Once a hotspot destination for Portuguese royalty, Sintra is widely acclaimed as one of Portugal's most beautiful destinations, full of plush greenery, gorgeous mountains, as well as amazing neo-Gothic structures that radiate in the sun's glow by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 270 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was our first tour me and my husband ever booked, and also our first time in Lisbon. We unfortunately did not have cell phone or internet service and couldn't have the driver contact us or vice versa. After a little confusion on the pick up area we finally met Igor who had such a warm demeanor even after all the confusion. The mix up caused a half hour delay in our tour, but Igor went above and beyond to accommodate us, and what we wanted to see on the tour. He asked what was our points of interest to see while in Lisbon and we expressed that we trusted his judgement and off we went for the ride in a beetle with much style! He took us to SIntra which was such a treat! Upon it already being a beautiful day for a convertible ride in our beetle, we were also able to really soak in the beauty of SIntra and its picturesque landscape it has to offer. Igor took us around Sintra and we able to look at some beautiful view points and as well see the castle and palaces surrounding the city. We stopped to have a pastry and drink then off we went to do more exploring around Caxias and Cascais and surrounding areas. The drive all around the city of Sintra and Lisbon from Igor was something me and my husband will never forget. The ride along the beach and breathtaking views all over Lisbon with the glass of Port overlooking the most Western tip of Europe was so memorable. We had such a good time that we didn't even feel like we had a tour guide, but yet a new friend we spent the afternoon with. Thanks Igor for really indulging us into the culture and beauty of Portugal. We plan to return soon!

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Super organisierte Tour, sehr netter und kompetenter Tour-Guide, absolut zu empfehlen. Schön wäre evtl. gewesen, in der Altstadt von Sintra noch etwas mehr Zeit als 20 min. verbringen zu können.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Språqet
Norway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great trip and the guide was fantastic.
It was very crowded this day but the guide arranged the trip so we came before the big crowds. We got a lot of information about everything we saw.
Pena Palace is an incredible fairytale castle. Sintra is a special town with its narrow steep streets, and many palace.
Cabo da Roca is great.
There is lots to see through the window on the trip too.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Pedro was an excellent guide! He was very safety conscious and made sure he accounted for all in the van before we departed from each stop. The weather was not great which somewhat affected our experience but this cannot obviously be controlled. Cascais was great but Sintra was a bit disappointing as the town itself was very touristy and coming from Western Canada, the town of Sintra reminded me of Banff, Alberta with the higher than normal prices and somewhat cheap souvenirs but our guide was super!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wish we had more time to spend in Obidos and Sintra. But all in all a well organized tour.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

would have loved more time in Obidos and less time in Nazare. I can see beach in USA and it reminded me of California. Also would have liked more time in the factory shop other than 15 minutes to purchase gifts. Also, 1 hour in Fatima in my opinion is way too long. 30 minutes was sufficient for me. Basilica is closed so you can't go in. Really enjoyed Sintra a lot. loved our guides. Very young guys who were nice and professional. 1 was in training I believe. Less time in Cascais I feel like because again it's just a beach town to me.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

beautiful sintra. well worth the trip.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Excellent visit to the Pena Palace....Andrea was a terrific guide very knowledgeable and helpful...spectacular views of the Sintra National Park and Coast....good intro to the area for a first time visitor...I would have preferred to stay in Sintra and visit the exquisite gardens and Moorish Castle on the hill above and taken time to view the National Palace without feeling rushed.....

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The tour was rushed particularly Sintra. The tour guide was either limited in his knowledge, or not capable or communicating his knowledge about the sites visited on the tour.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Sintra itself is absolutely stunning, however, my husband and I were very disappointed with this tour. Main reasons for this are as follows:
i Guided tour of Pena Palace was very rushed with no free time and I found I had to lag behind and miss explanations of the next area in order to take some photos.
ii Description of tour states Palace and gardens, but we only visited the palace. It was extremely cloudy/foggy the morning we visited, but other groups were still being taken round the gardens and I didn't get the impression we would have been taken round the gardens even in fairer weather, certainly no mention / explanation was given for not seeing them.
iii Lunch was a set menu and the only main course option was fish. I appreciate the dish was traditional Portuguese fare, however neither my husband nor I can eat fish and were extremely embarrassed at having to ask for something else. All the restaurant could offer us was a rare veal burger served with gravy, lettuce and tomato! The cabbage soup and dessert of pastries and ice cream were delicious and the views from the hotel were stunning.
iv There was no visit to Colares. Realise the tram wouldn't have been running, but the tour description does state there will be a tour by bus???
v We drove by Hells Mouth, but didn't stop or even get a photo from the coach !!!
I would absolutely recommend a day trip or even longer to Sintra, but just be sure the tour you book covers want you want to see.

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We enjoyed a lot the tour to Sintra, capo da Roca and Cascais. Nadia Jorge, our guide, was very personable and we learned a lot from her about all teh beautiful places we visited and in general about Portugal.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The highlights of Pena and the town of Sintra was a sight not to be missed. What helped was that the tour group was small, making the trip experience more personalized and easy to manage. Our guide Andrea was wonderful too.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour is amazing!! We had a small group of 8 people and our guide Andre made a great excursion around the park, he was very patient and took attention to each of us, speaking fluently in two languages. We also had a very good and not expensive dinner and free time in Sintra. I recomend this tour to all who want to see the best in Portugal. Marina and Andreas from Cyprus.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great 2 day tour! Had a fabulous torus guide- Nadia- who went out of her way to ensure we were all enjoying ourselves and to try cater to everyone's needs! Especially loved Sintra, Cabo da Roca and obidos! Well worth doing!

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Highly recommended. Our guide, Nadia, was accommodating, friendly, and knowledgeable - she took us to a non-touristy restaurant in Sintra and even dropped us off at the Lisbon Oceanarium after the tour. If you are visiting Portugal, Sintra is a must.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message