Peruvian cuisine is typically South American, but with some surprises! Alongside indigenous and Spanish fare, you’ll find influences from China, Italy, Africa and Japan. Based on the staples of corn, potatoes and beans, Peruvian food is generally ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 37 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing. We got to see several sites and sample authentic Peruvian food.

Doing what: Lima Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour! The visit to the market was great, especially seeing and learning about local ingredients and foods. Then meeting a local family and doing the class in their home was just outstanding! Our guide Paula shared so much about Peruvian culture, food and Pisco. And introduced us to a wonderful family. Strongly recommend this tour to experience the real Lima!

Doing what: Lima Cooking Class with a Local Family

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

This was not a food tour at all. Here is why. When one goes I a food tour, you expect to eat food right? Lots of it. Especially in a city so famous for it. We had two items of food to eat in total - street food only, cows heart and donuts. The actual tour was a booze cruise only stopping at bars

Doing what: Lima Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wow - loved every minute with Paola

Doing what: Lima Food Walking Tour

Drewstontexas
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an awesome tour. Paula was an epic tour guide, and Fiorella was fantastic as well. They were both VERY knowledgeable about everything we asked, and they were so much fun to hang out with as well. If you have a free night and want to enjoy a laid back experience, this is it. The food was great, and the bars were fun. Would definitely recommend to anyone!!!

Doing what: Lima Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very Nice!!! My guide Paula and Rodolfo were fantastic. This fell on Good Friday and what should have been a simple walk around ended up being with thousands of people....Paula took control and made it all just right. They both seemed to really enjoy themselves and it was like being out with old friends. Very nice tour.

Doing what: Lima Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Lima food walking tour was great. We got to see a side of Lima we would not normally dare to see. Quirky bars, with history, lots of drinks, and an informative and very friendly guide, made this a highlight of our trip.
Great value

Doing what: Lima Food Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

THIS IS A PRE DEFINED TOUR WITH NO CHOICE OF DISHES. THEY SHOULD ALLOW THE PURCHASER TO CHOOSE THE DISH THEY WILL ENJOY.

Doing what: Lima Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was very informative and fun. A good tour leader and a great way to get a taste of the city.

Doing what: Lima Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Super tour and great food.

Doing what: Lima Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We lucked out and ended up getting a one on one tour with the guide for this tour. The market tour was very interesting and the pisco sour lesson was great! Would definitely recommend for a less formal, fun tour of the city.

Doing what: Cusco Night Walking Tour and Pisco Sour Lesson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing and guide was very knowledgeable

Doing what: Lima Food Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

I liked the tour and our tour guide was great. We visited awesome restaurants and ate great food. We stopped at four places and walked off a lot of what we ate (which was good for me!) I would have liked if the tour was a little bit earlier in the day (maybe 5?) Because we didn't get to our first food place until around 8 and I was starving! Otherwise, good tour!

Doing what: Lima Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The guide was attentive to questions, suggested many photograph opportunities, and incorporated many sites into the tour. The tour was leisurely, and not conducted in a hurried way. Upon conclusion of the tour, I felt as though I had been introduced to the Cusco community.

Doing what: Cusco Night Walking Tour and Pisco Sour Lesson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What fun! Plenty of good food (actually too much at the first restaurant) and a chance to learn more about the city. Loved it!

Doing what: Lima Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide, Lilliana, was great and knew all the history of the town. The local market was an awesome addition to the tour and the climb up the hill to see the view after the sun set was phenomenal. The Pisco Sour bar was way better than I had expected and we had a blast learning how to make the local drinks.

Doing what: Cusco Night Walking Tour and Pisco Sour Lesson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Pisco sour lesson was the best part

Doing what: Cusco Night Walking Tour and Pisco Sour Lesson

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

From the description of the tour I did not realise that it included an approx 2 hour walking tour of Cuzco before heading to the Pisco museum. The walking tour was informative but quite late in the day if you wanted to take photos it was getting dark. Making pisco sours however was great fun!

Doing what: Cusco Night Walking Tour and Pisco Sour Lesson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide Lilliana took us to the food market near plaza san francisco. I think it was called santa Clara. We got to see the different animals parts, meet and vegetables. Our guide even bought us a prickly pear to try. I bought coca tea there and peruvian chocolate with quinoa.
We then went to the san blas area which is the artsy part. We didn't see many artisans due to the rain, but it was really great to see.
We finished up the tour at a bar called museo de pisco. The bartender amodeo demonstrated how to make a pisco sour then we got to make our own! We got behind the bar! It was really neat! After the tour i bought a bottle of pisco to take home with me!

Doing what: Cusco Night Walking Tour and Pisco Sour Lesson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great variety of local foods and drinks. Very knowledgeable guide. Interesting restaurants and historical tour of Barranco. We were 2 women who felt very safe on this tour.

Doing what: Lima Food Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We did this tour our last day in Cusco and it was the perfect way to end it. Our tour guide Lilianna was very knowledgeable and thorough. The trip to the San Pedro market was interesting and really helped to get a glimpse of everyday life in Cusco. The walk around the bohemian district of San Blas was quaint and provided excellent views of the city. My favorite part of the tour was the Pisco Sour tasting and lesson on how to make one. We even got to get behind the bar to create our own Pisco Sour.

Doing what: Cusco Night Walking Tour and Pisco Sour Lesson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour of the marketplace and neighborhoods in Cusco; wonderful lesson on making and appreciating a Pisco Sour. I had a wonderful time!

Doing what: Cusco Night Walking Tour and Pisco Sour Lesson

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour and lots of fun! The tour of the market was a little too long but the rest was great. the demonstration for making food and pisco sours was good and great to include people from the group! The restaurant food was delicious and lots of it - so we did not leave hungry!! Beautiful setting for lunch as well.

Doing what: Lima Market Tour, Cooking Class and Pisco Sour Lesson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tou, was superb and fun. The guide was attentive and intelligent. The group was mutli-llingual and the guide met everyone's needs. I was with a young group of 13 Colombians and they were convivial and lots of fun to be with. Once again, the tour operator misled me when I called the office. I was told that the tour would be over after 1 1/2 hours, so I went ahead and made plans for lunch. When the guide arrived, he told me that there would be a lunch and that I would be back at my hotel at 3. I was very annoyed with the tour operator once again, but he saved the day. He called my friend and invited her to join me for lunch and then arranged with our restaurant to reserve a lovely table for the two of us. Had it not been for him, I would have had to completely cancel the luncheon I had set up with my friend.

The tour consisted of a visit to the San Isidro Market where we met vendors that the guide frequents. At the fish stand, we tasted fresh raw scallops, "just cooked" with a few squirts of lime juice. After that we went to a spectacular fruit merchant and tasted 6 or 7 exotic fruits perfectly ripe and delicious. From there we went to a beautiful restaurant on the pier, and met the bar tender and the chef. We learned to make Pisco Sour and Ceviche. This was totally fun and easy! We then had a typical three-course Peruvian lunch with Pisco Sours to start and then wine. I was back in my hotel at 3 and would do this tour again.

Doing what: Lima Market Tour, Cooking Class and Pisco Sour Lesson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Lillianna, our guide was wonderful... very informative and a great way to see the city and get tips on where and where not to go. On our own, we would never have gone through the market and learned about the local foods and culture. The Pisco sour lesson was a blast and great way to end the tour. Would definitely recommend as a way to learn about the city and end with a drink!!!

Doing what: Cusco Night Walking Tour and Pisco Sour Lesson

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message