Lisbon ATTRACTIONS See all

Pena National Palace

Technically, UNESCO considers the entire cultural landscape of Sintra the World Heritage Site here, but the crown jewel is the royal Pena National Palace. Considered the greatest example of 19th-century Romanticism in the world, the palace sprawls ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 725 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a fascinating trip visiting a beautiful part of Portugal. One of the best parts was our tour guide Luis. What I especially liked was that he invited our questions about Portuguese life and history. I don't think there was one question I had - and I had many - that he couldn't answer with an intelligent and informed response. Thank you, Luis.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

I was lucky enough to do the full day trip to Fatima, Batalha, Nazare and Obidos with Luis. He was knowledgeable, interesting and spoke passionately about the places we visited and Lisbon in general. Fabulous tour and brilliant guide.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great value and we made the most of the card in the short time we were in Lisbon. We travelled on the underground and overground railways and also got some useful discounts when we went winetating.

Doing what: Lisbon City Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My tour guide was Jouo (spelling probably wrong); he told us to call him John. He was very knowledgeable and entertaining. We hit a bit of traffic on the way to Sintra, but he took us out of the way a bit to avoid the traffic and we got to see another castle that wasn't on the itinerary, which was nice. He recommended an excellent lunch restaurant in Sintra and always answered our questions promptly and fully. It was a great tour. The only thing I didn't like was that I found out that I paid $20 more than others on the tour, probably because I booked the tour a month ahead. Next time I will wait to book.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We received discounts at several different places, well worth while.

Doing what: Lisbon City Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great trip! The local tour operator was very good and very professional.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Just what we wanted....a small group tour where we could ask questions, see the sites and avoid crowds. It was perfect. We would have liked more time in Cascais but the traffice on Sat. was so bad we were late getting there.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Four of us booked this tour. There were a total of 14 on tour. It was an all-English speaking group, so our tour guide was able to spend more time explaining the sites and sights, since all explanations were given in only one language. We were virtually the only group touring the National Palace in Sintra as well as the palace in Queluz. No crowds! We opted for the optional lunch in Sintra, and we were very satisfied with the quality and quantity of the meal. As well as the included wines! The included hotel pick-up was on-time and exactly as promised. We knew that a hotel drop-off was not included, but since it was a small tour and traffic when we returned to Lisbon was very light, we were dropped off very near our hotel (only a few blocks' walk) rather than the usual drop-off point near the river. This was an excellent tour, someone else did the driving (and dealt with the traffic in Sintra!), all arrangements were pre-paid and taken care of, no lines, no waits, and the guide was personable, interspersed interesting stories in between the hard facts about the three palaces, and basically make this journey carefree, learning and enjoyable.

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour guide was very personable, knowledgable and efficient. The weather wasn't great but we hardly noticed as she kept us interested in the sights. Even added a few extras. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour and we highly recommend it. Our tour guide, Sylvia, was fantastic. She was extremely knowledgeable and kind to everyone.
They picked us up on time at our hotel and then took us to a central location where we boarded a second bus for our tour. We booked with lunch and enjoyed our meal with the other guests. If you want more time to look around the town of Sintra, then I would suggest skipping the lunch. However, even with the lunch we felt that we had plenty of time to visit the shops and sites in Sintra.
The only negative for this trip was at the end, but it actually worked out better for us. The information we saw when we booked said "Hotel pick up and drop-off" in the Details section. We assumed this meant a drop-off at our hotel - IT DOES NOT. Further down in the Details section it states "Returns to original point of departure", so I guess the technical meaning of that means return to the central location where we boarded the bus in the morning. We did not find this out until we were returning to Lisbon. Sylvia was very apologetic and arranged for us to be dropped off at the Roccio Metro stop. It worked out for us, because we were going to have dinner in the Roccio area anyway, so it saved us a taxi. For us this surprise ended up as a positive, but I can see how it might adversely affect others.
That said, we highly recommend this tour. The tour was great, the bus was very clean, and Sylvia was fantastic. If you are in Lisbon looking for a tour, then put this one on your list.

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Caterine was a wonderful guide for our trip to Sintra and Cascais. She was a font of information, a fantastic driver, and attentive to our varied needs. Our group ranged in age from a baby to an 80-year old and we all enjoyed the day. The sites we visited were gorgeous and we highly recommend this trip and Caterine.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour started exactly at 9 am which was very important for me. Our guide was extremely caring and could speak English very well. It's a small group trip so you can be very flexible and on-time as well. Great work.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. Sintra was very interesting to visit. Enough time is given to enjoy all places listed in this tour. It is great to have small group and more private experience. Through bonus was that we have visited some beaches where we could enjoy looking at surfers and their skills.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

excellent day with a very knowledgeable guide. ample time in each palace plus plenty free time for lunch and exploring the many alleys and winding streets for shopping. a must visit when in Lisbon.

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message