Fátima, located 88 miles (142 kilometers) north of Lisbon is one of the most important shrines to the Virgin Mary in the world. Here, in 1917, she appeared several times to three shepherd children. The last time, on October 13th 1917, there ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 224 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

This trip should have been entitled Fatima with a short stop in Obidos, two lovely bathroom breaks, a very nice lunch, and a long bus ride. We had 50 minutes in gorgeous Obidos, which I cannot recommend highly enough. Then a stop at Alcobaça where we had to wait until Mass was over to take a quick look around. We had a delicious lunch in the residential area of Nazare but the advertised beautiful seaside village was only seen as we whizzed by on the bus. The biggest disappointment was that we only had 25 minutes to visit the magnificent Batalha abbey. Our admission was advertised and we paid for it as part of the tour but we did not get it. When we attempted to go into the tomb area and other stunning places we were told that we had to pay another 6 Euros to do so. And since we were limited by that time to about 10-15 minutes none of us had the time to stand in the line to do it. Then we wasted 25 minutes at the Fatima factory on the pretext of using bathrooms when we would 10 minutes later walk past nicer bathrooms at the actual shrine. And we could have bought the same souvenirs at the shrine as we saw at the factory. The tour that was advertised as 9 1/2 hours actually took us 11 3/4 hours. I would not do this tour again.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

In one day, one can have a glimpse of 4 major sites of Central Portugal. A stroll through the streets of central Obidos was most pleasant, including the tasting of the local cherry liquor with chocolate. Most of the Fatima religious area was closed for renovation, I understand in preparation for Pope Francis's future visit. A delicious lunch was served in a sea-facing Nazaré restaurant. This tour should not be missed in my view.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Obidos is gorgeous white village in castles wall...beautiful beaches in nazare n try a seafood stew w pasta local specialty there for lunch! ... Fatima has the modern church n the original Virgin Mary but unfortunately preparing for the big anniversary so can't go in. Checkout the hidden museum .

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved this day trip and a special thanks to our guide Rita, who made it a memorable experince. First stop was Fatima where we got about an hour, but would have liked to have at least another 30mts. Nazare and Obidos were spectacular. Lunch at Nazare is worth a mention.Rosa dos Ventos restaurant served us a sumptous sword fish grill, the taste of which will remain with us for quite a while. Obidos is another beautiful and lively town where we got a taste of ginja liquer.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Although Fatima was a long trip about 2 1/2 with a comfort stop it was well worth it. Seeing Fatima for the first time was like seeing the Vatican for the first time. VAST! Very spiritual. We were given time on our own which was exactly enough time. We stopped in Nazare a beautiful beach town for lunch and free time. Great shops and numerous restaurants. Other stops were at Batalha Monastery - we were there in time for the changing of the guards of the unknown soldier. This place was so beautiful, I wish we had more time here. And finally a stop in Obidos. A beautiful Medieval walled town with quaint streets, numerous shops and a wall you can walk 1,565 meters long but slipery. We were a little off schedule but no fault of the driver. Andre Marques was an excellent tour guide/driver. The van sat 9 including the Andre and very comfortable. The van was equipped with a microphone so everyone including the last row could hear - but he loved his music as well! He was very gracious and I highly recommend him and his company.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a wonderful time. Just the right amount of time at each stop and our tour guide knew his stuff. Interesting things to see at each city for everyone in our group young and old. Highly recommend! However, the church at Fatima is closed until Jan 2016 to prepare for the Pope to visit. Other things to see there but be aware.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I had a fantastic day on this tour. Firstly, our guide was fantastic he was friendly, well organised and put in lots of effort so we had a good time. The touring van was comfortable and the driving was safe.

The itinerary was well balanced and we saw some really beautiful scenery which would be difficult to reach without a guide/ touring van. In addition to Nazare and Obidos, Fatima was also interesting and we spent just the right amount of time there.

Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very interesting trip and a great tour guide. Beautiful places, landscapes and tasty food. However, next time I would not choose this trip on Sunday since Fatima was extremly crowded and I could not see much of it.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tourguide was good and the tour was nice. The only thing I didn't like about it was the large shop he took us to after Fatima. I thought that going there was a waste of time because the quality of the products were not good. I think you should omit that from the tour.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Our tour Guide Nuno was very helpful and very informative. I thought the trip was really nice, but a bit rush. I would probably omit the Batalha trio and focus on Fatima, Nazare, and Obidos alone. A 30 minute stop in Batalha is not enough to visit the whole church where you have to pay 6 to see it.

I love the Obidos trip, with a very charming medieval village. We also liked the Nazare Fishing Village. Theold church in Fatima was closed, so we were not ble to see it.
Overall, the tour bus was very comfortable, Nuno the tour guide was amazing!

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We were picked up and dropped back as scheduled. The driver cum guide was very pleasant and informative.The small mini van was very comfortable. We would have loved some more time at Fatima being a sunday.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Mostly it was enjoyable.. Fatima was an interesting experience. It is obviously a very sacred place for millions of people. The stop at Nazare was too long. It is a seaside town with only the beach of interest. We stopped there for lunch. We went on to Obidos which was the best part of the tour for us. It is a quaint medieval town and well worth the visit. Tasting the Ginja was also a highlight. It would have been far better, in our opinion, to have stopped in Obidos for lunch to enable us to have more time to explore it. The tour guide, Ana Rita, was very nice but as the party on the tour included a family from Brazil, the guide spoke mostly in Portugese with English as a second thought . It was supposed to be an English tour. Some thought might have to go into future bi lingual tours to ensure an equal amount of information for all.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Fatima and Nazare were disappointing. Nuno our guide just reiterated what the ad said and then dropped us off. Fatima had closed buildings mainly. The mass was fine but not in my language. Nazare was fine but we were steered towards a restaurant which was fine but not great. it was expensive too!
Obidos was the only worthwhile part. I loved this medieval village and castelo. its shops were cute and some locals were dressed up in medieval costumes.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

We do not expect such a big group for around 50 persons. The guide put too much emphasis on Portuguese guest. Not enough time for all sightseeing spots. The guide told us the meeting time for all sightseeing spots but not for the shopping factory in Fatima. I do not recommend this trip. The only good thing is the lunch is good and food is delicious.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Nadia was wonderful. She gave us just enough info, but not an overload. She provided lots of little interesting facts and was able to answer all questions. The pace of the trip was just right. Fatima was nice, but to the non religious, too commercial. Batalia was awesome. Nazare, I could have stayed there! Sun, ocean, fresh fish! And Obidos was the icing on the cake. What an intriguing little town. I did climb up to the walls. Not recommended for everyone!

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great way to see Fatima in a day along with 2 other great stops. Enjoyed both Obifosand Nazareth as well.
tour guide was great.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

great tour guide Peter. Had plenty of free time at Fatima and Nazare and Obidos. I recommend this tour

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide was wonderful for this trip. He explained where we were going and the historical significance of it. We were picked up from a central Lisbon restaurant and driven in small, nice passenger van. There were 8 of us in the group, and that was perfect! Such beautiful sites.
The cherry liqueur Ginjinha in Obidos is the best we tasted around Portugal, so make sure you buy it from the tasting shop that you do when you enter the town. We bought two bottles to bring back to the States and bought our own chocolate tasting cups in the States due to being afraid they would break in transit. The castle walls are neat and you can climb on them, however it is windy so keep that in mind if you are wearing a skirt!
Fatima was very nice, but the church is closed until 2017 to get it ready for the Popes visit for the 100 year anniversary of the apparitions. But, you can go to the back of the Chapel and see the graves of the three children. There are nice and unique shops if you go behind the Berlin Wall display and walk past the little shops and go into the town 25 yards. We found an artistic shop with locally made statues and glass rosary beads in another one and everyone was friendly.
Nazare is a beautiful beach and has nice restaurants along the board walk. Make sure you go to the local artisan shop and buy local items! Its pricey, but has nice things made in Portugal.
We met people from around the world and kept seeing them around Lisbon after the tour, which was nice. We met two sisters from Australia that I wish wed gotten their contact info!!

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Overall the tour was splendid! Batalha, Nazare and Obidos were BREATHTAKING! Fatima is not my thing, best to have a separate tour if you are interested in religious pilgrimage. I'd skip it for the sake of more time at Nazare and Obidos. The latter places were fantastic, and thanks to our guide Martin ? we had a lot of postcard shots and he managed to even stop by some splendid views so that we can capture. If you don't spend 3 weeks in Portugal, do take this tour and enjoy wonderful views of these cities!

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The places are nice, but the time in Óbidos and the monasteries was too short, with much time in Fatima and a store. The main problem was that I choose this tour because it included the entrance fees to the two monasteries, but we only visited the churches of batalha and Alcobaça. We paid for it but

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

This was a disappointing tour. Firstly, we received confirmation twice that we would be picked up from our hotel, it was just by chance that I checked my emails again later that day to be advised that we needed to meet at the bus terminal in order to depart for the tour. The coach ride was comfortable, and we were given a few tidbits of information about the landscape as we travelled to Fatima, it was distracting as it was delivered in 3 different languages. When we arrived we were told information about the site, but only basic facts and it was only on arrival that we were advised that the cathedral was closed for restoration It is understandable for the site to be under restoration but it would have been good to know this ahead of time The guide then left us for the remainder of the time to visit the site on our own 1.5hrs. Essentially we paid a lot of money for a bus ride to Fatima, and didn't really get the added value of a tour If there is some other way to go to Fatima on your own accord you can easily visit the site and look up the information on the internet ahead of time.

Doing what: Fátima and the Sanctuary Basilica Half Day Tour from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Fatima is really for those who are religious, especially now that almost every part is being reconstructed, so for me it was not really worth it. The Batalha Monastery is beautiful, and Nazare is a lovely town. All in all, it was worth doing this trip. The guide was great!

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The morning tour was great going to various places in Lisbon such as the Belem district - the tower, the Monument of the Discoveries, and the Jeronimos Monastery which was very crowded. We were taken to a place in the Alfama District for a glass of port wine. Since the Coach Museum was closed, we went through the National Palace. Our tour guide spoke three different languages Portuguese, English, and German throughout the tour and had a great sense of humor. We had a nice afternoon in Fatima and were able to attend a mass which was outdoors so everyone could see it and participate if you wanted. There was a tiny museum there as well. The reason for the 4 out of 5 was because there was so much to see in the morning/early afternoon that it only left about 45 minutes to find a place to eat and be back at the bus for the afternoon tour. We checked out a couple of restaurants about a 5 minute walk from the meeting place, but felt that we wouldn't have time to eat there. Fortunately, there was a Burger King right there. Otherwise, this was a good way to get an bird's eyeview of Lisbon.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: Lisbon Sightseeing Tour and Fátima Half-Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Wast time in Nazare and only short stay in Fatima. If you want go to Fatima with enough time don't join the tour.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We were blessed to join this tour. I was wrong with the timing and was late. The staff of Hotel Avenida Palace was so gracious to help, the tour operator especially to Ms. Mendoza for the patience. From the bottom of my heart, thank you very much for the joy to experience Fatima and the rest of Portugal

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message