Lisbon ATTRACTIONS See all

Pena National Palace

Technically, UNESCO considers the entire cultural landscape of Sintra the World Heritage Site here, but the crown jewel is the royal Pena National Palace. Considered the greatest example of 19th-century Romanticism in the world, the palace sprawls ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1045 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joanne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Learnt so much history on this tour. Had enough time to ourselves as well. The castle and whole Sintra area was well worth the time and momey. The castle is one of the best I have been to.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Carol C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Ricardo was terrific. Very knowledgable - Shared lots of interesting information about the Palaces. Good rapport with the group. Andre, the driver, spoke excellent English and was a master of the road.

Doing what: Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Queluz Palace, Pena Palace and Pena Park

sue b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Good guide. Good scenery. Even good weather though it was not predicted.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Bruce P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was all about your person Diogo. He was just the best. He was very educated about the Sintra area. My wife and I had the most delightful time. Bruce Powers

Doing what: Private Tour: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon Including Lunch and Wine Tasting

STEVEN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We spent three days in Lisbon and chose to spend one of our days doing this tour. It was not a mistake. Katarina was knowledgable, spoke English beautifully, and was very organized but relaxed in planning our day. The group was small as promised, and we were met promptly at the designated spot. Katarina did a fabulous job of sharing her love of this gorgeous place. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Patti

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Had a wonderful time! The guide was very knowledgeable and went out of his way to answer our questions and make it a fun trip. The Pena Palace was definitely worth the drive and I especially loved seeing the elaborate gardens. We had a fantastic lunch stop at a great little local restaurant and it was really fun to meet the others on the tour from around the world. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best tour of our trip by far...tour guide was friendly and cordial and more importantly was a very knowledgeable guide providing details of each area at every stop...small group 7 people was ideal for a trip like this...while it's my understanding that late April is not the busy season here...all locations we visited attracted large crowds...visiting Sintra first was well planned...I highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

auffie17

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An excellent trip with Anna our guide who was very knowledgeable, patient and gave us information every step of the way. This was a fabulous tour even though it rained quite hard during the day. We were taken in a very comfortable coach and there was plenty of time to explore by ourselves. We also booked the lunch which was three delicious courses plus espresso coffee at the end in a lovely restaurant. We really couldn't have asked for more.

Doing what: Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Queluz Palace, Pena Palace and Pena Park

kimmynolan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour!! We really enjoyed the sites and the area. Our tour guide, Joao, was very personable and knowledgable about the area and the sites. I highly recommend this tour if you want a nice overview of Sintra and Cascais, and a great day out!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Reinhard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was a perfect way to get first impressions of Lisbon. Very reliable Service and João prooved to be an extremely knowledgeable and pleasant guide.

Doing what: Lisbon City Card

Jessica J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We didn't know anything about Sintra and Pena Palace until we saw this tour, and this was the highlight of our trip to Portugal even better than Lisbon. It's worth visiting, and harder to get to without being part of an organized group. We like the small group feel, and we went right when Pena Palace opened to avoid the massive crowds that come late morning.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Faraz Uddin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

One of the best day tours in Portugal!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Michael J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide George was fantastic. From start to finish we had an awesome time. His knowledge of the areas we visited and sense of humor made for an unforgettable experience. I highly recommend that everyone book this tour as you will not be disappointed!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Jill M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide, Catarina, was capable, engaging and knowledgeable, and we enjoyed our day with her in Sintra, Cabo da Roca, and Cascais. The tour delivered on everything that was promised.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Alexander K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tiago was very friendly, informative, nice and knowledgeable.
He treated us with sweats and ginginya.
Highly recommended!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Ly USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Abel was our guide for Sintra and Cascais. He is extremely knowledgeable, patient and has great humor! A must-do tour!

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

MR ANDREW DAVID P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic tour and fun day out! Amazing location not to be missed. Pedro our guide knew heaps about the history and kept us well fueled on coffee and pastries throughout the day too!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Natascia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very nice tour the guide was very well prepared on the different sites very skilled driver in the mini-bus! To improve the efficacy of the tour, it should be better clarified in the web site that, after the on line booking, the printed receipt should be shown at the Yellow Bus kiosk at the Commerce Square, in order to get the tour ticket. This is not very clear from the on line instructions.

Doing what: Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Queluz Palace, Pena Palace and Pena Park

Jacqueline C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved this trip. Could have spent more time in Sintra to see the other palaces. A great day though and our guide was great.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a very good time on the tour, the castles were amazing. I would definitely recommend visiting in the off season when its not as crowded like we did. We were there in February and the weather was a bit brisk but we also didn't have to wait on line any place we went. This tour could have been very different your typical crammed bus and quickly moving from place to place, but that did not happen here. In total including my wife and myself the group was 6.

Doing what: Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Queluz Palace, Pena Palace and Pena Park

diana s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

On this tour, we were able to SEE Queluz Palace, Sintra Palace, and the Moorish Castle and to VISIT Pena Palace. Pena is surely the highlight of any trip to Sintra--a fairy-tale fantasy, a wacky combination of architectural styles mingled with symbols of Portugal's Order of Christ. Our excellent guide, Maria, provided a wealth of fascinating detail. The tour also featured stops at Cabo da Roca--the westernmost point of the European continent and the seaside village of Cascais. Great fun!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Sups2004 France

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A must see.
Sintra, Cascais and Roca Caves -- all wonderful locations.
And our excellent guide I forgot her name, but she mentioned that she was form Germany but living in LIsbon for more than 10 years made such excellent explanations that this trip is just not to be missed.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

nicolka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was absolutely amazing. We enjoyed the winding road drive and then a nice hike to the castle but the once there it was like we landed in to a fairy tale. Absolutely gorgeous and kept well inside and outside. Stunning views. The weather cooperated which made our experience even better. We had the best guide. He had a lot of insight into the places we saw and made our tour so much more pleasurable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message