Lisbon ATTRACTIONS See all

Pena National Palace

Technically, UNESCO considers the entire cultural landscape of Sintra the World Heritage Site here, but the crown jewel is the royal Pena National Palace. Considered the greatest example of 19th-century Romanticism in the world, the palace sprawls ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 990 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Victor L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great guides and accommodating guides, absolutely recommend!

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Philip M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a great tour with Jaime! It was very informative, but also fun!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Suzanne L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent, with a great guide who was very knowledgeable. We have always found Viator tours to be of a high standard. Thank you!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Suzanne L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent, with a great guide who was very knowledgeable. We have always found Viator tours to be of a high standard. Thank you!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Dianne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Most enjoyable, a nice balance between free time and information. Our guide was well organised and informative and answered all our questions. Pena palace was amazing and the half day tour was perfect for our needs.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

S Nagy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Despite a rainy and cold start off in the morning, the tour was wonderful and our lovely tour guide Catarina made it so much fun. She was very informative with lots of funny stories and plenty of advice on what to do and what culinary delights to sample. Since it was a fairly small group, the tour was more interactive. We were given plenty of free time to explore. We visited Pena Palace in Sintra, a few other sights from the car and the wonderful Quita da Regaliera. In the afternoon we continued our journey to Cabo da Roca and all the way to Cascais, where we had some free time to walk around and have something to eat. I highly recommend this tour, even in the winter it is well worth it. After all, it's Lisbon, and the sun comes out even on a rainy day :

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Gretchen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

FANTASTIC tour with a friendly, knowledgable guide. The group was small: seven people in a minivan. That means personal attention, time to ask questions and get them answered and, even better, no carsickness on the way up the mountain! The towns we visited were simply beautiful. I'd recommend this tour to ANYONE visiting Lisbon but wanting to see a bit outside the city as well.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Federiv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The best value ever! We managed to combine the Belem Tower, the Monastery of Jeronimos, a return trip on Tram 28 in the same day! Not to mention the fact that all the public transport was included that day! All in all the best value ever and... No queues for us!!

Doing what: Lisbon City Card

James N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a last minute trip we planned and it was great. The tour guide was very nice and helpful.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

T T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour with Joana, who was both charming and knowledgeable. She went out of the way to make the trip comfortable for my mum who is unable to walk for too long.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

ancient-heart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I truly enjoyed the tour. We were a very small group, so Ana, the knowledgeable and extremely friendly tour guide was able to provide us with a lot of information on the history, legends or sometimes myths about Sintra and Cascais. Ana was brilliant at codeswitching between English and French. We stopped at the Queijadas de Sintra to buy some must-try delicious pastries. The trip to Cascais was just a bit of a rush as we stopped for a mere 10 minutes to marvel at Boca do Inferno Hell's Mouth and take some photographs, however we understood that we had lost some time in Sintra due to the foggy weather. We were back in Lisboa on time as scheduled and in fact the kind driver, Martin dropped us off near our hotel as it was on his way. Overall, it was a memorable experience to Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais. Thank you Ana and Martin!

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Daina Eve O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a great tour, and I am really glad I chose the one I did. We got to see Sintra's Pena Palace and some of the giant park that surrounds it, we got to see some of Sintra, Cascas, Cabo da Roca, and some more photo-opp stops along the way. Our guide, Joao, was very nice and knew a lot and was great at telling us information in an interesting way.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

kimberly v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our guide was excellent, and the tour a highlight of our trip to Portugal.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

JR

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wish there was more time in Fatima, otherwise Rita and John were the best!

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Tessa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Super tour. Our tour guide Katarina was an great - very knowledgeable, excellent English, wonderful attitude. A credit to her company and a great ambassador for Lisbon and Portugal. If you book this tour, and your preferred language is English, then ask for Katarina!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Joanna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour! I loved my tour guide. It was a nice trip to three palaces, all so different and beautiful.

Doing what: Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Queluz Palace, Pena Palace and Pena Park

Todd S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Best tour of Portugal! Our guides Martine and Pedro were amazing. Both were very knowledgeable and took thier time. It was a magical 2 days!

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Lisbon Walking Tour with Food and Wine Tastings, and Sintra and Cascais Day Trip

Darrell V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We are a family of four. Martin was our driver/guide. We had a wonderful day. The sites were fantastic especially the Palace. Martin provided a extensive summary of the history and importance of areas as we drove to Sintra. He gave a 600 or 700 year history of the Palace. We would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Yifei s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Only half an hour from central lisbon, and it doesn't start extremely early in the morning, so not a challenge at all even for the winter time. The Sintra tour is definitely well worth your time, those colorful palaces feel so different from lisbon city, and the view from up high is magnificent. I was so surprised how many spots we hit in 8 hours, and we don't even need to hurry from one place to another, the tour itself is not exhausting at all.
Since we are only in a small group of 8 people, our tour guide can interact with each of us very well, answer to individual's questions. I've learned so much about life of portuguese people, and all those boring history trivia became to vivid when our guide explained to us with stories. High Recommended, if you got some free time in lisbon, don't miss out.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

chalmers.martin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic tour made better by the services of our tour guide Joao Costa. A very friendly, knowledgeable guide who made sure we missed none of the sights on the tour, even stopping to show us things not included on the trip. Sintra is a magical place and the palace is a must not miss experience. Joao made sure the trip went smoothly and did all he could to ensure our enjoyment of the experience.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Emily M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour with a friendly and kind guide who was very knowledgable about the area.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

David A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great, efficient, and fun way to learn about Lisbon and make new friends. My girl friend Susan and I had a great time with Pedro as our tour guide. Pedro is a teacher, and knows Lisbon and it's history extremely well. You simply can't enjoy the history and culture of a place as beautiful as Lisbon and it's surrounding areas without a local person to give you the real in-depth story. We also enjoyed the small-van experience and made new friends from China, San Francisco, and New York.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

TOM S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a wonderful experience with our tour guide, Miguel. He picked us up promptly and gave us an amazing tour. He was friendly, extremely knowledgeable and showed us some amazing sites and experiences. Would highly recommend him!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon Including Lunch and Wine Tasting

Natasha K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide Joao was a chill guy who was highly informative and very funny. The tour itself was amazing! You get to see so many places... definitely worth your money. Pena palace was beautiful and Cabo da Roca was stunning

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message