Lisbon ATTRACTIONS See all

Palácio Nacional de Sintra (National Palace of Sintra)

Sintra lies in hilly country close to Lisbon and is considered such an extraordinary town that the whole place is UNESCO World Heritage listed. As one of the most popular day trips from the Portuguese capital, Sintra has a cluster of beguiling ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 224 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great day with guide Diago. The trip was not too rushed with plenty of time to see all the sights. A bit of hard walking at the Palace but it was worth it. Sintra is a good place just to sit with a coffee and watch the world go by.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Sintra is terrific, and so is this tour! Fernando was a terrific guide with great knowledge and a great sense of humor. The three palaces were very beautiful and this was a great way to see and learn about them. We did lunch on our own, and would recommend that so you can explore Sintra a bit.

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide Tiago picked us up from the Restauradores square in the morning. Although we visited in early July when bright sunshine is expected, on the day of the trip it was pouring. On our way to Sintra, there was pretty thick fog. But Tiago was very friendly and entertaining. He drove to Sintra where we visited the palace. Although we could not fully appreciate the beauty of the place due to thick fog and rain, Tiago did not let us get disappointed. By the time we climbed down, the sun had begun appearing. Tiago gave us tips about the restaurants for lunch (especially where we could find the famous pastries). The next stop was Capo Roca. This was the highlight of the tour. The weather had fully cleared up leading to fantastic views across the Atlantic. It was a surprise trip I had planned for my wife's birthday and she thoroughly enjoyed the trip (that's all that matters at the end ;) ) I would highly recommend the trip!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to the lovely towns of Sintra and Cascais with Joao as our Tour Guide who was very knowledgeable and informative. Would highly recommend this trip to other visitors :)

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a very well done trip and our guide did a great job.

and yes I would go back and tell my friends to go to Sintra and Cascais on a one day trip

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was really great! I recommend this trip to Sintra and Cascais to everyone. The guide was great and knew the area very well! I made 2 news friends on this trip. So it was a great day!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I had a great time during my Private Tour in Lisbon and Sintra. Hugo was a very good company and very professional, he took me to wonderful places to see, we had lunch in a beautiful place by the sea and the weather was perfect. It is worth taking the car to get to see these amazing places since there is hardly any other possibility to reach them.

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting. Most of all I liked Sintra.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Beautiful places!!!!!!! Cascais is amazing, there is a wonderful view on the way there. Sintra is a cute little town. Very recommended.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent guide, Andre. Sintra and Pena Palace were beautiful. To see the most southern point of Portugal was exciting. Enough free time to explore on our own was nice

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

AMAZING trip. Martino was our guide and we adored him. He was so knowledgeable and helpful. Sintra and Cascais was just one highlight after the next. I feel it gave a great overview of both places, so if you are pressed for time this is the way to see tons in a shorter time period. Saying that, I think the tour should be three days. My friend and I went back to Sintra on our own, very doable from Lisbon and super cheap. But it would have been great having a full day in Sintra, allowing more time to explore the historic district and see Quinta Da Regaleira, which was straight out of a fairytale. Fatima, Nazare and Obidos was also a wonderful day out. I think an hour was too long to spend in Fatima, I understand it is an important religious destination but maximum 45 minutes is needed. The gift shop stop was too long as well, great for people to pick up souvenirs but it just made the stop a lengthy one when I would have preferred more time elsewhere. Nazare was the lunch stop, and restaurants were slow making everyone in the group late for the pick up. Would be good if restaurants could be recommended for taste as well as efficiency as we were annoyed a food stop took so long when there was so much to see. Need far more time in Obidos, could have easily spent the entire afternoon there or at least an hour. Having 40 minutes was a joke really especially if you want to walk along the wall, which I would highly recommend as it is like stepping back in time and such an exhilarating feeling with no rails. Since Obidos is very difficult to get back to on your own I think it would be very nice to have had more leisure time, and also to purchase souvenirs and ginginja, which is absolutely divine!

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour/guide. Gus knew everything, excellent English, great friendly personality,safe driver Gave us good recommendation for lunch in Sintra. We were only 8 which made the trip even better. This was our first experience w/ Viatour and it won't be our last!!! Definitely worth the $$$.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Joseph R
Switzerland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Beautiful and very interesting trip. When you first see Sintra and surrounding forest, you really cannot believe it's size, architectural beauty and historical significance. Lunch there was also a highlight. A must do.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Three excellent and contrasting palaces with a first commentary from our guide. Need to be fairly active - there is quite a hill at the Pena Palace and 50 steps at the Sintra palace.

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message