London ATTRACTIONS See all

Changing of the Guard

The Changing of the Guard is one of London's most famous spectacles. It is the official shift change of the Guards of the Household Regiment, who protect Buckingham Palace and the Queen. There is a lot of history here: the Household Guard was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 267 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

What a great way to spend our last day in London. We had a lovely leisurely stroll through St James Park stopping to watch the changing of the Horse Guards. Our guide was very mindful of the older people in the group and those who had trouble walking fast and kept to a comfortable pace. He certainly knew all about his city and kept us entertained while on the walk. The tour through Buckingham Palace was amazing and although the guide wasn't able to take us through you are supplied with an audio guide which has heaps of information and is easy to use. After a short stroll through the palace back garden we then went to The Ruebens, only a short walk around the corner, for a lovely High Tea.

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Robert M
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Seemed to be just the right amount of time to do a look through the palace. The changing of the guard is worth seeing but not entirely necessary to pay for it though having a guide to explain different things was nice. It was a bit of a walk overall so I wouldn't recommend it to someone who has trouble walking but it wasn't a marathon by any means. The tea afterwards was a nice ending. Claudia our guide was well informed and gave us a very good tour. She was also careful with the group as several were a bit older and were having trouble with the walk.

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide for this tour was Phill, and he was excellent! Not only was he very friendly and knowledgeable, he made the tour very interesting with many personal antecdotes. We started out with the Horseguards Parade, which was a very cool ceremony followed by a lovely walk through the beautiful St. James Park. Buckingham Palace is gorgeous on the inside and it was an added bonus to be able to skip ahead in the line with our advanced ticket. We wrapped up our day with a delicious afternoon tea at the historic and beautiful St. Ermin's Hotel. This was an excellent tour and I'd highly recommend it!

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour guide and very informative and friendly. Unknown to us their is various changing of the guards that happen daily. Our guide was able to show us these different guard changes. You do a lot of walking on this tour and sometimes need to move fast to see the different changing of the guards. So would not recommend for the less mobile. The tour of Buckingham palace very interesting and my family enjoyed it. The afternoon tea was excellent and very filling. So do not eat a lot before going on the tour. Very relaxing sitting and enjoying the tea. Our guide sat and talked with us during the tea and was nice to get his perspective of London.

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The reason why I am giving this tour 5 stars is because of our wonderful tour guide, Kieran from City Wonders. The tour of the palace was nice, but I was not really impressed. I assumed that we would be able to see the Royal living and work quarters since the Queen was on her Scottish holiday. But, it was just the state rooms. Although, the exhibit theme was interesting as it was based on the idea that the visitor was an important foreign dignitary invited to dinner with the Queen. So, the dining ballroom was fancied up so beautifully, so formally and elegantly. NOw, going back to Kieran, he was amazing!!! Kieran knew SO much about the guard ceremony - in detail, about the Palace, about the Royal family and British history. He explained everything so specifically and was SO knowledgable. I learned so much from Kieran. Kieran was so great at relating what was going with current events and other tidbits in British history. The best part was that Kieran was entertaining!!! I wish he was my history teacher when I was still in school. The Afternoon Tea was excellent as well. Kieran gave us history about how it came about and why it started and how it became an important part of English culture. I loved Kieran so much that when we go back to London next year, we will inquire about tours that Kieran is leading at City Wonders and take those tours! That is how brilliant he is! I just hope he is still there next summer. Thank you so much, Kieran, for making our visit to London so memorable.

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was terrific. The changing of the guards was a remarkable experience. Well guided.

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a pleasant surprise. We had a great time. Buckingham Palace was simply beautiful. We saw the changing of the horse guard and walked through St. James Garden then into the palace. We were with our guide 45 minutes before entering and he was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. You have audio guides inside. We also saw the Queen's garden. The tea was at a lovely hotel about 20 minutes from the end of the palace tour. It was a nice walk. The tea and sandwiches and pastries were delicious. We were ready for food by then.

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour. Very informative. Got to see all the London sights including the changing of the guard at Buckingham palace. Would highly recommend for an all day tour. Also recommend the London Eye, was worth it!

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is really the best way to see Buckingham Palace! The guides take you to the best vantage points for the changing of the guards, explain the history and importance of what is going on outside, before getting you through the crowds which are enormous to the palace gate for a self-guided tour headphone audio tour. Our guide was terrific and absolutely correct when he explained on the onset of the tour, that the people lined up at the palace from early morning will miss the actual pomp and circumstance of the horse guards through the streets, as is happens from the guard house behind the palace - which is where you will be. Once in the palace, you can tour at your leisure.

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour! The guide was very entertaining, knowledgeable, and friendly! This tour takes you through the main tourist sites in central London, without spending too much time at any one place. It is a great way to get an introduction to the city, and allows you to make note of what you'd like to see again on your own. The boat ride on the Thames was a nice plus. The best part of the tour was the changing of the guard, as our tour guide new exactly where we needed to be, and when, to get the most out of the event. I'd also recommend you bring a jacket as it can get chilly on top the bus, and I took this tour during early July. If you can, try to be one of the first people to get on the bus so you can pick the best seats, usually in the very front covered, or back of the bus. HIghly recommended!

Doing what: Best London Vintage Bus Tour and River Thames Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great experience!
It is a good way to see the changing of guard ceremony and part of London!

Doing what: Royal London Sightseeing Tour with Changing of the Guard Ceremony

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is an amazing tour filled with history, city facts, and an enjoyable Tour Guide Barry who provided insight, fun and enjoyment for my family. Barry and our driver Stephen provided wonderful details of our plans, the sights and its history around us, placed us at less crowded location for the changing of the guard, and was so helpful in responding to questions throughout the day. Barry was well spoken and at each stop we were given options for the sights to see. He corralled us, kept the tour organized, and consistently made the best use of time on and off the bus. Ending the day on the London Eye was a fantastic closure to our introduction to London. We're now more comfortable getting around the town, understanding the City and its Boroughs, key locations, and appreciating all we'll enjoy for the coming week.
We highly recommend this Tour to anyone desiring to see the sights of the City and able to appreciate its history, heritage, and contribution to so many throughout the world.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour to see a lot of London in one day! Our guide was a lot of fun and got us a great location to see the changing of the guard.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The bus tour was fantastic. We were 40 min late got lost on the way they waited for us and said We wouldn't lead without you!
The bus was a classic double decker. The tour guide Nick was great.mhe was animated, funny and knowledgable. We weaved in and out of London traffic, saw the changing of the guard and many other interesting sites along the way.
I would recommend this to my friends and family.

Doing what: Best London Vintage Bus Tour and River Thames Cruise

robertp5050
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

tour well done - guide excellent - english guy - wish I'd gotten his name he had 2 young daughters - stops at several of the highlights changing of the guard, st paul's cathedral - his dialogue helpful and knowledgeable, especially in st paul's - he got the group a great spot for pictures of the guard at Buckingham Palace - do the london eye at the end - well worth it

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide Jason was awesome! We showed us all there is to see and even had us at arms length for the changing of the guard. This is the BEST way to see all the big sights in London.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Ed
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our wonderful tour guide took us to the Tower of London, on the water taxi, to the changing of the guard at Buckingham, and to a fabulous afternoon champagne and tea with awesome baked goods in sight of Big Ben.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide really knew how to get us to see the best view of the changing of the guard. The commentary from her on the bus tour was entertaining. I loved going around on the bus and following along with a map so I could get a handle on London. I felt very oriented and excited to explore after the tour.

Doing what: Royal London Sightseeing Tour with Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Grace A
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was my first trip to London and this tour happily covered all the 'required' sites that everyone wants to see! Our tour guide was wonderful and very knowledgeable. He was prompt with keeping us on schedule but at no point did we feel rushed. I would say we were a group of about 25-ish, lots of families and couples and I was part of the few single crowd but at no point did I feel alone. All together we saw Westminster Abbey, the Tower of London, Buckingham Palace w/the changing of the guard and being in the bus gave all the view of the great London streets and sites. It was truly a pleasurable experience and the best way to see it all in one day. I would highly recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Thoroughly enjoyable from start to finish! Our tour guide Damian, is a man passionate about his job and steeped in knowledge regarding the history of the great City of London. From the Tower of London to Westminster Abby to St. Pauls Cathedral to the changing of the guards at Buckingham Palace it was a rich and rewarding experience!

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was great, our guide got us in the perfect position to see the changing of the guard. Everything else was to be expected from a bus tour but the bus did have wifi which was awesome

Doing what: Royal London Sightseeing Tour with Changing of the Guard Ceremony

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Wonderful way to see London! The Beefeater commentary at the Tower of London was interesting and filled with theatrics. One really has to see the Crown Jewels to believe them! We were not able to see the 'changing of the guard', not because we were not there, but because it was raining and we could not see past the million umbrellas! We could hear everything, just not see it. However, it was still great to see Buckingham Palace. The rain hampered our view from the boat down the River Thames, but we could still see enough to enjoy some of the iconic buildings of London. Loved Westminster Abbey! Taking the steps to the Whispering Gallery of St. Paul's Cathedral was a great way to end the tour. Highly Recommend!

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed our experience visiting Buckingham Palace and watching the changing if the guard. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgable and provided us with lots of information. We enjoyed the afternoon tea. It was great to sit down with the people who had taken the tour and discuss what we had seen and to chat about ourselves and the trips we were taking.

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Enjoyed this day very much. Excellent tour guide. Loved the Tower of London and Crown Jewels. Enjoyed the Beef Eater part of the tour. Great day! Missed the changing of the guards again.....

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We had a wonderful experience on our tour. Even the weather cooperated for the Changing of the Guard Ceremony.

Our only comment would be to just give us a little more information as to where we would actually meet the tour. We were glad that we walked the afternoon before and found where we needed to be. We first of all went to Victoria Station. Being Canadian it didn't click that coach station meant bus station and was a
different building and location. Then when we took the taxi the next morning he informed us that there were two Victoria Coach stations and which one did we want. It was a good thing that we had found the right one the day before.

Our tour guide was excellent and we had a great time. Thank You so much!
Merle and Joan Krause and Dave and Marlene Dow

Doing what: Royal London Sightseeing Tour with Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message