One of Portugal’s most fascinating destinations, Evora is a city full of historic national treasures that keep any visitor intrigued. From the Roman ruins of the Templo de Diana (Temple of Diana) featuring 14 original Corinthian columns, to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 49 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

MIchael M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Would have liked some free time in Evora but otherwise and enjoyable trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Keith H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Really great tour! Evora and the surrounding countryside is beautiful. And our guide, Isabel and guide-in-training, Francisco, who also contributed to the day were outstanding! One of the highlights of our stay in Lisbon. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Heather C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our small group tour to Evora was amazing we had so many great opportunities to ask questions of Cecilia and she was an amazing hub of information. Thank you Cecilia for making our day really special! I highly recommend taking this day trip and learning more about Portugal and it's amazing history!

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Agnes L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Good tour to see the highlights of Evora. Yet, It was little bit annoying that it was a 2 language tour which takes time to hear twice the same thing as a result we did not have enough time on our own to hang around in Evora and do some shopping

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Linda P United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

We were extremely disappointed as were expecting a private GUIDED tour.
During the drive to Evora, we were asking general questions to the driver, Nuno and Victoria which neither one was knowledgeable enough to answer. Victoria used her ipad to obtain information to answer our questions. She mentioned that she was training to be become a tour guide and that she had come with Nuno, as practice.

Instead of a guided tour, we were driven to Evora, handed a map and told by Victoria the person I thought was our tour guide that she and the driver, Nuno, would pick us up at 1 pm. When I inquired about a guided tour, she told us that it was NOT a guided tour.

The second stop was the Chapel of Bones which was closed every day from 1 - 2:30. Nuno and Victoria were both unaware of the change in hours at the chapel which appeared to not have been a recent change. Then they took us to the winery for wine tasting and, after that we went back to the Chapel of Bones.

Although we enjoyed visiting Evora, the Chapel of Bones and Cromelech dos Almendres, our experience would have been enriched if we had a guided tour as we were expecting. We certainly overpaid just to have someone drive us around. I would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Évora Tour from Lisbon

susancourtney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We were very fortunate to have the most excellent tour guide Raquel. She was friendly and extremely knowledgeable. She also found us a fantastic patio for lunch that we never would have found on our own. And although we have been to Lisbon before we had not been to Evora and it was incredible.

Doing what: Private Tour: Évora and Almendres Cromlech Day Trip from Lisbon

Katherine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

What a trip--Evora and the megaliths outside of Guadalupe. Without our guide, Michela, we would have never learned about so many things megaliths, olive trees, olive oil, cork and all the things made from cork, acorn beer, traveling in Portugal in just one day! Our group was small, but that made it quite easy to navigate through places and to take our time when needed. When we return to Lisbon, we will ask for Michela again!

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Ross USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour. I took it on Sep. 2. Our guide was very informative. While visiting the cathedral in Evora, go up the tower. It's not a very long climb, and the views of the town are spectacular. In addition to the Roman temple and the cathedral, Evora still has a large section of its medieval wall.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Keith W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide, Gustafo, was excellent. Besides being amusing and funny, he was also well informed. He shared a lot of history and cultural information as we traveled on to Evora. The stones at Cromlech were fascinating to experience and walk around, and the information on the cork tree harvesting was enlightening. We had a chance to be interactive as a small group which also was great. The walking tour of Evora was fantastic, as we saw and heard a lot and had some independent time for lunch. The entire town is very worthwhile experiencing. The wine tasting and olive oil tasting were also great. Definitely one of my favorite tours of our entire trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Michael D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Gustavo was a great guide with the ability to juggle 3 languages. Gustavo was very friendly with a sense of humour and was happy to answer any questions. I really enjoyed Evora!

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Martin F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Evora was a great city to visit and the tour guide was good.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Kathie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Yoki was a great guide. Full of information and little asides. She knew just when the best photo opportunity was for the storks. She recommended a nice little restaurant in Evora. Loved Evora! The intertwining of the old and new. Our free time was just enough and not too much. Cork trees, who knew how fascinating they were. The ancient stone formations were a perfect end to our day. And Yoki is a great, safe driver!

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Paul R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour! Evora is a beautiful little town and the tour guides did a great job hitting all the good spots and sharing great information. Bruno and Isabella were wonderful and quickly made me feel welcome. They were very friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend this tour. The Chapel of Bones is particularly interesting.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Richard o

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a very enjoyable trip. Evora is an inviting place. The location and attractions were interesting. The guide Gustavo was enjoyable and informative.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

LisaC

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Our guide Michaela was very knowledgeable and even though it was raining all the way from Lisbon to Evora, we were lucky that it only drizzled upon arrival. The wine tasting was very good.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Ryan B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

lot of driving. would have liked more time in the old town of Evora. tour guide was excellent. enjoyed her a lot. had lunch with her.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

hitandrun38

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I highly recommend this tour. Our tour guide Andrea was awesome. Very pleasant and eager to answer questions. Our group only consisted of 4 people, down from the usual 8 that would normally go, so the van was even extra roomy and comfortable. Evora is a must see just for the Chapel Of Bones. They were renovating it at the time of our visit so it took away a little of the "Awe" as workers worked along the inside walls but still was very enjoyable. The town is charming with nice restaraunts and shops. You have some free time to walk around, have lunch ,or shop. Andrea gave us the choice of doing lunch alone or going with her which i thought was a nice gesture. We went on our own but in hindsight i wish we had gone with her. Great tour and Great tour guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Ailien T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

we had a lovely time in Evora, the guide very frienly and polite.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Barbara F S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Our guide Edgar was a pleasure to be with and we really liked our little group of fellow travelers. The weather intermittently rain and sun which frustrating. Liked Evora a lot although the chapel of bones very creepy place. Day well,organized and well paced. Long drive back to lisbon.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

HelenL

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

There was nothing wrong with the tour or our guide. Very efficient and nice. But the day trip itself was just so so. Compared to the other tourist destinations I have been to, Evora was a bit of a let down.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Ilham G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour! A very intelligent solution for seeing the most important nearby sites in 1 day as well as customized for a small group of people (7-8) in a mini-van. No stress, no rush, relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The guide, Patrick, was very good: very professional, friendly, multi-lingual (he led the tour in 2 languages: English and French, driving the van at the same time and guiding us through the sites, which is not easy). We visited also a very impressive old stone-edge-site built about 6-7 thousands years ago on our way to Evora. Evora is nice with the remains of the Roman Temple and beautiful city centre. the local cuisine is very delicious. Will definitely recommend the tour and the company to friends.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Nora Canada

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Highly disappointing! Evora itself is worth seeing, but our guide gave us very little information about each site and what he did tell us was not even factually correct (i.e. he told us the bone chapel was built with bones because there was no other building material around--uh, why is nothing else built with bones then?) Not very respectful of others' beliefs either--he insisted on going to see one of the churches right at the time he knew they were having mass--and then got all upset when he was kindly asked to come back at a later time. Overall one of the worst tours I've ever done.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Dr. Lia M. M

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Not on time and tastings were not good
Evora was interesting

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Linda W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

I would go to all the same places again but would not go on the three-day, large group tour. We were picked up each day at 8:10 AM but were taken to a transfer center where we had to get on a different bus which was apparently determined by how many people spoke what languages. By the time we left for the tour, it was 9:30-9:45. It just made the day too long. The guides for this tour were knowledgeable and friendly for the most part. However, one of them was rude to me when I suggested she group people by language for the tour of the palace. We speak English and were at the back of the group so did not hear any of her explanations. She told me I should push through the group to get at the front and then discussed me with one of the workers at the palace. The guide to Evora was pleasant but took part of the group into a cathedral and went to look for another part of the group. We were 2 minutes late to the meeting place and could not find anyone. We thought we had been left which sort of panicked us. You are with a different group each day. The Portugal countryside is very pretty and we enjoyed it very much but would take a small group or private tour next time. We were so tired from the long day when we returned to our hotel that we were not able to get out and really see Lisbon.

Doing what: 3-Day Portugal Tour from Lisbon: Fátima, Sintra, Évora, Cascais and Estoril Coast

snowguys

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our Evora day trip even though the weather wasn't the best. Our guide, Madalena, was enthusiastic and knowledgeable- so much so, that I gave her my TripAdvisor Excellence pin. We were picked up and dropped off at our hotel (the other tour with another Lisbon company required that we meet in a central location). The van was comfortable, and we were very happy with only a few extra people, whom we enjoyed talking to, as opposed to a huge busload of strangers. I was happy that this day trip took us to another part of Portugal that we would not have seen on our own and Madalena told us more about the sights - the cork trees, Lusitano horses, vineyards etc. The menhirs and chapel of the bones were very interesting. There was a "medieval" fair set up and we chose to sample what was sold there (delicious bread baked right at the fair) and explore Evora some more, instead of going to a restaurant, and that was fine with Madalena. Also enjoyed the wine tasting. And we never felt rushed. I felt that Madalena really focused on our enjoying our trip with her.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message