Insider's Guide to Liverpool

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Liverpool ATTRACTIONS See all

Merseyside Ferries

Taking a ferry across the Mersey has been a Liverpool tradition since Gerry and the Pacemakers sang the smash hit ‘Ferry Cross the Mersey’ in 1964. In fact, boats have been crossing the river at this point for more than 800 years. Departing from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 123 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great chat and information from the host, driver was friendly too.

Doing what: Liverpool City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

We ended up not going because so much of the harbour was clocked up with crains and ways you couldn't go after the thing with and quot;The Giants and quot;, so instead of a relatively short trip and bad directions given we went round one dock after another along with everybody else WHO couldn't find their way either.
As one of our daugther were on chrutches we just couldn't get to the pier in time eventhough we had quite a lot of time in the beginning. At the end we threw the tickets away.

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Lovely to do a trip on the Mersey. It was hard to hear the comentary in most places. We had to sit at the back to hear and it was a very cold and windy day as it was in December. Otherwise nice to see parts of Liverpool from the river.

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Liverpool City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The tour was great, but by buying my tickets in advance on line, i paid 16.50 pounds, instead of 10 pounds charged in person. I won't make that mistake again.

Doing what: Liverpool City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very good and cheap way to go around the city with cool narration.

Doing what: Liverpool City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very well done! Enjoyed it immensely.

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Well worth getting.

Doing what: Liverpool City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Helen H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Really enjoyable

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great way to see the city. The WW11 museum was fascinating.

Doing what: Liverpool City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We arrived at the station just before lunch and at first had a little difficulty finding the Hop on Hop off bus stop. We did however find it and it was our mistake for not following the directions given to us by train station staff. The tour was incredible as is the town.

Doing what: Liverpool City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Not much to see in the City. We were told at the stop closest to the cruise dock that the frequency would be every 20 minutes that day. So we decided to sit on the lower level so we did not have to wait for another 20 minutes. We did not see anything at all and there were not many people getting off from the upper deck. We hope that the buses can run more frequently and extend the last bus to 6 o'clock.

Doing what: Liverpool City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We enjoyed the tour very much.Next time we visit,we will bring some friends.See you soon.

Liz.

Doing what: Liverpool City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved the experience of The Mersey river ferry also went to the U Boat museum which is a boys thing really and I thought it was excellent very informative and somewhere I would recommend to my friends. Love Liverpool as one of the best cities to visit in the UK.

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message