Located west of Lisbon on the Estoril coast, the once-sleepy fishing village of Cascais has become the summer playground of city dwellers, adored for its glorious string of sandy bays and the spanking new marina.  Although the beaches pose ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 176 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

kimmynolan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour!! We really enjoyed the sites and the area. Our tour guide, Joao, was very personable and knowledgable about the area and the sites. I highly recommend this tour if you want a nice overview of Sintra and Cascais, and a great day out!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Jill M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide, Catarina, was capable, engaging and knowledgeable, and we enjoyed our day with her in Sintra, Cabo da Roca, and Cascais. The tour delivered on everything that was promised.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Ly USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Abel was our guide for Sintra and Cascais. He is extremely knowledgeable, patient and has great humor! A must-do tour!

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

diana s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

On this tour, we were able to SEE Queluz Palace, Sintra Palace, and the Moorish Castle and to VISIT Pena Palace. Pena is surely the highlight of any trip to Sintra--a fairy-tale fantasy, a wacky combination of architectural styles mingled with symbols of Portugal's Order of Christ. Our excellent guide, Maria, provided a wealth of fascinating detail. The tour also featured stops at Cabo da Roca--the westernmost point of the European continent and the seaside village of Cascais. Great fun!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Sups2004 France

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A must see.
Sintra, Cascais and Roca Caves -- all wonderful locations.
And our excellent guide I forgot her name, but she mentioned that she was form Germany but living in LIsbon for more than 10 years made such excellent explanations that this trip is just not to be missed.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Well planned, beautiful tour through Sintra and Cascais. Loved the stops along the shoreline.
Guide was friendly, well informed, spoke beautiful English. Definitely recommend as a great day trip from Lisbon.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Alina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We has a lovely time on our trip to Sintra and Cascais. Luis is one of the best guides I have met - ready to answer any questions, solve any issues, come up with some new information about the places we were visiting and always up to make jokes and bring a smile on your face. The day was sunny and warm and we really enjoyed the whole journey.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The guide was super nice and helpful and spoke perfect English but was also not intrusive, and gave us plenty of time to wander around ourselves. We had time after the tour of Pena Palace to grab a quick lunch and tour the Sintra National Palace ourselves. We went in November so it was more than ample time in Cascais since we weren't really utilizing beach time. Overall a great trip and well worth the money.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Martyn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide had no difficulty with making a rainy day in Lisbon into a memorable occasion visiting Sintra and the Pena palace. His knowledge extended far beyond the palaces he showed us into history, places and events around the world. His enthusiasm for his subjects was infectious, and we have vastly increased our knowledge of Portuguese history. It was interesting to see Europe's westernmost point, but we felt the visit to Cascais did not complement the wonderful places we had seen in the morning. Perhaps Cascais' greatest assets are its beaches, which in the rain are not so appealing. Otherwise it seemed to be nothing more than some beautifully tiled streets with expensive shops and admittedly some gorgeous-looking houses, and also a few gift shops selling tat. The small group made the whole tour very friendly and personal, and we cannot rate our guide highly enough.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Jayanta G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide Gus came on time at location for pick up. On the way to Sintra, he stopped at Cascais beach and gave us time to take picture and enjoy the beach. Before entering the Sintra palace, he took us through the garden and described the trees and plants which made the trip more enjoyable. After the palace tour he took us to a family owned restaurant for lunch. We had the fish soup and cod fish famous in Portugal and they were excellent. After lunch he suggested the famous pastry place Piriqita for dessert. We thought that we would save some for dinner but finished everything. On the way back our guide took us to the west most point and gave us time to walk around and enjoy the view. Our guide was entertaining and knowledgeable about the history and the place. On the way back, Gus dropped us at the hotel and that was very nice gesture.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

S Nagy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Despite a rainy and cold start off in the morning, the tour was wonderful and our lovely tour guide Catarina made it so much fun. She was very informative with lots of funny stories and plenty of advice on what to do and what culinary delights to sample. Since it was a fairly small group, the tour was more interactive. We were given plenty of free time to explore. We visited Pena Palace in Sintra, a few other sights from the car and the wonderful Quita da Regaliera. In the afternoon we continued our journey to Cabo da Roca and all the way to Cascais, where we had some free time to walk around and have something to eat. I highly recommend this tour, even in the winter it is well worth it. After all, it's Lisbon, and the sun comes out even on a rainy day :

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

ancient-heart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I truly enjoyed the tour. We were a very small group, so Ana, the knowledgeable and extremely friendly tour guide was able to provide us with a lot of information on the history, legends or sometimes myths about Sintra and Cascais. Ana was brilliant at codeswitching between English and French. We stopped at the Queijadas de Sintra to buy some must-try delicious pastries. The trip to Cascais was just a bit of a rush as we stopped for a mere 10 minutes to marvel at Boca do Inferno Hell's Mouth and take some photographs, however we understood that we had lost some time in Sintra due to the foggy weather. We were back in Lisboa on time as scheduled and in fact the kind driver, Martin dropped us off near our hotel as it was on his way. Overall, it was a memorable experience to Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais. Thank you Ana and Martin!

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Elizabeth P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Thank you Augustus for an incredible day in Sintra, Copa da Roca and Cascais! Tour was small and intimate, we learned a ton, got some good exercise and and #34;Gus and #34; is/was so approachable and kind. We enjoyed chatting with him about numerous Portugal cultural, historical and culinary topics too. Recommend!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Stephen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were extremely pleased with our tour to Sintra and Cascais on November 4, 2015. Joao Corta was knowledgeable, conversant, and very pleasant. We would highly recommend this tour and viator after our experience with the tour guide whom we enjoyed very much.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Stanley T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide Louis was very knowledgeable. He gave us excellent information about the history of Sintra, Cascais, and Cabo De Rocha. We never felt rushed. All in all it was a most enjoyable day

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Manuel M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The 2-day tour to Sintra, Cascais, Obidos, Nazaré and Fatima was everything I expected and more. The operator, Inside Lisbon, was punctual, friendly, informative and very attentive to all the participants. If I return to Lisbon, I will want to have the same company for my tours.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

DIANNA M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was so much more than expected. Our tour guide was a history graduate, so had lots of great info to share. He also took us to other areas that we don't think were part of the original tour, but were very enjoyable and we appreciated his passion and excitement to give us an outstanding tour.
You can't miss the Castle at Sintra....but a word of warning.......lots of hill-walking to get there....so wear very comfortable walking shoes! This maybe should be noted on the tour?
Great tour, great guide......lots of beauty in Sintra. Cascais.....is very much a touristy area, but very nice nonetheless. Take this tour......it won't disappoint!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Thomas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our trip to Sinatra and Cascais was wonderful. Our guide, John, was interesting, knowledgeable and fun. We happen to get into a group of very friendly people so we truly enjoyed our hours together. Viator was very helpful in another way. We accidently booked for the wrong day and did not realize it until about 5pm the day before we were to go. They immediately got us booked for the correct day. No fees, no questions. A great tour for a great price.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Ramesh R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Sinatra and cascais are a must see! Cascais is a beautiful sea town. The drive along the Atlantic coast was very scenic. The photo op at the southwestern Atlantic tip of Europe was great. The tour guide was good!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

saad.choudhury007

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful pictures places packed with history. The tour operator Inside Lisbon and the knowledgeable guide with the comfortable car was perfect combination. Take warm cloth for Sintra as well as extra cloth if you would like to get wet in the sea in Cascais. You get 1hr in Cascais. The places are around 30min by train but taking this tour helps you getting all the highlights so that you may plan your own trip later.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Derek K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Took this all-day small-group tour to Sintra and Cascais. You meet in front of the Hard Rock Café which is the central meeting/starting point for all the small-group tours operated by Inside Lisbon Travel Agency. So you wait there and the vans arrive and the driver calls out your name amongst the crowd, so you know which driver will be handling your tour group. The driver is the tour guide in this case and our group was only 8 people, which is great. Sintra is a beautiful city, and the Pena Palace is a castle up on the hill. Full of history, with a location that is hard to beat ocean views. You can take the small shuttle that takes you from the parking entrance to the Pena Palace entrance for 3 euros r/t, or walk up the hills about 15 minutes. Our guide was very informative on the Palace. We then went to Cabo de Roca which is the western most point of Europe, great views, photo opportunities galore. Then driving along the coast past Guincho Beach, along the Estoril, and Cascais. Cascais is a pretty cool beach town, not a lot of nice beaches though, mainly rocky with some small outcroppings of sand everyone is packed onto whatever sand they can find. We had some free time in Cascais for eating, shopping, hanging at the beach, or whatever you wanted to do. Then back to Lisbon. Our guide made the trip enjoyable along with several of our traveling companions. Overall, a great trip to the coast for the day. Would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Lee T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A really, really, enjoyable day out, though perhaps a little cramped in the min-bus with all 8 of us plus the guide. Pena Palace was the obvious highlight simply stunning, perched on the mountaintop, surreal in its design and with such vivid colours. The weather helped: Clear clue skies and visibility such that you could see clear to the coast. Sintra provided a restful interlude, with time for lunch and an opportunity to wander the streets and sample a few of the local delicacies. Cabo da Roca was, if Im honest, a bit of an anti-climax. If youve seen high cliffs before, then these were nothing special, but a pleasant visit nonetheless a chance to stretch ones legs, and to watch those more stupid stray too close to the cliff edge than prudence would dictate! Follow the advice here and stay to the right i.e. safe side of the fence. Cascais was pretty, if somewhat busy. We took the tour on a Sunday, so with the weather, it seemed as if the whole of Lisbon was on the surrounding beaches! Understandable though! But with afternoon temperatures approaching 37C we took the sensible option and retired to a local bar for a cold beer and a spot of people-watching from air-conditioned comfort.

As I say, a great day out, and good value for money. We might perhaps have done a couple of the visits on our own, not part of an organised tour both Cascais and Sintra are readily accessible by train but certainly not all on one day. And if wed tried, wed have spent more time travelling, queuing, and with our heads in guide books, rather than taking in the views, and listening to the informative, if at times a little over-imaginative, narrative lots of stories of myth and magic.

In conclusion, Id certainly recommend this tour to others, especially for those without their own transport, or with only limited time.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

marianne.demey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We hadden het geluk om met Nadia te kunnen genieten van de daguitstap naar Sintra, Cascais en Coba da Roca. Het was een schitterende dag, vooral dankzij de persoonlijke benadering door onze uitstekende gidse, Nadia. Deze wist ons antwoord te geven op onze vragen. De tips waar we het beste uitzicht hadden waar volkomen correct. De balans tussen historische uitleg en vakantiesfeer was optimaal! Zeker een aanrader!

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Lisbon Walking Tour with Food and Wine Tastings, and Sintra and Cascais Day Trip

Martin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide for Sintra and Cascais was really good, as were the tours.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Lisbon Walking Tour with Food and Wine Tastings, and Sintra and Cascais Day Trip

Karin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was absolutely fabulous! Katrina was the best guide ever - so knowledgeable and passionate about her country and knew the best spots for photographs - an true gem! Sintra and Cascais exceeded my expectations in their outstanding beauty and it was hard to take a poor photograph!
I would highly recommend this tour and particularly this tour guide to anyone and everyone! Many many thanks!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message