Once a hotspot destination for Portuguese royalty, Sintra is widely acclaimed as one of Portugal's most beautiful destinations, full of plush greenery, gorgeous mountains, as well as amazing neo-Gothic structures that radiate in the sun's glow by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 419 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ting Jung C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It is one of a kind experience in my life, although due to weather we cannot fly through Sintra we still manage to visit the big cliff and circle around the sea shore of Lisbon, I truly recommend this very special helicopter tour, do not miss it if you got the chance to visit Lisbon.

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon Helicopter Flight Including Sintra and Queluz National Palace

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved this small-group day trip and Kathriana, our guide was informative and charming. Pena Palace was amazing and we had plenty of time there as well as Sintra and Cascais. Would highly recommend this tour. Good value as well.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Allan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Patient friendly and knowledgable guide Claudia. Good walking shoes essential as there are some steep climbs at Pena Palace. Sintra far too touristy but drive there is very nice. Good value tour.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Lorraine O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We are glad we selected this extensive tour of Sintra and neighboring beach areas, including lunch. We booked it in advance from our computer in the U.S. and the contact information was all very clear and happened without any problems, with pick-up and drop-off at our hotel. We enjoyed the free time we had as well as the tour information from the guide. It was a day well-spent and a good value.

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

DANIEL A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour of Sintra was fantastic. Because of some cancellations, my family ended up with essentially a private tour with Pedro, who was very friendly and accommodating to our requests. Recommend the tour and thought Pedro was great.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Ali

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was great! Very happy I was able to see the magical city of Sintra and the beaches of Cascais. It was a nice way to escape the busy and crowded city of Lisbon for a day. Also, really enjoyed the small group setting.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Reem A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The best ride Juliane our guide was such a good driver and took us around the beautiful sites in Sintra, drove to Cabo Da Roca the most western point in Europe, we had a wonderful lunch in one of the sea food restaurants and drove through the beautiful city of Cascais and then to Lisbon where we stoped at two more interesting spots. A great trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

CORINNE F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Belle visite manque le palais de sintra mais le palais de que élus et pénale valent largement le détour.
Un guide très sympathique connaissant bien le sujet

Doing what: Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Queluz Palace, Pena Palace and Pena Park

Robert S United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful castle but miserable weather in Sintra. We were glad to get inside away from driving rainstorm, was very beautiful. Rest of trip to Cascais on cost was great and tour guide most informative and friendly

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Robin R

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We enjoyed our private tour on Valentine's Day. Unfortunately, the weather was not favorable on this day. It was unseasonably cold and windy, with rain mixed in, as well. The Beetle was a sturdy old VW from the '70's, with approximately 500,000 miles on it. It was not the most comfortable ride in the world, and the windows did not quite meet. So, the wind and sometimes sand blew right through the car, or so it felt. But, we had a really nice guide, Jaoa. He did everything he could to make it a pleasant day. We enjoyed our trip to Sintra, though the restaurants that Jaoa was planning to take us to were closed. So, we found another impromptu restaurant for lunch, which turned out to be very good. If the weather had been better, the tour would have been more enjoyable, but that was nobody's fault. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

Judith R P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

I was very glad I selected this tour because of the convenience. Sintra is very busy with visitors and if you were not on a tour you would spend a to og time standing in line waiting to buy a ticket and to get on a shuttle. My tour was good and we only had 4 people in the group.

Doing what: Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Queluz Palace, Pena Palace and Pena Park

vicki m

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Sintra is a must see place near Lisbon. Incredible bus driving on steep, winding, narrow roads.

Doing what: Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Queluz Palace, Pena Palace and Pena Park

Fernando

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great tour, we really enjoyed Sintra and Cascais. Got to see quite a bit in a short time.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Francisco M

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour is interesting but does not include the visit to Sintra Palace, which it is a pity considering that the bus stops in front of the palace. Instead, we were taken to a quaint restaurant for a rather modest meal. Prsonally, I would have preferred to skip lunch in order to visit the Sintra Palace.

Doing what: Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Queluz Palace, Pena Palace and Pena Park

Karen L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

We had bad weather, which clearly isn't the fault of our guide, but the guide didn't take advantage of time in the bus to tell us what to look for. Not enough history or important information provided so the tour in the palace was not productive. Also, in the town of Sintra itself, there was no real guidance on what to see therefore some people did things that others didn't know to do. The location is beautiful but our guide did not handle the bad weather situation well to make the tour worthwhile.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Rebecca E O

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

the sights themselves were amazing, however the tour guide was less than enthusiastic - we left a bit late didn't end up being an issue and his attempt to balance French/English translations was honorable however left a lot of the group non-engaged for a good amount of time. I've been on several viator recommended tours and was excited about this one given the great reviews, so was a bit disappointed when it fell flat. that said, highly recommend taking the trip to Sintra and Cascais - the sights are truly amazing.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Sups2004 France

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A must see.
Sintra, Cascais and Roca Caves -- all wonderful locations.
And our excellent guide I forgot her name, but she mentioned that she was form Germany but living in LIsbon for more than 10 years made such excellent explanations that this trip is just not to be missed.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

diana s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

On this tour, we were able to SEE Queluz Palace, Sintra Palace, and the Moorish Castle and to VISIT Pena Palace. Pena is surely the highlight of any trip to Sintra--a fairy-tale fantasy, a wacky combination of architectural styles mingled with symbols of Portugal's Order of Christ. Our excellent guide, Maria, provided a wealth of fascinating detail. The tour also featured stops at Cabo da Roca--the westernmost point of the European continent and the seaside village of Cascais. Great fun!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Jacqueline C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved this trip. Could have spent more time in Sintra to see the other palaces. A great day though and our guide was great.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Jill M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide, Catarina, was capable, engaging and knowledgeable, and we enjoyed our day with her in Sintra, Cabo da Roca, and Cascais. The tour delivered on everything that was promised.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Ly USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Abel was our guide for Sintra and Cascais. He is extremely knowledgeable, patient and has great humor! A must-do tour!

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Jessica J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We didn't know anything about Sintra and Pena Palace until we saw this tour, and this was the highlight of our trip to Portugal even better than Lisbon. It's worth visiting, and harder to get to without being part of an organized group. We like the small group feel, and we went right when Pena Palace opened to avoid the massive crowds that come late morning.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

kimmynolan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour!! We really enjoyed the sites and the area. Our tour guide, Joao, was very personable and knowledgable about the area and the sites. I highly recommend this tour if you want a nice overview of Sintra and Cascais, and a great day out!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best tour of our trip by far...tour guide was friendly and cordial and more importantly was a very knowledgeable guide providing details of each area at every stop...small group 7 people was ideal for a trip like this...while it's my understanding that late April is not the busy season here...all locations we visited attracted large crowds...visiting Sintra first was well planned...I highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Bruce P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was all about your person Diogo. He was just the best. He was very educated about the Sintra area. My wife and I had the most delightful time. Bruce Powers

Doing what: Private Tour: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon Including Lunch and Wine Tasting

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message