Once a hotspot destination for Portuguese royalty, Sintra is widely acclaimed as one of Portugal's most beautiful destinations, full of plush greenery, gorgeous mountains, as well as amazing neo-Gothic structures that radiate in the sun's glow by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 254 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Sintra and Cascais were fantastic and the tour guide was great. Would highly recommend both the tour and tour guide. Be forewarned however, The road/path to Sintra is as steep as the streets in Lisbon. There is a bus to take you to the castle if you'd like but there is still a steep driveway you'd need to walk up after getting off the bus. My friend and I walked the path along with the guide. It's OK if you take it slow!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Sintra is a lovely city with plenty of quaint restaurants that serve delicious food, wine and pastries at very reasonable prices. The Palace is a fascinating piece of Portugal history. Be prepared to walk up a rather steep hill.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Lovely day at Sintra, the tour guide Francisco had great knowledge of the area. The palaces were beautiful, this trip was worth the time and money.

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Luis was an excellent guide. We visited Sintra and the Pena Palace, Cascais and Estoril as described in the brochure, with Luis adding the local flavor. Very engaging and informative. My first experience with Viator definitely will not be my last.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We took this tour on saturday last - unfortunately it was a wet day but our guide Andre made every effort to make it a memorable trip and indeed it was. He gave us background to all the places we visited in a very entertaining way. We had a lovely lunch in Sintra and were entertained by the waiter who sang beautifully and was very funny.All together it was a great success made that way by Andre as it could have been a disaster considering the weather -well done
Gang of Four from Dublin

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Of all our tours....this one is our very favorite! Jlal (John), our guide, made this day trip very pleasant and enjoyable and he was a wealth of knowledge about the area and the people. Really enjoyed the Pena National Palace....such beautiful diverse architecture all in one building. It was incredible standing on the cliffs at Cabo da Roca and feeling the commanding presence of the Atlantic Ocean...soooo beautiful. And although Cascais is a tourist town now....it was lovely with great crafts and street muscians. BUT the shining star of this tour is definitely Sintra! We loved everything about this fairy tale location. The shops, the food, the people.....the view. We will definitely return to enjoy this magical place again. Thanks John for a great time!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

beautiful.. Loved Sintra and Point Rock! Cascais was a 10 minute stop and wasnt worth it.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: Lisbon Sightseeing Tour and Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Coast Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

The tour got off to a bad start as we were kept waiting for a half hour and then there were further delays to get us a large enough bus - all in all an hour and a half until we actually were on our way. However, we had a wonderful guide and despite the very rainy weather conditions and further trouble with a broken down vehicle in Sintra, the palaces trip was fantastic and my husband and I enjoyed our day immensely. Had it not been for the above annoyances I would have rated this 5 star!

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a very nice day. We visited Sintra and the palace, then drove to the coast for some spectacular ocean views. On the return to Lisbon we stopped in Estoril and had an hour of free time.

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An excellent, well organsied tour. Our guide Maria picked us up from the designated location and the mini-bus was very comfortable with a small number of people. The road to Sintra was interesting in parts, particularly the view of the Aguas Livres Acqueduct on the left of the bus about 10 minutes in. Sintra is very charming and Pena Palace absolutely amazing. In some respects the exterior is the mind-blowing part, as the interior rooms are very small given it used to be a monastery prior to becoming a palace. Apparently the last occupant (can't remember her name) left in a hurry and as such much of the furniture and other items were left in situ. Highly recommended. The tour back via Cabo da Roca (westernmost point of the European continent) and Cascais was interesting, but really Sintra is the key feature. Cabo da Roca was INUNDATED with massive tour buses and tourists and frankly, whilst interesting to say you were there, really just looks like every other bit of coast with cliffs we've seen around the world. Cascais was nice, but again, Sintra was the highlight.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a fabulous day at Sintra and Cascais. Our guide Nina from the tour operator was very informative and helpful. As we were in a small mini bus we were able to visit places a coach could not get to. Well worth the money

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Caterine was a wonderful guide for our trip to Sintra and Cascais. She was a font of information, a fantastic driver, and attentive to our varied needs. Our group ranged in age from a baby to an 80-year old and we all enjoyed the day. The sites we visited were gorgeous and we highly recommend this trip and Caterine.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour leader was very knowledgeable about the history of both Sintra and Casais.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. Sintra was very interesting to visit. Enough time is given to enjoy all places listed in this tour. It is great to have small group and more private experience. Through bonus was that we have visited some beaches where we could enjoy looking at surfers and their skills.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour and we highly recommend it. Our tour guide, Sylvia, was fantastic. She was extremely knowledgeable and kind to everyone.
They picked us up on time at our hotel and then took us to a central location where we boarded a second bus for our tour. We booked with lunch and enjoyed our meal with the other guests. If you want more time to look around the town of Sintra, then I would suggest skipping the lunch. However, even with the lunch we felt that we had plenty of time to visit the shops and sites in Sintra.
The only negative for this trip was at the end, but it actually worked out better for us. The information we saw when we booked said "Hotel pick up and drop-off" in the Details section. We assumed this meant a drop-off at our hotel - IT DOES NOT. Further down in the Details section it states "Returns to original point of departure", so I guess the technical meaning of that means return to the central location where we boarded the bus in the morning. We did not find this out until we were returning to Lisbon. Sylvia was very apologetic and arranged for us to be dropped off at the Roccio Metro stop. It worked out for us, because we were going to have dinner in the Roccio area anyway, so it saved us a taxi. For us this surprise ended up as a positive, but I can see how it might adversely affect others.
That said, we highly recommend this tour. The tour was great, the bus was very clean, and Sylvia was fantastic. If you are in Lisbon looking for a tour, then put this one on your list.

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message