London ATTRACTIONS See all

Buckingham Palace

Buckingham Palace has been the Queen's official residence since 1837 (when Queen Victoria decided St James's Palace, just down the road, was too small and unimpressive). Nowadays Buckingham Palace is where the Queen holds her most important parties, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 128 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

hammondll

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We arrived for vacation in London on September 25 and the next day, September 26, was my wife's birthday. We celebrated on her birthday by taking a tour of Buckingham Palace. The tour included the Changing of the Guard, an interior tour of the Buckingham Palace State Rooms and High Tea at St. Ermin's Hotel. The whole day was a wonderful experience and we have to give a lot of the credit to our guide, Augusta Harris. She kept our group well organized, got us to excellent viewing positions for the Changing of the Guards, provided us very clear information to insure that we got the most out of our tour of the staterooms and walked us to the hotel for High Tea. It was an excellent way to celebrate a birthday!

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Diane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a fantastic tour which is only available in August/September when te Queen is at her residence in Balmoral. Our guide was womderful....she was a wealth of information and timed everything perfectly to maximize our view of the spectacular horse guards and then a stunning tour of Buckingham Palace which was truly jaw dropping! Then off toma lovely high tea at a charming hotel.... A quintessentially British day indeed!!!!! Highly recommend this itinerary!

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Regina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Experienced delightful tour guide. Buckingham Palace well worth visiting

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Maria Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Well worth the money and time! Augusta was our guide and she was fantastic, knowledgeable, funny and an expert at navigating the crazy crowds around Buckingham Palace. She knew exactly where to go for a view of the horse guard while avoiding the masses of people at the Palace gates. Budget more time for this tour. Felt a bit rushed leaving tea to make it to a 4pm tour of Parliament.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Debbi R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

If a tourist is lucky enough to visit London during the few months that Buckingham Palace is open to the public, I highly recommend this tour. We arrived just in time to book the last day and felt it was extraordinary to see part of the Royal home.
We also booked the changing of the guard ceremony which could have been dull had it not been for our witty and engaging guide, George. He told our group stories in an informative and creative way. If anyone else is lucky enough to get him, they should feel blessed. He answered every question and explained the history of everything.
Watching both weddings on television in the last decades, it was amazing to see where the family stood afterwards on the balcony to greet their public. The headsets we are given make it easier to hear the guide no matter where you are standing in the group and keep you from getting lost. This is money well spent.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony

kpa05

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was the best part of my trip. I loved everything about it. our tour guide, Phil, was so knowledgeable and funny that he made the whole tour great. Just watch out for the day you pick. on our tour, there was no changing of the guards at buckingham palace, so we had to see st james instead. but still, it was great.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Billie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We enjoyed out tour of the Buckingham Palace and changing of the guard ceremony!

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Gisele P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We loved our Buckingham Palace Tour with Viator. Our guide was amazing and made the experience
delightful. Looking forward to booking other tours.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Trenee J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Since Buckingham is only open for 2 months a year we scheduled our trip to do this tour. It was well worth it!! Georgia was our guide and was entertaining as well as knowledgeable. The afternoon tea at Rubens topped off the afternoon. My only advice is to request Georgia as your guide and please Viator add enough time at the end of the tour for a few minutes at the Palace gift shop.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Jacqueline S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide was great and very knowledgeable. The Buckingham Palace was everything that I was expecting and more!

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Maurice V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour, very good guide, had trouble finding the meeting place as it was not at Buckingham Palace, but a few blocks down the street.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Cheryl H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Even though we did not get to actually see the changing of the guards as they were having a wet change that day, which means it was misting rain and they were going to do it inside. We enjoyed this tour and tour guide. She was very informative and friendly. Sorry can't remember her name. Seeing inside of Buckingham Palace was on our bucket list and if you get the chance ...do it.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Peter L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Augusta, our guide, was knowledgeable and entertaining. She covered the information surrounding Buckingham Palace and the Queen which puts the tour in perspective.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Karen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Augusta of City Wonders UK was a great tour guide. She was very informative and had a great personality. Our tour date included Changing of the Guard ceremony which we would have rather witnessed from the Horse Guard Parade, but she found us a great viewing sight on the street across from St. James Palace. We were fortunate enough to see the inside of Buckingham Palace because the Queen was on holiday and the tour was one of our highlights of our trip. Would highly recommend this tour if you can see the state rooms.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Kim M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

What a great way to spend our last day in London. We had a lovely leisurely stroll through St James Park stopping to watch the changing of the Horse Guards. Our guide was very mindful of the older people in the group and those who had trouble walking fast and kept to a comfortable pace. He certainly knew all about his city and kept us entertained while on the walk. The tour through Buckingham Palace was amazing and although the guide wasn't able to take us through you are supplied with an audio guide which has heaps of information and is easy to use. After a short stroll through the palace back garden we then went to The Ruebens, only a short walk around the corner, for a lovely High Tea.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Alberta Geyer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Convenient pick up at hotel took us to the coach station were we boarded a bus to Windsor Castle. Windsor Castle, the grounds, St. Georges chapel, the quaint surrounding town are not to be missed. Then we headed to Buckingham Palace where we had time to grab lunch before entry and spend as much time there as we wanted. Our guide on the bus was very informative and amusing, making it quite a pleasant ride.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace and Windsor Castle Day Trip from London

Richard A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide for this tour was Phill, and he was excellent! Not only was he very friendly and knowledgeable, he made the tour very interesting with many personal antecdotes. We started out with the Horseguards Parade, which was a very cool ceremony followed by a lovely walk through the beautiful St. James Park. Buckingham Palace is gorgeous on the inside and it was an added bonus to be able to skip ahead in the line with our advanced ticket. We wrapped up our day with a delicious afternoon tea at the historic and beautiful St. Ermin's Hotel. This was an excellent tour and I'd highly recommend it!

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Teresa f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was awesome. A rare chance to see Buckingham palace. One of the best audioguides I have ever had.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

jerryruedy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour guide and very informative and friendly. Unknown to us their is various changing of the guards that happen daily. Our guide was able to show us these different guard changes. You do a lot of walking on this tour and sometimes need to move fast to see the different changing of the guards. So would not recommend for the less mobile. The tour of Buckingham palace very interesting and my family enjoyed it. The afternoon tea was excellent and very filling. So do not eat a lot before going on the tour. Very relaxing sitting and enjoying the tea. Our guide sat and talked with us during the tea and was nice to get his perspective of London.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Mary S M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a pleasant surprise. We had a great time. Buckingham Palace was simply beautiful. We saw the changing of the horse guard and walked through St. James Garden then into the palace. We were with our guide 45 minutes before entering and he was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. You have audio guides inside. We also saw the Queen's garden. The tea was at a lovely hotel about 20 minutes from the end of the palace tour. It was a nice walk. The tea and sandwiches and pastries were delicious. We were ready for food by then.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Judith N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing, we were so happy to have been there when the Queen was out of town so that we could go inside Buckingham Palace. Disappointed that no pictures were allowed but still enjoyed the tour. I thought we would skip the tea as my son and I don't drink it but we decided since we paid for it to go ahead and do it and we LOVED it. We both found that we love fruit infused tea and the desserts were to die for.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Andrew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is really the best way to see Buckingham Palace! The guides take you to the best vantage points for the changing of the guards, explain the history and importance of what is going on outside, before getting you through the crowds which are enormous to the palace gate for a self-guided tour headphone audio tour. Our guide was terrific and absolutely correct when he explained on the onset of the tour, that the people lined up at the palace from early morning will miss the actual pomp and circumstance of the horse guards through the streets, as is happens from the guard house behind the palace - which is where you will be. Once in the palace, you can tour at your leisure.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Justin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed our experience visiting Buckingham Palace and watching the changing if the guard. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgable and provided us with lots of information. We enjoyed the afternoon tea. It was great to sit down with the people who had taken the tour and discuss what we had seen and to chat about ourselves and the trips we were taking.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

sandra a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was probably my 2nd best tour of the nine we took. Our guide Shabby was funny, friendly, and full of very interesting information. The inside of Buckingham Palace is so phenomenally impressive you just can't go home without seeing it. She also took us to the perfect photo spot for changing of the Queen's Horse Guard. The private dining room at a 5 Star Hotel was the perfect setting for our afternoon tea. The tea, scones, and tea sandwiches were served very elegantly and quite delicious.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Andrea S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour with a very knowledgeable guide. The tour group size was small. Enjoyed learning the history of London, seeing the points of interest along the route to Buckingham Palace and the tour of the Palace. Afternoon high tea was a perfect way to end the day. Well organized tour.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message