Lisbon ATTRACTIONS See all

Belém Tower (Torre de Belém)

Portugal's caravels sailed off to conquer the great unknown from Belém, and today this leafy riverside precinct is a giant monument to the nation's Age of Discoveries. Belém Tower, or Torre de Belém, the much-photographed symbol of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

frew.crew
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Our tour got off to a bit of a rocky start as we had to drive to Cascais to pick up two members of the tour and we picked up the wrong people. We were taken on a bit of a tour of Cascais, which was unnecessary for us as we were heading there the next day. It was discovered that we had the wrong people and had to take them to where they needed to go and then go pick up the couple who should have been picked up an hour earlier. An hour and a half after we were originally picked up, our tour began. Our guide was apologetic. He was also knowledgeable and interested in giving us a balanced view of life in Portugal. He was a bit jaded in his views making a decent living has not been easy for him. I appreciated his candor. The tour itself was pretty thorough although we could not get into the monastery as there was a wedding going on and perhaps due to our delayed start. In any case, this mishap is not likely to happen and the Tower of Belem and the tile museum were highlights.

Doing what: Lisbon in One Day Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommend this tour. Our guide Andrea was wonderful, extremely knowledgeable on the country's history and a very pleasant person to spend the day with. In a single day you hit most of the main attractions, Belem Tower, Jeronimos Monastery, St. George castle, etc. Plus you eat at a wonderful non-touristy restaurant for lunch.

Doing what: Lisbon in One Day Small-Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Could have been better. Head phone connection for my husbands set did not work. Lots of traffic so slow progress. Sometimes not much or minimal information about where we were.
On plus side lots of stops. We visited Belem tower. Then took bus further on to visit Maritime museum. Well worth a stop.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Lisbon Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour was great. I loved Belem tower and Jerónimos Monastery and the guide gave me a lot of tips on Lisbon. High recommend

Doing what: Lisbon City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was fun! The go car is easy to drive and gave you the possibility to visit Lisbon independent. We drove till Belem Tower and the route was lovely. Highly recommend

Doing what: Lisbon GPS-Guided GoCar Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2014

Too little time (just 20 min) allowed to go to toilet and visit Belem Tower. The car did not stop at the sightseeing points, such as Monument to the Discoveries for taking photos.

Doing what: Lisbon City Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

The tour was so so. The tour guide took us to the Belem Tower, a church and stopped for a pastry, which was great. After that, we drove through the city sights and were dropped off right smack in the middle of an aggressive touristy restaurant district for two hours! It was awful. After that we cruised through the other city sights and never stopped, not even in Barrio Alto, which is supposed to be a must see area. All the while in an old van where the air conditioning was not working well, especially in the back. The worst part was being dropped off at a mall for 2.5 hours. I have malls in California. I did not go to Lisbon to go to a shopping mall. I would have preferred to see city sights on foot. This tour was not good.

Doing what: Lisbon in One Day Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This is worth the price of the tour. I bought the 24 hour tour. I started in the afternoon and had the whole day the next day. Note that there are two itinraries available:
the Red and the Blue line. I was able to take both of them and actually took two rounds of each. On the first round, i wrote down what places i wanted to spend more time on (Tower of Belem is highly suggested and the nearby Discoveries Monument). Then on the second round, i actually went down the bus. You won't go wrong with this hop on hop off.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Lisbon Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

First I have to gripe about other Viator reviewers: Please write more than just "it was excellent" as this tells me
nothing about the tour. Please please please write details, be more descriptive for heavens sake. ***This was a nice orientation of Lisbon. I think it toured around letting you see some of the major monuments, can't exactly remember since I did a tour everyday. Definitely took us to some coach museum, I loved that it took us to Belem to see both the tower and the exploration monument (my two favorite things but didn't have enough time for each) but was still a surprise as I did not know we were headed there. I paid 5 euro for the tower and sprinted up all the way to top and took some pictures really quick and then ran back down to make the bus. For the monument there is a huge globe in front but too many bozos blocking u from taking a clean shot. Also took you to some huge church where Vasco Da Gama is buried. Then took you to some old art of town that was awesome cuz u walk up this cobbled stone road and see tons of restaurants, some are Fado, and end up in a nice souvenir shop that sells tons of different things I wanted to buy it all, plus you get to taste some wine there and buy bottles if you like. The only reason I didn't buy the wine is because I knew I was being dropped off in the city not at my hotel. The tour guide spoke maybe 4-5 languages, too many different languages were accommodated, throw out the italians haha.

Doing what: Lisbon City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

We went on the Hop-On Hop Bus bus tour as soon as we arrived, and it was a great way to get the lay of the land. We took both the Red and Blue routes. If you can only do one, I recommend the Red Route, and get off at the Belem Tower for half an hour.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Lisbon Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2011

I was disappointed by his tour. The coach pick up person didn't come into the hotel lobby, so didn't pick us up on the booked day. We then went the next day, the last day on our short trip. The trip was 30 mins shorter then advertised. Upstairs on the bus it was near impossible to hear the guide. There was no loud speaker. There was sockets for earphones, but we weren't given any. The one on my seat was broken and several other seats had old sets still in them. We spent a lot of time in a coach museum and little time by Belem Tower, which seemed odd. More historical content would have been good. The tour guide was pleasant and skilled - in 3 languages. But doing a tour to three language groups - English, french and Portuguese - meant only a third of the time was spent giving detail. So it felt rushed and frankly, I felt we had all been crammed together to make money for the company. There was no time for questions. I thought the whole tour would be in English, allowing for interaction and discussion. We did visit the Alfama but we missed all the most interesting content and instead were taken to a souvenir shop, supposedly for a free glass of port. But it was clear that the shop was giving out free glasses of port to everyone - that was on an advert outside. I think it's really quite lame of a sightseeing tour to take people to souvenir shops. We're all capable of shopping on our own. I would not recommend this tour, I'm afraid.

Doing what: Lisbon City Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message