Lisbon ATTRACTIONS See all

Pena National Palace

Technically, UNESCO considers the entire cultural landscape of Sintra the World Heritage Site here, but the crown jewel is the royal Pena National Palace. Considered the greatest example of 19th-century Romanticism in the world, the palace sprawls ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 658 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Pedro our driver was very informative and upbeat. He made the tour very interesting and answered all our questions of not only the history but life in Portugal. He even gave us a great recommendation for a fado dinner. The tour was great and I would recommend to anyone

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Doug Y
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a highlight of our short stay in Lisbon, despite the fact my wife had her wallet stolen from her backpack. In fact I would say it's an essential for anyone staying in Lisbon for more than a couple of days. We were told that Walt Disney based his castle in part on Sintra, well he failed to do it justice. It's a fairy tale, but it's real. The mountain setting is gorgeous too.
The tour was greatly enhanced by our charming, informative, funny and attentive multilingual guide, Francisco

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Well-organised tour, very funny and kind tour-leader.

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Love the small group tours as this was another highlight for me. Our guide Arthur
and the driver really went out of their way to make one and all comfortable and explained
all of the sights and stories behind the historic sites. The palaces and art we saw on this tour
were truly breathtaking.

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The guide was very informative and and a wonderful trip

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I was travelling with my sister on vacation and this was our second tour booked through Viator. It is a well laid out tour. The meeting point is fairly easy to get to within Lisbon. The guides from Inside Lisbon arrive fairly close to the set departure time and begin calling out the names of travelers going to the various day tours. They have an 8 passenger van for these day tours that is air-conditioned and fairly comfortable. Sintra is a beautiful little town and the Pena Palace is a sight to see. I really wish we did have a little more time in Sintra just to enjoy some of the views and see a few more places. You are given about 1.5 hours at lunch time to spend as you wish (grab a sit down meal, see more palaces, walk the city). That being said, I was still content with the time we were given. Martha was our guide who speaks wonderful English. My sister and I were both quite sore from a few other activities and were a little slow on the climb uphill but she did a great job accommodating our needs and keeping balance with providing history and enough time to see what was needed. Just a note to future travelers - August is a VERY busy month - so there are fairly big crowds and a large number of tours that come out to Sintra. Cascais is beautiful and we had about an hour there to enjoy in the afternoon. Overall, a great tour!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was excellent and very informative tour. Our guide Andrea was very knowledgeable and accommodating, provided a lot of interesting information about the places we visited and the country in general. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

One of the very best tours I have ever been on. Our driver Pedro was outstanding. A bargain for what you see and get. Recommending this tour to all my friends.u

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour guide was excellent, actually grew up in Sintra, very full day. Started @ 9am ended @ 6pm. Lots of extras that the tour guide brought us to see off the beaten path. So much history and info to enjoy. The vehicles we took were very nice new and comfortable. The groups were not too big so we had the opportunity to get to know the other travelers as well.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Interesting tour with a good guide.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a great trip! Our guide Nadia was very friendly and enthusiastic, wonderful fellow travelers, amazing views from Cabo da Roca and Pena Palace. My 11year-old son also liked this trip.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great way to see Sintra! Or tour guide João even drove my girlfriend and I to another site that we wanted to see, without us asking him for the ride. What a great day.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Lisbon Walking Tour with Food and Wine Tastings, and Sintra and Cascais Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message