Lisbon ATTRACTIONS See all

Palácio Nacional de Sintra (National Palace of Sintra)

Sintra lies in hilly country close to Lisbon and is considered such an extraordinary town that the whole place is UNESCO World Heritage listed. As one of the most popular day trips from the Portuguese capital, Sintra has a cluster of beguiling ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 329 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I think this was one of my top 3 tours in Lisbon. Sintra is beautiful and could be on the cool side so please take a jacket or sweater. Nice castle and grounds. The little town is charming and has good places to eat and shop. Great tour guide too. Then you go to Cascais where you can see the beach. The whole trip is very informative and the scenery is great!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We absolutely loved our tour and our guide Luis. We did the full-day tour and we were picked up right outside our flat rental in Lisboa. We started in Sintra and then drove along the coast to Cascais and Belém. Luis made sure we understood where we were going and always asked if there was something else we preferred to see instead. We trusted his recommendations and we weren't disappointed! We had a choice of places to have lunch, we opted for the traditional Portuguese style restaurant and it was delicious! We ended the tour with some porto wine and pasteis de Belém yum! in the park near the Torre de Belém. I would highly recommend this tour, especially if it's your first time to Lisboa.

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour trip to Sintra was excellent. Our guide, Anna, spoke very good English and easy to understand. I was amazed how well she could go back and forth between English and French, for the other visitors on our tour. The Pena Palace, the last one we visited was just spectacular. I felt the palaces just kept getting better. Our lunch was delicious. The place we ate had a wonderful atmosphere and the waiter was friendly and fun. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I had really wanted to visit both Sintra and Cascais on my recent family vacation to Lisbon with my husband and our two young sons. After a little research, I decided this would be the best way to see both places in one day. It was a great decision. We were a small group of 6 and we traveled in a comfortable, air-conditioned minivan. Our tour guide was a lovely young lady named Catarina. She was very warm and wonderful to my two boys. She was very knowledgeable about the sights and made the day feel as if we were spending it with a friend not a tour guide. We visited Pena Palace and had free time to visit other sights afterwards. We decided to relax and have Sintra specialties at the famous Café a Piriquita, namely queijadas and travesseiros. Then we had a brief stop at Cabo da Roca, which is the westernmost point of continental Europe. The tour ended with a longer stop at Cascais to enjoy the beach, followed by a drive along the Estoril coast. We really enjoyed our whole day and would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting Portugal.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Io ed il mio ragazzo abbiamo fatto il tour di una giornata a Sintra, Cabo da Roca e Cascais il 10.07.2015:

- Ho prenotato e pagato il tour online direttamente dal sito Viator.
- Il punto di ritrovo era Praça dos Restauradores, proprio di fronte all'Hard Rock Café.
- Ottima esperienza: pulmini da 8 persone, con aria condizionata.
La nostra guida era Fred, molto simpatico, disponibile e preparato.

- Consiglio vivamente questo tour!
Ps. Il tour era in lingua inglese.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a wonderful tour not to long and not too short. Only 6 people on the tour. The guide was was informative and interesting. The sights were gorgeous. Sintra is beautiful and a must-see. The motor coach to the Sintra and around Sintra was new, clean and has great AC.

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommend. Sintra is beautiful and should be seen. Our guide Fred was fantastic, very knowledgeable and funny. The town of Cascais is lovely and Cabo da Roca Europe's westernmost point is spectacular.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Sintra attracts a lot of tourists, but it remains very pleasant and interesting to discover. Being in a small group, with a professional guide, was decidedly a plus. We enjoyed the drive along the Atlantic coast, including the stop at Cabo da Roca, the western-most point of continental Europe.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Really enjoyed this tour with our friendly and knowledgeable tour guide.
Sintra was beautiful and then we went to the most western part of Portugal over the Atlantic.
Cascais was sooo beautiful that I wished I stayed overnight there so that I could spend more time.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantastic tour! My tour guide for the day was Nuno, and he was very friendly and knowledgeable. It was nice having a small group because we were really able to ask lots of questions and have a more personalized experience. Pena Palace, Sintra, Cabo da Roca, and Cascais were all beautiful, and having such a knowledgeable guide helped us all appreciate what we were seeing all the more. I would highly recommend this tour if you will be in Lisbon for 3 or more days. It was the highlight of my stay! Thank you Nuno!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a good day out with a relaxed, informative guide and enough time to see the places advertised. Sinatra is well worth visiting as a day trip from Lisbon - the Pena Palace is very impressive with stunning views. The trip provides free time in Sintra too, and enough time to tour the National Palace independently, if you do wish.
The other stops are worthwhile and generally this is good value and an enjoyable day out.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Convenient pickup location. Relaxing day visiting Sintra and cascais. Nice views and the tour guide Pedro is very knowledgeable of history and geography. Definitely would recommend this tour to anyone that is looking to visit Sintra!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great tour!! Our guide, Nadia was one of the best we have ever had. She was extremely pleasant and knowledgable. Sintra and Caiscais are both wonderful!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

You must take this tour! It was fantastic. Rita our guide was extremely knowledgeable and made it extra fun. The sites were amazing and I felt like I learned a great deal about Sintra and Cascais. Everything about this tour was perfect. This tour will not disappoint you. I would do it again!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour! Our guide was quite eloquent in several languages she kept all informed in English, German, French and Portuguese! The tour of the palace was excellent, would have liked a little more time in Sintra, if possible. All-in-all - highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Coast Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour guide. Went in a small bus of 8 plus the guide. Sintra is beautiful!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our day one trip to Sintra from Lisbon was fantastic. Pena palace is worth visiting. Cascais Bay and Cabo da Rocas views are amazing!! Lisbon visit will be incomplete without Sintra.
Our heartfelt thanks to our tour guide Fred who made the entire Day trip to Sintra a worth one, he arrived on time at the meeting point, speaks very good English, very knowledgeable, informative and kind to everyone. Throughout the journey he gave us lot of extra information. The food at the restaurant for Lunch, sweets and Gelatos Fred suggested were mouthwatering and we enjoyed a lot. Thanks Fred for making Sintra trip a wonderful and memorable one and thanks for taking some nice pictures of me. Excellent trip !! It was a great tour and highly recommend it.
The 2nd trip to Fatima, Nazare and Obidos was ok, the trip didnt start on time and couldnt see much in Fatima due to ongoing mass, but Obidos was really good and we had plenty of free time to walk around. Our guide Martin was quite informative but in the bus we could hardly hear him although he was using the microphone.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide was very good. Visiting Pena Palace was better than seeing Sintra. The lunch in Sintra was really good and there was the bonus of eating in an air conditioned hotel in peace.

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I loved this tour! Nice to see the country side - Sintra is a picturesque and quaint old town with good food. The Pena Castle was amazing. Then we went to Cascais and spent some time by the beach. Lastly we stopped at Cabo da Roca which has stunning view. The tour guide was also very knowledgeable!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Tradester
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our day trip to Sintra and the Pena Palace was excellent. The palace was beautiful and worth the trip. The return drive down the coast was breathtaking. Our guide was very informative.
Our only grip was that we were to confirm the trip reservation three days in advance. Our emails went unanswered and the phone went unanswered until the day before the trip. I didn't like that I had to spend so much of our valuable holiday time trying to confirm the reservation and we also needed to find out what time we were to be picked up at our hotel.

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

Steven G
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Outstanding tour with an exceptional tour guide Francisco! The Penna Palace Summer palace of the last kings of Portugal was amazing and the drive seemed short due to Francesco's review of the area and it's history. The views from the Palace were amazing with a Moorish Castle and 3 other palaces in the distance. Being 1700 meters elevation, Lisbon was viewed in the distance. We had lunch in beautiful Sintra after walking around the town. Casais is a beach front resort where we had a free hour to walk along the streets. Francisco answered all questions completely and was extremely knowledgeable of all of the sites that we visited. This tour is highly recommended and having Francisco as a guide would be a bonus!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved this tour, it took in so many different sights, the guide was really sweet and knowledgable and it felt like we'd seen a huge part of the area around Lisbon without ever feeling rushed. The small group was ideal and the sights spectacular. We're already planning to go back to Sintra and Cascais for longer

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was the highlight of our 4 day stay in Lisbon. If you're lucky enough to have Katirina as your guide, you will learn a lot about Sintra, Cascais and all of Portugal while spending the day with a lovely young Portuguese lady.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great. It felt like we were led around the city by a friend. Sintra was beautiful and the drive along the coast was impressive. The day we went on our tour it was a little cold. Fortunately our driver packed a blanket it and it made the weather more tolerable. Overall a great tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message