Once a hotspot destination for Portuguese royalty, Sintra is widely acclaimed as one of Portugal's most beautiful destinations, full of plush greenery, gorgeous mountains, as well as amazing neo-Gothic structures that radiate in the sun's glow by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 403 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sups2004 France

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A must see.
Sintra, Cascais and Roca Caves -- all wonderful locations.
And our excellent guide I forgot her name, but she mentioned that she was form Germany but living in LIsbon for more than 10 years made such excellent explanations that this trip is just not to be missed.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

diana s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

On this tour, we were able to SEE Queluz Palace, Sintra Palace, and the Moorish Castle and to VISIT Pena Palace. Pena is surely the highlight of any trip to Sintra--a fairy-tale fantasy, a wacky combination of architectural styles mingled with symbols of Portugal's Order of Christ. Our excellent guide, Maria, provided a wealth of fascinating detail. The tour also featured stops at Cabo da Roca--the westernmost point of the European continent and the seaside village of Cascais. Great fun!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Jacqueline C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved this trip. Could have spent more time in Sintra to see the other palaces. A great day though and our guide was great.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Jill M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide, Catarina, was capable, engaging and knowledgeable, and we enjoyed our day with her in Sintra, Cabo da Roca, and Cascais. The tour delivered on everything that was promised.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Ly USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Abel was our guide for Sintra and Cascais. He is extremely knowledgeable, patient and has great humor! A must-do tour!

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Jessica J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We didn't know anything about Sintra and Pena Palace until we saw this tour, and this was the highlight of our trip to Portugal even better than Lisbon. It's worth visiting, and harder to get to without being part of an organized group. We like the small group feel, and we went right when Pena Palace opened to avoid the massive crowds that come late morning.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

kimmynolan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour!! We really enjoyed the sites and the area. Our tour guide, Joao, was very personable and knowledgable about the area and the sites. I highly recommend this tour if you want a nice overview of Sintra and Cascais, and a great day out!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best tour of our trip by far...tour guide was friendly and cordial and more importantly was a very knowledgeable guide providing details of each area at every stop...small group 7 people was ideal for a trip like this...while it's my understanding that late April is not the busy season here...all locations we visited attracted large crowds...visiting Sintra first was well planned...I highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Bruce P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was all about your person Diogo. He was just the best. He was very educated about the Sintra area. My wife and I had the most delightful time. Bruce Powers

Doing what: Private Tour: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon Including Lunch and Wine Tasting

Joanne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Learnt so much history on this tour. Had enough time to ourselves as well. The castle and whole Sintra area was well worth the time and momey. The castle is one of the best I have been to.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Cheryl F

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

It was an enjoyable day trip. Our guide was very professional and informative. The Pena Palace is well worth seeing. The views for the entire trip were lovely. Sintra was a bit on the commercial tourist side so be comfortable with that. The lighthouse on the farthest westerly point of Europe is worth seeing with the beauty around it. Cascais is a beautiful sea town. The main areas have some good shops and restaurants. The views are lovely. However, the shops may have seen better days. They seemed tired. Our driver picked us up on time and dropped of us on time. Vehicle was clean.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Alina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We has a lovely time on our trip to Sintra and Cascais. Luis is one of the best guides I have met - ready to answer any questions, solve any issues, come up with some new information about the places we were visiting and always up to make jokes and bring a smile on your face. The day was sunny and warm and we really enjoyed the whole journey.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Anahat A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Highly recommend this excellent tour. Our guide was fantastic - really knew the history and philosophy behind all the glorious buildings at Sintra. We really enjoyed learning the stories behind the sights! The small group size was perfect, allowed for one to one interaction. The tour does last an entire day and covers a number of lovely places, with enough free time to wander and explore between the guided bits.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Well planned, beautiful tour through Sintra and Cascais. Loved the stops along the shoreline.
Guide was friendly, well informed, spoke beautiful English. Definitely recommend as a great day trip from Lisbon.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Rachel B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

My first day trip, to Sintra and Cascais, was extremely disappointing. I would give it 2 stars. It is extremely easy and cheap to travel to Sintra and Cascais by train, but I was willing to pay for the tour because I appreciate having a guide that provides history, personality, and other helpful information and tips about the towns. Our tour guide, Nunio, was probably the worst tour guide I have ever had. He was so quiet, which is very odd for a tour guide. He provided the bare minimum information and had no personality. I tried to ask him about any further information about the city or places he'd recommend, but he told me I could go to the information office if I wanted to read more... Besides one famous place to get pastries, he didn't have any recommendations on things to do or see during our free time in Sintra. When we were in Cascais, there was barely any history and because there was no walking tour, I was hoping he would have some recommendations for places to eat or shop around, but he only gave me one suggestion for a place to get a drink with a view and he didn't provide good directions on how to get there. I was very upset that I wasted my money on a tour that I could have easily done on my own for only a few euros. The only reason my rating isn't lower is because my second day was so great.

I would give the Walking Tour with Food and Wine Tastings 5 stars! I had the best time, and our tour guide Pedro Osorio did an amazing job! Noemi Alfieri was also an intern for the tour, and she was very present with our group and had a lot to contribute. I learned a lot and our group had so much fun experiencing the history, food, and culture of Lisbon!

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Lisbon Walking Tour with Food and Wine Tastings, and Sintra and Cascais Day Trip

Kurt B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

If you have an extra half day and want to get out of the city, Sintra is a decent half day tour. The views are excellent and the architecture colorful, quirky, and impressive. The interior was ok. The two stops on the way back break up the trip but are underwhelming - especially the second at Cacais

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Frances L

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Sintra is amazing. Unfortunately the weather was terrible and we couldn't visit the gardens, which was an awful shame. Would have given the trip a higher rating but the lunch was not somewhere we would have chosen if left to our own devices. The food wasn't that good, it was cold and at 16 euros not very impressive. The tour guide was very nice, and very knowledgeable but when you've paid 50 for the trip, not been able to see a vast amount because of the weather and there is no guide for the castle we didn't feel we'd had great value for money. However the stunning scenery more than made up for it.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Jayanta G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide Gus came on time at location for pick up. On the way to Sintra, he stopped at Cascais beach and gave us time to take picture and enjoy the beach. Before entering the Sintra palace, he took us through the garden and described the trees and plants which made the trip more enjoyable. After the palace tour he took us to a family owned restaurant for lunch. We had the fish soup and cod fish famous in Portugal and they were excellent. After lunch he suggested the famous pastry place Piriqita for dessert. We thought that we would save some for dinner but finished everything. On the way back our guide took us to the west most point and gave us time to walk around and enjoy the view. Our guide was entertaining and knowledgeable about the history and the place. On the way back, Gus dropped us at the hotel and that was very nice gesture.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Martyn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide had no difficulty with making a rainy day in Lisbon into a memorable occasion visiting Sintra and the Pena palace. His knowledge extended far beyond the palaces he showed us into history, places and events around the world. His enthusiasm for his subjects was infectious, and we have vastly increased our knowledge of Portuguese history. It was interesting to see Europe's westernmost point, but we felt the visit to Cascais did not complement the wonderful places we had seen in the morning. Perhaps Cascais' greatest assets are its beaches, which in the rain are not so appealing. Otherwise it seemed to be nothing more than some beautifully tiled streets with expensive shops and admittedly some gorgeous-looking houses, and also a few gift shops selling tat. The small group made the whole tour very friendly and personal, and we cannot rate our guide highly enough.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The guide was super nice and helpful and spoke perfect English but was also not intrusive, and gave us plenty of time to wander around ourselves. We had time after the tour of Pena Palace to grab a quick lunch and tour the Sintra National Palace ourselves. We went in November so it was more than ample time in Cascais since we weren't really utilizing beach time. Overall a great trip and well worth the money.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Mark C

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Sintra was a great place to visit with spectacular views, the guide was very friendly and knowledgeable and because of the small group size it was more of a personal tour, Cascais was a little disappointing but the drive along the coast affords some great views.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

S Nagy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Despite a rainy and cold start off in the morning, the tour was wonderful and our lovely tour guide Catarina made it so much fun. She was very informative with lots of funny stories and plenty of advice on what to do and what culinary delights to sample. Since it was a fairly small group, the tour was more interactive. We were given plenty of free time to explore. We visited Pena Palace in Sintra, a few other sights from the car and the wonderful Quita da Regaliera. In the afternoon we continued our journey to Cabo da Roca and all the way to Cascais, where we had some free time to walk around and have something to eat. I highly recommend this tour, even in the winter it is well worth it. After all, it's Lisbon, and the sun comes out even on a rainy day :

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Antoinette M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Augusto is a lovely tour guide..informed and interesting. The tour was relaxed and interesting and Sintras is absolutely worth seeing. Augusto answered any questions and the tour was small enough to interact with other tour members and have a fun day.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

chalmers.martin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic tour made better by the services of our tour guide Joao Costa. A very friendly, knowledgeable guide who made sure we missed none of the sights on the tour, even stopping to show us things not included on the trip. Sintra is a magical place and the palace is a must not miss experience. Joao made sure the trip went smoothly and did all he could to ensure our enjoyment of the experience.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Yifei s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Only half an hour from central lisbon, and it doesn't start extremely early in the morning, so not a challenge at all even for the winter time. The Sintra tour is definitely well worth your time, those colorful palaces feel so different from lisbon city, and the view from up high is magnificent. I was so surprised how many spots we hit in 8 hours, and we don't even need to hurry from one place to another, the tour itself is not exhausting at all.
Since we are only in a small group of 8 people, our tour guide can interact with each of us very well, answer to individual's questions. I've learned so much about life of portuguese people, and all those boring history trivia became to vivid when our guide explained to us with stories. High Recommended, if you got some free time in lisbon, don't miss out.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message