Lisbon is a dream to explore; just hop on Tram 28 or hire an e-bike to scale the city’s seven hills with ease. If time permits, there’s so much to see outside the city as well, from royal palaces to wild coastlines and mysterious standing stones. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 212 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I totally enjoyed this tour and the stops we made besides Sintra and would definitely like to go back at my own pace the next time. The only thing I did not enjoy was the lunch! The venue and food was not up to par so best to book this trip with lunch excluded... Our guide Diana was excellent, very friendly and informative.

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great day trip. Our guide was excellent as was our driver.It was a wonderful way to see the three palaces,and each was worth visiting because they are quite different from one another. I would advise people that there are a lot of steps on hard surfaces so be prepared for that.

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We took the all-day private tour with Diogo as our guide, and could not imagine a better experience. Sintra is a delightful and picturesque town, while the Pena Palace is spectacular. What made the trip truly special, though, were Diogos unflagging enthusiasm, attentiveness, and good humor. Hes extremely knowledgeable about the area and its history, and his selection of additional places to stope.g., pastry shop, restaurant for lunch, farmers marketwas impeccable. I feel deeply fortunate not to have taken this trip in any other way.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sintra, Cabo da Roca and Cascais Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An excellent one day trip. Definitely worth the time and money.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I took this tour with Nadia towards the end of a week-long trip in Lisbon. She was a fantastic guide- making sure everyone was comfortable and happy at all times. Her lunch recommendation in Nazare was dead on and was a great stop for everyone on the tour with the most fresh seafood! We literally picked which fish we wanted from a platter of just caught fish. While it was a whirlwind day, I did feel we mostly had enough time in each of the stops. Nadia gave great information both on the coach and in the beginning of each of our stops. She'd then send us on our way with recommendations and ideas for our time. For the price and an easy way to see more of Portugal, I highly recommend this for anyone in Lisbon for a few days who might want to check out these sites. I also got some great restaurant recommendation from Nadia for Lisbon which helped me out and introduced me to some cool local places.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very interesting trip and a great tour guide. Beautiful places, landscapes and tasty food. However, next time I would not choose this trip on Sunday since Fatima was extremly crowded and I could not see much of it.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour trip to Sintra was excellent. Our guide, Anna, spoke very good English and easy to understand. I was amazed how well she could go back and forth between English and French, for the other visitors on our tour. The Pena Palace, the last one we visited was just spectacular. I felt the palaces just kept getting better. Our lunch was delicious. The place we ate had a wonderful atmosphere and the waiter was friendly and fun. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Although Fatima was a long trip about 2 1/2 with a comfort stop it was well worth it. Seeing Fatima for the first time was like seeing the Vatican for the first time. VAST! Very spiritual. We were given time on our own which was exactly enough time. We stopped in Nazare a beautiful beach town for lunch and free time. Great shops and numerous restaurants. Other stops were at Batalha Monastery - we were there in time for the changing of the guards of the unknown soldier. This place was so beautiful, I wish we had more time here. And finally a stop in Obidos. A beautiful Medieval walled town with quaint streets, numerous shops and a wall you can walk 1,565 meters long but slipery. We were a little off schedule but no fault of the driver. Andre Marques was an excellent tour guide/driver. The van sat 9 including the Andre and very comfortable. The van was equipped with a microphone so everyone including the last row could hear - but he loved his music as well! He was very gracious and I highly recommend him and his company.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This spectacular site is an hour drive outside of Lisbon and a 45 minute boat ride from Peniche, Portugal to the island but it is well worth the trip. The waters are clear blue and the island is pristine. The fort is well preserved and fun to walk through. There is a restaurant on the island with fresh fish. Note, there are stairs and a beautiful hike across the island. It was cold during our visit but swimming and kayaking are available and would be recommended. The water was a little choppy on the boat ride over so if you are prone to seasickness, be prepared. If you catch the right boat, you might even get to share some delicious Port wine on the trip back. Due to our schedule we did a private tour. If you can't make the group tour, a private tour is well worth the extra cost. Our guides were native to the area, knew the locals and provided a more personal, in depth experience that we may not have got in a larger group tour. Their love of the island was obvious in their presentation. Highly recommended!!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Berlenga Grande Island Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved this day trip and a special thanks to our guide Rita, who made it a memorable experince. First stop was Fatima where we got about an hour, but would have liked to have at least another 30mts. Nazare and Obidos were spectacular. Lunch at Nazare is worth a mention.Rosa dos Ventos restaurant served us a sumptous sword fish grill, the taste of which will remain with us for quite a while. Obidos is another beautiful and lively town where we got a taste of ginja liquer.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Without a doubt the highlight of my Lisbon trip. A one hour shuttle ride from the hotel to the destination. Our amazing guide Ruy was friendly, approachable and well spoken. The boat trip is quite chilly, the mornings are normally overcast but clears in the afternoon but this makes the trip to the island icy so dress warm. Ruy is a well stocked prepared man who supplied my brother and I with motion sickness bracelets. I didn't get sick so I guess it worked. The island is breathtaking. Truly a wonder. The simple and sturdy fort is filled with history and the fact that you can book a cheap room to stay there is mind blowing and truly an experience I would like to try. Resources like water and electricity are limited so don't expect a five star stay just ten star views. From the fort there is a steep hike up the mountain with the most insane panoramic views of the fort, crystal clear waters and dramatic rocky landscapes. The island is home to thousands of seagulls so expect poo to drop on you suddenly. The Berlenga Baptism. Also the birds are quite protective of their young during the baby making season. So tread carefully. Wear comfortable walking shoes. After the hike you have some time to cool off at the cutest cosiest little beach which is shielded on all sides by rocks which reduces wind. Thereafter there is either a glass bottomed boat tour of the islands many caves or a kayak tour paddling up close to the caves and rocks. My brother and I chose the kayak even though we couldn't swim or kayak. It was the most daunting and hair raising experience of my life. With the guidance of Ruy we ended up kayaking home like pros... If you only do one thing in Portugal... Do this... To rate this experience I need more than five stars. I need a sky full :-

Doing what: Private Tour: Berlenga Grande Island Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great trip. Just a small group which was what I was looking for. Guide was very considerate of my husband who has a hard time getting around. Learned and saw a lot. No problems. I would definitely use this guide again.

Doing what: Arrábida Natural Park and Sesimbra Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very nice trip! Martinho was very helpful and gave us a lot of information. He was so nice because he realized that my family speaks Spanish and he spoke to them in spanish. The places were amazing and he gave us enough time to explore each place.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was amazing.
Raquel was an excellent and skilled guide!
This trip was not something that my wife and I could have done by ourselves. The island is the hidden treasure of portugal and by far and aways the best experience and highlight of our trip. We recommend kayaking once at the island.

Doing what: Private Tour: Berlenga Grande Island Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I would highly reccomend this trip to everyone visiting lisbon and who wants a fantastic day filled with good wine, cheese and chorizo. The guide picked up us at the correct time, he spoke very good english, was polite and had a good sense of humour. It was a private tour, so it was, me, my sister and the guide. NOT awkward at all, just pure fun! I learned alot about wine and bought some fantastic wine with me. The price is very good when you se what you get for the money!:

Doing what: Private Tour: Ribatejo Region with Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent trip. Wish we could stay in Obidos a bit longer, it is a must see for every tourist in Portugal.
Lewis our tour guide was very helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. He is a credit to the company. The small tour in a mini bus is a very good idea.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide was wonderful for this trip. He explained where we were going and the historical significance of it. We were picked up from a central Lisbon restaurant and driven in small, nice passenger van. There were 8 of us in the group, and that was perfect! Such beautiful sites.
The cherry liqueur Ginjinha in Obidos is the best we tasted around Portugal, so make sure you buy it from the tasting shop that you do when you enter the town. We bought two bottles to bring back to the States and bought our own chocolate tasting cups in the States due to being afraid they would break in transit. The castle walls are neat and you can climb on them, however it is windy so keep that in mind if you are wearing a skirt!
Fatima was very nice, but the church is closed until 2017 to get it ready for the Popes visit for the 100 year anniversary of the apparitions. But, you can go to the back of the Chapel and see the graves of the three children. There are nice and unique shops if you go behind the Berlin Wall display and walk past the little shops and go into the town 25 yards. We found an artistic shop with locally made statues and glass rosary beads in another one and everyone was friendly.
Nazare is a beautiful beach and has nice restaurants along the board walk. Make sure you go to the local artisan shop and buy local items! Its pricey, but has nice things made in Portugal.
We met people from around the world and kept seeing them around Lisbon after the tour, which was nice. We met two sisters from Australia that I wish wed gotten their contact info!!

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Tradester
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our day trip to Sintra and the Pena Palace was excellent. The palace was beautiful and worth the trip. The return drive down the coast was breathtaking. Our guide was very informative.
Our only grip was that we were to confirm the trip reservation three days in advance. Our emails went unanswered and the phone went unanswered until the day before the trip. I didn't like that I had to spend so much of our valuable holiday time trying to confirm the reservation and we also needed to find out what time we were to be picked up at our hotel.

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour guide was very knowledgable and spoke
excellent English . A trip worth taking.

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Feature-packed and enjoyable......covered many sites yet never felt rushed......great value for a half-day trip!

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent small group day trip! Each one of the stops had its own attractions! Nuno, our guide, was very knowledgeable and professional. Overall, it was just fantastic!

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Nadia was wonderful. She gave us just enough info, but not an overload. She provided lots of little interesting facts and was able to answer all questions. The pace of the trip was just right. Fatima was nice, but to the non religious, too commercial. Batalia was awesome. Nazare, I could have stayed there! Sun, ocean, fresh fish! And Obidos was the icing on the cake. What an intriguing little town. I did climb up to the walls. Not recommended for everyone!

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Me and my friend have really enjoyed the trip to three royal palaces in the outskirts of Lisbon. We traveled in a mini bus all about 7 people. I could not imagine to be able to climb to Palace de Pena on my own, bus ride was great! Sintra palace was amazing, and Queluz has some repairs going on the facade, but impressive on the inside and barely any visitors! Tour started at 10 am and finished by 6 pm. We had option w/o lunch, buffet at Sintra was cheaper, but overall Sintra is popular, so you have so many options to get your food! I'd recommend this tour to everyone, just be prepared to lots of walking through splendid rooms and lots of visual impressions!

Doing what: Small-Group Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Pena Palace, Queluz Palace and Sintra Palace

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message