Lesson was awesome! Our guide, Kike, was excellent! He was knowledgeable, funny, and nice. We made some very tasty Pisco Sours. I would highly recommend taking this tour.

Doing what: Lima Market Tour, Cooking Class and Pisco Sour Lesson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I would highly recommend this tour to any budding aspiring bar tender. We had a great time. Our guide took us to the local market and we bought the ingredients necessary plus lunch fixens. We went went back to the bar, laid out our lunch and proceed to be instructed on how to mix up a Pisco Sour. After a couple of these we had lunch and then we got to make our own. It was great. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Lima Market Tour, Cooking Class and Pisco Sour Lesson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Only the two of us but the guide did a good job. Markets were closing so we did not get to see all the food stands. Suggest another day not a Sunday to do this tour.

Doing what: Lima Market Tour, Cooking Class and Pisco Sour Lesson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

I was the only one on this tour and it was great.

Doing what: Lima Market Tour, Cooking Class and Pisco Sour Lesson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Great experience. I was the only passenger and the guide Kike was amazing. He gave also great tips of other things to do after the tour like the unforgettable sunset in the Larcomar Shopping. I was amazed to see the enormous fruits in the local market and loved prepare and drink my own Pisco Sour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

I was the only person taking the tour, but the guide Kike was amazing and also gave some great tips to do after the tour, like the unforgettable sunset on the ocean from Larcomar Shopping. I loved the enormous fruits in the Surquillo Market and preparing and drinking my own Pisco Sour in a bar located in nice Hostel, with very friendly people.

Doing what: Lima Market Tour, Cooking Class and Pisco Sour Lesson

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message