Lisbon ATTRACTIONS See all

Monastery of St Jerome (Mosteiro dos Jeronimos)

Vasco da Gama's discovery of a sea route to India inspired the glorious Monastery of St. Jerome or Mosteiro dos Jerónimos, a UNESCO World Heritage site with an architectural exuberance that trumpets 'navigational triumph.' Work began around ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

frew.crew
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Our tour got off to a bit of a rocky start as we had to drive to Cascais to pick up two members of the tour and we picked up the wrong people. We were taken on a bit of a tour of Cascais, which was unnecessary for us as we were heading there the next day. It was discovered that we had the wrong people and had to take them to where they needed to go and then go pick up the couple who should have been picked up an hour earlier. An hour and a half after we were originally picked up, our tour began. Our guide was apologetic. He was also knowledgeable and interested in giving us a balanced view of life in Portugal. He was a bit jaded in his views making a decent living has not been easy for him. I appreciated his candor. The tour itself was pretty thorough although we could not get into the monastery as there was a wedding going on and perhaps due to our delayed start. In any case, this mishap is not likely to happen and the Tower of Belem and the tile museum were highlights.

Doing what: Lisbon in One Day Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommend this tour. Our guide Andrea was wonderful, extremely knowledgeable on the country's history and a very pleasant person to spend the day with. In a single day you hit most of the main attractions, Belem Tower, Jeronimos Monastery, St. George castle, etc. Plus you eat at a wonderful non-touristy restaurant for lunch.

Doing what: Lisbon in One Day Small-Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This card was handy. Access to all buses, trams and trains for the duration. Also access to the Belem Tower and the Monastery of St. Jerome

Doing what: Lisbon City Card

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This was a good introduction as i had only just landed in lisbon in the morning having not been to lisbon before.As mentioned before if you go on a monday then the monastery and coach museum will be closed but i was happy enough to see the Palácio Nacional da Ajuda a real gem then we went around the other main sights.We were a real small group and the guide was very nice and extremely knowlegeable.

Doing what: Lisbon City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This was a good introduction as i had only just landed in lisbon in the morning having not been to lisbon before.As mentioned before if you go on a monday then the monastery and coach museum will be closed but i was happy enough to see the Palácio Nacional da Ajuda a real gem then we went around the other main sights.We were a real small group and the guide was very nice and extremely knowlegeable.

Doing what: Lisbon City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This was a good introduction as i had only just landed in lisbon in the morning having not been to lisbon before.As mentioned before if you go on a monday then the monastery and coach museum will be closed but i was happy enough to see the Palácio Nacional da Ajuda a real gem then we went around the other main sights.We were a real small group and the guide was very nice and extremely knowlegeable.

Doing what: Lisbon City Sightseeing Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour was great. I loved Belem tower and Jerónimos Monastery and the guide gave me a lot of tips on Lisbon. High recommend

Doing what: Lisbon City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We did this tour on two days.visited all the important spots,tram car tour was a good experience.belem,discovery monument,jeronimos monastery,all were very good.the ajuda palace was closed on Tuesday,we did not know that so missed it.botanical garden was good.overall a good tour,must for tourists coming for the first time,one can have the complete tour of all the important sites in Lisbon.views from castelo Sao Jorge were very nice.saw the Santa justa elevator.

Doing what: Best Lisbon Super Saver: Lisbon Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Four Routes including Tram

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message