Located west of Lisbon on the Estoril coast, the once-sleepy fishing village of Cascais has become the summer playground of city dwellers, adored for its glorious string of sandy bays and the spanking new marina.  Although the beaches pose ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 166 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

S Nagy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Despite a rainy and cold start off in the morning, the tour was wonderful and our lovely tour guide Catarina made it so much fun. She was very informative with lots of funny stories and plenty of advice on what to do and what culinary delights to sample. Since it was a fairly small group, the tour was more interactive. We were given plenty of free time to explore. We visited Pena Palace in Sintra, a few other sights from the car and the wonderful Quita da Regaliera. In the afternoon we continued our journey to Cabo da Roca and all the way to Cascais, where we had some free time to walk around and have something to eat. I highly recommend this tour, even in the winter it is well worth it. After all, it's Lisbon, and the sun comes out even on a rainy day :

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

ancient-heart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I truly enjoyed the tour. We were a very small group, so Ana, the knowledgeable and extremely friendly tour guide was able to provide us with a lot of information on the history, legends or sometimes myths about Sintra and Cascais. Ana was brilliant at codeswitching between English and French. We stopped at the Queijadas de Sintra to buy some must-try delicious pastries. The trip to Cascais was just a bit of a rush as we stopped for a mere 10 minutes to marvel at Boca do Inferno Hell's Mouth and take some photographs, however we understood that we had lost some time in Sintra due to the foggy weather. We were back in Lisboa on time as scheduled and in fact the kind driver, Martin dropped us off near our hotel as it was on his way. Overall, it was a memorable experience to Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais. Thank you Ana and Martin!

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Elizabeth P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Thank you Augustus for an incredible day in Sintra, Copa da Roca and Cascais! Tour was small and intimate, we learned a ton, got some good exercise and and #34;Gus and #34; is/was so approachable and kind. We enjoyed chatting with him about numerous Portugal cultural, historical and culinary topics too. Recommend!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Stephen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were extremely pleased with our tour to Sintra and Cascais on November 4, 2015. Joao Corta was knowledgeable, conversant, and very pleasant. We would highly recommend this tour and viator after our experience with the tour guide whom we enjoyed very much.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Stanley T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide Louis was very knowledgeable. He gave us excellent information about the history of Sintra, Cascais, and Cabo De Rocha. We never felt rushed. All in all it was a most enjoyable day

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Manuel M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The 2-day tour to Sintra, Cascais, Obidos, Nazaré and Fatima was everything I expected and more. The operator, Inside Lisbon, was punctual, friendly, informative and very attentive to all the participants. If I return to Lisbon, I will want to have the same company for my tours.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

DIANNA M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was so much more than expected. Our tour guide was a history graduate, so had lots of great info to share. He also took us to other areas that we don't think were part of the original tour, but were very enjoyable and we appreciated his passion and excitement to give us an outstanding tour.
You can't miss the Castle at Sintra....but a word of warning.......lots of hill-walking to get there....so wear very comfortable walking shoes! This maybe should be noted on the tour?
Great tour, great guide......lots of beauty in Sintra. Cascais.....is very much a touristy area, but very nice nonetheless. Take this tour......it won't disappoint!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Thomas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our trip to Sinatra and Cascais was wonderful. Our guide, John, was interesting, knowledgeable and fun. We happen to get into a group of very friendly people so we truly enjoyed our hours together. Viator was very helpful in another way. We accidently booked for the wrong day and did not realize it until about 5pm the day before we were to go. They immediately got us booked for the correct day. No fees, no questions. A great tour for a great price.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Ramesh R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Sinatra and cascais are a must see! Cascais is a beautiful sea town. The drive along the Atlantic coast was very scenic. The photo op at the southwestern Atlantic tip of Europe was great. The tour guide was good!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

saad.choudhury007

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful pictures places packed with history. The tour operator Inside Lisbon and the knowledgeable guide with the comfortable car was perfect combination. Take warm cloth for Sintra as well as extra cloth if you would like to get wet in the sea in Cascais. You get 1hr in Cascais. The places are around 30min by train but taking this tour helps you getting all the highlights so that you may plan your own trip later.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Derek K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Took this all-day small-group tour to Sintra and Cascais. You meet in front of the Hard Rock Café which is the central meeting/starting point for all the small-group tours operated by Inside Lisbon Travel Agency. So you wait there and the vans arrive and the driver calls out your name amongst the crowd, so you know which driver will be handling your tour group. The driver is the tour guide in this case and our group was only 8 people, which is great. Sintra is a beautiful city, and the Pena Palace is a castle up on the hill. Full of history, with a location that is hard to beat ocean views. You can take the small shuttle that takes you from the parking entrance to the Pena Palace entrance for 3 euros r/t, or walk up the hills about 15 minutes. Our guide was very informative on the Palace. We then went to Cabo de Roca which is the western most point of Europe, great views, photo opportunities galore. Then driving along the coast past Guincho Beach, along the Estoril, and Cascais. Cascais is a pretty cool beach town, not a lot of nice beaches though, mainly rocky with some small outcroppings of sand everyone is packed onto whatever sand they can find. We had some free time in Cascais for eating, shopping, hanging at the beach, or whatever you wanted to do. Then back to Lisbon. Our guide made the trip enjoyable along with several of our traveling companions. Overall, a great trip to the coast for the day. Would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Lee T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A really, really, enjoyable day out, though perhaps a little cramped in the min-bus with all 8 of us plus the guide. Pena Palace was the obvious highlight simply stunning, perched on the mountaintop, surreal in its design and with such vivid colours. The weather helped: Clear clue skies and visibility such that you could see clear to the coast. Sintra provided a restful interlude, with time for lunch and an opportunity to wander the streets and sample a few of the local delicacies. Cabo da Roca was, if Im honest, a bit of an anti-climax. If youve seen high cliffs before, then these were nothing special, but a pleasant visit nonetheless a chance to stretch ones legs, and to watch those more stupid stray too close to the cliff edge than prudence would dictate! Follow the advice here and stay to the right i.e. safe side of the fence. Cascais was pretty, if somewhat busy. We took the tour on a Sunday, so with the weather, it seemed as if the whole of Lisbon was on the surrounding beaches! Understandable though! But with afternoon temperatures approaching 37C we took the sensible option and retired to a local bar for a cold beer and a spot of people-watching from air-conditioned comfort.

As I say, a great day out, and good value for money. We might perhaps have done a couple of the visits on our own, not part of an organised tour both Cascais and Sintra are readily accessible by train but certainly not all on one day. And if wed tried, wed have spent more time travelling, queuing, and with our heads in guide books, rather than taking in the views, and listening to the informative, if at times a little over-imaginative, narrative lots of stories of myth and magic.

In conclusion, Id certainly recommend this tour to others, especially for those without their own transport, or with only limited time.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

marianne.demey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We hadden het geluk om met Nadia te kunnen genieten van de daguitstap naar Sintra, Cascais en Coba da Roca. Het was een schitterende dag, vooral dankzij de persoonlijke benadering door onze uitstekende gidse, Nadia. Deze wist ons antwoord te geven op onze vragen. De tips waar we het beste uitzicht hadden waar volkomen correct. De balans tussen historische uitleg en vakantiesfeer was optimaal! Zeker een aanrader!

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Lisbon Walking Tour with Food and Wine Tastings, and Sintra and Cascais Day Trip

Martin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide for Sintra and Cascais was really good, as were the tours.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Lisbon Walking Tour with Food and Wine Tastings, and Sintra and Cascais Day Trip

Karin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was absolutely fabulous! Katrina was the best guide ever - so knowledgeable and passionate about her country and knew the best spots for photographs - an true gem! Sintra and Cascais exceeded my expectations in their outstanding beauty and it was hard to take a poor photograph!
I would highly recommend this tour and particularly this tour guide to anyone and everyone! Many many thanks!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Lourdes S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I think this was one of my top 3 tours in Lisbon. Sintra is beautiful and could be on the cool side so please take a jacket or sweater. Nice castle and grounds. The little town is charming and has good places to eat and shop. Great tour guide too. Then you go to Cascais where you can see the beach. The whole trip is very informative and the scenery is great!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Bellissima Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I had really wanted to visit both Sintra and Cascais on my recent family vacation to Lisbon with my husband and our two young sons. After a little research, I decided this would be the best way to see both places in one day. It was a great decision. We were a small group of 6 and we traveled in a comfortable, air-conditioned minivan. Our tour guide was a lovely young lady named Catarina. She was very warm and wonderful to my two boys. She was very knowledgeable about the sights and made the day feel as if we were spending it with a friend not a tour guide. We visited Pena Palace and had free time to visit other sights afterwards. We decided to relax and have Sintra specialties at the famous Café a Piriquita, namely queijadas and travesseiros. Then we had a brief stop at Cabo da Roca, which is the westernmost point of continental Europe. The tour ended with a longer stop at Cascais to enjoy the beach, followed by a drive along the Estoril coast. We really enjoyed our whole day and would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting Portugal.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

pellen88

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Io ed il mio ragazzo abbiamo fatto il tour di una giornata a Sintra, Cabo da Roca e Cascais il 10.07.2015:

- Ho prenotato e pagato il tour online direttamente dal sito Viator.
- Il punto di ritrovo era Praça dos Restauradores, proprio di fronte all'Hard Rock Café.
- Ottima esperienza: pulmini da 8 persone, con aria condizionata.
La nostra guida era Fred, molto simpatico, disponibile e preparato.

- Consiglio vivamente questo tour!
Ps. Il tour era in lingua inglese.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Michael G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommend. Sintra is beautiful and should be seen. Our guide Fred was fantastic, very knowledgeable and funny. The town of Cascais is lovely and Cabo da Roca Europe's westernmost point is spectacular.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Perry L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Really enjoyed this tour with our friendly and knowledgeable tour guide.
Sintra was beautiful and then we went to the most western part of Portugal over the Atlantic.
Cascais was sooo beautiful that I wished I stayed overnight there so that I could spend more time.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Aaron P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great small group tour of 8 people. Gus was a great tour guide. I would highly recommend this trip, none of the bus trips are longer than 45mins drive. The royal's holiday house is spectacular and in great condition. We stopped at a local restaurant recommended by Gus and had some amazing seafood. The seaside town of Cascais is like a mini French Riviera, so beautiful. I could easily take a weeks break here and relax, it does not feel like you are so close to Lisbon. I would recommend this one.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

JenniseF

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantastic tour! My tour guide for the day was Nuno, and he was very friendly and knowledgeable. It was nice having a small group because we were really able to ask lots of questions and have a more personalized experience. Pena Palace, Sintra, Cabo da Roca, and Cascais were all beautiful, and having such a knowledgeable guide helped us all appreciate what we were seeing all the more. I would highly recommend this tour if you will be in Lisbon for 3 or more days. It was the highlight of my stay! Thank you Nuno!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Jyoti B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Convenient pickup location. Relaxing day visiting Sintra and cascais. Nice views and the tour guide Pedro is very knowledgeable of history and geography. Definitely would recommend this tour to anyone that is looking to visit Sintra!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Linda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

You must take this tour! It was fantastic. Rita our guide was extremely knowledgeable and made it extra fun. The sites were amazing and I felt like I learned a great deal about Sintra and Cascais. Everything about this tour was perfect. This tour will not disappoint you. I would do it again!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Selina A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our day one trip to Sintra from Lisbon was fantastic. Pena palace is worth visiting. Cascais Bay and Cabo da Rocas views are amazing!! Lisbon visit will be incomplete without Sintra.
Our heartfelt thanks to our tour guide Fred who made the entire Day trip to Sintra a worth one, he arrived on time at the meeting point, speaks very good English, very knowledgeable, informative and kind to everyone. Throughout the journey he gave us lot of extra information. The food at the restaurant for Lunch, sweets and Gelatos Fred suggested were mouthwatering and we enjoyed a lot. Thanks Fred for making Sintra trip a wonderful and memorable one and thanks for taking some nice pictures of me. Excellent trip !! It was a great tour and highly recommend it.
The 2nd trip to Fatima, Nazare and Obidos was ok, the trip didnt start on time and couldnt see much in Fatima due to ongoing mass, but Obidos was really good and we had plenty of free time to walk around. Our guide Martin was quite informative but in the bus we could hardly hear him although he was using the microphone.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message