• USD ($)
  • English
Once a hotspot destination for Portuguese royalty, Sintra is widely acclaimed as one of Portugal's most beautiful destinations, full of plush greenery, gorgeous mountains, as well as amazing neo-Gothic structures that radiate in the sun's glow by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 209 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting. Most of all I liked Sintra.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Beautiful places!!!!!!! Cascais is amazing, there is a wonderful view on the way there. Sintra is a cute little town. Very recommended.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent guide, Andre. Sintra and Pena Palace were beautiful. To see the most southern point of Portugal was exciting. Enough free time to explore on our own was nice

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this day trip. The guide provided us with a lot of information. It would have been helpful to have a microphone system when walking in town so that we could hear everything he was saying. Because there were so many tourists and chatter all around, it wasn't so easy to always hear what was being conveyed.

The van was comfortable. It would have been nice to have more free time in Sintra since it is such a lovely setting.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Hassle free way to see Sintra and Pena Palace, but if you're the type who dislikes being on a tight schedule, I suggest you take train from Lisbon to Sintra on your own. The quick stops in Cabo da Roca and Cascais were beautiful.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Sintra Palace is beautiful. Looks like out of a story book, the colorful palaces

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

While we loved Sintra and look forward to going back one day, it was very hard to understand our guide Martin. His volume was low and he often mumbled so that we only understood half of what he told us. Also, we were under the impression that we were on an English speaking tour and did not find it fair that there were Italians on the tour and that Martin (not his fault) had to spend time giving two explanations, thereby obviously able to provide less info in English which we would have liked to receive. While Martin is an intelligent and kind man, he does not have the charisma nor personality necessary to lead a group and keep them as active participants.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Joseph R
Switzerland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Beautiful and very interesting trip. When you first see Sintra and surrounding forest, you really cannot believe it's size, architectural beauty and historical significance. Lunch there was also a highlight. A must do.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour/guide. Gus knew everything, excellent English, great friendly personality,safe driver Gave us good recommendation for lunch in Sintra. We were only 8 which made the trip even better. This was our first experience w/ Viatour and it won't be our last!!! Definitely worth the $$$.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

AMAZING trip. Martino was our guide and we adored him. He was so knowledgeable and helpful. Sintra and Cascais was just one highlight after the next. I feel it gave a great overview of both places, so if you are pressed for time this is the way to see tons in a shorter time period. Saying that, I think the tour should be three days. My friend and I went back to Sintra on our own, very doable from Lisbon and super cheap. But it would have been great having a full day in Sintra, allowing more time to explore the historic district and see Quinta Da Regaleira, which was straight out of a fairytale. Fatima, Nazare and Obidos was also a wonderful day out. I think an hour was too long to spend in Fatima, I understand it is an important religious destination but maximum 45 minutes is needed. The gift shop stop was too long as well, great for people to pick up souvenirs but it just made the stop a lengthy one when I would have preferred more time elsewhere. Nazare was the lunch stop, and restaurants were slow making everyone in the group late for the pick up. Would be good if restaurants could be recommended for taste as well as efficiency as we were annoyed a food stop took so long when there was so much to see. Need far more time in Obidos, could have easily spent the entire afternoon there or at least an hour. Having 40 minutes was a joke really especially if you want to walk along the wall, which I would highly recommend as it is like stepping back in time and such an exhilarating feeling with no rails. Since Obidos is very difficult to get back to on your own I think it would be very nice to have had more leisure time, and also to purchase souvenirs and ginginja, which is absolutely divine!

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Luis was a terrific guide. Enjoyed our day out. Suggest you tell visitors about the fog at Sintra and to bring a jacket or sweater as the weather on the trip is changeable. At Sintra I would recommend the trolly to the top for anyone that has joint issues or is not in shape it is quite a steep climb. Would recommend

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

My friend and I recently joined this day trip to Sintra and Cascais. It was great! Just perfect for a day trip to see things outside of Lisboa. Our guide Francisco was great, very knowledgeable, and easily handling the multiple languages needed among the visitors in our little bus. Listening to Fado while he drove across the countryside from the Sintra to Cascais was a great way to feel immersed in the culture. Traffic jams in Cascais cut short our visit at the end of the day, but still a great experience.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Chris
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The early part of the tour (Sintra/Pena Palace) was a bit of a wash-out due to poor weather but I would imagine on a good day the views would be stunning. The guide Thiago was as disappointed as us but made the best of what we had by being informative and helpful. Thankfully the weather improved by the time we got to Cabo da Roca and Cascais which were both interesting places to visit. Would say that the Sintra part of the tour does involve a lot of walking up hillsides so only entertain this tour if you are happy on your feet !

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

We have taken many day trips while traveling and this was one of the worst. On this tour you will be 1 of about 40 people. No problem there, except that the tour guide conducted the tour in English, Spanish, Portuguese and French. The cumulative effect over a full day is that you get only 25% of the information you'd get if the tour were solely an English tour as it was implied when we booked. The lunch was very bad, not in a local restaurant as promised, but in a banquet room at a hotel in Sintra. No menu choices and bad food. Most importantly, clearly stated on the tour info and our ticket itself was that tour included drop off back at hotel where we were picked up. That didn't happen and the local company refused to honor that, sayings that it was a viator issue. Instead, we were dropped at the closest point available, according to the guide. While we weren't very far away, we had to go up over 100 stairs and walk uphill to get back to the hotel. Not what we paid for and not what you want to do after a day of walking. At least it wasn't raining at the time, though I'm sure rain wouldn't have changed anything. We had good luck with a previous viator on same trip while in Spain, but this was so bad we won't use viator again.

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message