Fátima, located 88 miles (142 kilometers) north of Lisbon is one of the most important shrines to the Virgin Mary in the world. Here, in 1917, she appeared several times to three shepherd children. The last time, on October 13th 1917, there ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 249 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Patrick I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

it was very fortunate of us because turn out this tour like private tour since only three of us on it. It was really great experience, the tour guide was very helpful and he knows best of the visited places. we were lucky as well because we have enough time to do pilgrimage at Fatima, even thought it was wet all day long.
the lunch session at Nazare also was very nice, we enjoyed it so much, and again the tour guide made us to choose the right restaurant with tasty and delicious local cuisines.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

pierrehsing

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The trip covers 3 main spots and surely the highlight is Fatima that has drawn millions of visitors Nazare is good as it offers us a chance to view the Atlantic Ocean at a vantage point Obidos is an interesting little town with old houses and churches and the walls in the town. It is good to have all those attractions at one go.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Richard P

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The trip was excellent, except for Fatima. That was just an over-commercialized place that commemorates an episode of mass hysteria that occured in 1917. I mean, really... scratch-and-win tickets for plastic virgin Mary idols. How ridiculous can you get ?

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

sjdeakins

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

We stayed outside of Lisbon, so we took the train to the city. The tour office did not get back to me regarding a pick-up near the train station, so we walked to the meet-up area. We were told to get there at 8:30 a.m. and couldn't find the coach pick-up area because the coaches don't get there till 9 a.m. Obidos, Nazare, and Batalha were all fabulous. Our guide, Anna, did a wonderful job - all in 3 languages. The locations were a bit quaint and unexpected when you were surprised by a grand structure in the middle of a little town. Our tour included the lunch option and we enjoyed eating at a restaurant close to the water, but the lunch was so long that we didn't have time to visit the beach. Then, we stopped at a souvenir shop for some reason and 15 minutes turned into 45 minutes - they should have hurried the people through if they said we must be prompt. We finally got to Fatima around 5 and for some reason they gave us until 6:15 to visit when the church isn't even open because of the renovations. By the time everyone was on the bus, we didn't get dropped off until 8:30 p.m. The day was far too long, then we had to scramble to get a train back to where we were staying. Either the schedule needs to be tightened or one stop should get dropped, it was just too long of a day.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

ondrizes

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Our trip to Spain did not include Fatima, so we did this with Viator. Only downside was going to a terminal to get our bus and had to wait quite some time out in the sun with no place to sit down. Great time to go late afternoon no crowd, so thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Doing what: Fátima and the Sanctuary Basilica Half Day Tour from Lisbon

scott s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour...I thought Fatima would be a lot more. Our Tour guide Luis was awesome. He really did a nice job reaching all of us on a one on one level. Nazare was a nice stop for lunch, no big waves on this visit. Obidos was neat however, it rained our whole hour there so we made the best of it and walked in the rain. This is a must do trip from Lisbon.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Phong T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This trip was more then we expected. Although our focus was Fatima, we were able to see more on the way and back. We stop at Nazare for the best meal we ever had. If we ever go back to Lisbon, we certainly will give a call.
PT

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Carol W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Beautiful towns, great overview of coastline villages. Fatima is amazing and so inspirational!

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Silvia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our day trip to Fatima, Nazare and Obidos was unforgettable. Not only did we have perfect weather but also a very approachable, friendly, and knowledgeable guide, Joana. She took our small group of 6 adults to the sites and provided key highlights and allowed plenty of free time. She truly wanted to assure that we had a trip!

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Sandra S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Very nice tour. Fatima was not long enough. to much to see in hour. tour director very good.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

joni j

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Since this as a pack day. The tour just give a taste of everything. Jose our guide was very calm and informative. Don't expect something fancy as this tour is for monasteries. With Fatima Ada highlight really appreciate that we can attend the mass right on time..

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

Kathleen A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Very disappointed with size of group. All reviews led me to believe only 6 to 8 in a small group and we were a large bus completly filled. Also tour guide had to do talk in 3 languages Portugese, Spanish and English which limited narration. I expected an English only group. Di not appreciated having time taken away from spending more time at each site to go to a large commercial souvenir shop just before going to Fatima. Tour guide was very inattentive and her English was poor. Lunch was excellent.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

pierrehsing

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

It is a tour that let visitors see the famed sanctuary. It offers a chacne to see the last resting places of the three shepherds who witnessed a miracle in 1917. It remains a mystery why two boys aged 9 and 10 ? died so prematurely while Fatima lived to be 95 in 2005. It is a good visit for those have faith in God and non Christians to witness the miracle of the Maker.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

pierrehsing

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

It is a tour that let visitors see the famed sanctuary. It offers a chacne to see the last resting places of the three shepherds who witnessed a miracle in 1917. It remains a mystery why two boys aged 9 and 10 ? died so prematurely while Fatima lived to be 95 in 2005. It is a good visit for those have faith in God and non Christians to witness the miracle of the Maker.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

GI Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had the best ever fish meal in Nazare - fantastic.
Loved the old village of Obidos with all its old buildings, shops and beautiful views.
Fatima was interesting but not what I had expected. a bit sterile and without feeling.
Good tour through the countryside, loved it.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

David P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

In addition to the places in the title, there was also a stop at the monastery in Alcobaça. The total excursion was great, but it was a very long day. I think one fewer stops would have been better. Also, the Fatima stop, which was the reason that we signed up, was just a drop off and pick up later. A bit of a guided walk there would be a plus. But overall, it was a very good excursion.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

childe7

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

A great trip. Excellent guide. Isabel. Obidos should not be missed. Great lunch in Nazare. Not enough time left for visit to Fatima. Maybe those wishing to spend more time at the shrine should consider a stand alone tour to Fatima.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

Agnes L

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Good tour to see all those place. For us Fatima was not so interesting even though we stayed quite a while. We would have prefered more time in Nazare. Lunch was good

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

Carl USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Seeing Fatima, Nazare, and the monastery were very interesting and scenic. Obidos was much to touristy. We could hardly follow the guide due to the crowds. We would have liked more explanation about the appearances and subsequent events surrounding Fatima.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Maria G

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Pick up was very confusing. Got email that we were going to be picked up @ our hotel. Argued with hotel staff but they kept telling us we need to go to the other hotel for pick up. If we had not listened we would've been left behind. Anna was amazing with 4 laguages, lunch was ok. More time @ Fatima would've been nice. Did not visit the home of the 3 visionaries as was indicated in the tour description.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

di

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was great. Tour Guide was exceptional with the local knowledge of the Fatima story. Extremely enjoyable.

Doing what: Private Tour: Fatima Sightseeing

D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I highly recommend this tour. I was disappointed with Fatima because of the commercialization. I wonder what God thinks? Obidos made up for the disappointment at Fatima. I didn't get a chance to go into any shops because I was fascinated with the village itself. I wish we had more time to see and experience Obidos. Nazare was ok, but again not enough time to really experience it. By the time I finished lunch, I only had 15 minutes before we had to leave. Andy/Andre had the challenge of fitting the time with the character and desires of his tour group. He did very well. Thank you.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Danny New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Had a very good tour, our guide Franscisco was excellent, however Fatima as a pilgrimage tour is not enough time, you just get an hour there, we have traveled a long distance and hoped to spend a little more time here.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Sunny Y

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

I was picked up from a designated hotel 20 minutes' walk from my accommodation and then transferred to a big car park for 'check in'. There must have been over 100 people all waiting to be sorted into the various tours. It was 50 minutes before those doing this particular day trip were put on a tour bus. The girl doing the check-in was not exactly friendly, neither was the tour guide named Anna. Instead of returning at about 7 pm, we did not get back until after 9 pm. The worst was that myself and another lady picked up at the hotel in the morning were just dropped off somewhere in central Lisbon trip description stated pick up and drop off at hotel , and when I told the tour guide that I did not know how to get back, she just said bluntly 'You just have to get a taxi'. No help was offered, not even which direction to go nor the easiest place to get a taxi. It took me over an hour to find my way back. Also, a whole hour was allocated to the visit to the big souvenir shop in Fatima obviously for the commission on purchases to be gained by the tour operator. Lunch took so long that there was no time left to look around, and unless you are Catholic and wish to attend the mass, there was hardly anything else to do at Fatima basilica was closed for renovation. This tour is very badly organised, the staff including the tour guide not really pleasant and helpful. I therefore went to the tourist office for the tour to Sintra and other places. Cooltour was recommended as one of the two best local operators. My experience with Cooltour was very satisfactory. I travel a lot each year had used Viator quite a few times before, and had found your tours satisfactory. I had even recommended Viator to family and friends. This one in Lisbon was so bad that I wonder if I would use Viator again.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

Donald M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

loved this tour with a super tour guide. exception was Fatima which to us as Catholics from the US was a huge disappointment....probably the most disappointing thing we've seen in all our years of travelling. It reminded us of the song where they cut down all the trees and put in a parking lot Surely some thought could have gone into the the aesthetics of such a holy place.
Had a great lunch where we chose our fish and it was then prepared for us to enjoy. great family
restaurant with good and friendly service. would have liked to have had more time to spend in Obidos....and after we got to Fatima we wished that even more.
would recommend this tour with the caveat that Fatima is not what you expect

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message