Located west of Lisbon on the Estoril coast, the once-sleepy fishing village of Cascais has become the summer playground of city dwellers, adored for its glorious string of sandy bays and the spanking new marina.  Although the beaches pose ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 121 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was one of the best tours I have ever taken. One day Sintra and Cascais with Louis and next day Lisbon walking tour with Pedro. This was really amazing, I highly recommend it; greatly organized and awesome and very, very informative, professional and friendly guides. I love Portugal and have been there before but these two tours have taught me so much about the country and made my trip so much more enjoyable, you will not be disappointed

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Lisbon Walking Tour with Food and Wine Tastings, and Sintra and Cascais Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great trip to the lovely towns of Sintra and Cascais. Our tour guide Nadia was very knowledgeable and helpful. Easy to book. Small group. Would highly recommend this tour to Lisbon visitors.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour guide, very knowledgeable and accomodating. And a superb tour of Sintra and Cascais, especially the tour of Penn Palace... unlike no other palace weve seen before. A fine day outing!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We enjoyed a lot the tour to Sintra, capo da Roca and Cascais. Nadia Jorge, our guide, was very personable and we learned a lot from her about all teh beautiful places we visited and in general about Portugal.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very pleased we booked this tour. Sintra is a must see on any trip to Lisbon, a very special place. Our guide was very knowledgeable and very helpful with any requests we had. Cascais was also great to see and experience. We were also very lucky as there were only 4 of us on this tour so it was virtually like a private tour which made it even more special. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Both places worth visiting, Cascais is a wonderful summer resort though a little quiet over winter but still lively enough; Sintra has magical palaces and countryside

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Of all our tours....this one is our very favorite! Jlal (John), our guide, made this day trip very pleasant and enjoyable and he was a wealth of knowledge about the area and the people. Really enjoyed the Pena National Palace....such beautiful diverse architecture all in one building. It was incredible standing on the cliffs at Cabo da Roca and feeling the commanding presence of the Atlantic Ocean...soooo beautiful. And although Cascais is a tourist town now....it was lovely with great crafts and street muscians. BUT the shining star of this tour is definitely Sintra! We loved everything about this fairy tale location. The shops, the food, the people.....the view. We will definitely return to enjoy this magical place again. Thanks John for a great time!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Sintra and Cascais were fantastic and the tour guide was great. Would highly recommend both the tour and tour guide. Be forewarned however, The road/path to Sintra is as steep as the streets in Lisbon. There is a bus to take you to the castle if you'd like but there is still a steep driveway you'd need to walk up after getting off the bus. My friend and I walked the path along with the guide. It's OK if you take it slow!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Luis was an excellent guide. We visited Sintra and the Pena Palace, Cascais and Estoril as described in the brochure, with Luis adding the local flavor. Very engaging and informative. My first experience with Viator definitely will not be my last.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Just what we wanted....a small group tour where we could ask questions, see the sites and avoid crowds. It was perfect. We would have liked more time in Cascais but the traffice on Sat. was so bad we were late getting there.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Caterine was a wonderful guide for our trip to Sintra and Cascais. She was a font of information, a fantastic driver, and attentive to our varied needs. Our group ranged in age from a baby to an 80-year old and we all enjoyed the day. The sites we visited were gorgeous and we highly recommend this trip and Caterine.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a fabulous day at Sintra and Cascais. Our guide Nina from the tour operator was very informative and helpful. As we were in a small mini bus we were able to visit places a coach could not get to. Well worth the money

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An excellent, well organsied tour. Our guide Maria picked us up from the designated location and the mini-bus was very comfortable with a small number of people. The road to Sintra was interesting in parts, particularly the view of the Aguas Livres Acqueduct on the left of the bus about 10 minutes in. Sintra is very charming and Pena Palace absolutely amazing. In some respects the exterior is the mind-blowing part, as the interior rooms are very small given it used to be a monastery prior to becoming a palace. Apparently the last occupant (can't remember her name) left in a hurry and as such much of the furniture and other items were left in situ. Highly recommended. The tour back via Cabo da Roca (westernmost point of the European continent) and Cascais was interesting, but really Sintra is the key feature. Cabo da Roca was INUNDATED with massive tour buses and tourists and frankly, whilst interesting to say you were there, really just looks like every other bit of coast with cliffs we've seen around the world. Cascais was nice, but again, Sintra was the highlight.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I was travelling with my sister on vacation and this was our second tour booked through Viator. It is a well laid out tour. The meeting point is fairly easy to get to within Lisbon. The guides from Inside Lisbon arrive fairly close to the set departure time and begin calling out the names of travelers going to the various day tours. They have an 8 passenger van for these day tours that is air-conditioned and fairly comfortable. Sintra is a beautiful little town and the Pena Palace is a sight to see. I really wish we did have a little more time in Sintra just to enjoy some of the views and see a few more places. You are given about 1.5 hours at lunch time to spend as you wish (grab a sit down meal, see more palaces, walk the city). That being said, I was still content with the time we were given. Martha was our guide who speaks wonderful English. My sister and I were both quite sore from a few other activities and were a little slow on the climb uphill but she did a great job accommodating our needs and keeping balance with providing history and enough time to see what was needed. Just a note to future travelers - August is a VERY busy month - so there are fairly big crowds and a large number of tours that come out to Sintra. Cascais is beautiful and we had about an hour there to enjoy in the afternoon. Overall, a great tour!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic way to spend a day in Lisbon. Sintra was a very beautiful town and we really enjoyed visiting the castle. We also had a beautiful day for visiting and taking photos at Rocket Cape and Cascais. Louis our Inside Lisbon tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. Would high recommend this trip to someone looking to tour these places while in Lisbon.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message