Insider's Guide to Liverpool

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

The Beatles experienced their first taste of fame at Liverpool’s Cavern Club, where the Fab Four first performed on November 9, 1961. The underground cellar club started life in 1957 as a jazz and skiffle club. John Lennon first played here in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 185 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

beyond all expectations... Liverpool is a great city!

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Loved the tour and Liverpool is a great city as well!

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Not much to see in the City. We were told at the stop closest to the cruise dock that the frequency would be every 20 minutes that day. So we decided to sit on the lower level so we did not have to wait for another 20 minutes. We did not see anything at all and there were not many people getting off from the upper deck. We hope that the buses can run more frequently and extend the last bus to 6 o'clock.

Doing what: Liverpool City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Although I am not a Beatles fan, (I booked for my wife), I loved the Magical Mystery tour, the tour guide was excellent. There was nothing overly exciting about the Beatles Story, especially to a dedicated fan, but there were so good displays.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We enjoyed the tour very much.Next time we visit,we will bring some friends.See you soon.

Liz.

Doing what: Liverpool City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour around Liverpool, great guide!

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The museum was interesting and the tour to the various sights was great.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

EXCELLENT TOUR GIVES A GOOD INSIGHT TO THE CITY ITS HISTORY PAST AND FUTURE.WE WERE REALLY AMAZED BY THE CLEANLINESS AND LACK OF GRAFFITI OT THE CITY IN GENERAL.
PEOPLE WERE FRIENDLY IF YOU HAVENT BEEN TO LIVERPOOL YOU WILL ENJOY!!

Doing what: Liverpool City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Excellent value , all drivers very helpful, pre-recorded tour information could do with an update but still quite informative.
satisfied customer.

Doing what: Liverpool City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Any Beatles fan needs to make a pilgrimage to Liverpool. I thought this was a great way to see the city. A company representative met us at the station, gave us our train tickets, vouchers, and sent us on our way. I would suggest this day trip for anyone who likes to explore things without a guide because much of your day is spent exploring Liverpool on your own. The dock area of Liverpool has some nice restaurants, museums, and shops in addition to the Beatle's Story. It was a great area to explore while you wait for the Magical Mystery Tour. The Magical Mystery Tour departed late and there was not a lot of communication between the kiosk and the people waiting for the tour as to what was happening. However, the tour itself was a fun look into the Beatles' lives in Liverpool complete with Beatles songs to enjoy as you rode. I would suggest walking from the train station straight down to the dock and exploring there prior to the magical mystery tour and then exploring the area closer to the train station and the Cavern following the tour before catching the train home.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Liverpool is an interesting city. We came from cruise ship. There are lots of things to do near the port.The tour bus is a convenient way to see the city. Good value

Doing what: Liverpool City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

We recommend getting off at the Mathews Street/CavernClub stop if you are a Beatles fan. Also at Albert's Dock for the Beatles Story. There can be a very long wait for the Beatles Story, we recommend buying your tickets online in advance to avoid an hour or two wait to get in. Also recommend going after 4:00 when the big groups are done. Keep in mind the exhibit closes at about 6:00.

Doing what: Liverpool City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Didn't seem to cover a large area, but was ok and drivers/staff friendly.

Doing what: Liverpool City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message