One of Portugal’s most fascinating destinations, Evora is a city full of historic national treasures that keep any visitor intrigued. From the Roman ruins of the Templo de Diana (Temple of Diana) featuring 14 original Corinthian columns, to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

we had a lovely time in Evora, the guide very frienly and polite.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Wine Tasting

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Our guide Edgar was a pleasure to be with and we really liked our little group of fellow travelers. The weather intermittently rain and sun which frustrating. Liked Evora a lot although the chapel of bones very creepy place. Day well,organized and well paced. Long drive back to lisbon.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Wine Tasting

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

There was nothing wrong with the tour or our guide. Very efficient and nice. But the day trip itself was just so so. Compared to the other tourist destinations I have been to, Evora was a bit of a let down.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour! A very intelligent solution for seeing the most important nearby sites in 1 day as well as customized for a small group of people (7-8) in a mini-van. No stress, no rush, relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The guide, Patrick, was very good: very professional, friendly, multi-lingual (he led the tour in 2 languages: English and French, driving the van at the same time and guiding us through the sites, which is not easy). We visited also a very impressive old stone-edge-site built about 6-7 thousands years ago on our way to Evora. Evora is nice with the remains of the Roman Temple and beautiful city centre. the local cuisine is very delicious. Will definitely recommend the tour and the company to friends.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Wine Tasting

Nora
Canada

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Highly disappointing! Evora itself is worth seeing, but our guide gave us very little information about each site and what he did tell us was not even factually correct (i.e. he told us the bone chapel was built with bones because there was no other building material around--uh, why is nothing else built with bones then?) Not very respectful of others' beliefs either--he insisted on going to see one of the churches right at the time he knew they were having mass--and then got all upset when he was kindly asked to come back at a later time. Overall one of the worst tours I've ever done.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Wine Tasting

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Not on time and tastings were not good
Evora was interesting

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Wine Tasting

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

I would go to all the same places again but would not go on the three-day, large group tour. We were picked up each day at 8:10 AM but were taken to a transfer center where we had to get on a different bus which was apparently determined by how many people spoke what languages. By the time we left for the tour, it was 9:30-9:45. It just made the day too long. The guides for this tour were knowledgeable and friendly for the most part. However, one of them was rude to me when I suggested she group people by language for the tour of the palace. We speak English and were at the back of the group so did not hear any of her explanations. She told me I should push through the group to get at the front and then discussed me with one of the workers at the palace. The guide to Evora was pleasant but took part of the group into a cathedral and went to look for another part of the group. We were 2 minutes late to the meeting place and could not find anyone. We thought we had been left which sort of panicked us. You are with a different group each day. The Portugal countryside is very pretty and we enjoyed it very much but would take a small group or private tour next time. We were so tired from the long day when we returned to our hotel that we were not able to get out and really see Lisbon.

Doing what: 3-Day Portugal Tour from Lisbon: Fátima, Sintra, Évora, Cascais and Estoril Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our Evora day trip even though the weather wasn't the best. Our guide, Madalena, was enthusiastic and knowledgeable- so much so, that I gave her my TripAdvisor Excellence pin. We were picked up and dropped off at our hotel (the other tour with another Lisbon company required that we meet in a central location). The van was comfortable, and we were very happy with only a few extra people, whom we enjoyed talking to, as opposed to a huge busload of strangers. I was happy that this day trip took us to another part of Portugal that we would not have seen on our own and Madalena told us more about the sights - the cork trees, Lusitano horses, vineyards etc. The menhirs and chapel of the bones were very interesting. There was a "medieval" fair set up and we chose to sample what was sold there (delicious bread baked right at the fair) and explore Evora some more, instead of going to a restaurant, and that was fine with Madalena. Also enjoyed the wine tasting. And we never felt rushed. I felt that Madalena really focused on our enjoying our trip with her.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

My daughter and I really enjoyed this tour. The guide picked us up in our lobby and drove us to our destination, Evora, pointing out various sights on the way. In the town, he showed us buildings and relics whose origins spanned 2000 years. He explained how both ancient and modern events affected what we saw. He introduced us to a small, inexpensive restaurant whose patrons all seemed to be local. The wine and food tasting portion of the activity was delicious and informative.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had a wonderful time on this tour. Edgar was very knowledgeable and made sure everyone enjoyed themselves, including the children. Evora and the standing stones were worth the trip and the small group format was perfect for us.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had a wonderful day in Evora. Our tour guide Patrick was very knowledgeable and helpful. We especially enjoyed touring the chapel of bones and the Cromlech.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Wine Tasting

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

I like the small town of Evora. Special thanks to our tour guide Madeleine for making our experience so good. She was very knowledgable and gave us lot of information on our way..Though the tour said 3 wine and olive oil tasting we were able to go 2 different places and tasted 6 wines. All Thanks to her :) :)

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Wine Tasting

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

We liked our travel company and guide, but were disappointment with Evora. It was not worth the long hours. There are many beautiful places to see near Lisbon. The visit to the cork farm was good. The wine tasting was good, although the location is just a wine shop. Wines were expensive, but good quality. This is more a sales pitch rather than a real wine tour, FYI.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a wonderful time on our trip especially because of Edgar. He is a wonderful guide and a very knowledgeable young man. Not only did give a thorough explanation of the town, the ruins, the cork forest, the menhirs, he was also able to talk about films, politics, the economy etc. It was a real pleasure to spend the day with him. His father must be very proud of him. In addtion there were tow languages in our group and he easily managed to make sure that everyone understood it all. He also facilitated the group as we all had lunch together. Since we came from 5 different countries in the group, we had an enromously interestingtime exchanging thughts on the world situation and also on our experiences of Portugal.

This was one of the most delightful days we spent in Portugal. The selction of things to do was excellent between seeing the countryside, the city of Evora, the forest, the prehistoric stones we really had quite a day.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I really enjoyed my visit to Evora. The small group was nice. Madelina (sp?) was very sweet and personable. Evora is beautiful and has very interesting historical sites, from the Chapel of the Bones to the huge Roman temple to the pre-historic "stonehendge" I never would have seen without the tour. I loved wine-tasting and sampling the local cheeses at lunch. Seeing a bit of countryside instead of just cities was refreshing.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Wine Tasting

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message