Located west of Lisbon on the Estoril coast, the once-sleepy fishing village of Cascais has become the summer playground of city dwellers, adored for its glorious string of sandy bays and the spanking new marina.  Although the beaches pose ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 170 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A really, really, enjoyable day out, though perhaps a little cramped in the min-bus with all 8 of us plus the guide. Pena Palace was the obvious highlight simply stunning, perched on the mountaintop, surreal in its design and with such vivid colours. The weather helped: Clear clue skies and visibility such that you could see clear to the coast. Sintra provided a restful interlude, with time for lunch and an opportunity to wander the streets and sample a few of the local delicacies. Cabo da Roca was, if Im honest, a bit of an anti-climax. If youve seen high cliffs before, then these were nothing special, but a pleasant visit nonetheless a chance to stretch ones legs, and to watch those more stupid stray too close to the cliff edge than prudence would dictate! Follow the advice here and stay to the right i.e. safe side of the fence. Cascais was pretty, if somewhat busy. We took the tour on a Sunday, so with the weather, it seemed as if the whole of Lisbon was on the surrounding beaches! Understandable though! But with afternoon temperatures approaching 37C we took the sensible option and retired to a local bar for a cold beer and a spot of people-watching from air-conditioned comfort.

As I say, a great day out, and good value for money. We might perhaps have done a couple of the visits on our own, not part of an organised tour both Cascais and Sintra are readily accessible by train but certainly not all on one day. And if wed tried, wed have spent more time travelling, queuing, and with our heads in guide books, rather than taking in the views, and listening to the informative, if at times a little over-imaginative, narrative lots of stories of myth and magic.

In conclusion, Id certainly recommend this tour to others, especially for those without their own transport, or with only limited time.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We hadden het geluk om met Nadia te kunnen genieten van de daguitstap naar Sintra, Cascais en Coba da Roca. Het was een schitterende dag, vooral dankzij de persoonlijke benadering door onze uitstekende gidse, Nadia. Deze wist ons antwoord te geven op onze vragen. De tips waar we het beste uitzicht hadden waar volkomen correct. De balans tussen historische uitleg en vakantiesfeer was optimaal! Zeker een aanrader!

Doing what: Best Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Lisbon Walking Tour with Food and Wine Tastings, and Sintra and Cascais Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide for Sintra and Cascais was really good, as were the tours.

Doing what: Best Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Lisbon Walking Tour with Food and Wine Tastings, and Sintra and Cascais Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was absolutely fabulous! Katrina was the best guide ever - so knowledgeable and passionate about her country and knew the best spots for photographs - an true gem! Sintra and Cascais exceeded my expectations in their outstanding beauty and it was hard to take a poor photograph!
I would highly recommend this tour and particularly this tour guide to anyone and everyone! Many many thanks!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I think this was one of my top 3 tours in Lisbon. Sintra is beautiful and could be on the cool side so please take a jacket or sweater. Nice castle and grounds. The little town is charming and has good places to eat and shop. Great tour guide too. Then you go to Cascais where you can see the beach. The whole trip is very informative and the scenery is great!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I had really wanted to visit both Sintra and Cascais on my recent family vacation to Lisbon with my husband and our two young sons. After a little research, I decided this would be the best way to see both places in one day. It was a great decision. We were a small group of 6 and we traveled in a comfortable, air-conditioned minivan. Our tour guide was a lovely young lady named Catarina. She was very warm and wonderful to my two boys. She was very knowledgeable about the sights and made the day feel as if we were spending it with a friend not a tour guide. We visited Pena Palace and had free time to visit other sights afterwards. We decided to relax and have Sintra specialties at the famous Café a Piriquita, namely queijadas and travesseiros. Then we had a brief stop at Cabo da Roca, which is the westernmost point of continental Europe. The tour ended with a longer stop at Cascais to enjoy the beach, followed by a drive along the Estoril coast. We really enjoyed our whole day and would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting Portugal.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Io ed il mio ragazzo abbiamo fatto il tour di una giornata a Sintra, Cabo da Roca e Cascais il 10.07.2015:

- Ho prenotato e pagato il tour online direttamente dal sito Viator.
- Il punto di ritrovo era Praça dos Restauradores, proprio di fronte all'Hard Rock Café.
- Ottima esperienza: pulmini da 8 persone, con aria condizionata.
La nostra guida era Fred, molto simpatico, disponibile e preparato.

- Consiglio vivamente questo tour!
Ps. Il tour era in lingua inglese.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommend. Sintra is beautiful and should be seen. Our guide Fred was fantastic, very knowledgeable and funny. The town of Cascais is lovely and Cabo da Roca Europe's westernmost point is spectacular.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Really enjoyed this tour with our friendly and knowledgeable tour guide.
Sintra was beautiful and then we went to the most western part of Portugal over the Atlantic.
Cascais was sooo beautiful that I wished I stayed overnight there so that I could spend more time.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great small group tour of 8 people. Gus was a great tour guide. I would highly recommend this trip, none of the bus trips are longer than 45mins drive. The royal's holiday house is spectacular and in great condition. We stopped at a local restaurant recommended by Gus and had some amazing seafood. The seaside town of Cascais is like a mini French Riviera, so beautiful. I could easily take a weeks break here and relax, it does not feel like you are so close to Lisbon. I would recommend this one.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantastic tour! My tour guide for the day was Nuno, and he was very friendly and knowledgeable. It was nice having a small group because we were really able to ask lots of questions and have a more personalized experience. Pena Palace, Sintra, Cabo da Roca, and Cascais were all beautiful, and having such a knowledgeable guide helped us all appreciate what we were seeing all the more. I would highly recommend this tour if you will be in Lisbon for 3 or more days. It was the highlight of my stay! Thank you Nuno!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Convenient pickup location. Relaxing day visiting Sintra and cascais. Nice views and the tour guide Pedro is very knowledgeable of history and geography. Definitely would recommend this tour to anyone that is looking to visit Sintra!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

You must take this tour! It was fantastic. Rita our guide was extremely knowledgeable and made it extra fun. The sites were amazing and I felt like I learned a great deal about Sintra and Cascais. Everything about this tour was perfect. This tour will not disappoint you. I would do it again!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our day one trip to Sintra from Lisbon was fantastic. Pena palace is worth visiting. Cascais Bay and Cabo da Rocas views are amazing!! Lisbon visit will be incomplete without Sintra.
Our heartfelt thanks to our tour guide Fred who made the entire Day trip to Sintra a worth one, he arrived on time at the meeting point, speaks very good English, very knowledgeable, informative and kind to everyone. Throughout the journey he gave us lot of extra information. The food at the restaurant for Lunch, sweets and Gelatos Fred suggested were mouthwatering and we enjoyed a lot. Thanks Fred for making Sintra trip a wonderful and memorable one and thanks for taking some nice pictures of me. Excellent trip !! It was a great tour and highly recommend it.
The 2nd trip to Fatima, Nazare and Obidos was ok, the trip didnt start on time and couldnt see much in Fatima due to ongoing mass, but Obidos was really good and we had plenty of free time to walk around. Our guide Martin was quite informative but in the bus we could hardly hear him although he was using the microphone.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Yalda M
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

John was the most wonderful tour guide! He took us to the most beautiful places in Lisboa by an air conditioned van. The Pena Palace was magical and Casa Da Roca and Cascais were also so incredibly beautiful. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I loved this tour! Nice to see the country side - Sintra is a picturesque and quaint old town with good food. The Pena Castle was amazing. Then we went to Cascais and spent some time by the beach. Lastly we stopped at Cabo da Roca which has stunning view. The tour guide was also very knowledgeable!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Pedro was an amazing guide. Loved Pena Palace and Cascais!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved this tour, it took in so many different sights, the guide was really sweet and knowledgable and it felt like we'd seen a huge part of the area around Lisbon without ever feeling rushed. The small group was ideal and the sights spectacular. We're already planning to go back to Sintra and Cascais for longer

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was the highlight of our 4 day stay in Lisbon. If you're lucky enough to have Katirina as your guide, you will learn a lot about Sintra, Cascais and all of Portugal while spending the day with a lovely young Portuguese lady.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Well worth a visit. Andrea, our tour guide, was very friendly and knowledgeable. Lovely air conditioned mini bus took us on our journey. The summer palace is stunning and paddling in the sea at Cascais was a welcome break from the city.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Amazing tour with our guide Luis! Sintra is beautiful and the palace is really stunning. Cascais and Capo da Roca are also must-sees and this is definitely an easy and relaxing way to get around to see all of it!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide Tiago was very friendly and knowledgeable. The trip is charming and comfortable. There is some confusion about the walk uphill from the van parking to Pena National Palace: yes, you may walk together with guide but there is a shuttle bus available every 15 min for the addition fee EUR 3 per roundtrip.
The Roca Cape most western point in the Europe stop is very nice but don't forget some windbreaker.
The Cascais stop is a kind of useless, especially because it's during the hottest time of the day. Besides small shopping typical souvenirs, cold water, the best idea in my opinion is to spend this time 1 hr in the shadow outdoor cafeteria with the cold drink or/and coffee. The place is very quite and relaxing.
Hints:
1. the trip start at 9 am at Rock Cafe, which is open at 9 am only! Thus there is no reason to be too early. Vans arrive at 9:05 - 9:15 and guide will call your name.
2. avoid too much wine or beer in Sintra during the dinner because the drive is quite serpentine and you may have some headache, postpone drinking to Cascaise.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide, Pedro, was spectacular. We had a superb experience learning a lot about Portugal's Sintra region and Cascais. Not only did Pedro accompany us through the sites, but he gave us plenty of time to go through on our own afterwards. He gave us plenty of time for lunch in Sintra and time to wander through the various shops. BRAVO!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Trip to Sentra and Cascais was excellent and our guide,Rita,was
great. She was one of the best that we have
ever had. Highly recommend
Earl and Jane
Georgia,USA

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I enjoyed this tour very much. Our guide was very pleasant and informative. Cascais was truly beautiful!

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message