The mighty Inca Empire once stretched from northern Ecuador to central Chile and northern Argentina, encompassing at least 12 million people and lasting 300 years. Beginning in around 1200 AD as a tribe from Cusco, this well-organized, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 347 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My trip to Machu Picchu would not have been so amazing had it not been for the tour. It was very organized and the people were very friendly and helpful. Our tour guide, Hector, was so phenomenal and definitely made our tour special. We got to see the entire site and learn the history! Thank you!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The most amazing and well organized tour. Everything was very well planned and I had a great tour guide who made it such a great experience! I would definitely recommend Viator to anyone from here on!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Machu Picchu it's and unmissable place to visit

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was one of my favorites - it's an all day tour with a variety of places and people to visit. Just when you think you're done with the tour, you are still on your way to another area :) Pumo, our guide, was very courteous and informative. He made the trip worthwhile.

Keep in mind that at some of the locations, there are steps to climb, so if you have a hard time due to a heart condition or from the effects of altitude sickness, you may want to reconsider. If you do not want to climb, there are places where you can stay and still enjoy the view. At Ollantaytambo, you can also walk around the local shops for souvenirs or sit and have a light snack (at your own expense) at a local café.

Lunch is included but since the tour company partners with several other companies, you may need to stop at other restaurants to drop off some of your fellow passengers. Overall, you are given enough time to eat lunch... you can also buy souvenirs at various times throughout the tour.

Besides the Machu Picchu tour, this is one I'd highly recommend if you are in the Cusco area. You can also get the tourist ticket (which is good for almost 20+ museums/attractions and costs about $60), but you will need to figure out the transportation options if you go this route (as well as have an English guide if possible).

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Tour was fantastic the only downfall was the guide was grumpy.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The pick up was on time, but the staff were not very attentive. The man guiding us through Machu Picchu was in a bad mood and kept yelling at us like we were children. We had a decent sized group, which seemed to fluster him as he had to keep track of us all. If we wandered away at all he yelled at us to come back! Really strange. Machu Picchu itself is a must-see of course.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The pick up was on time, but the staff were not very attentive. The man guiding us through Machu Picchu was in a bad mood and kept yelling at us like we were children. We had a decent sized group, which seemed to fluster him as he had to keep track of us all. If we wandered away at all he yelled at us to come back! Really strange. Machu Picchu itself is a must-see of course.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

My flight was not until the early evening, so this is a good half-day tour if you want to stay near the Cusco area. I'd recommend not going during the rainy season since there are rocks/steps to climb, which can be slippery and challenging. It's about a 3 hour tour, but since I was the only person that day, maybe it was faster. The guide was very informative and willing to take her time to show and explain the areas to me.

Towards the end of the tour, you will stop at a textile shop where they will show you the different types of alpaca vs. wool/synthetics. The prices are decent but there are so many other shops around, so depending on the quality of textiles you want to purchase, don't feel this is your only option. The high quality textiles are found at the Kuna stores, but you will also pay a much higher price for the better quality.

Overall, try to go during the non-rainy season. Your pictures and experience will probably be better.

Doing what: Archeological Park of Sacsayhuaman Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This tour is recommended if you want a guided option to Machu Picchu. If you have a chance, visit the Machu Picchu museum beforehand in Cusco (also known as Casa Concha-also included in one of the tourist tickets if bought), where you can see some exhibits, videos and photos from the original expedition made by Hiram Bingham in 1911-1912. Keep in mind that you will have only 2-3 hours at Machu Picchu, and the rest of your 14-15 hour day is the train and bus ride to/from the destinations. Depending on the season, the bus lines can also be long (as heard through someone else's experience), so if you want to stay longer, you can also buy the train ticket on your own via Peru Rail but will need to coordinate this as well as the bus ticket to/from Aguas Calientes to Machu Picchu and overnight accommodations (at your own cost). Also, if you miss your train, they will not automatically give you credit for another departure - you will supposedly need to pay the full amount of the ticket again, assuming there is even availability.

Try to keep up with your tour guide since you can easily get distracted taking photos - I easily got separated from my group so if you're not the type to stay with the crowd, I would reconsider this tour and do it on your own and just make sure you keep track of your bus/train schedules.

I took the Vistadome option and when I talked with others who had taken the Executive option, did not hear much difference - but I'm not sure on the details (on the Vistadome option, we were provided light snacks on the way to and from Machu Picchu). I know on the return trip back, you will have a fashion show in which the rail staff will try to sell some alpaca clothing. I had read someone else's review on this so I was prepared, but for those who want a quiet trip back, this will not be the case.

Overall, it was a good tour and wish that more time was spent at Machu Picchu, but for a first-timer doing Machu Picchu on her own, I'd recommend this option.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely highly recommended. Our hotel was fantastic and the amount of tours they offered made it so that we didn't have to play whatsoever. Viator seems to be organized with customer satisfaction in mind.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Viajes Pacifico's service was just impeccable; round trip on Vistadom train was amazing. Machu Picchu... I can't express my feelings about that place; it was very private and sacred experience in spite of tourists crowds. The only bad thing - you will have just 2.5 hours on top with this tour, which is extremely little time; you'll have to come back someday by yourself;)

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Everything was fine. I was a bit nervous about travelling in Peru alone but all tours with the local tour provider I took including Sacred Valley were safe and extremely interesting.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The ONLY problem with the entire tour was the agent who picked us up in the morning to take us to the train station. Not only was she extremely unfriendly and completely uninformative, but she actually put her backpack in the empty seat next to her, forcing my husband and I to sit in two individual seats which were not even together!! I didn't say anything because I naturally assumed the seat was saved for someone who had been sitting beside her, but when the bus started to move I realized that she was just rude! What a horrible way to treat your customers!!!!
The rest of the day was SPECTACULAR!!!! The train ride was comfortable, the food served on the train was good, the tour guide at Machu Picchu was EXCELLENT!!! He was so very nice, wonderfully knowledgeable and conducted the tour in a way that was both efficient, informative, and enjoyable. He took special care to keep track of the group at all times, to point out the best picture spots, while all the while helping those who had a more difficult time with the climb. The train ride back into town was very fun. One of the staff members was roaming the train car dressed up in a crazy ridiculous costume as he danced up and down the aisles, so by the time the staff had their fashion show the car was filled with much laughter and cheer- it was a fun time for all!!
Aside from the unpleasant start to the day, I would DEFINITELY recommend this tour to anyone going to Machu Picchu!!!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very informative tour. Caesar was a great guide.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message