Lisbon ATTRACTIONS See all

Pena National Palace

Technically, UNESCO considers the entire cultural landscape of Sintra the World Heritage Site here, but the crown jewel is the royal Pena National Palace. Considered the greatest example of 19th-century Romanticism in the world, the palace sprawls ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 987 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

the tour was fabulous... the tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable about the history and area. I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Lisbon.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I love Sintra, very beautiful! Definitely should try walking through the park to the palace; guide Pedro was fantastic! Beaches and oceans (even the winds) were breath taking!

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very good and nicely planned. The guide Katrina was very nice and helpful. Good day overall :

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour! Totally loved every single day in Portugal from the streets, to the food and the people especially our guides on the multiple tours.

Doing what: 4-Day Small-Group Portugal Tour: Lisbon, Sintra, Cascais and the Estoril Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an excellent tour led by Federico from Inside Lisbon. The tour departed on time, was conveniently timed not rushed, and very informative. It's a bit pricey for not including the National Palace entry cost, but overall a good day trip!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My guide Fred was awesome and made the trip very memorable. He was fun and in good spirits, explaining a lot of the back stories and history associated with the area. He gave good local tips for the areas we visited and for those who were going elsewhere afterwards.

I would recommend the trip to anyone coming to Lisbon and hope you get Fred.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A really, really, enjoyable day out, though perhaps a little cramped in the min-bus with all 8 of us plus the guide. Pena Palace was the obvious highlight simply stunning, perched on the mountaintop, surreal in its design and with such vivid colours. The weather helped: Clear clue skies and visibility such that you could see clear to the coast. Sintra provided a restful interlude, with time for lunch and an opportunity to wander the streets and sample a few of the local delicacies. Cabo da Roca was, if Im honest, a bit of an anti-climax. If youve seen high cliffs before, then these were nothing special, but a pleasant visit nonetheless a chance to stretch ones legs, and to watch those more stupid stray too close to the cliff edge than prudence would dictate! Follow the advice here and stay to the right i.e. safe side of the fence. Cascais was pretty, if somewhat busy. We took the tour on a Sunday, so with the weather, it seemed as if the whole of Lisbon was on the surrounding beaches! Understandable though! But with afternoon temperatures approaching 37C we took the sensible option and retired to a local bar for a cold beer and a spot of people-watching from air-conditioned comfort.

As I say, a great day out, and good value for money. We might perhaps have done a couple of the visits on our own, not part of an organised tour both Cascais and Sintra are readily accessible by train but certainly not all on one day. And if wed tried, wed have spent more time travelling, queuing, and with our heads in guide books, rather than taking in the views, and listening to the informative, if at times a little over-imaginative, narrative lots of stories of myth and magic.

In conclusion, Id certainly recommend this tour to others, especially for those without their own transport, or with only limited time.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We hadden het geluk om met Nadia te kunnen genieten van de daguitstap naar Sintra, Cascais en Coba da Roca. Het was een schitterende dag, vooral dankzij de persoonlijke benadering door onze uitstekende gidse, Nadia. Deze wist ons antwoord te geven op onze vragen. De tips waar we het beste uitzicht hadden waar volkomen correct. De balans tussen historische uitleg en vakantiesfeer was optimaal! Zeker een aanrader!

Doing what: Best Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Lisbon Walking Tour with Food and Wine Tastings, and Sintra and Cascais Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was awesome. The tour van showed up precisely when and where promised and there were no problems. The 6 others on the tour were very enjoyable where all 8 of us actually had lunch together. The itinerairy was great and best of all was George our very friendly and knowledgeable guide. I will use this company again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Best ever. The guide was awesome and the size of the group only 8 was great.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The Tour Guide did an excellent job.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Ruta muy amena y bonita, el guía es muy simpático y pone mucha pasión explicando el recorrido. Trayecto cómodo y agradable. La recomendaría.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We took this tour and we had the same guide Jose on both days. He was awesome. Jose was attentive, knowledgeable and gave us great tips. The restaurants he took/suggested to us were great specially the seafood one in Nazare on the second day. My family had a great time, tour was fantastic and Jose made everything even better. Thank you!

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour and filled with wonderful sights to see. I highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Lisbon. It was a great sample of several sights to see right outside of Lisbon. Our tour guide was very nice and informative. The roads were quite curvy, especially near Sintra while visiting the castle, so I would recommend anyone that may get motion sickness to sit in the front and even bring your motion sickness pills just in case.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Pedro was very knowledgeable and accommodating. He went out of his way to ensure our tour experience was optimal! Really enjoyed the day and it was a great way to experience more of Portugal in a stress free and fun way! Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a wonderful opportunity and tour to see beautiful Sintra and the palaces. We were amazed at our bus drivers driving on those windy roads so effortlessly. Lunch was wonderful and am so glad we included that in our tour. No complaints at all.

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very enjoyable, comfortable tour. Our guide, Nadia was terrific.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fred was an awesome tour guide it really felt like we got an inside perspective of Portugal. Destination highlight was Cabo Da Roca, Highly recommend.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an outstanding tour, full of beautiful grounds, palaces and castles. The lunch was very nice with plenty of good food and wine. Our guide gave us 45 minutes after lunch to walk to the nearby Quinta da Regaleira gardens. Every tour to Sintra should include these fantastic and inspiring grounds. The Initiation Well made the quick tour worth it, even if we had no time to tour the residence which also looked interesting from the outside.

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic card, make sure you get one it's well worth it. Great for the buses, trains, trams and metro and plenty of other uses and discounts to lots of attractions - you can't use it enough! Make sure you take the train from the main train station at Rossio to Sintra to see the palaces, castle and a lovely village.

Doing what: Lisbon City Card

keyko
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a GREAT tour!. Our guide was very knowledgeable and personable. The van was very comfortable and a group of 4 couples was nice. We had time to have a lunch and do a bit of browsing. I would definitely recommend this tour

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An excellent way to spend the day in Portugal. The group was small 15 persons. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable. We had plenty of time to see all three castles.

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Visit to thee 3 castles in Sintra is a must. But keep in mind there are other two castles there, besides the fortified remains of the Mouros castle on top of the hill. Regaleira Palace is a jewel, with a beautiful garden.

Ricardo, our guide took us to a great family type Restaurant, where we had the best fish ever at good prices. Great guy, very knowledgeable, one can tell he loves his country.

We came back to see Regaleira with same company, Inside Lisbon. They did a great job at fair prices. Thanks Jose! Funny guy: Com carne de vaca não se morre de fome. LOL

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Small group tour. Which was great. We saw many interesting things. Great guide. Everything went wonderful.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message