Lisbon  is a city to get lost in, wandering steep, narrow streets lined with tiled buildings, and discovering hidden bars and cafes. Day 1: History, Hills & Local Flavor Start at Rossio and head south into the Baixa district. Wander along ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 5255 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The pass was good for 48 hours, the bus was across the street from where we docked. We arrived a day early due to bad weather, and the tour bus took us for a drive through the city. A big advantage to having a voucher with Viator is you don't have to worry about having euros. We just showed our voucher and we were ready to use the hop on hop off for 2 days.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Lisbon Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jackie J

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

It was a good experience, but I think that the price is a bit too high for what you get.

Doing what: Lisbon Small-Group Gourmet Portuguese Food and Wine Tour

Anne H

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Once the tour started, it was run efficiently and we had a very informative guide. I think there is room for improvement on how the pick-up for the tour is organised. Despite having arrived a little early, there was no information about which group or tour bus you are booked with. Our driver was late arriving, which meant we were waiting for nearly 30 minutes standing on a street before commencing the tour. A good start is important because first impressions last.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Karen L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

We had bad weather, which clearly isn't the fault of our guide, but the guide didn't take advantage of time in the bus to tell us what to look for. Not enough history or important information provided so the tour in the palace was not productive. Also, in the town of Sintra itself, there was no real guidance on what to see therefore some people did things that others didn't know to do. The location is beautiful but our guide did not handle the bad weather situation well to make the tour worthwhile.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Rebecca E O

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

the sights themselves were amazing, however the tour guide was less than enthusiastic - we left a bit late didn't end up being an issue and his attempt to balance French/English translations was honorable however left a lot of the group non-engaged for a good amount of time. I've been on several viator recommended tours and was excited about this one given the great reviews, so was a bit disappointed when it fell flat. that said, highly recommend taking the trip to Sintra and Cascais - the sights are truly amazing.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Graham H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

So so disappointing. Earphones which didn't work and a commentary written in a form of English that I certainly didn't recognise - stilted, dull and ungrammatical. One shop was described as selling 'clothes, electrical items and compliments'. Huge gaps in the narration meant it was all dull and slow and just too quiet at times and many many sites were simply left off the commentary. Frankly the worst recorded tour commentary I have heard.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Lisbon Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Rodney P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

First time we have used a small group tour and would highly recommend them. More personalised and accommodating to our needs than larger numbers on a tour. Our guide was excellent and knowledgeable and varied the itinerary and timings to meet everyone's requirements.

Doing what: Lisbon Small Group Tour

tony h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

very efficient, the driver even tried to refuse my tip

Doing what: Lisbon Airport Private Arrival Transfer

Courtney DS Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My husband and I took this on a warm but windy day in March! We had a fantastic day! Our guide, Nuno, was friendly, funny and knowledgeable and was also able to make sure everyone was always included and having a great time! All the sights we stopped at were great and Nuno provided lots of great contextual and historical information to make it even better. Arguably, my favourite part of the day as it often is on these tours was our stop for lunch with delicious portuguese food and drink! Thank you!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small Group Tour from Lisbon

ferchomunoz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Perfect tour to see 3 different must-see Portugal sites in 1 day. The car is comfortable and the guide was just excellent.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Grace C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

João and this tour were amazing! We visited two wineries and one liquor producer. João was incredibly knowledgeable about the wines and liquors. He was incredibly friendly and willing to answer all of our questions not just about the wines, but about the region, history of Lisbon, life, etc. : Because the tour was private, we were able to spend as long as we wanted at each location which was very nice. This tour was certainly one of the highlights of our trip to Lisbon, and we highly recommend it!

Doing what: Setúbal Region Wine Tasting Private Day Trip from Lisbon

Moaath A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

one of the best days of my life!
It worth every single penny .. I went with Ricardo .. he is an amazing guy with a good personality .. I felt like I'm having a tour with my friend .. this is a must if you are in Lisbon ..

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

carolk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I was a little nervous at first, but Fabio did a great job helping us to feel comfortable on the segways. It was the first time for all 5 of us on the tour. Winding through the streets of the Alfama on a segway is an experience not to be missed. Thanks for sharing all of your knowledge of Lisbon with us on a great tour, Fabio!

Doing what: Lisbon by Segway

Natascia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very nice tour the guide was very well prepared on the different sites very skilled driver in the mini-bus! To improve the efficacy of the tour, it should be better clarified in the web site that, after the on line booking, the printed receipt should be shown at the Yellow Bus kiosk at the Commerce Square, in order to get the tour ticket. This is not very clear from the on line instructions.

Doing what: Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Queluz Palace, Pena Palace and Pena Park

Sarah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Pedro and Miguel were fantastic tour guides. They were professional, courteous, friendly and extremely knowledgeable . We were very lucky to have had such lovely guides and they really made our first day in Lisbon memorable. They had a challenge with 3 slightly mad women, but they made us feel so welcome and no question was too silly or a problem, we never felt rushed and had a great time. This tour enabled us to visit places we would not normally see and it gave us a really good understanding of the city. Thank you Pedro and Miguel for your patience and humour. Sarah, Donna and Mandy.

Doing what: Experience Lisbon: Small-Group Walking Tour with Food and Wine Tastings

irma c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a very good experience with our transfer from Lisbon Airport.
Someone was waiting for us and took us to the hotel in a confortsble van.

Doing what: Lisbon Airport Private Arrival Transfer

nicolka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was absolutely amazing. We enjoyed the winding road drive and then a nice hike to the castle but the once there it was like we landed in to a fairy tale. Absolutely gorgeous and kept well inside and outside. Stunning views. The weather cooperated which made our experience even better. We had the best guide. He had a lot of insight into the places we saw and made our tour so much more pleasurable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Sups2004 France

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour -- well paced.
Apart from the religious significance of Fatima, the wonderful architecture of the monasteries we visited and the old town of Obidos remain etched.
The included lunch at Batalha was superb with excellent selection of cheese and wine.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

Sups2004 France

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A must see.
Sintra, Cascais and Roca Caves -- all wonderful locations.
And our excellent guide I forgot her name, but she mentioned that she was form Germany but living in LIsbon for more than 10 years made such excellent explanations that this trip is just not to be missed.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Catherine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved the tour. I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Lisbon Off The Beaten Track and Main Sights Private Walking Tour

carol B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an amazing place and a must see if you are in the Lisbon area. I highly recommend the private tour. We were escorted by Diogo and he is so informative but also fun to be around. I had read the reviews previous to booking this trip and all I can say is they are all true. I would highly recommend this tour and this tour guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sintra, Cabo da Roca and Cascais Day Trip from Lisbon

ange

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous tour! Did this 2 hours after arriving in Lisbon which turned out to be a great move. Lovely group of German/USA/UK peeps we had a blast!! Tried a good variety of wines and foods across a wide range of establishments, many of which we'd never have experienced or even found by ourselves. The tour was well thought through and the guides were very knowledgable and über friendly. We ended the tour in a local social club where jugs of vino appeared frequently. Our group were so bonded by this stage that we carried on ourselves and found some more bars under our own steam, no one wanted the night to end!! Highly recommend this tour as soon as you arrive in Lisbon to get the party started in style!

Doing what: Lisbon Small-Group Gourmet Portuguese Food and Wine Tour

diana s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

On this tour, we were able to SEE Queluz Palace, Sintra Palace, and the Moorish Castle and to VISIT Pena Palace. Pena is surely the highlight of any trip to Sintra--a fairy-tale fantasy, a wacky combination of architectural styles mingled with symbols of Portugal's Order of Christ. Our excellent guide, Maria, provided a wealth of fascinating detail. The tour also featured stops at Cabo da Roca--the westernmost point of the European continent and the seaside village of Cascais. Great fun!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

diana s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

During our 52 day Spain-Portugal wander, we scheduled 10 full- or half-day tours, rating the Knights Templar tour the best of all. Of course, the sites--Almourol Castle and Tomar--have fascinating histories. We loved the tour because we had a top notch guide--Andrea Alves of Cool Tours Lisbon. We travel to learn, and the multi-lingual Ms. Alves suited us perfectly. Devoted to her subject, with a wealth of readings to draw from, full of wonderful detail, she had a most engaging manner of story-telling. We had a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Knights Templar Historical Tour from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message