London ATTRACTIONS See all

British Museum

The British Museum is one of the largest museums in the world, comparable only to the Louvre in Paris and the Met in New York. Established around 1750, the British Museum originated with Sir Hans Sloane's 'Cabinet of Curiosities' which he donated ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 49 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Astro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was very informative and well thought out. Our guide was knowledgeable and personable. It covered all the main areas most notably the Egyptian section which was of great interest to me generally and some in detail. It was a great way to navigate the amazing amount of things to see at the British Museum. Highly reccommended.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Robert V

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The tour guide was very informative. In a three hour tour you can only see so many items however, we were able to see a number of spectaular things.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Patrick H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

The tour was horrible. The guide gave a very boring tour. He glossed over the museum and focused on ancient Greek and Egyptian mythology. It would have been better to just get a book from the museum.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Nicholas C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

The tour guide didn't show up at the location where she was supposed to. Thankfully I only had to call Viator and they got it all sorted out.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Julie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour. Mark, our guide, was engaging, informative and funny. The British Museum can be overwhelming and he kept us from feeling that way. Well done.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Cynthia O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was absolutely the best tour! Our guide had a way of making history interesting with lots of tun facts and wanted us to see what she considered the best of the museum. I would agree. This is a huge museum and she had us walking from one place to another to see the highlights. As you walk, you can see the other exhibits. We were sorry when the tour was over as we wanted to hear and see more! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who has limited time.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Paul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It's a quick tour that gives a great beginning to wander around on your own after. the tour guide was very knowledgeable and showed us the highlights and enough to get the layout of the museum, etc.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Steven D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Able to hit the high lites, then spend time exploring. The guide she was lot of energy

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Mary S M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a good way to visit The British Museum. Our guide was very good and knowledgeable and took us to the main highlights in the museum. It is worth it whether you are new to the museum or have been before. We got an excellent overview. We saw the Elgin Marbles from Greece, Assyrian relief sculpture and the Egyptian mummies for example.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Fam of Four United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was our third visit to the British Museum and our first with a guide. She gave us a great history about the origins of the museum in addition to highlighting the major artifacts. She also shared photos on her iPad which gave a more complete story to supplement the placards in the museum.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Terrence K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was everything we could have hoped for. The guide was outstanding allowing us to see and understand things we might not have otherwise. Well worth the price.

Doing what: Private Tour: London Walking Tour of the British Museum and Soane Museum

Brenda M

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

I had already been to the museum but I wanted to just hit the highlights so I didn't want to miss anything. I appreciated some of the information that our well informed guide gave me. I stayed another hour beyond the tour to see some more.!

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Jeffrey A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I posted this review already. It was an excellent tour. Excellent guide and I look forward to trying the service again! Jeff Amos.

Doing what: Private Tour: London Walking Tour of the British Museum and Soane Museum

Joyce H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

wonderful great guide

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Kenneth H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We very much enjoyed our tour of the British Museum. Your phone reservation folks were great to deal with and we were able to easily find the guides outside of the museum. The only complaint a small one is that in a two hour tour, we spent over an hour in the Egyptian section of the museum. While it is an extremely important collection, we felt the rest of the museum's collection got shorted.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Alisa C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Tour of some of the highlights of the British Museum. The tour was adequate.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

jimnkirk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was excellent! It started on time. The guide was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and personable. It laid the groundwork for a wonderful day at the museum!

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Keith S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our Tour Guide was very informative and knowledgeable. I would recommend this tour as a prerequisite to visiting the Museum.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Vamain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Ed Taylor was fantastic. He found out what we were interested in and focused the tour on those areas.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Catherine B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent guide. Great way to see the museum if you are time limited

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Maryan Cu F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed the tour. Guide was professional and knowledgeable and point out all the important things bout the museum.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

sjokeefe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was Very enthusiastic and knowledgeable, and took us to areas that were not often visited by tour groups. Her expertise made the exhibits come alive.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Nancy O

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a wonderful morning. Tour was informative and we learnt a lot.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Ed United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Do not expect to cover every exhibit in the museum in one day. Very exhausting as it takes much physical and mental energy to walk through and truly appreciate what is going on from artifact to artifact. Avoid the overpriced restaurant at the top floor. You are better off eating the sandwiches and such offered on the main floor.

Doing what: British Museum Tour in London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message