Once a hotspot destination for Portuguese royalty, Sintra is widely acclaimed as one of Portugal's most beautiful destinations, full of plush greenery, gorgeous mountains, as well as amazing neo-Gothic structures that radiate in the sun's glow by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 243 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a very nice day. We visited Sintra and the palace, then drove to the coast for some spectacular ocean views. On the return to Lisbon we stopped in Estoril and had an hour of free time.

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An excellent, well organsied tour. Our guide Maria picked us up from the designated location and the mini-bus was very comfortable with a small number of people. The road to Sintra was interesting in parts, particularly the view of the Aguas Livres Acqueduct on the left of the bus about 10 minutes in. Sintra is very charming and Pena Palace absolutely amazing. In some respects the exterior is the mind-blowing part, as the interior rooms are very small given it used to be a monastery prior to becoming a palace. Apparently the last occupant (can't remember her name) left in a hurry and as such much of the furniture and other items were left in situ. Highly recommended. The tour back via Cabo da Roca (westernmost point of the European continent) and Cascais was interesting, but really Sintra is the key feature. Cabo da Roca was INUNDATED with massive tour buses and tourists and frankly, whilst interesting to say you were there, really just looks like every other bit of coast with cliffs we've seen around the world. Cascais was nice, but again, Sintra was the highlight.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a fabulous day at Sintra and Cascais. Our guide Nina from the tour operator was very informative and helpful. As we were in a small mini bus we were able to visit places a coach could not get to. Well worth the money

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Caterine was a wonderful guide for our trip to Sintra and Cascais. She was a font of information, a fantastic driver, and attentive to our varied needs. Our group ranged in age from a baby to an 80-year old and we all enjoyed the day. The sites we visited were gorgeous and we highly recommend this trip and Caterine.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour leader was very knowledgeable about the history of both Sintra and Casais.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. Sintra was very interesting to visit. Enough time is given to enjoy all places listed in this tour. It is great to have small group and more private experience. Through bonus was that we have visited some beaches where we could enjoy looking at surfers and their skills.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour and we highly recommend it. Our tour guide, Sylvia, was fantastic. She was extremely knowledgeable and kind to everyone.
They picked us up on time at our hotel and then took us to a central location where we boarded a second bus for our tour. We booked with lunch and enjoyed our meal with the other guests. If you want more time to look around the town of Sintra, then I would suggest skipping the lunch. However, even with the lunch we felt that we had plenty of time to visit the shops and sites in Sintra.
The only negative for this trip was at the end, but it actually worked out better for us. The information we saw when we booked said "Hotel pick up and drop-off" in the Details section. We assumed this meant a drop-off at our hotel - IT DOES NOT. Further down in the Details section it states "Returns to original point of departure", so I guess the technical meaning of that means return to the central location where we boarded the bus in the morning. We did not find this out until we were returning to Lisbon. Sylvia was very apologetic and arranged for us to be dropped off at the Roccio Metro stop. It worked out for us, because we were going to have dinner in the Roccio area anyway, so it saved us a taxi. For us this surprise ended up as a positive, but I can see how it might adversely affect others.
That said, we highly recommend this tour. The tour was great, the bus was very clean, and Sylvia was fantastic. If you are in Lisbon looking for a tour, then put this one on your list.

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the trip to Sintra, Cascais, etc. Was most interesting and most enjoyable. Was disappointed in the Fatima trip - Fatima has become too tourist orientated. Loved Nazare and Obidos - would have liked more time in Obidos, as too much time was spent in Nazare as some people went for a long lunch and we had to wait on them - extra half hour or more.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I would have given this tour 5 stars, except that the tour company (Inside Lisbon) didn't have my name on any of their lists (there were about 5 simultaneous pick-ups at the same location). But they were very accommodating and I was able to join an English/German tour. Nina was our guide and she was great! The palace was interesting, though I wish we were provided with more information regarding Sintra (such as a map and things to do) because when we had free time afterwards, the tourism office was very crowded and I didn't want to waste 30 minutes waiting in line to get a map. We stopped at Cabo da Roca and Guicho (which were both windy yet beautiful) before going to Cascais. We had about an hour to hang out in Cascais and then headed back to Lisbon. Nina was nice enough to drop me off near my hotel, as it was more convenient for her (and everyone else on the tour). Overall a great tour, but just note that during the high season it is hot, crowded, and you may spend a lot of time sitting in traffic.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I had booked this tour by mistake, as I actually wanted the full day tour of Sintra and the Estoril Coast trip. The guide who excorted us from our hotel to the meeting point was very helpful, and was able to negotiate for us to go on the tour I actually wanted. I appreciated her help very much, as it had been my error. It was so convenient to be picked up and dropped off at our hotel, and the pickup was on time and got to the meeting point in good time too. Sintra was well worth visiting, very striking if a little Disney-esque from the outside! Our guide was excellent, and the inside was beautifully preserved. The drive along the coast and a short stop at Caiscais was a real bonus. It was a most enjoyable day.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: Lisbon Sightseeing Tour and Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Coast Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

A wonderful day trip outside of Lisbon and not too far away. We had free time in Sintra village which was lovely. So glad we did this trip.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Had really high hopes and was very disappointed. Spent 5.5 hours of the trip in Sintra and only saw one castle and had lunch - had time for so much more! Guide was very softly spoken and did not speak into mike on bus - frustrating. Cascais is a tourist town not a quaint fishing town - nice but...

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Doug Y
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a highlight of our short stay in Lisbon, despite the fact my wife had her wallet stolen from her backpack. In fact I would say it's an essential for anyone staying in Lisbon for more than a couple of days. We were told that Walt Disney based his castle in part on Sintra, well he failed to do it justice. It's a fairy tale, but it's real. The mountain setting is gorgeous too.
The tour was greatly enhanced by our charming, informative, funny and attentive multilingual guide, Francisco

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My husband and I had an incredible time soaking in as much of Lisbon as possible as we possibly could during a 12 hour stop over before our one year anniversary trip to Spain. We loved our driver Miguel. He spoke great English, was very friendly, interesting and knowledgeable and greeted us with an anniversary gift from his artist girlfriend upon our arrival which was extremely thoughtful. He took us on an amazing tour of the coast and took us to Quinta da Regaleira, a must-see estate located near the historic center of Sintra (a World Heritage Site by UNESCO), and then on to his favorite "locals" place for an authentic Portoguese homemade lunch which stared out the pictureque Mediterranean and the lighthouse which is the Western most point in Europe. I wish we could see every European city this way. The only downside was that the car we rode in (I think it was a '69 VW Beetle) really needed new brake pads. The car squealed a lot which was a little painful on the ears but a small price to pay for the most incredible day ever. HIGHLY HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TOUR.

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message