• USD ($)
  • English

Lisbon ATTRACTIONS See all

Palácio Nacional de Sintra (National Palace of Sintra)

Sintra lies in hilly country close to Lisbon and is considered such an extraordinary town that the whole place is UNESCO World Heritage listed. As one of the most popular day trips from the Portuguese capital, Sintra has a cluster of beguiling ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 215 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting. Most of all I liked Sintra.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Beautiful places!!!!!!! Cascais is amazing, there is a wonderful view on the way there. Sintra is a cute little town. Very recommended.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent guide, Andre. Sintra and Pena Palace were beautiful. To see the most southern point of Portugal was exciting. Enough free time to explore on our own was nice

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

AMAZING trip. Martino was our guide and we adored him. He was so knowledgeable and helpful. Sintra and Cascais was just one highlight after the next. I feel it gave a great overview of both places, so if you are pressed for time this is the way to see tons in a shorter time period. Saying that, I think the tour should be three days. My friend and I went back to Sintra on our own, very doable from Lisbon and super cheap. But it would have been great having a full day in Sintra, allowing more time to explore the historic district and see Quinta Da Regaleira, which was straight out of a fairytale. Fatima, Nazare and Obidos was also a wonderful day out. I think an hour was too long to spend in Fatima, I understand it is an important religious destination but maximum 45 minutes is needed. The gift shop stop was too long as well, great for people to pick up souvenirs but it just made the stop a lengthy one when I would have preferred more time elsewhere. Nazare was the lunch stop, and restaurants were slow making everyone in the group late for the pick up. Would be good if restaurants could be recommended for taste as well as efficiency as we were annoyed a food stop took so long when there was so much to see. Need far more time in Obidos, could have easily spent the entire afternoon there or at least an hour. Having 40 minutes was a joke really especially if you want to walk along the wall, which I would highly recommend as it is like stepping back in time and such an exhilarating feeling with no rails. Since Obidos is very difficult to get back to on your own I think it would be very nice to have had more leisure time, and also to purchase souvenirs and ginginja, which is absolutely divine!

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour/guide. Gus knew everything, excellent English, great friendly personality,safe driver Gave us good recommendation for lunch in Sintra. We were only 8 which made the trip even better. This was our first experience w/ Viatour and it won't be our last!!! Definitely worth the $$$.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Joseph R
Switzerland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Beautiful and very interesting trip. When you first see Sintra and surrounding forest, you really cannot believe it's size, architectural beauty and historical significance. Lunch there was also a highlight. A must do.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Three excellent and contrasting palaces with a first commentary from our guide. Need to be fairly active - there is quite a hill at the Pena Palace and 50 steps at the Sintra palace.

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was an awesome tour! André showed us places, we wouldn't have seen by ourselves, and gave us lots of information and also free time to discover by ourselves. The palace in Sintra and Cabo de Roca were my favorite places on my whole Portugal tour, so do it!!!! But make sure you bring sportshoes and long clothes, it is really windy and cold at the most western point, and also in the parc of the castle, it is cold!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Went on this tour on 1st May 2014 and I must say - it was absolutely great, travelling in a small group is so much better. The tour guide, Augustus, was so friendly and helpful. This is definitely a tour that's "a must" if visiting Lisbon. Sintra is certainly a place that you just have to visit.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Tour guide very knowledgeable and had very pleasant personality. Appreciated hotel pickup. Very pleased to see charming town on Sintra and found most enjoyable restaurants and shops. Saw three major castles in lisbon area so felt satisfied that we were able to see something outside of the city. Highly recommend !!

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent tour. Nina and Marta were amazing tour guides. Maximum 8 people in the tour group. I felt we had enough time in each of the stops. Sintra is a must see place if you visit Portugal!

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I loved Sintra Palace, so beautiful. Tho journey from Lisbon was nice and our guide gave us a lot of information during the way. Cascais Bay and Cabo da Roca’s views are amazing. Really recommended

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour was nice. Sintra Palace was great place and also we have enough free time to visit the town. Recommend

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Beautiful castles ,especially Sintra , and excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message