• USD ($)
  • English
Some places just have a special feeling and Avebury is one of them. A Neolithic site of three stone circles dating from 2600 BC, Avebury has the largest stone circle in Europe. Avebury is a henge, which means a bank or ditch with stone circles ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 24 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Great scenery and a very knowledgeable guide. Really enjoyed the day and would recommend it.Salisbury Cathedral is magnificent.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Salisbury, Stonehenge and Avebury from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Stunning! Magnificent, no superlatives comes close to how I felt about this trip! But i'm sure it's not for everyone! David our guide had a passion for history so was easy to get caught up in his enthusiasm! Great day that will be forever remembered.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Small group nice van, and David was a WONDERFUL guide--extremely knowledgeable and conversant without being annoying (as some guides can be). Loved Old Sarum, Salisbury, Stonehenge, and Avebury. I just don't know how the trip could have been nicer. And since it was my birthday--David had everyone sing "Happy Birthday" to me--What a way to celebrate!

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Salisbury, Stonehenge and Avebury from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Absolutely fantastic day in the English countryside. Driver David was lovely, informative and didn't cut any time out of our tour at all. We got stuck in traffic in the morning, but he just said 'we'll be home a bit late.' and was completely relaxed about it.
Avebury was in my opinion better than Stonehenge, because you could walk amongst the stones. In Stonehenge you can't. It's something to consider if you want to actually walk up close to the monument.
Totally enjoyed the day, as did my father and grandfather.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

The tour needed more time in Glastonbury to allow for shopping. Overall an excellent way to experience the mysteries of western England.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

Kelly W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

David was a very knowledgeable and organised tour guide. We even saw an unexpected crop circle on our tour! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Salisbury, Stonehenge and Avebury from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The tour itself was wonderful. Unfortunately we had April weather in June for Stonehenge itself. Rainy and cold. Our guide was informative and friendly. Thank you!

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Exactly what I had hoped for. No mystical moonshine - just a clear, fascinating, and well-informed introduction to the sites. David's knowledge of history, scholarship, and recent discoveries was impressive, and he struck just the right balance between giving us information and allowing us to experience the sites for ourselves. I only wish the trip had been a little longer!

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Salisbury, Stonehenge and Avebury from London

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We had a very good experience except for one thing: my seven year old granddaughter started throwing up just before we were to get on the bus. My son and my granddaughter were thus unable to go on the trip. Is there someway I could get a discount for their fares? I would really appreciate it. In light of our dreadful transfer pickup, I believe I am owed some compensation for one or both situations. Thank you. Pat Nichol

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Our guide was friendly, intelligent and very knowledeable. We had a small group and had enough time at each site, the day was well organized. Unfortunately, we hit really bad traffic on the way back and were an hour late returning to London. It did not matter to us or the other travellers, but meant the guide worked later and he did not complain about it, he was still concerned with our well being. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The small-group day trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London was a fine experience. It was paced "just right." We were given only one option for pickup, and realized later a much closer point of pickup could have been available, had we booked directly with International Friends. This was a very minor issue, but other pickup options would be convenient. Robert, our guide, was informative and interesting. We fully enjoyed our day and gladly recommend this day trip and viator without reservation.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

What a fantastic day! the smaller group and comfy mini-coach meant that we spent loads of time where we wanted to! (moslty in and around Glastonbury, so take your walking shoes for the Tor) and saw so much of the country-side enroute. AND - the entry prices to everything was already included!! woo!!

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I enjoyed this tour very much. I was astonished at the guide's breadth and depth of knowledge on the tour stops, as well as other sites along the way. He was very personable and fun.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Salisbury, Stonehenge and Avebury from London

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

I really enjoyed this tour! It was a great experience and David (the tour guide) had a wealth of knowledge regarding the various locations. I would suggest extending this tour because I felt that the time we had at each location was too short. I really wanted to stop awhile and take it all in, but the tour had a very tight schedule. Overall, it was fantastic and I would love to visit these places again.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Leader was very knowledgeable and well spoken. Selection of sites and time were very good. There was an equipment problem (minibus would not start) which the vendor handled very well. Ordered a coach that came with only an hour and a half delay which the vendor added to the back end of the trip. No loss of coverage.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message