Once a hotspot destination for Portuguese royalty, Sintra is widely acclaimed as one of Portugal's most beautiful destinations, full of plush greenery, gorgeous mountains, as well as amazing neo-Gothic structures that radiate in the sun's glow by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 282 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fascinating tour of Sintra, great and knowledgeable Guide and wonderful lunch. Very good value for money !

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Both days were wonderful. Would have liked more time at Batalho monastery. Andre (Fatima) was knowledgeable and helpful. Katerina (Sintra) was amazing. Extremely knowledgeable and had many interesting stories. She was also very accommodating. We visited the Quinta Da Regaleire Gardens on our own.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide, Pedro, was spectacular. We had a superb experience learning a lot about Portugal's Sintra region and Cascais. Not only did Pedro accompany us through the sites, but he gave us plenty of time to go through on our own afterwards. He gave us plenty of time for lunch in Sintra and time to wander through the various shops. BRAVO!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide Tiago was very friendly and knowledgeable. The trip is charming and comfortable. There is some confusion about the walk uphill from the van parking to Pena National Palace: yes, you may walk together with guide but there is a shuttle bus available every 15 min for the addition fee EUR 3 per roundtrip.
The Roca Cape most western point in the Europe stop is very nice but don't forget some windbreaker.
The Cascais stop is a kind of useless, especially because it's during the hottest time of the day. Besides small shopping typical souvenirs, cold water, the best idea in my opinion is to spend this time 1 hr in the shadow outdoor cafeteria with the cold drink or/and coffee. The place is very quite and relaxing.
Hints:
1. the trip start at 9 am at Rock Cafe, which is open at 9 am only! Thus there is no reason to be too early. Vans arrive at 9:05 - 9:15 and guide will call your name.
2. avoid too much wine or beer in Sintra during the dinner because the drive is quite serpentine and you may have some headache, postpone drinking to Cascaise.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a great tour! Our guide was Fred and a Portugese native who provided non stop commentary for the entire day. Sintra is stunning and a must see for anyone visiting Lisbon. Fred was fantastic! Thank you for a wonderful day.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic day with lots of variety. Sintra was absolutely wonderful and so worthwhile - lots of steps - but OK if taken carefully and slowly. The palace is amazing and a must to see when you visit Lisbon area.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: Lisbon Sightseeing Tour and Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Coast Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Meh. Big tour bus. Everything repeated in 3 languages only supposed to be 2, but for some reason some French people in the front didn't want to move to the French bus, so we got 3.
Lunch in Sintra at the Hotel Tivoli was excellent.
I think if I were doing it again I would just take the bus or train to Sintra myself so I would have time to wander around in the gardens. Could have given Caxcais a miss.

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The first half of the tour Lisbon wasn't all that but the second part Sintra, Cascais and Estoril trip was awesome!

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: Lisbon Sightseeing Tour and Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Coast Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Sintra is a lovely place to visit but not worth doing it through this tour, rather go separately by train.
Pena Palace is easily forgettable according to me, just like Cascais where we had 10TEN minutes to get out of the bus and take a breathe.
The best was Capo da Raco which is beautiful but again, if you can manage on your own, you should do it. The tour as such is not worth the time and money.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

stevemc53
United States of America

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The two sites were wonderful. The guide was not very thoughtful. At Sintra, she had us walk up to the castle. She never explained how steep and far the walk was. They have a bus that takes you up for a small fee but she didn't even offer this option. I can tell you that if you are not in good shape don't walk to the top.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

We took a combine tour. City tour in the morning was fine Luisa the tour guide was nice
Courteous she sat in the seat next to the bus driver and use the microphone to talk to us.
Next tour was on the same bus going to Sintra.
We came back to the bus 20 minute before so we could take the first row of the bus.
The guide put his coat in the front row when we asked he said he is going to use both of the first row seats.
We were little disappointed but occupied a different seat in the middle of the bus.
We have taken many tours like this in our life, never saw guide who we are paying
Take the best seat of the bus and think about his own comport first than the customer who actually paid for the tours. The same bus in the morning tour different guide demonstrates better and accurate customer service.
We don't know why he kept a hard feelings for us and end of the tour while he dropped all the passenger in the front of their hotel which was part of the tour benefit offered to us
he dropped us 3 block away from the hotel and we were not familiar of the place we got lost and had to take a cab to go back to the hotel.
He does not fit to be a guide or get paid. He is moody. Rude and bad behavior with customer.
Waste waste parson to deal with the customer

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: Lisbon Sightseeing Tour and Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Coast Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was our first tour me and my husband ever booked, and also our first time in Lisbon. We unfortunately did not have cell phone or internet service and couldn't have the driver contact us or vice versa. After a little confusion on the pick up area we finally met Igor who had such a warm demeanor even after all the confusion. The mix up caused a half hour delay in our tour, but Igor went above and beyond to accommodate us, and what we wanted to see on the tour. He asked what was our points of interest to see while in Lisbon and we expressed that we trusted his judgement and off we went for the ride in a beetle with much style! He took us to SIntra which was such a treat! Upon it already being a beautiful day for a convertible ride in our beetle, we were also able to really soak in the beauty of SIntra and its picturesque landscape it has to offer. Igor took us around Sintra and we able to look at some beautiful view points and as well see the castle and palaces surrounding the city. We stopped to have a pastry and drink then off we went to do more exploring around Caxias and Cascais and surrounding areas. The drive all around the city of Sintra and Lisbon from Igor was something me and my husband will never forget. The ride along the beach and breathtaking views all over Lisbon with the glass of Port overlooking the most Western tip of Europe was so memorable. We had such a good time that we didn't even feel like we had a tour guide, but yet a new friend we spent the afternoon with. Thanks Igor for really indulging us into the culture and beauty of Portugal. We plan to return soon!

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Super organisierte Tour, sehr netter und kompetenter Tour-Guide, absolut zu empfehlen. Schön wäre evtl. gewesen, in der Altstadt von Sintra noch etwas mehr Zeit als 20 min. verbringen zu können.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Pedro was an excellent guide! He was very safety conscious and made sure he accounted for all in the van before we departed from each stop. The weather was not great which somewhat affected our experience but this cannot obviously be controlled. Cascais was great but Sintra was a bit disappointing as the town itself was very touristy and coming from Western Canada, the town of Sintra reminded me of Banff, Alberta with the higher than normal prices and somewhat cheap souvenirs but our guide was super!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wish we had more time to spend in Obidos and Sintra. But all in all a well organized tour.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

would have loved more time in Obidos and less time in Nazare. I can see beach in USA and it reminded me of California. Also would have liked more time in the factory shop other than 15 minutes to purchase gifts. Also, 1 hour in Fatima in my opinion is way too long. 30 minutes was sufficient for me. Basilica is closed so you can't go in. Really enjoyed Sintra a lot. loved our guides. Very young guys who were nice and professional. 1 was in training I believe. Less time in Cascais I feel like because again it's just a beach town to me.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

small groups - that means less logistics involved and more free time!
First day: fantastic day - had loads of free time and a good amount of time to get a proper lunch. Sintra is stunning, and definitely worth going. FYI Sintra is typically colder and a lot windier than Lisbon so be prepared.
Second day: less fun than first day.. the places are just not as interesting especially when I am not a very religious person. I think Obidos is the more interesting part of the day.
Nothing really to complain about, but if I get to choose again, I would probably just go for the one day tour to Sintra. Had different guides on two days, but they are both great. They recommended places for lunch on both days, but the lunch on the second day was definitely better.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

beautiful sintra. well worth the trip.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Excellent visit to the Pena Palace....Andrea was a terrific guide very knowledgeable and helpful...spectacular views of the Sintra National Park and Coast....good intro to the area for a first time visitor...I would have preferred to stay in Sintra and visit the exquisite gardens and Moorish Castle on the hill above and taken time to view the National Palace without feeling rushed.....

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great trip! Informative guide and lovely scenery. Make sure to eat the pastries in Sintra :)

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The tour was rushed particularly Sintra. The tour guide was either limited in his knowledge, or not capable or communicating his knowledge about the sites visited on the tour.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Sintra itself is absolutely stunning, however, my husband and I were very disappointed with this tour. Main reasons for this are as follows:
i Guided tour of Pena Palace was very rushed with no free time and I found I had to lag behind and miss explanations of the next area in order to take some photos.
ii Description of tour states Palace and gardens, but we only visited the palace. It was extremely cloudy/foggy the morning we visited, but other groups were still being taken round the gardens and I didn't get the impression we would have been taken round the gardens even in fairer weather, certainly no mention / explanation was given for not seeing them.
iii Lunch was a set menu and the only main course option was fish. I appreciate the dish was traditional Portuguese fare, however neither my husband nor I can eat fish and were extremely embarrassed at having to ask for something else. All the restaurant could offer us was a rare veal burger served with gravy, lettuce and tomato! The cabbage soup and dessert of pastries and ice cream were delicious and the views from the hotel were stunning.
iv There was no visit to Colares. Realise the tram wouldn't have been running, but the tour description does state there will be a tour by bus???
v We drove by Hells Mouth, but didn't stop or even get a photo from the coach !!!
I would absolutely recommend a day trip or even longer to Sintra, but just be sure the tour you book covers want you want to see.

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We enjoyed a lot the tour to Sintra, capo da Roca and Cascais. Nadia Jorge, our guide, was very personable and we learned a lot from her about all teh beautiful places we visited and in general about Portugal.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The highlights of Pena and the town of Sintra was a sight not to be missed. What helped was that the tour group was small, making the trip experience more personalized and easy to manage. Our guide Andrea was wonderful too.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour is amazing!! We had a small group of 8 people and our guide Andre made a great excursion around the park, he was very patient and took attention to each of us, speaking fluently in two languages. We also had a very good and not expensive dinner and free time in Sintra. I recomend this tour to all who want to see the best in Portugal. Marina and Andreas from Cyprus.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message