Lisbon ATTRACTIONS See all

Palácio Nacional de Sintra (National Palace of Sintra)

Sintra lies in hilly country close to Lisbon and is considered such an extraordinary town that the whole place is UNESCO World Heritage listed. As one of the most popular day trips from the Portuguese capital, Sintra has a cluster of beguiling ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 311 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantastic tour! My tour guide for the day was Nuno, and he was very friendly and knowledgeable. It was nice having a small group because we were really able to ask lots of questions and have a more personalized experience. Pena Palace, Sintra, Cabo da Roca, and Cascais were all beautiful, and having such a knowledgeable guide helped us all appreciate what we were seeing all the more. I would highly recommend this tour if you will be in Lisbon for 3 or more days. It was the highlight of my stay! Thank you Nuno!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a good day out with a relaxed, informative guide and enough time to see the places advertised. Sinatra is well worth visiting as a day trip from Lisbon - the Pena Palace is very impressive with stunning views. The trip provides free time in Sintra too, and enough time to tour the National Palace independently, if you do wish.
The other stops are worthwhile and generally this is good value and an enjoyable day out.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Convenient pickup location. Relaxing day visiting Sintra and cascais. Nice views and the tour guide Pedro is very knowledgeable of history and geography. Definitely would recommend this tour to anyone that is looking to visit Sintra!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great tour!! Our guide, Nadia was one of the best we have ever had. She was extremely pleasant and knowledgable. Sintra and Caiscais are both wonderful!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

You must take this tour! It was fantastic. Rita our guide was extremely knowledgeable and made it extra fun. The sites were amazing and I felt like I learned a great deal about Sintra and Cascais. Everything about this tour was perfect. This tour will not disappoint you. I would do it again!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour! Our guide was quite eloquent in several languages she kept all informed in English, German, French and Portuguese! The tour of the palace was excellent, would have liked a little more time in Sintra, if possible. All-in-all - highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Coast Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour guide. Went in a small bus of 8 plus the guide. Sintra is beautiful!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our day one trip to Sintra from Lisbon was fantastic. Pena palace is worth visiting. Cascais Bay and Cabo da Rocas views are amazing!! Lisbon visit will be incomplete without Sintra.
Our heartfelt thanks to our tour guide Fred who made the entire Day trip to Sintra a worth one, he arrived on time at the meeting point, speaks very good English, very knowledgeable, informative and kind to everyone. Throughout the journey he gave us lot of extra information. The food at the restaurant for Lunch, sweets and Gelatos Fred suggested were mouthwatering and we enjoyed a lot. Thanks Fred for making Sintra trip a wonderful and memorable one and thanks for taking some nice pictures of me. Excellent trip !! It was a great tour and highly recommend it.
The 2nd trip to Fatima, Nazare and Obidos was ok, the trip didnt start on time and couldnt see much in Fatima due to ongoing mass, but Obidos was really good and we had plenty of free time to walk around. Our guide Martin was quite informative but in the bus we could hardly hear him although he was using the microphone.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide was very good. Visiting Pena Palace was better than seeing Sintra. The lunch in Sintra was really good and there was the bonus of eating in an air conditioned hotel in peace.

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I loved this tour! Nice to see the country side - Sintra is a picturesque and quaint old town with good food. The Pena Castle was amazing. Then we went to Cascais and spent some time by the beach. Lastly we stopped at Cabo da Roca which has stunning view. The tour guide was also very knowledgeable!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Tradester
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our day trip to Sintra and the Pena Palace was excellent. The palace was beautiful and worth the trip. The return drive down the coast was breathtaking. Our guide was very informative.
Our only grip was that we were to confirm the trip reservation three days in advance. Our emails went unanswered and the phone went unanswered until the day before the trip. I didn't like that I had to spend so much of our valuable holiday time trying to confirm the reservation and we also needed to find out what time we were to be picked up at our hotel.

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

Steven G
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Outstanding tour with an exceptional tour guide Francisco! The Penna Palace Summer palace of the last kings of Portugal was amazing and the drive seemed short due to Francesco's review of the area and it's history. The views from the Palace were amazing with a Moorish Castle and 3 other palaces in the distance. Being 1700 meters elevation, Lisbon was viewed in the distance. We had lunch in beautiful Sintra after walking around the town. Casais is a beach front resort where we had a free hour to walk along the streets. Francisco answered all questions completely and was extremely knowledgeable of all of the sites that we visited. This tour is highly recommended and having Francisco as a guide would be a bonus!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved this tour, it took in so many different sights, the guide was really sweet and knowledgable and it felt like we'd seen a huge part of the area around Lisbon without ever feeling rushed. The small group was ideal and the sights spectacular. We're already planning to go back to Sintra and Cascais for longer

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was the highlight of our 4 day stay in Lisbon. If you're lucky enough to have Katirina as your guide, you will learn a lot about Sintra, Cascais and all of Portugal while spending the day with a lovely young Portuguese lady.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great. It felt like we were led around the city by a friend. Sintra was beautiful and the drive along the coast was impressive. The day we went on our tour it was a little cold. Fortunately our driver packed a blanket it and it made the weather more tolerable. Overall a great tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guides were excellent. They had a nice balance of Information and time to explore on your own. The group was small enough that you were not having to wait for laggers nor strain to hear the guide. The day we walked in Lisbon we went 5 hours and the tour guide was not flustered at all. This is a great way to see Lisbon, Sintra and the coast in a relatively short period of time.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Lisbon Walking Tour with Food and Wine Tastings, and Sintra and Cascais Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour, knowledgeble guide with great english trying to make everything as comfortable as possible for us. Learned a lot and saw beautiful castles, buildings and nature! I loved Sintra palace and the forest around it, and my only complaint is that we didn't get enough time in Sintra village

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Me and my friend have really enjoyed the trip to three royal palaces in the outskirts of Lisbon. We traveled in a mini bus all about 7 people. I could not imagine to be able to climb to Palace de Pena on my own, bus ride was great! Sintra palace was amazing, and Queluz has some repairs going on the facade, but impressive on the inside and barely any visitors! Tour started at 10 am and finished by 6 pm. We had option w/o lunch, buffet at Sintra was cheaper, but overall Sintra is popular, so you have so many options to get your food! I'd recommend this tour to everyone, just be prepared to lots of walking through splendid rooms and lots of visual impressions!

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Amazing tour with our guide Luis! Sintra is beautiful and the palace is really stunning. Cascais and Capo da Roca are also must-sees and this is definitely an easy and relaxing way to get around to see all of it!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a great tour! Our guide was Fred and a Portugese native who provided non stop commentary for the entire day. Sintra is stunning and a must see for anyone visiting Lisbon. Fred was fantastic! Thank you for a wonderful day.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide Tiago was very friendly and knowledgeable. The trip is charming and comfortable. There is some confusion about the walk uphill from the van parking to Pena National Palace: yes, you may walk together with guide but there is a shuttle bus available every 15 min for the addition fee EUR 3 per roundtrip.
The Roca Cape most western point in the Europe stop is very nice but don't forget some windbreaker.
The Cascais stop is a kind of useless, especially because it's during the hottest time of the day. Besides small shopping typical souvenirs, cold water, the best idea in my opinion is to spend this time 1 hr in the shadow outdoor cafeteria with the cold drink or/and coffee. The place is very quite and relaxing.
Hints:
1. the trip start at 9 am at Rock Cafe, which is open at 9 am only! Thus there is no reason to be too early. Vans arrive at 9:05 - 9:15 and guide will call your name.
2. avoid too much wine or beer in Sintra during the dinner because the drive is quite serpentine and you may have some headache, postpone drinking to Cascaise.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide, Pedro, was spectacular. We had a superb experience learning a lot about Portugal's Sintra region and Cascais. Not only did Pedro accompany us through the sites, but he gave us plenty of time to go through on our own afterwards. He gave us plenty of time for lunch in Sintra and time to wander through the various shops. BRAVO!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Both days were wonderful. Would have liked more time at Batalho monastery. Andre (Fatima) was knowledgeable and helpful. Katerina (Sintra) was amazing. Extremely knowledgeable and had many interesting stories. She was also very accommodating. We visited the Quinta Da Regaleire Gardens on our own.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fascinating tour of Sintra, great and knowledgeable Guide and wonderful lunch. Very good value for money !

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wish we had more time to spend in Obidos and Sintra. But all in all a well organized tour.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message