Trakai is a historic city and lake resort 28km (17mi) west of Vilnius and is a popular day trip from the capital. Dating back to the 13th century, Trakai was unusual in the fact that was inhabited by a number of difference nationalities ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 38 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

zute

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

OK, I really liked this tour. The hard part was finding out that although they tell you to meet at the Bell Tower, their van is actually across the street from the Bell Tower. After that, the tour guide was friendly and very informative. Once arriving at Trakai, she guided us through all the major rooms in the castle, then gave us over an hour to go through the other rooms, explore the souvenir shops, and get lunch. I found the souvenir shops here better quality and cheaper than the ones in Vilnius.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Alison M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. Very interesting. Lost a star as not enough time spent inside the fortress and getting a history, seems a bit rushed. But great for the price!

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Anthony P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Everything as promised - great guide and driver, modern air conditioned coach, on time and Trakai is beautiful. Coming out of season probably best as this looks somewhere that might be crowded in the Summer. Plenty of good lunch spots near the castle.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Keith P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Tommy was a good guide, talkative, and informative.

But castle was disappointing... it was a TOTAL reconstruction. Nothing it it was original including all the attempts at 'museum' presentations in some of the rooms. Everything was from other countries or reproductions. If this is the only remaining castle in Lithuania, it doesn't count. It was built in the 1960s.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Matthew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great destination, enjoyable tour and very helpful guide.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Tetiana Z

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Trakai Castle is very beautiful place and is located very close to Vilnius, so it would be a pity to miss it. Our guide was very professional, but sometimes too historical. But now we know much of Lithuanian history and present time. The bus was very comfortable, the trip to castle was about 30-40 minutes. All the time our guide told about things we passed by or different facts from history. At the lake shore he helped to find the best place to take photos. Then he bought tickets and guided the group through the castle. In the end we had free time about an hour to take photos, buy souvenirs and drink some coffee. We came back to Vilnius in time.
About the castle: the place is really beautiful in all seasons, I guess. We were in winter. It's a lake with several islands. The castle is rebuilt and many exhibits are not authentic, but the atmosphere of medieval castle is so great. Also this is cool adventure for children. There were many of them in the castle.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Kevin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Due to the small group two Russian Tourists and myself I thought the tour may be cancelled, however it went ahead so amassive thank you to the driver, the tour guide Tomas and the Russian couple.

I had my own private tour guide Tomas who was very knowledgeable, professional and friendly.

the tour itself is definetly worth taking, mabe better in the summer though.

another Viator winner

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Jemma L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A great trip, we loved it

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Peter M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very informative and a wonderful place to visit. Although it was rebuild and not authentic as originally was but its very nice. It was a hot sunny day around 34 decrees celsius. As everyone can expect food take away outside are too expensive but on all it was an excellent and informative tour

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

LH United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Good. It is an interesting way to see the beautiful sceneries in Trakai.

Doing what: Half-Day Scenic Kayak Tour in Trakai

Stephen D B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour! Worth the money.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Hugh S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fabulous tour. Our guide Julia was very knowledgable and funny. Plenty of time to see the castle and have lunch. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Theresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The bus ride out of the city was interesting as we joined various groups. In the end the drive to the Castle went smooth. Our guide walked us through the main fortress and gave us information on the various rooms and overall history. Afterwards you have free time to walk through the museum, shop or grab a bite to eat.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

OZLEM T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was great. Worth seeing place. Great guide, very punctual organization.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

DUNCAN B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Beautiful area and very pleasant and informative guides!

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Dr Yi Ren Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

I did this tour during our trans-Mongolia/Siberia train trip holiday. It was a good tour. The tour guide was really friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. But the castle itself does not have much to see, If you have been to other castles in Europe, you probably feel this one is pretty average. The castle is beautiful for photos, considering how much I paid and I don't feel it is a good value for money.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Best tour of all in Lithuainia. Magnificent view of the castle!

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

ringoffire

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A half day tour. Informative. Our guide was very helpful. Recommended.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Stephen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

lovely castle on the lake, very pretty and a pleasant area to spend some time. tour was good and so was our guide, Victoria.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Jean K

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Very good tour guide and tour.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Mehmet Yusuf Y Turkey

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The tour to Trakai Castle was satisfactory. Our guide was very friendly, but obviously a less experienced person. However, I am glad that I and my wife joined this tour.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Sirpa L Finland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2013

The castle tour was interesting, but there was not enough time for a snack before return trip. Also I would have liked to hear more during the return trip.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Gualberto A Argentina

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

all ok

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Joanne S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

It was a great tour. Really enjoyed hearing the information that our tour guide offered us. Maybe a little rushed, an extra half an hour of free time would be great.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Robert Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

I was very pleased with the tour. There were several things that I liked the most:

- The Guide was Knowledgeable
- Information was given before arriving
- Information and Summaries were given after
- The castle tour itself was good.

I was pleased to have about an hour to roam on my own and take photos. Here is a link to some of my photos: http://yonaitis.shutterfly.com/14277

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message