Peruvian cuisine is typically South American, but with some surprises! Alongside indigenous and Spanish fare, you’ll find influences from China, Italy, Africa and Japan. Based on the staples of corn, potatoes and beans, Peruvian food is generally ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 53 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Eric L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had a great time. Enjoyed the food and drinks. Great walk around the beautiful city at night.

Doing what: Lima Bar Crawl Including Drinks and Food Tastings

sleign

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

this was a great way to do a half day tour to not only see different areas of lima, but also to taste different foods, coffees, and desserts in what national geographic ranked as the 1 foodie destination on the planet for 2016

Doing what: Cusco Night Walking Tour and Pisco Sour Lesson

Vicki S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an outstanding experience, the highlight of our time in Lima. Chef Hector is friendly, knowledgeable, and eager to share cooking tips, recipes, and the various foods his country offers. We enjoyed it all: visiting the market, the interactive food preparation, the box music, and sitting down with what were now friends and enjoying both conversation and a delicious meal.yt

Doing what: Outdoor Peruvian Cooking Class Including Pisco Sour Lesson

Jennifer K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I really enjoyed the tour. Our guide, Vanessa, is very knowledgable and knows the Lima area well. Also, since there were only two of us in the tour, we were able to customize the tour to our interest and at a very comfortable pace. We did a little bit of everything, visited downtown Lima, Chinatown, Bohemian area, and local markets, looking at the architecture, sampling and exploring local food as we go. Had a good lunch and learnt the secret of making ceviche from an award winning chef. Excellent tour, highly recommended.

Doing what: Culinary and Historical Tour of Lima

Phuon H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We met Leleana at the steps of one of the cathedrals in Cusco. The other tour participant was a woman named Samantha. Cusco is a hilly city so this involved a lot of walking up steep streets and many stairs. LeLe showed us how beautiful Cusco is at night and she told us many wonderful stories and historical facts. We ended the night in a bar learning how to make the famous cocktail, PIsco Sour. Each person got to make their own Pisco Sour. It was very fun! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Cusco Night Walking Tour and Pisco Sour Lesson

Terry M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The guide was good and informational. The pisco sour lesson was fun. I was expecting more of cooking class than just a ceviche lesson

Doing what: Lima Market Tour, Cooking Class and Pisco Sour Lesson

Carolyn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great evening - we were the only ones on the tour and had a wonderful time. Good selection of bars and street food and you get to see part of the city at night that you would probably not know about or explore by yourself.

Doing what: Lima Bar Crawl Including Drinks and Food Tastings

dmckewen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My guide, Liliana, provided a most interesting tour of parts of the historic center. She provided historical background as well as perspective on contemporary life. Liliana was personable, and well informed about a variety of topics.

I originally had little interest in the pisco sour lesson but wound up quite enjoying it.

Doing what: Cusco Night Walking Tour and Pisco Sour Lesson

Jacqueline D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great experience. Both our guide and host were so friendly and was a highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Lima Cooking Class with a Local Family

rod0530

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Best Pisco Sour you will have ever... Great experience for an evening in Cusco... Liliana made the trip as a tour guide. She had so much knowledge and took the time to answer questions.

Doing what: Cusco Night Walking Tour and Pisco Sour Lesson

Alexander F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great time with Paula! Started off a little slow and although once it got going we had a tremendous time! We tried many of the local foods and drinks. Thanks Paula

Doing what: Lima Bar Crawl Including Drinks and Food Tastings

Chefman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We absolutely enjoyed our experience at the Cusco Culinary Institute. Our Chef, Ingrid, picked us up at our hotel and we walked to the San Pedro Market where we got a great tour of this massive indoor market. We then walked to the Cusco Culinary Institute to partake in a fruit tasting of many Peruvian fruits. After making a variety of Pisco Sours, we cooked a three course Peruvian/Asian fusion meal under the tutelage of Ingred. We had our meal, that was quite delicious, then were delighted with our dessert of Frozen Cheese, a typical Arequipan dish. Thank you Ingrid for a delightful day.

Doing what: Lima Cooking Class with a Local Family

Gina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour operator. Good timing. Cala was an excellent venue for the cooking class. The ocean views were spectacular! The market was impeccable. Our tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Lima Market Tour, Cooking Class and Pisco Sour Lesson

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a blast on this tour! The guide walked us through a fair where we could sample some street food. We never would have tried if we were alone. We also were able to stop by a few bars to have a few drinks. Again, it was nice to have a guide show us a part of Lima we would not have otherwise!

Doing what: Lima Bar Crawl Including Drinks and Food Tastings

Max C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

This tour was a disappointment. As currently configured, it is NOT a food tour, it is a bar crawl. For the rather substantial monies we paid, we received a total of three drinks, one of which was a relatively cheap beer, and street food that would have cost us next to nothing if we had purchased it on our own. When we went to the German restaurant, others were eating what looked like a delicious plate of sausage selections we received nothing.. The dishes that are portrayed in your picture at left, shrimp and ceviche, were not available to us. If i wanted a drinking tour I would have bought one this is false advertising. Rodolfo was a very engaging guide perhaps if i were 40 years younger I would have appreciated what he was providing. I had, however, heard a lot about Peruvian cuisine it was a shame we were not offered any.

Doing what: Lima Bar Crawl Including Drinks and Food Tastings

David F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing. We got to see several sites and sample authentic Peruvian food.

Doing what: Lima Bar Crawl Including Drinks and Food Tastings

Bob F USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour! The visit to the market was great, especially seeing and learning about local ingredients and foods. Then meeting a local family and doing the class in their home was just outstanding! Our guide Paula shared so much about Peruvian culture, food and Pisco. And introduced us to a wonderful family. Strongly recommend this tour to experience the real Lima!

Doing what: Lima Cooking Class with a Local Family

John C Schatte S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A most enjoyable experience! Paula's Urban Adventures cooking class was one of our Lima highlights! She is a most gracious host and her Mother is a Cooking Angel! We not only came home with some very good recipes, we brought back beautiful memories, and a new found joy for Peruvian people and food! Paula shared her knowledge of local fruits/foods at a mercado and how they were used that was awesome! She was fun and her Mother was very patient and ensured we not only understood the processes, but the meanings of certain techniques as well. A MUST DO in Lima! Thanks Paula, Mom, and Jorge' - awesome!

Doing what: Lima Cooking Class with a Local Family

Sarah G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

This was not a food tour at all. Here is why. When one goes I a food tour, you expect to eat food right? Lots of it. Especially in a city so famous for it. We had two items of food to eat in total - street food only, cows heart and donuts. The actual tour was a booze cruise only stopping at bars

Doing what: Lima Bar Crawl Including Drinks and Food Tastings

Yvonne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wow - loved every minute with Paola

Doing what: Lima Bar Crawl Including Drinks and Food Tastings

Drewstontexas United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an awesome tour. Paula was an epic tour guide, and Fiorella was fantastic as well. They were both VERY knowledgeable about everything we asked, and they were so much fun to hang out with as well. If you have a free night and want to enjoy a laid back experience, this is it. The food was great, and the bars were fun. Would definitely recommend to anyone!!!

Doing what: Lima Bar Crawl Including Drinks and Food Tastings

PTY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very Nice!!! My guide Paula and Rodolfo were fantastic. This fell on Good Friday and what should have been a simple walk around ended up being with thousands of people....Paula took control and made it all just right. They both seemed to really enjoy themselves and it was like being out with old friends. Very nice tour.

Doing what: Lima Bar Crawl Including Drinks and Food Tastings

Sharon O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Lima food walking tour was great. We got to see a side of Lima we would not normally dare to see. Quirky bars, with history, lots of drinks, and an informative and very friendly guide, made this a highlight of our trip.
Great value

Doing what: Lima Bar Crawl Including Drinks and Food Tastings

Ed D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

THIS IS A PRE DEFINED TOUR WITH NO CHOICE OF DISHES. THEY SHOULD ALLOW THE PURCHASER TO CHOOSE THE DISH THEY WILL ENJOY.

Doing what: Lima Bar Crawl Including Drinks and Food Tastings

Alison D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was very informative and fun. A good tour leader and a great way to get a taste of the city.

Doing what: Lima Bar Crawl Including Drinks and Food Tastings

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message