• USD ($)
  • English

London ATTRACTIONS See all

Changing of the Guard

The Changing of the Guard is one of London's most famous spectacles. It is the official shift change of the Guards of the Household Regiment, who protect Buckingham Palace and the Queen. There is a lot of history here: the Household Guard was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 221 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Cossette was an excellent tour guide! She is very knowledgeable, informative, and entertaining. She positioned us perfectly for a view of the changing of the guard, got us in sites quickly and efficiently, and made sure we had the best experience possible!

Doing what: London in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide for this tour was very good. He was knowledgeable and funny. From the Tower of London and the Crown Jewels, to the changing of the guard at Buckingham Palace, to Westminster Abbey to the London Eye. What a fantastic day. We highly recommend this tour. You see just enough to know you've been in London.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour really gave us a great "one day" intense tour of all of the best sightseeing spots in London. You won;t get right up close to the gate for the changing of the guards at Buckingham, but if your guide knows where to stand you get a great view of the guards marching away at the end. The London Eye was a nice way to end to tour. It would be impossible to try to see all of these things in one day on your own and would likely be more costly, due to taxi/subway fare and entrance fees.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Well worth doing.Saw changing of the guards at Buckingham palace - guide told us the best places to see this. Saw all the sights and was well worth doing.

Doing what: London in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I took this tour with my 12 year old daughter, a friend from Italy and her son who is 11 years old. I was only
planning to be in London one and a half days out of our Paris trip. It truly was a great quick view of the city. Enough to make me want to go back for more. One tour gentleman David picked us up at our hotel (which was fabulous since I had been running all over with other Viator tours in Paris) at 7:30 a.m. and then deposited us in the very capable hands of Steve our actual tour guide for the day. The tour started on the bus as Steve gave detailed descriptions of points of interest throughout London on our way to the Tower of London. We met with a Beefeater (who I believe was another Dave) and he was just marvelous - absolutely funny and a joy to be listening to (I hope he gets the message that we loved him) - on to the Crown Jewels which were of course as gorgeous and spectacular as one would expect, after the Tower on to the River Thames for a boat ride to see the changing of the guards and pictures by Buckingham Palace then on over to lunch and after lunch a very well explained tour of Saint Peters. All in all a fabulous day that makes me want to go back to London soon and see more. It gave us a good taste of the city and our tour guide was extremely good. I recommend this tour!

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Was great to start the day at the Tower before the crowds. Actually saw the opening of the gates procession. Neat to watch. The Beefeaters do a super job on the history, and there is so much. They give you plenty of time to tour. The jewels are a must see, but there is so much more. Buckingham changing of the guard was wonderful to watch. Our guide took care of us, and kept giving us valuable knowledge. Last stop ran into a snag, as St Paul had private function and was closed. Our tour guide saved the day with an impromptu walk tour to see some of London's other secrets. Cannot say enough about being able to skip the lines and the personal attention you get in these tours.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a wonderful tour. Our guide, Cozette, was phenomenal. She was very personable, knowledgeable, and conveyed the information in an interesting manner. Everything from St. Paul's cathedral, to the changing of the guards ceremony was worth it. I would highly recommend this for anyone with minimal time in London and big plans to see as much as possible. Thanks, Cozette!!!

Doing what: London in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was absolutely fantastic. Our tour guide Reese was great!!! The moment he had us walk along side the guards I was hooked. What an experience.

Doing what: Royal London Sightseeing Tour with Changing of the Guard Ceremony

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We loved it! our guide was good and we enjoyed the changing of guards, it was a great experience. Definitely good for family and friends to experience seeing the guards marching to Buckingham palace.

Doing what: Royal London Sightseeing Tour with Changing of the Guard Ceremony

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

9 friends from the USA took this tour. The bus was very comfortable. The guide was very knowledgeable. We learned many interesting things about London from the guide. We saw the changing of the guards at Buckingham Palace and thanks to our guide, we knew exactly where to stand so we wouldn't miss anything. We went on a tour of St. Paul's Cathedral and we had a guided tour of The Tower of London. We also took the Thames River Cruise. We enjoyed our lunch at Pret A Manger....fresh made sandwiches, etc. As we were driven through London, our guide would point out interesting buildings and tell us about them. Good value for the price!!

Doing what: London in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour guide was very knowlegeable, with an entertaining, friendly personality. She took us to the best area to watch the Guards march towards Buckingham Palace and it was fun to march along side them, too.

Doing what: London in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Full-Day Sightseeing Tour of London was wonderful. Our tour guide James, was very informative and enjoyable. All the stops were great, from viewing of the Crown Jewels to the Changing of the Guard and St. Paul's cathedral was beautiful! We added the optional Champagne Tea at Harrods and found out after booking that the tea was being held at the Westminster Park Place Hotel instead. I would have been disappointed had I not gone to Harrods the day before the tour on my own. As it turned out the Tea was absolutely wonderful! The Westminster Park Plaza Hotel had floor to ceiling windows and we had a great view of Big Ben. The tea, scones, and finger sandwiches were delicious and the presentation I'm sure was comparable if not better than what would have been served at Harrods.I suggest you keep this stop on the tour. James and the bus driver did end the tour at Harrods as stated when booked so that was nice. I would take this tour again and I have recommended it to others already!

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide, John, was very knowledgeable and funny. He tried to squeeze in some extra stops. For example, our tour day did not have a changing of the guard ceremony at Buckingham Palace so instead, he took us to see the horse guard ceremony. The only con of this tour is that river cruise was not very exciting. Overall I was very happy with this tour.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Excellent tour the guide was amusing and made the tour fun especially liked the changing of the guard and being able to run with the guardsmen

Doing what: London in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We loved it. We saw the changing of the horse guards ceremony and the guide was very informative.

Doing what: Royal London Sightseeing Tour with Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message