Once a hotspot destination for Portuguese royalty, Sintra is widely acclaimed as one of Portugal's most beautiful destinations, full of plush greenery, gorgeous mountains, as well as amazing neo-Gothic structures that radiate in the sun's glow by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 330 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommend. Sintra is beautiful and should be seen. Our guide Fred was fantastic, very knowledgeable and funny. The town of Cascais is lovely and Cabo da Roca Europe's westernmost point is spectacular.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantastic tour! My tour guide for the day was Nuno, and he was very friendly and knowledgeable. It was nice having a small group because we were really able to ask lots of questions and have a more personalized experience. Pena Palace, Sintra, Cabo da Roca, and Cascais were all beautiful, and having such a knowledgeable guide helped us all appreciate what we were seeing all the more. I would highly recommend this tour if you will be in Lisbon for 3 or more days. It was the highlight of my stay! Thank you Nuno!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a wonderful tour not to long and not too short. Only 6 people on the tour. The guide was was informative and interesting. The sights were gorgeous. Sintra is beautiful and a must-see. The motor coach to the Sintra and around Sintra was new, clean and has great AC.

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I had really wanted to visit both Sintra and Cascais on my recent family vacation to Lisbon with my husband and our two young sons. After a little research, I decided this would be the best way to see both places in one day. It was a great decision. We were a small group of 6 and we traveled in a comfortable, air-conditioned minivan. Our tour guide was a lovely young lady named Catarina. She was very warm and wonderful to my two boys. She was very knowledgeable about the sights and made the day feel as if we were spending it with a friend not a tour guide. We visited Pena Palace and had free time to visit other sights afterwards. We decided to relax and have Sintra specialties at the famous Café a Piriquita, namely queijadas and travesseiros. Then we had a brief stop at Cabo da Roca, which is the westernmost point of continental Europe. The tour ended with a longer stop at Cascais to enjoy the beach, followed by a drive along the Estoril coast. We really enjoyed our whole day and would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting Portugal.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Really enjoyed this tour with our friendly and knowledgeable tour guide.
Sintra was beautiful and then we went to the most western part of Portugal over the Atlantic.
Cascais was sooo beautiful that I wished I stayed overnight there so that I could spend more time.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Sintra attracts a lot of tourists, but it remains very pleasant and interesting to discover. Being in a small group, with a professional guide, was decidedly a plus. We enjoyed the drive along the Atlantic coast, including the stop at Cabo da Roca, the western-most point of continental Europe.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour trip to Sintra was excellent. Our guide, Anna, spoke very good English and easy to understand. I was amazed how well she could go back and forth between English and French, for the other visitors on our tour. The Pena Palace, the last one we visited was just spectacular. I felt the palaces just kept getting better. Our lunch was delicious. The place we ate had a wonderful atmosphere and the waiter was friendly and fun. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Io ed il mio ragazzo abbiamo fatto il tour di una giornata a Sintra, Cabo da Roca e Cascais il 10.07.2015:

- Ho prenotato e pagato il tour online direttamente dal sito Viator.
- Il punto di ritrovo era Praça dos Restauradores, proprio di fronte all'Hard Rock Café.
- Ottima esperienza: pulmini da 8 persone, con aria condizionata.
La nostra guida era Fred, molto simpatico, disponibile e preparato.

- Consiglio vivamente questo tour!
Ps. Il tour era in lingua inglese.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We absolutely loved our tour and our guide Luis. We did the full-day tour and we were picked up right outside our flat rental in Lisboa. We started in Sintra and then drove along the coast to Cascais and Belém. Luis made sure we understood where we were going and always asked if there was something else we preferred to see instead. We trusted his recommendations and we weren't disappointed! We had a choice of places to have lunch, we opted for the traditional Portuguese style restaurant and it was delicious! We ended the tour with some porto wine and pasteis de Belém yum! in the park near the Torre de Belém. I would highly recommend this tour, especially if it's your first time to Lisboa.

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I think this was one of my top 3 tours in Lisbon. Sintra is beautiful and could be on the cool side so please take a jacket or sweater. Nice castle and grounds. The little town is charming and has good places to eat and shop. Great tour guide too. Then you go to Cascais where you can see the beach. The whole trip is very informative and the scenery is great!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

I very much enjoyed this tour. Ana, the guide, was really helpful. She was nice enough to speak in spanish even when the tour was english/french. Love the Pena Palace! And love Sintra! You will need to come back after the tour, because you don't have too much free time, but it totally worth it!

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Sintra was lovely and I would have chosen to spend more time there and by-pass Cascais which seemed like a typical resort town and was not of particular interest. I would recommend this tour on a day other than the weekend to avoid traffic. Our guide was great.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We went first to Sintra and had a good amount of time to explore the castle and the view of the surrounding landscape. We then had time for lunch and a wander in Sintra, it was a nice little town. Then we went to the Cape Roc westernmost point of continental Europe and enjoyed the view. Lastly we had free time enjoying the beach and ambience of Cascais. Tiago was well organised and professional and we had a good day.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Paul W
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great trip, pity about the rain!!. Very knowledgeable driver and she spoke excellent english. Great things to see, a lot was packed into the day and there is much more to see at Sintra. It rained heavily for the middle of the trip and this spoilt the day somewhat - BUT - that is not the fault of the tour. On a fine day this trip is well recommended.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Our guide Sonia took great care of us, even bringing sun screen for us. Please note, this is more of a tour of Sintra, Cabo de Roca, and Cascais then it is of Lisbon, which is great in and of itself. However, you won't have the time to see the cathedral and museums of Lisbon, so plan on doing that separately.

We opted to have lunch at a restaurant right off the ocean and the view was great. However, the food was very expensive and it ate into a good hour of our time. If I were to do it over, I'd just grab a bite to eat off of a food vendor or buy something to go from any one of the numerous little food shops in Sintra.

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We spent an excellent day with Andre for our trip out to Sintra and Cascais. We really enjoyed the short walk through the trees to Pena Palace where we explored the area. Andre was informative and fun to spend the day with. He recommended an excellent restaurant for lunch. A tour worth doing for a day trip from Lisbon.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

We wish we had taken the tour that was for a whole day at Sintra. We really enjoyed that part of the tour but as we had to have lunch there, the time allocated for our stay, was too short to see anything but the Pena Palace. We were then transported to Cascais, a beach resort. Once again little to see but sunbathers and sea. There were some shops but, really, why take tourists, who are not geared up to swim, to a beach resort for so long.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Fue un Ok tour, relamente los Palacios en Sintra estan en estado ruinoso y de abandono, es una lastima por la historia que encierran, Lisboa en general esta al punto del derrumbe, pero es una bella ciudad que te enamora por su gente

Doing what: Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Coast Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

farganiceholes
United States of America

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Great tour...Sintra is a must see location. The tour itself, however, felt very rehearsed. Other tours we did on this vacation were better simply because the guide actually made it better. The guide we had was very knowledgeable, but she just wasn't as engaging as other guides. My recommendation would be to book the tour on a weekday...we went on a weekend and fought crowds all day long.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour, knowledgeble guide with great english trying to make everything as comfortable as possible for us. Learned a lot and saw beautiful castles, buildings and nature! I loved Sintra palace and the forest around it, and my only complaint is that we didn't get enough time in Sintra village

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guides were excellent. They had a nice balance of Information and time to explore on your own. The group was small enough that you were not having to wait for laggers nor strain to hear the guide. The day we walked in Lisbon we went 5 hours and the tour guide was not flustered at all. This is a great way to see Lisbon, Sintra and the coast in a relatively short period of time.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Lisbon Walking Tour with Food and Wine Tastings, and Sintra and Cascais Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was the highlight of our 4 day stay in Lisbon. If you're lucky enough to have Katirina as your guide, you will learn a lot about Sintra, Cascais and all of Portugal while spending the day with a lovely young Portuguese lady.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved this tour, it took in so many different sights, the guide was really sweet and knowledgable and it felt like we'd seen a huge part of the area around Lisbon without ever feeling rushed. The small group was ideal and the sights spectacular. We're already planning to go back to Sintra and Cascais for longer

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I loved this tour! Nice to see the country side - Sintra is a picturesque and quaint old town with good food. The Pena Castle was amazing. Then we went to Cascais and spent some time by the beach. Lastly we stopped at Cabo da Roca which has stunning view. The tour guide was also very knowledgeable!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message