The British Museum is one of the largest museums in the world, comparable only to the Louvre in Paris and the Met in New York. Established around 1750, the British Museum originated with Sir Hans Sloane's 'Cabinet of Curiosities' which he donated ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

wonderful great guide

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was excellent! It started on time. The guide was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and personable. It laid the groundwork for a wonderful day at the museum!

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our Tour Guide was very informative and knowledgeable. I would recommend this tour as a prerequisite to visiting the Museum.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Ed Taylor was fantastic. He found out what we were interested in and focused the tour on those areas.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Catherine B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent guide. Great way to see the museum if you are time limited

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed the tour. Guide was professional and knowledgeable and point out all the important things bout the museum.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was Very enthusiastic and knowledgeable, and took us to areas that were not often visited by tour groups. Her expertise made the exhibits come alive.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a wonderful morning. Tour was informative and we learnt a lot.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Ed
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Do not expect to cover every exhibit in the museum in one day. Very exhausting as it takes much physical and mental energy to walk through and truly appreciate what is going on from artifact to artifact. Avoid the overpriced restaurant at the top floor. You are better off eating the sandwiches and such offered on the main floor.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

This highlight tour was definitely worth doing! The tour guide was friendly, but we felt that he could have been more knowledgeable about some of the pieces he showed us. For example, when showing us the Rosetta Stone, he never explained the connection between the 3 forms of writing!

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The two museums are amazing and probably need to schedule at least four hours to see. We took 2 hours and 25 minutes to see British museum so when we got to Soane museum they would not let us in, so we went back on our own. That means our 3.5 hour tour really only lasted 2.5 hours with the guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: London Walking Tour of the British Museum and Soane Museum

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Guide was timely and very kind. Although he was knowledgeable about his area of expertise, the tour did not meet my expectations. He focused our time on the best known of the artifacts in the collection which are easily found and described without a tour guide. I was looking for a true "behind the scenes" experience with back-stories and tidbits of information not available to the general public. He was also specifically focused on ancient era artifacts as opposed to a true cross-section of the collection which would have been good to know before signing up for the tour.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour for those with limited time. Everything ran to time without being rushed and the tour guide provided top class commentary befitting the amazing standard and array of exhibits. Highly recommended.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very knowledgeable tour guide who showed all the major items one would want to see at the British Museum.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

good tour guide worth doing

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about all the areas he chose to highlight. His tour enlightened us about the historical context as well as the exhibit specifics. Excellent experience.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Allison our tour guide was wonderful! We were not rushed through and she was quite knowledgable.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide Trudy was wonderful! She not only had an extensive knowledge of historical artefacts and periods in time, but also had a great enthusiasm for it too! Really personable, friendly and we would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was knowledgeable and directed us to numerous key viewings. She was a bit hard to hear when the crowds became large.

Doing what: Private Tour: London Walking Tour of the British Museum and Soane Museum

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Tour very good. Directions where to meet poor. We ended up getting lost in Bloomsbury Square and then found the museum. We called. They directed us back down Montague Street back into Russel Square. Mistake. They should have just listened to me and let me meet guide at museum entrance which some people did anyway. We did not need the extra walking.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide was great, although we finished early due to our guided tour turning into a Private Guided Tour. Good deal for us. Meeting place could be closer to the Museum

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great day with a very erudite lady of my senior vintage! A great way to learn and not get lost!

Doing what: Private Tour: London Walking Tour of the British Museum and Soane Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great tour of British museum. We were able to see much more in 2 hours than we could have on our own. Our guide was very knowledgeable about everything in the museum to include adding historical context. More importantly, he was very enthusiastic. Highly recommend!

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message