Located west of Lisbon on the Estoril coast, the once-sleepy fishing village of Cascais has become the summer playground of city dwellers, adored for its glorious string of sandy bays and the spanking new marina.  Although the beaches pose ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 189 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jenniferlota

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour, guide gave us sufficient time to walk around the palace. Stops at Cabo do Roca and Cascais were short, but I didn't feel that more time was needed to take some pictures.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Samantha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Sintra and Cascais are amazing places to see! Our tour guide, Abel, was great. He really made our trip enjoyable.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Sharyn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a fabulous day! Our first stop was Cascais with a lovely beach and great shopping. Next stop was Cabo Da Roca, Europe and #39;s most western point. We had lunch in Sintra with some of our small group. We ended the tour at the beautiful Pena Palace! Christof our guide was friendly and informative. :-)

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Rhonda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guy was the top. He was kind, and had great knowledge of Sintra and Cascais. We fell in love with both places and plan to return. We had time to get to know are travel mates who was from Japan, Canada . Taking a small tour is the only way to go. Once again I give are tour guide 5 stars and more. Sorry, I believe his name was Evan. Please tell him thank you again from the Chapman's. We had him on both tours from Lisbon. The pick up was in a central location 10 mins from our hotel which was just a short taxi ride. Sincerely, Theodore and Rhonda Chapman, Florida USA

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Bonnie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

See if you can request Christoff as your tour guide. Christoff was very well informed, entertaining, responsive to our needs and questions - and we enjoyed our tour completely. Sintra is an unbelievable sight - Cascais is a beautiful resort town - and there is plenty of time to see both places. Lunch at an outdoor restaurant was very good in Sintra and the small shops there have beautiful hand made local gifts.
Enjoy!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Joseph H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a wonderful tour. Abel was a wonderful guide and a great help to my husband who has some mobility issues. We never would have been able to do Sintra on our own. The drive back to Lisbon via Cascais was a pleasant surprise.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Ali

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was great! Very happy I was able to see the magical city of Sintra and the beaches of Cascais. It was a nice way to escape the busy and crowded city of Lisbon for a day. Also, really enjoyed the small group setting.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved this small-group day trip and Kathriana, our guide was informative and charming. Pena Palace was amazing and we had plenty of time there as well as Sintra and Cascais. Would highly recommend this tour. Good value as well.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

kimmynolan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour!! We really enjoyed the sites and the area. Our tour guide, Joao, was very personable and knowledgable about the area and the sites. I highly recommend this tour if you want a nice overview of Sintra and Cascais, and a great day out!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Jill M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide, Catarina, was capable, engaging and knowledgeable, and we enjoyed our day with her in Sintra, Cabo da Roca, and Cascais. The tour delivered on everything that was promised.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Ly USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Abel was our guide for Sintra and Cascais. He is extremely knowledgeable, patient and has great humor! A must-do tour!

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

diana s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

On this tour, we were able to SEE Queluz Palace, Sintra Palace, and the Moorish Castle and to VISIT Pena Palace. Pena is surely the highlight of any trip to Sintra--a fairy-tale fantasy, a wacky combination of architectural styles mingled with symbols of Portugal's Order of Christ. Our excellent guide, Maria, provided a wealth of fascinating detail. The tour also featured stops at Cabo da Roca--the westernmost point of the European continent and the seaside village of Cascais. Great fun!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Sups2004 France

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A must see.
Sintra, Cascais and Roca Caves -- all wonderful locations.
And our excellent guide I forgot her name, but she mentioned that she was form Germany but living in LIsbon for more than 10 years made such excellent explanations that this trip is just not to be missed.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Well planned, beautiful tour through Sintra and Cascais. Loved the stops along the shoreline.
Guide was friendly, well informed, spoke beautiful English. Definitely recommend as a great day trip from Lisbon.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Alina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We has a lovely time on our trip to Sintra and Cascais. Luis is one of the best guides I have met - ready to answer any questions, solve any issues, come up with some new information about the places we were visiting and always up to make jokes and bring a smile on your face. The day was sunny and warm and we really enjoyed the whole journey.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The guide was super nice and helpful and spoke perfect English but was also not intrusive, and gave us plenty of time to wander around ourselves. We had time after the tour of Pena Palace to grab a quick lunch and tour the Sintra National Palace ourselves. We went in November so it was more than ample time in Cascais since we weren't really utilizing beach time. Overall a great trip and well worth the money.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Martyn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide had no difficulty with making a rainy day in Lisbon into a memorable occasion visiting Sintra and the Pena palace. His knowledge extended far beyond the palaces he showed us into history, places and events around the world. His enthusiasm for his subjects was infectious, and we have vastly increased our knowledge of Portuguese history. It was interesting to see Europe's westernmost point, but we felt the visit to Cascais did not complement the wonderful places we had seen in the morning. Perhaps Cascais' greatest assets are its beaches, which in the rain are not so appealing. Otherwise it seemed to be nothing more than some beautifully tiled streets with expensive shops and admittedly some gorgeous-looking houses, and also a few gift shops selling tat. The small group made the whole tour very friendly and personal, and we cannot rate our guide highly enough.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Jayanta G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide Gus came on time at location for pick up. On the way to Sintra, he stopped at Cascais beach and gave us time to take picture and enjoy the beach. Before entering the Sintra palace, he took us through the garden and described the trees and plants which made the trip more enjoyable. After the palace tour he took us to a family owned restaurant for lunch. We had the fish soup and cod fish famous in Portugal and they were excellent. After lunch he suggested the famous pastry place Piriqita for dessert. We thought that we would save some for dinner but finished everything. On the way back our guide took us to the west most point and gave us time to walk around and enjoy the view. Our guide was entertaining and knowledgeable about the history and the place. On the way back, Gus dropped us at the hotel and that was very nice gesture.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

S Nagy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Despite a rainy and cold start off in the morning, the tour was wonderful and our lovely tour guide Catarina made it so much fun. She was very informative with lots of funny stories and plenty of advice on what to do and what culinary delights to sample. Since it was a fairly small group, the tour was more interactive. We were given plenty of free time to explore. We visited Pena Palace in Sintra, a few other sights from the car and the wonderful Quita da Regaliera. In the afternoon we continued our journey to Cabo da Roca and all the way to Cascais, where we had some free time to walk around and have something to eat. I highly recommend this tour, even in the winter it is well worth it. After all, it's Lisbon, and the sun comes out even on a rainy day :

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

ancient-heart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I truly enjoyed the tour. We were a very small group, so Ana, the knowledgeable and extremely friendly tour guide was able to provide us with a lot of information on the history, legends or sometimes myths about Sintra and Cascais. Ana was brilliant at codeswitching between English and French. We stopped at the Queijadas de Sintra to buy some must-try delicious pastries. The trip to Cascais was just a bit of a rush as we stopped for a mere 10 minutes to marvel at Boca do Inferno Hell's Mouth and take some photographs, however we understood that we had lost some time in Sintra due to the foggy weather. We were back in Lisboa on time as scheduled and in fact the kind driver, Martin dropped us off near our hotel as it was on his way. Overall, it was a memorable experience to Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais. Thank you Ana and Martin!

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Elizabeth P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Thank you Augustus for an incredible day in Sintra, Copa da Roca and Cascais! Tour was small and intimate, we learned a ton, got some good exercise and and #34;Gus and #34; is/was so approachable and kind. We enjoyed chatting with him about numerous Portugal cultural, historical and culinary topics too. Recommend!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Stephen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were extremely pleased with our tour to Sintra and Cascais on November 4, 2015. Joao Corta was knowledgeable, conversant, and very pleasant. We would highly recommend this tour and viator after our experience with the tour guide whom we enjoyed very much.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Stanley T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide Louis was very knowledgeable. He gave us excellent information about the history of Sintra, Cascais, and Cabo De Rocha. We never felt rushed. All in all it was a most enjoyable day

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Manuel M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The 2-day tour to Sintra, Cascais, Obidos, Nazaré and Fatima was everything I expected and more. The operator, Inside Lisbon, was punctual, friendly, informative and very attentive to all the participants. If I return to Lisbon, I will want to have the same company for my tours.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

DIANNA M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was so much more than expected. Our tour guide was a history graduate, so had lots of great info to share. He also took us to other areas that we don't think were part of the original tour, but were very enjoyable and we appreciated his passion and excitement to give us an outstanding tour.
You can't miss the Castle at Sintra....but a word of warning.......lots of hill-walking to get there....so wear very comfortable walking shoes! This maybe should be noted on the tour?
Great tour, great guide......lots of beauty in Sintra. Cascais.....is very much a touristy area, but very nice nonetheless. Take this tour......it won't disappoint!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message