Once a hotspot destination for Portuguese royalty, Sintra is widely acclaimed as one of Portugal's most beautiful destinations, full of plush greenery, gorgeous mountains, as well as amazing neo-Gothic structures that radiate in the sun's glow by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 444 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jill M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved our recent tour of Lisbon and Sintra in Portugal. This is definitely the way to tour! Our guide, Julianne, was very knowledgable about the sights to see and places to check out. She even gave us time to shop. She also took us to a restaurant that served those famous little cakes. We thoroughly enjoyed spending the day with her. The car was awesome, too. Everyone wanted to take pictures of it. I would definitely recommend this tour if you want to see Lisbon and Sintra, and have a great time doing it. So much fun!

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

Sam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an amazing tour, The Pena castle is not to be missed! We had a fabulous tour guide aren't all VIATOR guides exceptional? that was so patient and kind as my daughter and I traveled with her 16 month old son. Cabo da Rocha was breathtaking as we looked over the Western most coastline of Europe. Sintra was quaint and full of charm as we strolled the streets of various vendors. We would have loved to have spent another 8 hours with this tour guide - Thank you for a unforgettable day!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Margaret M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great day with Pedro!! There wasn't any thing he didn't know about while we were on the tour. He had so much useful information for us. We would highly recommend this tour!! The free time was nice as well and gave us a chance to have lunch and purchase souvenirs. The weather was a bit cool when we arrived at the castles in Sintra but other than that the day was perfect. Thanks Pedro!!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Bonnie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

See if you can request Christoff as your tour guide. Christoff was very well informed, entertaining, responsive to our needs and questions - and we enjoyed our tour completely. Sintra is an unbelievable sight - Cascais is a beautiful resort town - and there is plenty of time to see both places. Lunch at an outdoor restaurant was very good in Sintra and the small shops there have beautiful hand made local gifts.
Enjoy!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Joseph H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a wonderful tour. Abel was a wonderful guide and a great help to my husband who has some mobility issues. We never would have been able to do Sintra on our own. The drive back to Lisbon via Cascais was a pleasant surprise.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

SUSAN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip was very exhilarating. The places visitied - Sintra, Cascais and Cabo de Roco - were absolutely delightful. Our guide explained everything very clearly and patiently clarified questions asked. The places are absolutely picturesque!

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

Thomas W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Sintra is a fairy tale place we would not want to have missed. We especially liked the small group tour and very knowledgeable and personable guide.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

tracydufeu44

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Maria was our tour guide and she was great. She spoke English and German very well. The first stop was in Sintra where we went up to see the castle. From there we had lunch in the village then continued on a very nice drive along the coast. We stopped to take in some beautiful views of the ocean, looking from the cliffs. Absolutely beautiful! Then we continued on to the fishermans village which was more of a resort looking town. Great tour. Would definitely recommend it!!!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Paul L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was terrific - very helpful and knowledgable. Sintra was an interesting and beautiful place. We would recommend this tour to friends. When we looked at the crowds in Sintra waiting for buses to go to the palace, we were so pleased we had booked the tour.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Bobg629

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Yes the castles were very enjoyable.....Pena Palace and Sintra were fantastic! Must sees if you are in Portugal....Ricardo was a good guide.....knowledgeable and friendly.....lunch was delicious!

Doing what: Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Queluz Palace, Pena Palace and Pena Park

Samantha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Sintra and Cascais are amazing places to see! Our tour guide, Abel, was great. He really made our trip enjoyable.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

ADRIAN T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Best day tour from Lisbon. Sintra is a must, nothing compares to Pena Palace.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Sharyn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a fabulous day! Our first stop was Cascais with a lovely beach and great shopping. Next stop was Cabo Da Roca, Europe and #39;s most western point. We had lunch in Sintra with some of our small group. We ended the tour at the beautiful Pena Palace! Christof our guide was friendly and informative. :-)

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Carleton L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My wife and I were very satisfied with this all-day tour. Pickup from the hotel Sheraton Lisboa was prompt although the ultimate departure time was later than scheduled. The hotel pickup is just transportation to the bus station which is really just a collection of buses in a pleasant tree-lined street not far from the Sheraton. We did finally leave but there was an accident causing traffic backup so we were rather late arriving at the palace, obviously not the fault of the tour. This tour visited the main sites you want to see, Sintra, Pena Palace, Cascais, Cabo de Roca. The tour guide was quite good and did her best to accommodate everyone. We spent about 2 hours in the town of Sintra, which is where the included lunch is served. My wife and I chose not to do the included lunch and I was very happy for that! There are tons of little pastry shops and restaurants where you can get sandwiches and other food very reasonably, and spend more time exploring. The one complaint I have is that we didn't have time to explore the gardens around Pena Palace, which are supposed to be amazing. Other than that, highly recommended!

Note that this tour was provided by the Gray Line service which does a bunch of bus tours and hop-on/hop-off bus services. We used Gray Line for 2 hop-on/hop-off city tours where we just stayed on the bus for the full circuit and that worked well. However, I DO NOT recommend using hop-on/hop-off for the longer trips e.g. to Cascais. My poor wife waited an hour and 45 minutes for the bus to return on the Cascais line. The problem is that the hop-on/hop-off buses do not stick to a schedule so you have no idea when they are coming. However, they're fine if you stay on for the shorter circuits, and the guided day-trip not a hop-on/hop-off was great. I also highly recommend Uber, outstanding service in and around Lisbon all week.

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

Liz H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was excellent led by our efficient and friendly guide, Maria. Sintra is a fantastic place to visit. We had time to walk in the Pena palace gardens as well as time to visit the palace without feeling rushed. In Sintra we were able to find an excellent restaurant with a view, up a side street. Later in the day we enjoyed visiting Caiscais and also the most westerly point in contintal Europe, Cabo da Roca, with its spectacular coastline.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Rhonda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guy was the top. He was kind, and had great knowledge of Sintra and Cascais. We fell in love with both places and plan to return. We had time to get to know are travel mates who was from Japan, Canada . Taking a small tour is the only way to go. Once again I give are tour guide 5 stars and more. Sorry, I believe his name was Evan. Please tell him thank you again from the Chapman's. We had him on both tours from Lisbon. The pick up was in a central location 10 mins from our hotel which was just a short taxi ride. Sincerely, Theodore and Rhonda Chapman, Florida USA

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Camelia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was such a great tour! Wish we could and #39;ve stayed in Sintra longer. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and bus was very comfortable.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Willie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great day out. Sintra is cooler than Lisbon so dress appropriately. Very cool place and highly recommended

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

Yvonne Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved this tour although at times was worried if we would make it through the day as our guide drove rather fast and tended to look at us in the back or at sights he was pointing out to us! But all in all a lot of fun. We had the red beetle and fortunately it was warm enough - just - to have the roof off. Made getting in and out of the back seat much easier. Our guide was a great guy and really friendly and nice. Sintra and Cascais are beautiful places to visit and the coastal scenery at the most western point of the continent was fantastic. Highly recommended day out from Lisbon!

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

Roberta S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic 2 days. Pedro was our tour guide on the first day to Sintra and he is absolutely fabulous!! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Gary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent day, our guide was a lovely guy called Edgar who shared his local knowledge with the group. Well worth the effort and money as you see places that you wouldn't normally experience unless you had hired a car. 4 of us in the group wanted to see the underground well, even though it wasn't on our tour Edgar dropped us at the entrance and arranged to meet us in the local square in Sintra later.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Erika F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip was a wonderful day out. I cannot recommend the views and the castle experience enough! - as well as the chance to explore Sintra and Cascais. My tour guide was absolutely wonderful and it truly made our trip to Lisbon even better.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Maureen W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our tour started out with our bus breaking down about 40 minutes outside of Lisbon, so we sat on the roadside until a replacement arrived. Once on our way, the tour was great. Sintra is a lovely Unesco Heritage town, Pena Palace is not to be missed. It not only is colourful, but has a colourful history, which our tour guide was quite knowledgeable about. Cascais has the best of both worlds, old and new, with the beach town's new area feeling very resort like. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Siddhi K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour itself was great. The palace and sights were beautiful. Sintra was gorgeous. Our guide was very informative and spoke in english, french, and spanish. She was on schedule and on top of ensuring we were all having a good experience.The pick up was a little challenging because we waited at our pick up location for about 20 minutes before our driver showed up but it worked out fine. The tour dragged a little towards to end because of the several hotel drop offs of other people in the tour.

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

Liz S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

A very disappointing afternoon. 80 of the time spent on the coach. Pick up 1.30 pm and dropped at hotel 8.20 pm with only one opportunity to sit and have something to eat which was a break for 35 minutes and not enough time to actually sit in a cafe and order something . Very overpriced considering the transport link to Sintra from Lisbon is a fraction of the price of this trip, even taking the ten euro entry into palace into consideration. Has put me off viator entirely. Guide excellent ie dorita. Not her fault.

Doing what: Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Coast Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message