Liverpool ATTRACTIONS See all

Merseyside Ferries

Taking a ferry across the Mersey has been a Liverpool tradition since Gerry and the Pacemakers sang the smash hit ‘Ferry Cross the Mersey’ in 1964. In fact, boats have been crossing the river at this point for more than 800 years. Departing from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 42 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Thoroughly enjoyable

Doing what: Best Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Enjoyed the river cruise, but the intercom system wasn't working properly, so it was difficult to hear the commentary, we were sitting on the inside of the boat near a speaker

Doing what: Best Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

We ended up not going because so much of the harbour was clocked up with crains and ways you couldn't go after the thing with and quot;The Giants and quot;, so instead of a relatively short trip and bad directions given we went round one dock after another along with everybody else WHO couldn't find their way either.
As one of our daugther were on chrutches we just couldn't get to the pier in time eventhough we had quite a lot of time in the beginning. At the end we threw the tickets away.

Doing what: Best Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Lovely to do a trip on the Mersey. It was hard to hear the comentary in most places. We had to sit at the back to hear and it was a very cold and windy day as it was in December. Otherwise nice to see parts of Liverpool from the river.

Doing what: Best Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very well done! Enjoyed it immensely.

Doing what: Best Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

Helen H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Best Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved the experience of The Mersey river ferry also went to the U Boat museum which is a boys thing really and I thought it was excellent very informative and somewhere I would recommend to my friends. Love Liverpool as one of the best cities to visit in the UK.

Doing what: Best Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A must for anyone visiting Liverpool for the 1st time. Good value for money. Great way to spend an hour or so. Great information provided on the boat.

Doing what: Best Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

WELL ORGANISED PROFESSIONAL AS YOU WOULD EXPECT A MUST EXPERIENCE WHEN VISITING LIVERPOOL.

Doing what: Best Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Nice little cruise up and down the river

Doing what: Best Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Nice way to see the area

Doing what: Best Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Nice. Bargain. Quick to book and smooth deal. Highly recommend

Doing what: Best Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Reasonably priced excursion offering good value for money.
Easy check-in at Albert Dock by friendly helpful staff...then its a 30min sail to the Space Exhibition which is conveniently located by the port, which we all enjoyed then a pleasant sail back to Albert Dock.
The ferry itself is very clean

Doing what: Best Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

chilly and windy but a great trip and very nostalgic

Doing what: Best Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The ferry trip was very good but we were disappointed on arrival to collect our vouchers that Spaceport was closed for the day and no one knew when it would open again so we could not transfer our tickets to another day.

Doing what: Best Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great time! Very informative and one gets a great feel for the city!

Doing what: Best Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A must if you're near the Albert Docks.

Doing what: Best Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Tour was excellent approximately 50 minutes stoping at each port. Ideal for the u boat or spaceport. Try and get the 10.00am ferry as the queue for later ferries were very long.

Doing what: Best Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Had a very enjoyable trip.
The weather was not very good, windy and raining, but as you were undercover it did not take anything away from the experience.

Doing what: Best Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

our trip to liverpool was very good , stayed in a nice hotel , staff was very helpful , went on the mersey cruise and that was very interesting , first time ever , enjoyed the sights that liverpool had to offer , weather was good, had the tour of liverpool football club , so over all it was a very enjoyable 3 days , will be going back again one day still lots to see and do

Doing what: Best Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Had a great day, the weather was not too good, so everything undercover. Loved the space museum. Although a lot of school parties there at the time, stopping you to have clear access. On the whole excellent. would do it again. Great value.

Doing what: Best Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

What a fantstic day we had, really impressed with what the city has done to preserve it's past and embrace modern needs without detracting from the city's cultural feel and so interesting past.

After disembarking at Lime Street we ventured to the Maritime museum and were taken on a superb tour of the original wet dock guided by the brilliant and knowledgeable Danny our tour guide, informative, humerous detailed and who bought that small confined space alive with his enthusiasm, really enjoyable.

To the Pier Head to indulge the various boat trips to The Spaceport and U-Boat museum, both of which were excellent and the trips themselves bought alive with the informative broadcast of the areas history. The view from Birkenhead back across a testomy to how you have maintained a really excellent balance between old and new, well done Liverpool!

After eating and spending sometime in the superb shopping area and Liverpool 1 we took the train back to London enjoying a bottle of red on route!

A great day, a lovely city and a memorable experience, many thanks

Doing what: Best Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Although the bweather wasn't very good we really enjoyed the trip also the U Boat musuem

Doing what: Best Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

This was a rip-off on the day we booked. Because there was a festival taking place at a different departure point, we were lucky to find the tour at all. The 45 minute scheduled tour lasted about 15 minutes and showed us nothing of interest.

Doing what: Best Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message