Once a hotspot destination for Portuguese royalty, Sintra is widely acclaimed as one of Portugal's most beautiful destinations, full of plush greenery, gorgeous mountains, as well as amazing neo-Gothic structures that radiate in the sun's glow by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 313 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantastic tour! My tour guide for the day was Nuno, and he was very friendly and knowledgeable. It was nice having a small group because we were really able to ask lots of questions and have a more personalized experience. Pena Palace, Sintra, Cabo da Roca, and Cascais were all beautiful, and having such a knowledgeable guide helped us all appreciate what we were seeing all the more. I would highly recommend this tour if you will be in Lisbon for 3 or more days. It was the highlight of my stay! Thank you Nuno!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We went first to Sintra and had a good amount of time to explore the castle and the view of the surrounding landscape. We then had time for lunch and a wander in Sintra, it was a nice little town. Then we went to the Cape Roc westernmost point of continental Europe and enjoyed the view. Lastly we had free time enjoying the beach and ambience of Cascais. Tiago was well organised and professional and we had a good day.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

We wish we had taken the tour that was for a whole day at Sintra. We really enjoyed that part of the tour but as we had to have lunch there, the time allocated for our stay, was too short to see anything but the Pena Palace. We were then transported to Cascais, a beach resort. Once again little to see but sunbathers and sea. There were some shops but, really, why take tourists, who are not geared up to swim, to a beach resort for so long.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour, knowledgeble guide with great english trying to make everything as comfortable as possible for us. Learned a lot and saw beautiful castles, buildings and nature! I loved Sintra palace and the forest around it, and my only complaint is that we didn't get enough time in Sintra village

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guides were excellent. They had a nice balance of Information and time to explore on your own. The group was small enough that you were not having to wait for laggers nor strain to hear the guide. The day we walked in Lisbon we went 5 hours and the tour guide was not flustered at all. This is a great way to see Lisbon, Sintra and the coast in a relatively short period of time.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Lisbon Walking Tour with Food and Wine Tastings, and Sintra and Cascais Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was the highlight of our 4 day stay in Lisbon. If you're lucky enough to have Katirina as your guide, you will learn a lot about Sintra, Cascais and all of Portugal while spending the day with a lovely young Portuguese lady.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved this tour, it took in so many different sights, the guide was really sweet and knowledgable and it felt like we'd seen a huge part of the area around Lisbon without ever feeling rushed. The small group was ideal and the sights spectacular. We're already planning to go back to Sintra and Cascais for longer

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I loved this tour! Nice to see the country side - Sintra is a picturesque and quaint old town with good food. The Pena Castle was amazing. Then we went to Cascais and spent some time by the beach. Lastly we stopped at Cabo da Roca which has stunning view. The tour guide was also very knowledgeable!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Me and my friend have really enjoyed the trip to three royal palaces in the outskirts of Lisbon. We traveled in a mini bus all about 7 people. I could not imagine to be able to climb to Palace de Pena on my own, bus ride was great! Sintra palace was amazing, and Queluz has some repairs going on the facade, but impressive on the inside and barely any visitors! Tour started at 10 am and finished by 6 pm. We had option w/o lunch, buffet at Sintra was cheaper, but overall Sintra is popular, so you have so many options to get your food! I'd recommend this tour to everyone, just be prepared to lots of walking through splendid rooms and lots of visual impressions!

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great. It felt like we were led around the city by a friend. Sintra was beautiful and the drive along the coast was impressive. The day we went on our tour it was a little cold. Fortunately our driver packed a blanket it and it made the weather more tolerable. Overall a great tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

Steven G
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Outstanding tour with an exceptional tour guide Francisco! The Penna Palace Summer palace of the last kings of Portugal was amazing and the drive seemed short due to Francesco's review of the area and it's history. The views from the Palace were amazing with a Moorish Castle and 3 other palaces in the distance. Being 1700 meters elevation, Lisbon was viewed in the distance. We had lunch in beautiful Sintra after walking around the town. Casais is a beach front resort where we had a free hour to walk along the streets. Francisco answered all questions completely and was extremely knowledgeable of all of the sites that we visited. This tour is highly recommended and having Francisco as a guide would be a bonus!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Tradester
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our day trip to Sintra and the Pena Palace was excellent. The palace was beautiful and worth the trip. The return drive down the coast was breathtaking. Our guide was very informative.
Our only grip was that we were to confirm the trip reservation three days in advance. Our emails went unanswered and the phone went unanswered until the day before the trip. I didn't like that I had to spend so much of our valuable holiday time trying to confirm the reservation and we also needed to find out what time we were to be picked up at our hotel.

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide was very good. Visiting Pena Palace was better than seeing Sintra. The lunch in Sintra was really good and there was the bonus of eating in an air conditioned hotel in peace.

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our day one trip to Sintra from Lisbon was fantastic. Pena palace is worth visiting. Cascais Bay and Cabo da Rocas views are amazing!! Lisbon visit will be incomplete without Sintra.
Our heartfelt thanks to our tour guide Fred who made the entire Day trip to Sintra a worth one, he arrived on time at the meeting point, speaks very good English, very knowledgeable, informative and kind to everyone. Throughout the journey he gave us lot of extra information. The food at the restaurant for Lunch, sweets and Gelatos Fred suggested were mouthwatering and we enjoyed a lot. Thanks Fred for making Sintra trip a wonderful and memorable one and thanks for taking some nice pictures of me. Excellent trip !! It was a great tour and highly recommend it.
The 2nd trip to Fatima, Nazare and Obidos was ok, the trip didnt start on time and couldnt see much in Fatima due to ongoing mass, but Obidos was really good and we had plenty of free time to walk around. Our guide Martin was quite informative but in the bus we could hardly hear him although he was using the microphone.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour! Our guide was quite eloquent in several languages she kept all informed in English, German, French and Portuguese! The tour of the palace was excellent, would have liked a little more time in Sintra, if possible. All-in-all - highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Coast Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

You must take this tour! It was fantastic. Rita our guide was extremely knowledgeable and made it extra fun. The sites were amazing and I felt like I learned a great deal about Sintra and Cascais. Everything about this tour was perfect. This tour will not disappoint you. I would do it again!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour guide. Went in a small bus of 8 plus the guide. Sintra is beautiful!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Convenient pickup location. Relaxing day visiting Sintra and cascais. Nice views and the tour guide Pedro is very knowledgeable of history and geography. Definitely would recommend this tour to anyone that is looking to visit Sintra!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a good day out with a relaxed, informative guide and enough time to see the places advertised. Sinatra is well worth visiting as a day trip from Lisbon - the Pena Palace is very impressive with stunning views. The trip provides free time in Sintra too, and enough time to tour the National Palace independently, if you do wish.
The other stops are worthwhile and generally this is good value and an enjoyable day out.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great tour!! Our guide, Nadia was one of the best we have ever had. She was extremely pleasant and knowledgable. Sintra and Caiscais are both wonderful!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour to Sintra was wonderful. The lunch of cabbage soup and cod fish where was the cod fish? - it was all potatoes flavored with cod, was awful! Bad lunch but Sintra was worth the tour.

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very nice tour. Good tour guide. Enjoyed the first day Sintra tour more than the second day.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Overall a nice day but it could start earlier -- like 8AM -- to allow more time in Sintra. Pena Palace was lovely and we had plenty of time there. Key is getting there early because it gets crowded quickly. Also we went on a Monday which one should avoid because many museums in Lisbon are closed Monday so visitors venture outside the city. Sintra was a lovely little town but we were rushed -- 1 1/2 hours is not enough time to visit Sintra Palace, grab lunch and explore the shops. We waited in line 15 minutes to get into the Palace. Cascais nice beachfront resort area but it could have been a drive by. We had 45 mins or so -- enough time to grab an ice cream.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a great tour with Francisco. It was a full day small group shuttle tour with 3 other couples. We traveled to Sintra, spent some time at the castle, walked around the village, had lunch in town, then traveled to the the westernmost point of continental Europe Cabo da Roca Cape Roca, which had some great views... And finally down to Cascais and the beach area to shop a bit, and a drive on the way back to Lisbon through Estoril. All in all Francisco was very personable, knowledgeable and made the trip fun. I'd recommend this trip for anyone whose never been to these places outside of Lisbon.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed our tour very much. Loved Cascais and Sintra! Palacio da Pena is beautiful and colorful. Sintra is a nice little town, with many shops and restaurants. We had a good meal there and bought nice souvenirs. Cascais is also very pretty, with lovely Portuguese architecture. Had wonderful views of the ocean from the van. Our guide was pleasant, but a little repetitive. However, the day as a whole was wonderful.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message