The British Museum is one of the largest museums in the world, comparable only to the Louvre in Paris and the Met in New York. Established around 1750, the British Museum originated with Sir Hans Sloane's 'Cabinet of Curiosities' which he donated ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 42 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It's a quick tour that gives a great beginning to wander around on your own after. the tour guide was very knowledgeable and showed us the highlights and enough to get the layout of the museum, etc.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Able to hit the high lites, then spend time exploring. The guide she was lot of energy

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a good way to visit The British Museum. Our guide was very good and knowledgeable and took us to the main highlights in the museum. It is worth it whether you are new to the museum or have been before. We got an excellent overview. We saw the Elgin Marbles from Greece, Assyrian relief sculpture and the Egyptian mummies for example.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Fam of Four
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was our third visit to the British Museum and our first with a guide. She gave us a great history about the origins of the museum in addition to highlighting the major artifacts. She also shared photos on her iPad which gave a more complete story to supplement the placards in the museum.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

I had already been to the museum but I wanted to just hit the highlights so I didn't want to miss anything. I appreciated some of the information that our well informed guide gave me. I stayed another hour beyond the tour to see some more.!

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I posted this review already. It was an excellent tour. Excellent guide and I look forward to trying the service again! Jeff Amos.

Doing what: Best Private Tour: London Walking Tour of the British Museum and Soane Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

wonderful great guide

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We very much enjoyed our tour of the British Museum. Your phone reservation folks were great to deal with and we were able to easily find the guides outside of the museum. The only complaint a small one is that in a two hour tour, we spent over an hour in the Egyptian section of the museum. While it is an extremely important collection, we felt the rest of the museum's collection got shorted.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Tour of some of the highlights of the British Museum. The tour was adequate.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was excellent! It started on time. The guide was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and personable. It laid the groundwork for a wonderful day at the museum!

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our Tour Guide was very informative and knowledgeable. I would recommend this tour as a prerequisite to visiting the Museum.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Ed Taylor was fantastic. He found out what we were interested in and focused the tour on those areas.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Catherine B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent guide. Great way to see the museum if you are time limited

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed the tour. Guide was professional and knowledgeable and point out all the important things bout the museum.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was Very enthusiastic and knowledgeable, and took us to areas that were not often visited by tour groups. Her expertise made the exhibits come alive.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a wonderful morning. Tour was informative and we learnt a lot.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Ed
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Do not expect to cover every exhibit in the museum in one day. Very exhausting as it takes much physical and mental energy to walk through and truly appreciate what is going on from artifact to artifact. Avoid the overpriced restaurant at the top floor. You are better off eating the sandwiches and such offered on the main floor.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

This highlight tour was definitely worth doing! The tour guide was friendly, but we felt that he could have been more knowledgeable about some of the pieces he showed us. For example, when showing us the Rosetta Stone, he never explained the connection between the 3 forms of writing!

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The two museums are amazing and probably need to schedule at least four hours to see. We took 2 hours and 25 minutes to see British museum so when we got to Soane museum they would not let us in, so we went back on our own. That means our 3.5 hour tour really only lasted 2.5 hours with the guide.

Doing what: Best Private Tour: London Walking Tour of the British Museum and Soane Museum

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Guide was timely and very kind. Although he was knowledgeable about his area of expertise, the tour did not meet my expectations. He focused our time on the best known of the artifacts in the collection which are easily found and described without a tour guide. I was looking for a true "behind the scenes" experience with back-stories and tidbits of information not available to the general public. He was also specifically focused on ancient era artifacts as opposed to a true cross-section of the collection which would have been good to know before signing up for the tour.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour for those with limited time. Everything ran to time without being rushed and the tour guide provided top class commentary befitting the amazing standard and array of exhibits. Highly recommended.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very knowledgeable tour guide who showed all the major items one would want to see at the British Museum.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message