Once a hotspot destination for Portuguese royalty, Sintra is widely acclaimed as one of Portugal's most beautiful destinations, full of plush greenery, gorgeous mountains, as well as amazing neo-Gothic structures that radiate in the sun's glow by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 247 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

The tour got off to a bad start as we were kept waiting for a half hour and then there were further delays to get us a large enough bus - all in all an hour and a half until we actually were on our way. However, we had a wonderful guide and despite the very rainy weather conditions and further trouble with a broken down vehicle in Sintra, the palaces trip was fantastic and my husband and I enjoyed our day immensely. Had it not been for the above annoyances I would have rated this 5 star!

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a very nice day. We visited Sintra and the palace, then drove to the coast for some spectacular ocean views. On the return to Lisbon we stopped in Estoril and had an hour of free time.

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An excellent, well organsied tour. Our guide Maria picked us up from the designated location and the mini-bus was very comfortable with a small number of people. The road to Sintra was interesting in parts, particularly the view of the Aguas Livres Acqueduct on the left of the bus about 10 minutes in. Sintra is very charming and Pena Palace absolutely amazing. In some respects the exterior is the mind-blowing part, as the interior rooms are very small given it used to be a monastery prior to becoming a palace. Apparently the last occupant (can't remember her name) left in a hurry and as such much of the furniture and other items were left in situ. Highly recommended. The tour back via Cabo da Roca (westernmost point of the European continent) and Cascais was interesting, but really Sintra is the key feature. Cabo da Roca was INUNDATED with massive tour buses and tourists and frankly, whilst interesting to say you were there, really just looks like every other bit of coast with cliffs we've seen around the world. Cascais was nice, but again, Sintra was the highlight.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a fabulous day at Sintra and Cascais. Our guide Nina from the tour operator was very informative and helpful. As we were in a small mini bus we were able to visit places a coach could not get to. Well worth the money

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Caterine was a wonderful guide for our trip to Sintra and Cascais. She was a font of information, a fantastic driver, and attentive to our varied needs. Our group ranged in age from a baby to an 80-year old and we all enjoyed the day. The sites we visited were gorgeous and we highly recommend this trip and Caterine.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour leader was very knowledgeable about the history of both Sintra and Casais.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. Sintra was very interesting to visit. Enough time is given to enjoy all places listed in this tour. It is great to have small group and more private experience. Through bonus was that we have visited some beaches where we could enjoy looking at surfers and their skills.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour and we highly recommend it. Our tour guide, Sylvia, was fantastic. She was extremely knowledgeable and kind to everyone.
They picked us up on time at our hotel and then took us to a central location where we boarded a second bus for our tour. We booked with lunch and enjoyed our meal with the other guests. If you want more time to look around the town of Sintra, then I would suggest skipping the lunch. However, even with the lunch we felt that we had plenty of time to visit the shops and sites in Sintra.
The only negative for this trip was at the end, but it actually worked out better for us. The information we saw when we booked said "Hotel pick up and drop-off" in the Details section. We assumed this meant a drop-off at our hotel - IT DOES NOT. Further down in the Details section it states "Returns to original point of departure", so I guess the technical meaning of that means return to the central location where we boarded the bus in the morning. We did not find this out until we were returning to Lisbon. Sylvia was very apologetic and arranged for us to be dropped off at the Roccio Metro stop. It worked out for us, because we were going to have dinner in the Roccio area anyway, so it saved us a taxi. For us this surprise ended up as a positive, but I can see how it might adversely affect others.
That said, we highly recommend this tour. The tour was great, the bus was very clean, and Sylvia was fantastic. If you are in Lisbon looking for a tour, then put this one on your list.

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Four of us booked this tour. There were a total of 14 on tour. It was an all-English speaking group, so our tour guide was able to spend more time explaining the sites and sights, since all explanations were given in only one language. We were virtually the only group touring the National Palace in Sintra as well as the palace in Queluz. No crowds! We opted for the optional lunch in Sintra, and we were very satisfied with the quality and quantity of the meal. As well as the included wines! The included hotel pick-up was on-time and exactly as promised. We knew that a hotel drop-off was not included, but since it was a small tour and traffic when we returned to Lisbon was very light, we were dropped off very near our hotel (only a few blocks' walk) rather than the usual drop-off point near the river. This was an excellent tour, someone else did the driving (and dealt with the traffic in Sintra!), all arrangements were pre-paid and taken care of, no lines, no waits, and the guide was personable, interspersed interesting stories in between the hard facts about the three palaces, and basically make this journey carefree, learning and enjoyable.

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My tour guide was Jouo (spelling probably wrong); he told us to call him John. He was very knowledgeable and entertaining. We hit a bit of traffic on the way to Sintra, but he took us out of the way a bit to avoid the traffic and we got to see another castle that wasn't on the itinerary, which was nice. He recommended an excellent lunch restaurant in Sintra and always answered our questions promptly and fully. It was a great tour. The only thing I didn't like was that I found out that I paid $20 more than others on the tour, probably because I booked the tour a month ahead. Next time I will wait to book.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the trip to Sintra, Cascais, etc. Was most interesting and most enjoyable. Was disappointed in the Fatima trip - Fatima has become too tourist orientated. Loved Nazare and Obidos - would have liked more time in Obidos, as too much time was spent in Nazare as some people went for a long lunch and we had to wait on them - extra half hour or more.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I would have given this tour 5 stars, except that the tour company (Inside Lisbon) didn't have my name on any of their lists (there were about 5 simultaneous pick-ups at the same location). But they were very accommodating and I was able to join an English/German tour. Nina was our guide and she was great! The palace was interesting, though I wish we were provided with more information regarding Sintra (such as a map and things to do) because when we had free time afterwards, the tourism office was very crowded and I didn't want to waste 30 minutes waiting in line to get a map. We stopped at Cabo da Roca and Guicho (which were both windy yet beautiful) before going to Cascais. We had about an hour to hang out in Cascais and then headed back to Lisbon. Nina was nice enough to drop me off near my hotel, as it was more convenient for her (and everyone else on the tour). Overall a great tour, but just note that during the high season it is hot, crowded, and you may spend a lot of time sitting in traffic.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I had booked this tour by mistake, as I actually wanted the full day tour of Sintra and the Estoril Coast trip. The guide who excorted us from our hotel to the meeting point was very helpful, and was able to negotiate for us to go on the tour I actually wanted. I appreciated her help very much, as it had been my error. It was so convenient to be picked up and dropped off at our hotel, and the pickup was on time and got to the meeting point in good time too. Sintra was well worth visiting, very striking if a little Disney-esque from the outside! Our guide was excellent, and the inside was beautifully preserved. The drive along the coast and a short stop at Caiscais was a real bonus. It was a most enjoyable day.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: Lisbon Sightseeing Tour and Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Coast Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

A wonderful day trip outside of Lisbon and not too far away. We had free time in Sintra village which was lovely. So glad we did this trip.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, Nadia Jorge, was very knowledgable and personable. Her English was very good also. We just loved her! Sintra was definitely very interesting and full of history, but Cascais was just a pretty seaside town. The ride along the coast was beautiful.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message