Lisbon ATTRACTIONS See all

Palácio Nacional de Sintra (National Palace of Sintra)

Sintra lies in hilly country close to Lisbon and is considered such an extraordinary town that the whole place is UNESCO World Heritage listed. As one of the most popular day trips from the Portuguese capital, Sintra has a cluster of beguiling ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 380 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

S Nagy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Despite a rainy and cold start off in the morning, the tour was wonderful and our lovely tour guide Catarina made it so much fun. She was very informative with lots of funny stories and plenty of advice on what to do and what culinary delights to sample. Since it was a fairly small group, the tour was more interactive. We were given plenty of free time to explore. We visited Pena Palace in Sintra, a few other sights from the car and the wonderful Quita da Regaliera. In the afternoon we continued our journey to Cabo da Roca and all the way to Cascais, where we had some free time to walk around and have something to eat. I highly recommend this tour, even in the winter it is well worth it. After all, it's Lisbon, and the sun comes out even on a rainy day :

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

ancient-heart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I truly enjoyed the tour. We were a very small group, so Ana, the knowledgeable and extremely friendly tour guide was able to provide us with a lot of information on the history, legends or sometimes myths about Sintra and Cascais. Ana was brilliant at codeswitching between English and French. We stopped at the Queijadas de Sintra to buy some must-try delicious pastries. The trip to Cascais was just a bit of a rush as we stopped for a mere 10 minutes to marvel at Boca do Inferno Hell's Mouth and take some photographs, however we understood that we had lost some time in Sintra due to the foggy weather. We were back in Lisboa on time as scheduled and in fact the kind driver, Martin dropped us off near our hotel as it was on his way. Overall, it was a memorable experience to Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais. Thank you Ana and Martin!

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Daina Eve O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a great tour, and I am really glad I chose the one I did. We got to see Sintra's Pena Palace and some of the giant park that surrounds it, we got to see some of Sintra, Cascas, Cabo da Roca, and some more photo-opp stops along the way. Our guide, Joao, was very nice and knew a lot and was great at telling us information in an interesting way.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Darrell V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We are a family of four. Martin was our driver/guide. We had a wonderful day. The sites were fantastic especially the Palace. Martin provided a extensive summary of the history and importance of areas as we drove to Sintra. He gave a 600 or 700 year history of the Palace. We would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Yifei s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Only half an hour from central lisbon, and it doesn't start extremely early in the morning, so not a challenge at all even for the winter time. The Sintra tour is definitely well worth your time, those colorful palaces feel so different from lisbon city, and the view from up high is magnificent. I was so surprised how many spots we hit in 8 hours, and we don't even need to hurry from one place to another, the tour itself is not exhausting at all.
Since we are only in a small group of 8 people, our tour guide can interact with each of us very well, answer to individual's questions. I've learned so much about life of portuguese people, and all those boring history trivia became to vivid when our guide explained to us with stories. High Recommended, if you got some free time in lisbon, don't miss out.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

chalmers.martin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic tour made better by the services of our tour guide Joao Costa. A very friendly, knowledgeable guide who made sure we missed none of the sights on the tour, even stopping to show us things not included on the trip. Sintra is a magical place and the palace is a must not miss experience. Joao made sure the trip went smoothly and did all he could to ensure our enjoyment of the experience.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Elizabeth P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Thank you Augustus for an incredible day in Sintra, Copa da Roca and Cascais! Tour was small and intimate, we learned a ton, got some good exercise and and #34;Gus and #34; is/was so approachable and kind. We enjoyed chatting with him about numerous Portugal cultural, historical and culinary topics too. Recommend!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Keith H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Sintra was one of the highlights of our Lisbon vacation. Pena Palace is amazing, and the town is quaint and lovely. This was an excellent tour! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

Stephen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were extremely pleased with our tour to Sintra and Cascais on November 4, 2015. Joao Corta was knowledgeable, conversant, and very pleasant. We would highly recommend this tour and viator after our experience with the tour guide whom we enjoyed very much.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

karenina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

had a great time! the guide was very friendly and gave us a lot of info while on the way to the palaces. Delivered us safely to our lunch spot in Sintra, which was delish by the way, and at the end, took a nice walk back down the road, all the while telling us about the different trees/plants brought to Sintra by the king. Really wonderful tour, time to walk on your own after each palace and very friendly guide/driver! Recommend highly!

Doing what: Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Queluz Palace, Pena Palace and Pena Park

Emilie N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is one of the best place to visit in lisbon one day trip full of great places to see and our guide gave us lot of information the only issue it was raining too much and it needed more time.
Dont miss this trip to Sintra

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Stanley T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide Louis was very knowledgeable. He gave us excellent information about the history of Sintra, Cascais, and Cabo De Rocha. We never felt rushed. All in all it was a most enjoyable day

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Theodore T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wow-great tour and guide--Katherina ! We had a great 8 hour tour--of Sintra and Casias.

She knew--everything--about both places and everything in-between. Good pacing, adjusting to the

rain, etc. Loved the stops to shop and eat lunch.

I highly recommend this tour-- Ted and Susan

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Kahekili United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Joao Lisbon born and raised was funny, sarcastic, and a very informative guide. The tour covers everything in the description to the T. The tour does literally last all day, with a lot of driving between stops. There will be some steep hills to climb, so wear comfortable shoes. Get a good nights rest, otherwise you my fall asleep on the drives. Highly recommend this tour! FYI - the temperature was about 70F in Lisbon, but in Sintra it was probably in the mid to upper 50's. Bring a jacket, the wind and shade of the Forrest will have you shivering without it.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Manuel M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The 2-day tour to Sintra, Cascais, Obidos, Nazaré and Fatima was everything I expected and more. The operator, Inside Lisbon, was punctual, friendly, informative and very attentive to all the participants. If I return to Lisbon, I will want to have the same company for my tours.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

DIANNA M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was so much more than expected. Our tour guide was a history graduate, so had lots of great info to share. He also took us to other areas that we don't think were part of the original tour, but were very enjoyable and we appreciated his passion and excitement to give us an outstanding tour.
You can't miss the Castle at Sintra....but a word of warning.......lots of hill-walking to get there....so wear very comfortable walking shoes! This maybe should be noted on the tour?
Great tour, great guide......lots of beauty in Sintra. Cascais.....is very much a touristy area, but very nice nonetheless. Take this tour......it won't disappoint!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Wilzon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

this is my second trip to sintra...definitely this is better than the first one

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

OMAR O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excelente Tour, nuestro guia Juan estuvo excelente, eramos 7 personas y los lugares que visitamos todos valen mucho la pena, en especial el Palacio de Sintra y Cabo Roca. Si tienes 1 dia libre en Lisboa no dudes en tomar este tour, no te arrepentirás! Felicidades a Juan, excelente guia!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Charles P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We really enjoyed the trip to Sintra. The palace is beautiful, and it was only a short trip from Lisbon. We really enjoyed our guide. I would recommend that Sintra be included in everyone's trip to Lisbon!

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

susan g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

wonderful day trip to beautiful Sintra to see The Pena Palace and gardens. The guide Andre was charming and knowledgeable. Drove in an air-conditioned mini van to Sintra and also to beautiful beach towns. Only 6 guests on tour.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Ross USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a great way to see all three palaces. It took it on Sep. 3. We didn't feel rushed. I opted not to do the lunch, so I had plenty of time to walk around Sintra. Our guide, who spoke three languages, was very informative.

The Queluz Palace looks like a small version of Versailles. The Sintra Palace, which dates from medieval times, has quite a blend of architectural styles the 2 large cones are actually the kitchen vents. The Pena Palace has almost a fairy tale look. From one section of the Pena Palace, you can see the ruins of the Moorish castle which overlooks the town. You might want to bring a light jacket. It was quite windy at the Pena Palace.

Doing what: Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Queluz Palace, Pena Palace and Pena Park

saad.choudhury007

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful pictures places packed with history. The tour operator Inside Lisbon and the knowledgeable guide with the comfortable car was perfect combination. Take warm cloth for Sintra as well as extra cloth if you would like to get wet in the sea in Cascais. You get 1hr in Cascais. The places are around 30min by train but taking this tour helps you getting all the highlights so that you may plan your own trip later.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Hang N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We were lucky to have Andrea is our tour guide. She is very knowledgeable, professional and sweet. Sintra was awesome. The architecture was super. We'd highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Derek K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Took this all-day small-group tour to Sintra and Cascais. You meet in front of the Hard Rock Café which is the central meeting/starting point for all the small-group tours operated by Inside Lisbon Travel Agency. So you wait there and the vans arrive and the driver calls out your name amongst the crowd, so you know which driver will be handling your tour group. The driver is the tour guide in this case and our group was only 8 people, which is great. Sintra is a beautiful city, and the Pena Palace is a castle up on the hill. Full of history, with a location that is hard to beat ocean views. You can take the small shuttle that takes you from the parking entrance to the Pena Palace entrance for 3 euros r/t, or walk up the hills about 15 minutes. Our guide was very informative on the Palace. We then went to Cabo de Roca which is the western most point of Europe, great views, photo opportunities galore. Then driving along the coast past Guincho Beach, along the Estoril, and Cascais. Cascais is a pretty cool beach town, not a lot of nice beaches though, mainly rocky with some small outcroppings of sand everyone is packed onto whatever sand they can find. We had some free time in Cascais for eating, shopping, hanging at the beach, or whatever you wanted to do. Then back to Lisbon. Our guide made the trip enjoyable along with several of our traveling companions. Overall, a great trip to the coast for the day. Would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

vyahni/Dani Turkey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I totally enjoyed this tour and the stops we made besides Sintra and would definitely like to go back at my own pace the next time. The only thing I did not enjoy was the lunch! The venue and food was not up to par so best to book this trip with lunch excluded... Our guide Diana was excellent, very friendly and informative.

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message