London ATTRACTIONS See all

Changing of the Guard

The Changing of the Guard is one of London's most famous spectacles. It is the official shift change of the Guards of the Household Regiment, who protect Buckingham Palace and the Queen. There is a lot of history here: the Household Guard was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 308 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jeannelle H United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I had one day in London to sightsee at the end of a business trip. I booked this tour before I left home and it was outstanding. It hit all the major sites in one day. Karen was very knowledgeable and entertaining. She positioned us in a perfect spot to see the changing of the guard which I would have never been able to figure out on my own. Malcolm the driver was also friendly and entertaining. Considering the prices of taxis in London, the price of this tour was well worth it. I added on tea at the end which was a very nice way to end the day. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Mary Jane W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was terrific, we had a perfect view of the entire changing of the guard process. We also LOVED the info from Westiminster Abbey. I can not imagine learning all we did without the expertise of our guide Allison. Terrific way to end our trip!

Doing what: London Walking Tour Including Fast-Track Westminster Abbey Visit and Changing of the Guard

Melanie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic. Saw everything. St. Paul's cathedral section was a little long but everything was amazing. Saw the changing of the guards at a great spot to make sure we saw everything. Tour guide Steve was hilarious and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

alohagrimm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a fantastic tour! It was a great way to see the city, crown jewels without crowds and climb to the top of St.Paul's for the view. We had a fantastic guide, who knew exactly where to place us for a fantastic view of the changing on the guard without having wait there for hours. The London Eye was the perfect ending to a great day of sightseeing, I highly recommend this for families that want to make the most of their time in London without having to wait in lines. Loved it!

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

hammondll

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We arrived for vacation in London on September 25 and the next day, September 26, was my wife's birthday. We celebrated on her birthday by taking a tour of Buckingham Palace. The tour included the Changing of the Guard, an interior tour of the Buckingham Palace State Rooms and High Tea at St. Ermin's Hotel. The whole day was a wonderful experience and we have to give a lot of the credit to our guide, Augusta Harris. She kept our group well organized, got us to excellent viewing positions for the Changing of the Guards, provided us very clear information to insure that we got the most out of our tour of the staterooms and walked us to the hotel for High Tea. It was an excellent way to celebrate a birthday!

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Diane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a fantastic tour which is only available in August/September when te Queen is at her residence in Balmoral. Our guide was womderful....she was a wealth of information and timed everything perfectly to maximize our view of the spectacular horse guards and then a stunning tour of Buckingham Palace which was truly jaw dropping! Then off toma lovely high tea at a charming hotel.... A quintessentially British day indeed!!!!! Highly recommend this itinerary!

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

maria.ronquillo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour! Our Guide Steve was above and beyond the call of duty! I loved his humor and he got us to the best place to view the changing of the guard at Buckingham Palace. He is extremely knowledgeable and he gave us a GREAT tour of St. Paul's Cathedral.
I would recommend this to all!

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Tiffany C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Richard, the tour guide, was very informative. We loved seeing the Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, changing of the Guard at Buckingham Palace. You should definitely take this trip if you have limited time in London. You do see some of the major sights with a little history mixed in.

Doing what: Royal London Sightseeing Tour with Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Linda P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Lots to see and really not enough time to see it in one day. Guide was super and improvised when we couldn't get to see the changing of the guards. Much better we saw the Queen's processional for the State Visit of the President of China. Do it!

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Amanda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful day! Our tour guide was incredible, as was our bus driver. Both knew the city inside and out. It was a great way to see some very popular sites - we did not have to worry about lines at the Tower of London and we had a great spot at the Changing of the Guard ceremony. My only recommendation to Viator: change the location of the post-tour Tea. The service was sub-par, especially compared with the service that had been provided so far as stated above, rather excellent.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Gregw720

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide was excellent. She learned all of our names. She talked non stop with history, stories and jokes so we were all entertained and educated. We didn't really see the changing of the guard, but I didn't care. Inside the palace was the highlight for me. Afternoon tea was nice, again an entertaining education.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Maria Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Well worth the money and time! Augusta was our guide and she was fantastic, knowledgeable, funny and an expert at navigating the crazy crowds around Buckingham Palace. She knew exactly where to go for a view of the horse guard while avoiding the masses of people at the Palace gates. Budget more time for this tour. Felt a bit rushed leaving tea to make it to a 4pm tour of Parliament.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Patrick H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Augusta was a great tour guide. She helped us to get the best position for the changing of the guards. We were able to skip the line and get into the palace before the crowd. Afterwards we had tea at a nice hotel, and though I am a man, I appreciate a relaxing afternoon with lots of sugary treats :

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Margaret F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had an amazing tour with more than an adequate time at each stop. The Tower of London was incredible and since we were among the first groups there were no crowds to deal with. Access to the Crown Jewels was almost private. We enjoyed the cruise on the Thames even in the rain. St. Paul's Cathedral was beautiful. Only advice to give is to book on an even number day if going after September 1 as there is no changing of the guards on odd days. Easy hotel pick up and drop off on the South Bank gave us time to explore that area and have dinner before going back to the hotel.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Sarah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a great time on this tour and would highly recommend this tour. Our coach driver and guide Frank and Malcom were knowledgeable and entertaining, if you are lucky enough to have them as your guides you are going to have a fun day. The coach is comfortable, the sites you see are marvellous. We particularly enjoyed watching the changing of the guard with its full pomp and pageantry. St Pauls Cathedral is a highlight and unforgettable. Concluding the day on the London Eye was the perfect end to a fabulous tour

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Peter C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a great tour complete with changing of the guard and the afternoon tea. Comfortable walking tour - had my 80 year old dad with us and he managed fine. We got to see everything and more of what we had expected. Our guide was very knowledgeable and charismatic. He kept us entertained. Definitely recommend this one!

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

C S F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Unbelievable!!! It's hard to imaging that such a place exist. The Afternoon Tea was an interesting event for me. Loved the changing of the Horse Guards.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Martin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was great! We saw the Changing of the Guard up close and he took us to the beginning, middle and end of the ceremony. Loved the Palace tour and the tea and sandwiches at the end were wonderful. The hotel was very nice and historic.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Sandy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great guide and overview of London! He was able to get us everywhere on time, especially the Changing of the guard. He was also very knowledgeable and kept us all moving and engaged.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Kim M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

What a great way to spend our last day in London. We had a lovely leisurely stroll through St James Park stopping to watch the changing of the Horse Guards. Our guide was very mindful of the older people in the group and those who had trouble walking fast and kept to a comfortable pace. He certainly knew all about his city and kept us entertained while on the walk. The tour through Buckingham Palace was amazing and although the guide wasn't able to take us through you are supplied with an audio guide which has heaps of information and is easy to use. After a short stroll through the palace back garden we then went to The Ruebens, only a short walk around the corner, for a lovely High Tea.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Robert M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Seemed to be just the right amount of time to do a look through the palace. The changing of the guard is worth seeing but not entirely necessary to pay for it though having a guide to explain different things was nice. It was a bit of a walk overall so I wouldn't recommend it to someone who has trouble walking but it wasn't a marathon by any means. The tea afterwards was a nice ending. Claudia our guide was well informed and gave us a very good tour. She was also careful with the group as several were a bit older and were having trouble with the walk.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Richard A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide for this tour was Phill, and he was excellent! Not only was he very friendly and knowledgeable, he made the tour very interesting with many personal antecdotes. We started out with the Horseguards Parade, which was a very cool ceremony followed by a lovely walk through the beautiful St. James Park. Buckingham Palace is gorgeous on the inside and it was an added bonus to be able to skip ahead in the line with our advanced ticket. We wrapped up our day with a delicious afternoon tea at the historic and beautiful St. Ermin's Hotel. This was an excellent tour and I'd highly recommend it!

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

jerryruedy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour guide and very informative and friendly. Unknown to us their is various changing of the guards that happen daily. Our guide was able to show us these different guard changes. You do a lot of walking on this tour and sometimes need to move fast to see the different changing of the guards. So would not recommend for the less mobile. The tour of Buckingham palace very interesting and my family enjoyed it. The afternoon tea was excellent and very filling. So do not eat a lot before going on the tour. Very relaxing sitting and enjoying the tea. Our guide sat and talked with us during the tea and was nice to get his perspective of London.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Jeffrey W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The reason why I am giving this tour 5 stars is because of our wonderful tour guide, Kieran from City Wonders. The tour of the palace was nice, but I was not really impressed. I assumed that we would be able to see the Royal living and work quarters since the Queen was on her Scottish holiday. But, it was just the state rooms. Although, the exhibit theme was interesting as it was based on the idea that the visitor was an important foreign dignitary invited to dinner with the Queen. So, the dining ballroom was fancied up so beautifully, so formally and elegantly. NOw, going back to Kieran, he was amazing!!! Kieran knew SO much about the guard ceremony - in detail, about the Palace, about the Royal family and British history. He explained everything so specifically and was SO knowledgable. I learned so much from Kieran. Kieran was so great at relating what was going with current events and other tidbits in British history. The best part was that Kieran was entertaining!!! I wish he was my history teacher when I was still in school. The Afternoon Tea was excellent as well. Kieran gave us history about how it came about and why it started and how it became an important part of English culture. I loved Kieran so much that when we go back to London next year, we will inquire about tours that Kieran is leading at City Wonders and take those tours! That is how brilliant he is! I just hope he is still there next summer. Thank you so much, Kieran, for making our visit to London so memorable.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Robert P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was terrific. The changing of the guards was a remarkable experience. Well guided.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message