Once a hotspot destination for Portuguese royalty, Sintra is widely acclaimed as one of Portugal's most beautiful destinations, full of plush greenery, gorgeous mountains, as well as amazing neo-Gothic structures that radiate in the sun's glow by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 231 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Doug Y
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a highlight of our short stay in Lisbon, despite the fact my wife had her wallet stolen from her backpack. In fact I would say it's an essential for anyone staying in Lisbon for more than a couple of days. We were told that Walt Disney based his castle in part on Sintra, well he failed to do it justice. It's a fairy tale, but it's real. The mountain setting is gorgeous too.
The tour was greatly enhanced by our charming, informative, funny and attentive multilingual guide, Francisco

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My husband and I had an incredible time soaking in as much of Lisbon as possible as we possibly could during a 12 hour stop over before our one year anniversary trip to Spain. We loved our driver Miguel. He spoke great English, was very friendly, interesting and knowledgeable and greeted us with an anniversary gift from his artist girlfriend upon our arrival which was extremely thoughtful. He took us on an amazing tour of the coast and took us to Quinta da Regaleira, a must-see estate located near the historic center of Sintra (a World Heritage Site by UNESCO), and then on to his favorite "locals" place for an authentic Portoguese homemade lunch which stared out the pictureque Mediterranean and the lighthouse which is the Western most point in Europe. I wish we could see every European city this way. The only downside was that the car we rode in (I think it was a '69 VW Beetle) really needed new brake pads. The car squealed a lot which was a little painful on the ears but a small price to pay for the most incredible day ever. HIGHLY HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TOUR.

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The travel accommodations were nice and they really did mean small group--we were 8. Ample time was dedicated to exploring the Pena Palace, Sintra town, Cabo da Roca and Cascais on our own. I would definitely recommend bringing along beach wear/towels if you are interested in spending time on the beach in Guincho or Cascais. Also, Sintra is a microclimate with unpredictable weather--wear a sweater, you never know. The guide was knowledgeable though I felt we could have had more history--especially during the drives between attractions. All in all, we got our money's worth and enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Good tour - sintra is a must see.. Could have spent more time there than other stops.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great way to see Sintra! Or tour guide João even drove my girlfriend and I to another site that we wanted to see, without us asking him for the ride. What a great day.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Lisbon Walking Tour with Food and Wine Tastings, and Sintra and Cascais Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to the lovely towns of Sintra and Cascais with Joao as our Tour Guide who was very knowledgeable and informative. Would highly recommend this trip to other visitors :)

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a very well done trip and our guide did a great job.

and yes I would go back and tell my friends to go to Sintra and Cascais on a one day trip

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was really great! I recommend this trip to Sintra and Cascais to everyone. The guide was great and knew the area very well! I made 2 news friends on this trip. So it was a great day!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide Tiago picked us up from the Restauradores square in the morning. Although we visited in early July when bright sunshine is expected, on the day of the trip it was pouring. On our way to Sintra, there was pretty thick fog. But Tiago was very friendly and entertaining. He drove to Sintra where we visited the palace. Although we could not fully appreciate the beauty of the place due to thick fog and rain, Tiago did not let us get disappointed. By the time we climbed down, the sun had begun appearing. Tiago gave us tips about the restaurants for lunch (especially where we could find the famous pastries). The next stop was Capo Roca. This was the highlight of the tour. The weather had fully cleared up leading to fantastic views across the Atlantic. It was a surprise trip I had planned for my wife's birthday and she thoroughly enjoyed the trip (that's all that matters at the end ;) ) I would highly recommend the trip!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great day with guide Diago. The trip was not too rushed with plenty of time to see all the sights. A bit of hard walking at the Palace but it was worth it. Sintra is a good place just to sit with a coffee and watch the world go by.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Sintra is terrific, and so is this tour! Fernando was a terrific guide with great knowledge and a great sense of humor. The three palaces were very beautiful and this was a great way to see and learn about them. We did lunch on our own, and would recommend that so you can explore Sintra a bit.

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A terrific small group tour. Our guide to Sintra, Nadia was excellent!!! She interacted with the group and got everyone involved. She provided very detailed explanations. The Fatima leg of the tour was a bit hurried, as this tour travels the furthest from Barcelona. If your main interest is to visit Fatima, I recommend you book a tour to visit Fatima only. The grounds are spacious and with many visitors. 1 1/2 hours here is not sufficient.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic way to spend a day in Lisbon. Sintra was a very beautiful town and we really enjoyed visiting the castle. We also had a beautiful day for visiting and taking photos at Rocket Cape and Cascais. Louis our Inside Lisbon tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. Would high recommend this trip to someone looking to tour these places while in Lisbon.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour guide was excellent, actually grew up in Sintra, very full day. Started @ 9am ended @ 6pm. Lots of extras that the tour guide brought us to see off the beaten path. So much history and info to enjoy. The vehicles we took were very nice new and comfortable. The groups were not too big so we had the opportunity to get to know the other travelers as well.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message