Once a hotspot destination for Portuguese royalty, Sintra is widely acclaimed as one of Portugal's most beautiful destinations, full of plush greenery, gorgeous mountains, as well as amazing neo-Gothic structures that radiate in the sun's glow by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 343 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was absolutely fabulous! Katrina was the best guide ever - so knowledgeable and passionate about her country and knew the best spots for photographs - an true gem! Sintra and Cascais exceeded my expectations in their outstanding beauty and it was hard to take a poor photograph!
I would highly recommend this tour and particularly this tour guide to anyone and everyone! Many many thanks!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide for Sintra and Cascais was really good, as were the tours.

Doing what: Best Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Lisbon Walking Tour with Food and Wine Tastings, and Sintra and Cascais Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Visit to thee 3 castles in Sintra is a must. But keep in mind there are other two castles there, besides the fortified remains of the Mouros castle on top of the hill. Regaleira Palace is a jewel, with a beautiful garden.

Ricardo, our guide took us to a great family type Restaurant, where we had the best fish ever at good prices. Great guy, very knowledgeable, one can tell he loves his country.

We came back to see Regaleira with same company, Inside Lisbon. They did a great job at fair prices. Thanks Jose! Funny guy: Com carne de vaca não se morre de fome. LOL

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour and filled with wonderful sights to see. I highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Lisbon. It was a great sample of several sights to see right outside of Lisbon. Our tour guide was very nice and informative. The roads were quite curvy, especially near Sintra while visiting the castle, so I would recommend anyone that may get motion sickness to sit in the front and even bring your motion sickness pills just in case.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an outstanding tour, full of beautiful grounds, palaces and castles. The lunch was very nice with plenty of good food and wine. Our guide gave us 45 minutes after lunch to walk to the nearby Quinta da Regaleira gardens. Every tour to Sintra should include these fantastic and inspiring grounds. The Initiation Well made the quick tour worth it, even if we had no time to tour the residence which also looked interesting from the outside.

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We hadden het geluk om met Nadia te kunnen genieten van de daguitstap naar Sintra, Cascais en Coba da Roca. Het was een schitterende dag, vooral dankzij de persoonlijke benadering door onze uitstekende gidse, Nadia. Deze wist ons antwoord te geven op onze vragen. De tips waar we het beste uitzicht hadden waar volkomen correct. De balans tussen historische uitleg en vakantiesfeer was optimaal! Zeker een aanrader!

Doing what: Best Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Lisbon Walking Tour with Food and Wine Tastings, and Sintra and Cascais Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a wonderful opportunity and tour to see beautiful Sintra and the palaces. We were amazed at our bus drivers driving on those windy roads so effortlessly. Lunch was wonderful and am so glad we included that in our tour. No complaints at all.

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A really, really, enjoyable day out, though perhaps a little cramped in the min-bus with all 8 of us plus the guide. Pena Palace was the obvious highlight simply stunning, perched on the mountaintop, surreal in its design and with such vivid colours. The weather helped: Clear clue skies and visibility such that you could see clear to the coast. Sintra provided a restful interlude, with time for lunch and an opportunity to wander the streets and sample a few of the local delicacies. Cabo da Roca was, if Im honest, a bit of an anti-climax. If youve seen high cliffs before, then these were nothing special, but a pleasant visit nonetheless a chance to stretch ones legs, and to watch those more stupid stray too close to the cliff edge than prudence would dictate! Follow the advice here and stay to the right i.e. safe side of the fence. Cascais was pretty, if somewhat busy. We took the tour on a Sunday, so with the weather, it seemed as if the whole of Lisbon was on the surrounding beaches! Understandable though! But with afternoon temperatures approaching 37C we took the sensible option and retired to a local bar for a cold beer and a spot of people-watching from air-conditioned comfort.

As I say, a great day out, and good value for money. We might perhaps have done a couple of the visits on our own, not part of an organised tour both Cascais and Sintra are readily accessible by train but certainly not all on one day. And if wed tried, wed have spent more time travelling, queuing, and with our heads in guide books, rather than taking in the views, and listening to the informative, if at times a little over-imaginative, narrative lots of stories of myth and magic.

In conclusion, Id certainly recommend this tour to others, especially for those without their own transport, or with only limited time.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I love Sintra, very beautiful! Definitely should try walking through the park to the palace; guide Pedro was fantastic! Beaches and oceans (even the winds) were breath taking!

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Pena Palace in Sintra is definitely worth a visit. We also really liked Cascais and Obidos. Since the religious aspect does not appeal to us, Fatima was dull--the architecture wasn't interesting and the site itself just huge for the pilgrimage, but uninteresting. It seems a shame to have gone all that way and not have Quinta da Regaleira included. Not sure why Viator does not include this incredible place!

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This was a wonderful way to see Sintra.We had a very knowledgable pleasant fun tour guide explain the history and culture. Pena Palace is not to be missed. The only way to see it and relax is with a tour!
The stops were perfect and we never felt rushed. A worthwhile trip!

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

It was a good itinerary, but the tour started late and was a bit rushed during the trip. I'd reckon a half-day Sintra/Pena and another half-day Estoril/Cascais would've been more worthwhile.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommend. Sintra is beautiful and should be seen. Our guide Fred was fantastic, very knowledgeable and funny. The town of Cascais is lovely and Cabo da Roca Europe's westernmost point is spectacular.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantastic tour! My tour guide for the day was Nuno, and he was very friendly and knowledgeable. It was nice having a small group because we were really able to ask lots of questions and have a more personalized experience. Pena Palace, Sintra, Cabo da Roca, and Cascais were all beautiful, and having such a knowledgeable guide helped us all appreciate what we were seeing all the more. I would highly recommend this tour if you will be in Lisbon for 3 or more days. It was the highlight of my stay! Thank you Nuno!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a wonderful tour not to long and not too short. Only 6 people on the tour. The guide was was informative and interesting. The sights were gorgeous. Sintra is beautiful and a must-see. The motor coach to the Sintra and around Sintra was new, clean and has great AC.

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I had really wanted to visit both Sintra and Cascais on my recent family vacation to Lisbon with my husband and our two young sons. After a little research, I decided this would be the best way to see both places in one day. It was a great decision. We were a small group of 6 and we traveled in a comfortable, air-conditioned minivan. Our tour guide was a lovely young lady named Catarina. She was very warm and wonderful to my two boys. She was very knowledgeable about the sights and made the day feel as if we were spending it with a friend not a tour guide. We visited Pena Palace and had free time to visit other sights afterwards. We decided to relax and have Sintra specialties at the famous Café a Piriquita, namely queijadas and travesseiros. Then we had a brief stop at Cabo da Roca, which is the westernmost point of continental Europe. The tour ended with a longer stop at Cascais to enjoy the beach, followed by a drive along the Estoril coast. We really enjoyed our whole day and would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting Portugal.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Really enjoyed this tour with our friendly and knowledgeable tour guide.
Sintra was beautiful and then we went to the most western part of Portugal over the Atlantic.
Cascais was sooo beautiful that I wished I stayed overnight there so that I could spend more time.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Sintra attracts a lot of tourists, but it remains very pleasant and interesting to discover. Being in a small group, with a professional guide, was decidedly a plus. We enjoyed the drive along the Atlantic coast, including the stop at Cabo da Roca, the western-most point of continental Europe.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour trip to Sintra was excellent. Our guide, Anna, spoke very good English and easy to understand. I was amazed how well she could go back and forth between English and French, for the other visitors on our tour. The Pena Palace, the last one we visited was just spectacular. I felt the palaces just kept getting better. Our lunch was delicious. The place we ate had a wonderful atmosphere and the waiter was friendly and fun. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Io ed il mio ragazzo abbiamo fatto il tour di una giornata a Sintra, Cabo da Roca e Cascais il 10.07.2015:

- Ho prenotato e pagato il tour online direttamente dal sito Viator.
- Il punto di ritrovo era Praça dos Restauradores, proprio di fronte all'Hard Rock Café.
- Ottima esperienza: pulmini da 8 persone, con aria condizionata.
La nostra guida era Fred, molto simpatico, disponibile e preparato.

- Consiglio vivamente questo tour!
Ps. Il tour era in lingua inglese.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We absolutely loved our tour and our guide Luis. We did the full-day tour and we were picked up right outside our flat rental in Lisboa. We started in Sintra and then drove along the coast to Cascais and Belém. Luis made sure we understood where we were going and always asked if there was something else we preferred to see instead. We trusted his recommendations and we weren't disappointed! We had a choice of places to have lunch, we opted for the traditional Portuguese style restaurant and it was delicious! We ended the tour with some porto wine and pasteis de Belém yum! in the park near the Torre de Belém. I would highly recommend this tour, especially if it's your first time to Lisboa.

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I think this was one of my top 3 tours in Lisbon. Sintra is beautiful and could be on the cool side so please take a jacket or sweater. Nice castle and grounds. The little town is charming and has good places to eat and shop. Great tour guide too. Then you go to Cascais where you can see the beach. The whole trip is very informative and the scenery is great!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

I very much enjoyed this tour. Ana, the guide, was really helpful. She was nice enough to speak in spanish even when the tour was english/french. Love the Pena Palace! And love Sintra! You will need to come back after the tour, because you don't have too much free time, but it totally worth it!

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Sintra was lovely and I would have chosen to spend more time there and by-pass Cascais which seemed like a typical resort town and was not of particular interest. I would recommend this tour on a day other than the weekend to avoid traffic. Our guide was great.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message