Some places just have a special feeling and Avebury is one of them. A Neolithic site of three stone circles dating from 2600 BC, Avebury has the largest stone circle in Europe. Avebury is a henge, which means a bank or ditch with stone circles ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Good tour guide a fair drive but worth it Amazing how this was built possibly could have even spent more time there, Glastonbury was very interesting.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had the best time on this tour. Tony, our Tour Guide, was so knowledgable, insightful, and funny. We so enjoyed listening to him throughout the day. His insights brought incredible depth to our experience. The sights were stunning, from the beauty of the Salisbury Cathedral and the historical significance of the Magna Carta, to the magnificence of Stonehenge with its stark setting in the middle of lush green fields, to the approachable and touchable stone circles of Avebury. We would definitely take this tour again. Our weather was sunny and quite warm, so you might want to bring along some sunscreen.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Salisbury, Stonehenge and Avebury from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour! Excellent tour guide! A lot of driving, but definitely worth it.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

one for the history buffs lots of driving though and not a lot of time seeing things

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great guide - well informed and friendly.
Could cut time spent in Salisbury to give more time at Stonehenge, particularly the new Interpretive Centre.
Highly recommended for those interested in early cultures.
Small groups are the way to go - people don't get overlooked and lost.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Salisbury, Stonehenge and Avebury from London

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Great scenery and a very knowledgeable guide. Really enjoyed the day and would recommend it.Salisbury Cathedral is magnificent.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Salisbury, Stonehenge and Avebury from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Stunning! Magnificent, no superlatives comes close to how I felt about this trip! But i'm sure it's not for everyone! David our guide had a passion for history so was easy to get caught up in his enthusiasm! Great day that will be forever remembered.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Small group nice van, and David was a WONDERFUL guide--extremely knowledgeable and conversant without being annoying (as some guides can be). Loved Old Sarum, Salisbury, Stonehenge, and Avebury. I just don't know how the trip could have been nicer. And since it was my birthday--David had everyone sing "Happy Birthday" to me--What a way to celebrate!

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Salisbury, Stonehenge and Avebury from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Absolutely fantastic day in the English countryside. Driver David was lovely, informative and didn't cut any time out of our tour at all. We got stuck in traffic in the morning, but he just said 'we'll be home a bit late.' and was completely relaxed about it.
Avebury was in my opinion better than Stonehenge, because you could walk amongst the stones. In Stonehenge you can't. It's something to consider if you want to actually walk up close to the monument.
Totally enjoyed the day, as did my father and grandfather.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

The tour needed more time in Glastonbury to allow for shopping. Overall an excellent way to experience the mysteries of western England.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

Kelly W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

David was a very knowledgeable and organised tour guide. We even saw an unexpected crop circle on our tour! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Salisbury, Stonehenge and Avebury from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The tour itself was wonderful. Unfortunately we had April weather in June for Stonehenge itself. Rainy and cold. Our guide was informative and friendly. Thank you!

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Exactly what I had hoped for. No mystical moonshine - just a clear, fascinating, and well-informed introduction to the sites. David's knowledge of history, scholarship, and recent discoveries was impressive, and he struck just the right balance between giving us information and allowing us to experience the sites for ourselves. I only wish the trip had been a little longer!

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Salisbury, Stonehenge and Avebury from London

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We had a very good experience except for one thing: my seven year old granddaughter started throwing up just before we were to get on the bus. My son and my granddaughter were thus unable to go on the trip. Is there someway I could get a discount for their fares? I would really appreciate it. In light of our dreadful transfer pickup, I believe I am owed some compensation for one or both situations. Thank you. Pat Nichol

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Our guide was friendly, intelligent and very knowledeable. We had a small group and had enough time at each site, the day was well organized. Unfortunately, we hit really bad traffic on the way back and were an hour late returning to London. It did not matter to us or the other travellers, but meant the guide worked later and he did not complain about it, he was still concerned with our well being. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message