Once a hotspot destination for Portuguese royalty, Sintra is widely acclaimed as one of Portugal's most beautiful destinations, full of plush greenery, gorgeous mountains, as well as amazing neo-Gothic structures that radiate in the sun's glow by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 227 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great way to see Sintra! Or tour guide João even drove my girlfriend and I to another site that we wanted to see, without us asking him for the ride. What a great day.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Lisbon Walking Tour with Food and Wine Tastings, and Sintra and Cascais Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to the lovely towns of Sintra and Cascais with Joao as our Tour Guide who was very knowledgeable and informative. Would highly recommend this trip to other visitors :)

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a very well done trip and our guide did a great job.

and yes I would go back and tell my friends to go to Sintra and Cascais on a one day trip

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was really great! I recommend this trip to Sintra and Cascais to everyone. The guide was great and knew the area very well! I made 2 news friends on this trip. So it was a great day!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide Tiago picked us up from the Restauradores square in the morning. Although we visited in early July when bright sunshine is expected, on the day of the trip it was pouring. On our way to Sintra, there was pretty thick fog. But Tiago was very friendly and entertaining. He drove to Sintra where we visited the palace. Although we could not fully appreciate the beauty of the place due to thick fog and rain, Tiago did not let us get disappointed. By the time we climbed down, the sun had begun appearing. Tiago gave us tips about the restaurants for lunch (especially where we could find the famous pastries). The next stop was Capo Roca. This was the highlight of the tour. The weather had fully cleared up leading to fantastic views across the Atlantic. It was a surprise trip I had planned for my wife's birthday and she thoroughly enjoyed the trip (that's all that matters at the end ;) ) I would highly recommend the trip!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great day with guide Diago. The trip was not too rushed with plenty of time to see all the sights. A bit of hard walking at the Palace but it was worth it. Sintra is a good place just to sit with a coffee and watch the world go by.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Sintra is terrific, and so is this tour! Fernando was a terrific guide with great knowledge and a great sense of humor. The three palaces were very beautiful and this was a great way to see and learn about them. We did lunch on our own, and would recommend that so you can explore Sintra a bit.

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A terrific small group tour. Our guide to Sintra, Nadia was excellent!!! She interacted with the group and got everyone involved. She provided very detailed explanations. The Fatima leg of the tour was a bit hurried, as this tour travels the furthest from Barcelona. If your main interest is to visit Fatima, I recommend you book a tour to visit Fatima only. The grounds are spacious and with many visitors. 1 1/2 hours here is not sufficient.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic way to spend a day in Lisbon. Sintra was a very beautiful town and we really enjoyed visiting the castle. We also had a beautiful day for visiting and taking photos at Rocket Cape and Cascais. Louis our Inside Lisbon tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. Would high recommend this trip to someone looking to tour these places while in Lisbon.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We would certainly recommend this tour. Our guide and driver were terrific. Our guide provided an excellent explanation of the history, culture of Lisbon, Sintra, Estoril and Caiscais. We enjoyed every minute of the trip to the beautiful sights outside of Lisbon

Doing what: Private Tour to the Estoril Coast and Sintra - UNESCO World Heritage Site

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour guide was excellent, actually grew up in Sintra, very full day. Started @ 9am ended @ 6pm. Lots of extras that the tour guide brought us to see off the beaten path. So much history and info to enjoy. The vehicles we took were very nice new and comfortable. The groups were not too big so we had the opportunity to get to know the other travelers as well.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I was travelling with my sister on vacation and this was our second tour booked through Viator. It is a well laid out tour. The meeting point is fairly easy to get to within Lisbon. The guides from Inside Lisbon arrive fairly close to the set departure time and begin calling out the names of travelers going to the various day tours. They have an 8 passenger van for these day tours that is air-conditioned and fairly comfortable. Sintra is a beautiful little town and the Pena Palace is a sight to see. I really wish we did have a little more time in Sintra just to enjoy some of the views and see a few more places. You are given about 1.5 hours at lunch time to spend as you wish (grab a sit down meal, see more palaces, walk the city). That being said, I was still content with the time we were given. Martha was our guide who speaks wonderful English. My sister and I were both quite sore from a few other activities and were a little slow on the climb uphill but she did a great job accommodating our needs and keeping balance with providing history and enough time to see what was needed. Just a note to future travelers - August is a VERY busy month - so there are fairly big crowds and a large number of tours that come out to Sintra. Cascais is beautiful and we had about an hour there to enjoy in the afternoon. Overall, a great tour!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great day spent in Sintra and Cascais- beautiful towns different in each way. Our guide Joanna was wonderful interacting with the group and giving lots insider tips of Lisbon. Ample time given to explore twp destinations on your own.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

A good concept but we felt an attempt was made to add too much to the single tour thus limiting the amount of time available at individual sights. Time in Sintra was really too minimal to get a real feel for the location. A very long and somewhat tiring tour overall.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

We took the trip to Sintra, Cascais and Estoril with John on the first day. He was great as she shared a lot of information with us. When we were at the Pena Palace, he took us "off the beaten" path and helped us experience new things. We also went to Cabo da roca which was wonderful. I would have given this a 5 star except for the guide we had on the second day. Martinho did not speak good English and we could barely hear him when he talked into the van. Before we got to a placem John would provide the background in the car so we had the information when we stopped. Martinho would take the time and do it once we were there. Since we spoke different languages, this used up a lot of time. I wished the tour provided more time in Fatima and less in Nazare. we spent a lot of time at Nazare at the top of th hill to see the monument and then drove down to eat lunch. i would suggest that they skip the trip into town and just eat lunch at the top of the hill. The trip to Obidos is great as it is a beautiful walled city. If you have the time and the physical capabilty, climb the stairs to the wall and walk around the outside. The trip on the second day is long. If you can, find a trip just to Fatima and Obidos.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message